Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Amirah Tajdin
Goethe-Institut

Amirah Tajdin
Negotiating Liberation

Film, 16 mm, UAE 2021
The music of the lovers on screen is a melancholic exploration of how the very act of expressing private love is a form of quiet rebellion against the loneliness of immigrant life outside one’s home country.

Amirah Tajdin | is a Kenyan artist and filmmaker.

Amirah Tajdin © Amirah Tajdin She graduated from Rhodes University with a Bachelor of Fine Art (Photography) in South Africa and Goucher College Maryland (USA). 

Over a ten year period of film-making she has crafted a signature style of blending reality with fiction through her strong visual language in both her commercial and cinematic work. This has seen her helm campaigns for branded content, fashion films and music videos, while TVCs for brands such as Cadillac, Saudi Telecom, Bloomingdales, Virgin Mobile, Pepsi and the Louvre Abu Dhabi make up some of her portfolio. The latter is a case study film for TBWA/RAAD’s Cannes Golden Lion for "The Highway Gallery Project". Her branded content film SISTERHOOD: ACTION for Girls Who Code was a Tribeca X Award 2019 finalist. 

She is a Sundance Institute fellow, which makes her the first Kenyan director to be selected for both the Screenwriters Labs (Utah, 2017) and Director’s Lab (Utah, 2018) for her feature film currently in development. 

Her short film Marea di Tierra was in the main competition at Sundance (2016) and Cannes Director’s Fortnight (2015) and went on to play over 20 festivals globally. She has also directed various award-winning and nominated short films and feature-length documentaries. 

She forms the creative half of SEVEN THIRTY Films, an Africa-based indie production company which she founded in Nairobi in 2011 alongside her sister, producer Wafa Tajdin. She is represented for commercials by RadicalMedia (London+Berlin), Scheme Engine (New York + LA) and Loveboat (Paris). She is represented globally for music videos by Scheme Engine.


Film: Negotiating Liberation

Amirah Tajdin
Goethe-Institut
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Amirah Tajdin
Goethe-Institut

Amirah Tajdin
Negotiating Liberation

Film, 16 mm, UAE 2021
The music of the lovers on screen is a melancholic exploration of how the very act of expressing private love is a form of quiet rebellion against the loneliness of immigrant life outside one’s home country.

Amirah Tajdin | ist eine kenianische Künstlerin und Filmemacherin.

Amirah Tajdin © Amirah Tajdin Sie absolvierte die Rhodes University mit einem Bachelor of Fine Art (Fotografie) in Südafrika und dem Goucher College Maryland (USA).

Über einen Zeitraum von zehn Jahren des Filmemachens hat sie durch ihre starke visuelle Sprache sowohl in ihrer kommerziellen als auch in ihrer filmischen Arbeit einen charakteristischen Stil entwickelt, der Realität mit Fiktion verbindet. Ihre Markenkampagnen, Modefilme, Musikvideos und TV-Kampagnen für Marken wie Cadillac, Saudi Telecom, Bloomingdales, Virgin Mobile, Pepsi und den Louvre Abu Dhabi machen einen Teil ihres Portfolios aus. Letzteres ist eine Fallstudie für TBWA / RAADs Cannes Golden Lion für "The Highway Gallery Project". Ihr Branded Content-Film “SISTERHOOD: ACTION for Girls Who Code” war Finalist des Tribeca X Award 2019.

Amirah Tajdin ist Stipendiatin des Sundance Institute und damit die erste kenianische Regisseurin, die sowohl für die Screenwriters Lab (Utah, 2017) als auch für das Director's Lab (Utah, 2018) für ihren Spielfilm ausgewählt wurde, der aktuell in Arbeit ist.

Ihr Kurzfilm „Marea di Tierra“ war im Hauptwettbewerb bei Sundance (2016) und Cannes Director's Fortnight (2015) und wurde weltweit auf über 20 Festivals gezeigt. Sie hat auch verschiedene preisgekrönte und nominierte Kurzfilme sowie Dokumentarfilme in Spielfilmlänge gedreht.

Amirah Tajdin bildet die kreative Hälfte von SEVEN THIRTY Films, einer in Afrika ansässigen Indie-Produktionsfirma, die sie 2011 zusammen mit ihrer Schwester, der Produzentin Wafa Tajdin, in Nairobi gegründet hat. Sie wird für Werbespots von RadicalMedia (London & Berlin), Scheme Engine (New York & LA) und Loveboat (Paris) vertreten. Sie ist weltweit für Musikvideos von Scheme Engine vertreten.


Film: Negotiating Liberation

Amirah Tajdin
Goethe-Institut
Top