Workshop URBANITIES PRESENTS: THE MAKING AND UNMAKING OF URBAN CONFLICTS

Traffic in Karachi

December 3, 2016, 10am - 8pm

Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus, Lahore

Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus
155, Scotch Corner,
Street 3, Upper Mall
Lahore

Workshop

As part of the Symposium CITY IN CONTEXT, we invite you to participate in a workshop on the making and unmaking of urban conflicts. By using methods of performance, rhetorics, marketing and fiction, the workshop led by Matthias Einhoff, ZK/U Berlin, attempts to open up new ways of understanding urban conflicts and their mechanisms and seeks to provide the participants with the potential to engage in creative ways.
 
Did you ever want to take the persona of an evil developer, intolerant community leader, or power-hungry politician – or else be a fighter for minorities, advocate of common-wealth, or altruistic change maker? In the workshop, the group choses an urban topic or a location with the potential for social and structural change. In a fictional setting, the participants take opposing sides and carry out a campaign to promote their agendas. At the end of the day, the different claims are presented and decided on in a staged “Grand Townhall” Jury Meeting for the audience.
 
Sign up here for the one-day workshop until November 28, 2016. Places are limited.
 
ABOUT MATTHIAS EINHOFF
Matthias Einhoff is an artist, curator, researcher and activist. He co-founded and heads the Center for Arts and Urbanistics (ZK/U), an interdisciplinary hub for urban research and artistic practice in Berlin. As an artist he developed various experimental performances aiming at collective knowledge production. Most recently he has been teaching at the UdK Berlin and Kunsthochschule Kassel.
 
The workshop is made possible by the support of Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus and takes place in the framework of “Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan”, a critical exploration of the urban.

Back

Workshop URBANITIES PRESENTS: THE MAKING AND UNMAKING OF URBAN CONFLICTS

Traffic in Karachi

3. Dezember 2016

Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus, Lahore

Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus
155, Scotch Corner,
Street 3, Upper Mall
Lahore

Im Rahmen des Symposiums CITY IN CONTEXT laden wir Sie zu einem Workshop zu Urbanen Konflikten ein. Mit Methoden aus Performance, Rhetorik, Marketing und Fiktion möchte der Workshop unter der Leitung von Matthias Einhoff, ZK/U Berlin, neue Wege öffnen, um urbane Konflikte und ihre Mechanismen zu verstehen und den Teilnehmern ermöglichen, auf kreative Weise damit umzugehen.
 
Wollten Sie sich schon immer in die Rolle eines fiesen Bauunternehmers, intoleranten Gemeindeführers oder machthungrigen Politikers versetzen? Oder vielleicht in die eines Fürsprechers für Minderheiten, Vertreter des Gemeinwesens oder selbstlosen Changemakers? In diesem Workshop wählt die Gruppe ein urbanes Thema oder einen Ort mit dem Potential für sozialen und strukturellen Wandel. In einem fiktionalen Setting vertreten die Teilnehmer entgegengesetzte Seiten und führen eine Kampagne durch, um für ihre Interessen zu werben. Am Ende des Tages werden die verschiedenen Positionen präsentiert und in einer inszenierten Rathaussitzung vor Publikum entschieden.
 
Hier kann man sich bis zum 28. November 2016 für den Workshop anmelden. Die Plätze sind begrenzt.

ÜBER MATTHIAS EINHOFF
Matthias Einhoff ist Künstler, Kurator, Forscher und Aktivist. Er gründete und leitet das Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik (ZK/U), eine interdisziplinäre Plattform für urbane Forschung und künstlerische Praxis. Als Künstler hat er zahlreiche experimentelle Performances in Bezug auf kollektive Wissensproduktion entwickelt. Er hat an der UdK Berlin und Kunsthochschule Kassel gelehrt.

Der Workshop wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung des Annemarie-Schimmel-Haus und findet statt im Rahmen von „Urbanities – art and public space in Pakistan”, einer kritischen Erkundung des Urbanen.

Zurück