Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Memories
Chrysostomos Pashiardis

Highlights and memories of our collaboration with the Goethe-Institut at the Nicosia Book Fest on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the Goethe-Institut in Cyprus

A black and white half portrait of a young man with black hair and beard, square-framed glasses and a dark t-shirt. He is staring with a serious look at the camera. Behind him are books on a shelve. Chrysostomos Pashiardis, Head of the Organizing Committee of the Nicosia Book Fest | Photo: Chrysostomos Pashiardis The Nicosia Book Fest is a unique institution in Cypriot cultural affairs devoted to promoting books and book-reading to the Cypriot public, of all ages, while bringing readers and authors from Cyprus and abroad together. It is an event inspired by the need for cultural and intercultural exchange at all levels.

From the very start of its journey, the Nicosia Book Fest and its participants, have found in the Goethe-Institut a valuable partner and consistent supporter in all 5 events organized since 2016.

The Nicosia Book Fest is a multicultural space with dozens of events including book presentations, interactive discussions, music, dance and theatre performances, interactive games, creative writing workshops, interactive fairy tale presentations by authors and cultural events in the inspirational space of the Acropolis Park that hosts more than 60 organizations each year (bookshops, publishers, organizations, associations, public and private universities, foreign cultural institutes, etc.) and more than 8000 visitors in one weekend.

We recall with great warmth and enthusiasm the two times we jointly hosted events with the famous German children’s books author, Jürgen Banscherus, at the kiosk of the Goethe-Institut, giving the German-speaking audience the opportunity to interact, converse and exchange ideas with the famous writer.

Another great highlight of the NBF events was the performance of the Windcraft band at the Central Stage of the Festival in 2018, which was co-organised again with the Goethe-Institut.

In the difficult year of the pandemic, when we had to turn the festival into a digital event, the Goethe-Institut remained by our side as a firm supporter. The great event of the Disappearing Wall that was initially planned to be presented at the NBF in Acropolis Park, was a priority for us to support and promote in the best possible manner when it was actually realized in Phaneromeni Square.

Our collaboration over the years is one we greatly appreciate and cherish as it gives substance to the multi-cultural character that we wish to assign to the Nicosia Book Fest, and the Goethe-Institut has proven that not only does it value the content of the festival at all its levels but it also contributes practically to making it better in quality and content.

We are certain that our collaboration is one that will continue in the years to come and will deepen and become even more elaborate with joint events and actions.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Erinnerungen
Chrysostomos Pashiardis

Höhepunkte und Erinnerungen unserer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut bei dem Nicosia Book Fest anlässlich des 60. Jubiläums des Goethe-Instituts in Zypern

Ein Schwarz-Weiß-Halbporträt eines jungen Mannes mit schwarzen Haaren und Bart, einer quadratischen Brille und einem dunklen T-Shirt. Er starrt mit einem ernsten Blick in die Kamera. Hinter ihm stehen Bücher in einem Regal. Chrysostomos Pashiardis, Hauptorganisator des Nicosia Book Fest | Foto: Chrysostomos Pashiardis Das Nicosia Book Fest ist eine einzigartige Institution der zypriotischen Kultur die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, Bücher und Lesen in der zypriotischen Gesellschaft in allen Altersklassen zu vermarkten und Leser*innen mit zypriotischen und ausländischen Autor*innen zusammen zu bringen.

Von Beginn an war das Goethe-Institut Zypern ein wertvoller Partner und ständiger Unterstützer bei allen fünf organisierten Events seit 2016.

Das Nicosia Book Fest ist ein multikultureller Ort mit vielen Events wie Buchpräsentationen, interaktiven Diskussionen, Musik-, Tanz- und Theateraufführungen, interaktiven Spielen, kreativem Schreiben, Workshops, interaktiven Märchenpräsentationen von Autor*innen und kulturellen Events im inspirierenden Akropolis Park. Dieser ist Gastgeber für mehr als 60 Organisationen jährlich (Buchläden, Verlage, Organisationen, Verbände, staatliche und private Universitäten, ausländische Kulturinstitute, etc.) und hat mehr als 8.000 Besucher*innen an jedem Wochenende.

Wir erinnern uns gerne an zwei gemeinsame Veranstaltungen mit dem deutschen Kinderbuchautor, Jürgen Banscherus, im Goethe-Institut zurück. Die Veranstaltung gab dem deutschsprachigen Publikum die Möglichkeit, mit dem Autor zu interagieren und Ideen auszutauschen.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der NBF Veranstaltungen war die Aufführung der Windcraft-Band auf der Hauptbühne des Festivals 2018, welches das Goethe-Institut ebenfalls mit uns organsierte.

In dem schwierigen Jahr der Pandemie musste das Festival digital stattfinden, aber das Goethe-Institut blieb als fester Unterstützer an unserer Seite. Das tolle Event Verschwindende Wand war ursprünglich für das NBF im Akropolis Park geplant. Es war unsere Priorität dieses zu unterstützen und bestmöglich umzusetzen, sodass es letztlich am Faneromeniplatz stattfinden konnte.

Die Zusammenarbeit der letzten Jahre gibt uns einen interkulturellen Einfluss, den wir uns für das Nicosia Book Fest wünschen. Das Goethe-Institut hat uns bewiesen, dass es nicht nur die Inhalte des Festivals auf allen Ebenen wertschätzt, sondern sich auch selbst einbringt und das Festival so in seiner Qualität und seinen Inhalten verbessert.

Wir sind uns sicher, dass unsere Zusammenarbeit noch über viele Jahre bestehen und sich in gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen und Aktionen weiter vertiefen wird.

Top