Tasks and Targets

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach.

We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programmes encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centres, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centres, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for almost seventy years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.

The Goethe-Institut Pakistan

Goethe-Institut Pakistan organizes and supports not only a broad spectrum of cultural events for the presentation of German art and culture, but also works with its partnership-based projects centres on intercultural exchange. Here the Goethe-Institut in Karachi closely cooperates with its Pakistani partners as it does with the Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus (the Goethe-Zentrum, in Lahore), and in a European framework with the Alliance Française and the British Council. 

Our Language Department offers classes for German as a foreign language for beginners and advanced learners as well as executive courses for companies in modern amenities, including an internet class room, and takes central examinations which are recognized worldwide. In addition to language skills social and cultural aspects are being taught as well. 

The information center of the Goethe-Institut Karachi provides information on current aspects of cultural, social and political life in Germany. The library offers a wide selection of German literature, current monthly and weekly magazines, and German films (with English subtitles). Numerous materials for learning the German language are also available. The library also offers free Onleihe. Our members can access e-books and e-DVDs e-audios, daily e-newspapers and e-journals. The Information Center helps with questions about studying in Germany.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Information über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme fördern den interkulturellen Dialog und ermöglichen kulturelle Teilhabe. Sie stärken den Ausbau zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen und fördern weltweite Mobilität.

Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit fast siebzig Jahren für viele Menschen der erste Kontakt mit Deutschland. Die langjährige partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Institutionen und Persönlichkeiten in über 90 Ländern schafft nachhaltiges Vertrauen in unser Land. Wir sind Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und parteipolitisch ungebunden.

Das Goethe-Institut in Pakistan

Das Goethe-Institut Karachi organisiert und unterstützt ein breites Spektrum von kulturellen Veranstaltungen zu deutscher Kunst und Kultur. In partnerschaftlich angelegten Projekten wird zudem der interkulturelle Austausch gesucht. Das gilt insbesondere für Präsentationen und Diskurse zu aktuellen Themen und Transformationen in Kunst und Gesellschaft. Dabei kooperiert das Goethe-Institut Karachi nicht nur mit seinen pakistanischen Partnern, sondern besonders eng mit dem Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus, dem Goethe-Zentrum in Lahore, sowie in europäischen Rahmen etwa mit der Alliance Française und dem British Council.

Unsere Sprachabteilung bietet in modernen Räumlichkeiten, darunter ein Internetklassenzimmer, Deutschkurse für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene sowie für Firmen an und führt zentrale und weltweit anerkannten Prüfungen durch. Neben sprachlichen Fertigkeiten werden auch soziale und kulturelle Aspekte Deutschlands gelehrt.

Das Informationszentrum des Goethe-Instituts Karachi informiert über aktuelle Aspekte des kulturellen, sozialen und politischen Lebens in Deutschland. Die Bibliothek bietet eine große Auswahl an deutscher Literatur, aktuellen Monats und Wochenzeitschriften sowie deutscher Filme (mit englischen Untertiteln). Zahlreiche Materialien zum Erlernen der deutschen Sprache stehen zur Verfügung. Die Bibliothek bietet zudem auch kostenlose Onleihe. Unsere Mitglieder können auf E-Bücher und E-DVDs zugreifen auf E-Audios, tägliche E-Zeitungen und E-Zeitschriften. Das Informationszentrum hilft bei Fragen zum Studium in Deutschland.