science film festival 2019

Science Film Festival 2019 in Pakistan


The Science Film Festival is a celebration of science communication in Southeast Asia, South Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Latin America: In cooperation with local partners it promotes science literacy and facilitates awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through international films with accompanying educational activities. The Science Film Festival presents scientific issues accessibly and entertainingly to a broad audience and demonstrates that science can be fun. The event has grown considerably since its first edition in 2005, becoming the largest event of its kind worldwide.


The inauguration of the Science Film Festival took place on October 15 at Dawood Public School in the presence of the trustee Dawood Foundation, Sabrina Dawood, and the Director of the Goethe-Institut Pakistan, Stefan Winkler and the team. The Goethe-Institut Pakistan collaborated with the Dawood Foundation and the Dawood Public School (DPS) and conducted screenings at the school and others for the first time in Pakistan to promote science literacy in the city. Dawood Public School promotes education for girls from all socio-economic backgrounds and hope that more women pursue careers in the field of science. In total, 5,052 students participated during the course of Science Film Festival in Pakistan.

“Humboldt and the Web of Life” was the theme of the Science Film Festival 2019. With our world thriving towards progress and technology and less focused on the consequences, economic and technology growth has on our environment, we have now come to a turning point. Alexander von Humboldt has already known 250 years ago, that the entire globe is connected with one another in ways that human beings may never understand fully. Because, as Humboldt has predicted, nature is interconnected with itself like a web of life, any human interference will result in unpredictable aftereffects. With the arctic melting, forests burning and global warming increasing exponentially, the consequences of industrialization and urbanization are clear. It is time to think of further sustainable solutions in order to make planet earth livable for future generations. With Humboldt’s 250th birthday this year, the Science Film Festival 2019 celebrates the scientific findings of Humboldt, which are more needed today than ever before.


Highlights of the Science Film Festival 2019:

Science Film Festival 2019

Science Film Festival 2019 in Pakistan


Das Science Film Festival ist ein Fest der Wissenschaft: Es zeigt internationale Filme zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Ökologie, Technologie und Forschung. Das Festival findet in Südostasien, Südasien, Afrika, dem Nahen Osten und Lateinamerika statt. Begleitet werden die Filmvorführungen von Experimenten und interaktiven Lernspielen. Auf unterhaltende Weise vermittelt das Science Film Festival einem breiten Publikum und vor allem jungen Menschen, dass Wissenschaft Spaß machen kann. Zugleich sensibilisieren und fördern die Filme das Bewusstsein für wissenschaftliche, technologische und ökologische Fragestellungen und Probleme. Das Science Film Festival ist seit der ersten Auflage im Jahr 2005 stark gewachsen und hat sich zur weltweit größten Veranstaltung seiner Art entwickelt.


Die Eröffnung des ersten Science Film Festivals in Pakistan fand am 15. Oktober in der Dawood Public School im Beisein der Geschäftsführerin der Dawood Foundation, Sabrina Dawood, und des Direktors des Goethe-Instituts Pakistan Stefan Winkler und des Teams statt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Dawood Foundation und der Dawood Public School (DPS) hat das Goethe-Institut Pakistan Filmvorführungen an mehreren Schulen organisiert, um so die wissenschaftliche Bildung an Schulen der Stadt zu fördern. Dawood Public School fördert die Ausbildung von Mädchen aller sozioökonomischer Schichten und möchte den Anteil der Frauen im Bereich der Wissenschaften steigern. Insgesamt nahmen 5.052 SchülerInnen am Science Film Festival in Pakistan teil.

„Humboldt und das Netzwerk des Lebens“ was Thema des Science Film Festivals 2019.In unserer heutigen Welt wenden wir uns immer mehr der technologischen Progressivität zu und vergessen dabei häufig, welche Konsequenzen ökonomisches sowie technologisches Wachstum mit sich zieht. Alexander von Humboldt hat bereits vor 250 Jahren herausgefunden, dass unsere Welt auf eine Art miteinander verknüpft ist, die wir Menschen niemals komplett verstehen können. Weil die Natur, wie Humboldt es vorausgesagt hatte, ein Netzwerk des Lebens ist und somit alles miteinander verbunden ist, wird jeder menschliche Eingriff unvorhersehbare Folgen tragen. Mit der schmelzenden Arktis, brennende Wälder und die exponentiell wachsende Klimaerwärmung sind die Effekte der Industrialisierung und der Urbanisierung heutzutage bereits deutlich erkennbar. Es ist nun die Zeit gekommen um über nachhaltige Lösungen nachzudenken, die unseren Planeten lebenswert für folgende Generationen machen sollen. Mit Humboldt’s 250. Geburtstag dieses Jahr, feiert das Science Film Festival 2019 die wissenschaftlichen Befunde des Forschers, welche in unserer heutigen Zeit mehr gebraucht werden als jemals zuvor. 

Highlights des Science Film Festivals 2019: