Exhibition URBANITIES. Exhibition

EemansWalk Foto: Sultan Ali

December 1-4, 2016

Alhamra Art Gallery III & IV

explorations of the urban

Urban space is a particular space. It is inherently urban that its complexities and collateralities allow for a growth which can be both freeing and limiting. The right to the city in Lefebvre's understanding translates into manifold interpretations and addresses the very core of existance that is change and transformation. It involves the transitivity of being changed by  actively changing space, by being mindfully present in an urban environment.

The exhibition URBANITIES is dedicated to the city in flux as site of artistic research and intervention. It presents works created during artist residencies in both Karachi and Lahore that deal with social awareness and global desires, developing landscapes and mindful walking acts, and documents an investigation of informal urban design practices and collective knowledge.

Miro Craemer // Honi Ryan // Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani // zoohaus | Inteligencias Colectivas
Curated by Sara-Duana Meyer
 
Miro Craemer
The German fashion and social designer addresses questions of collaboration, consumerism, and social awareness in their global and local contexts. For the work created during his artist residency in Karachi, Craemer explored the tragic Baldia Factory Fire of 2012 and transformed his experiences with the victims' families and their narratives into art and design. His 'social sculpture' has been brought to life as a community effort with local art schools and textile workers, based on communication, participation, and collaboration, as well as on the strong belief that creative action has the potential to change society.
 
After showing his work in Pakistan, Craemer plans to re-display the work in Germany to emphasize the inherent connection between the two countries in this project.
 
Honi Ryan
Honi Ryan’s artist residency in Lahore comprised of several research facets into Walking in Lahore. Influenced by the historical movements of the Situationists International, the narratives of performance and participation and relational aesthetics, Ryan’s socially engaged art practice puts environment at the centre of her work. Ryan has been interested in how urban space effects human relations, and how one can apply mindful techniques to everyday situations to create shifts in perception.
 
In Lahore, Ryan’s research methodology has included one on one walks to different areas of the city investigating Subjective Geographies, a 1000+ ft long Footpath Intervention as action research into the feasibility of demarcated pedestrian access developed with Attiq Ahmed of OCCO, and a Walking Performance along Kasuri Rd activating deep presence in public space.

Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani
We are interested in exploring the ruination of landscape and degraded ecologies in relation to the mega-development project of Bahria Town in Karachi. Located at the peripheries of the city in Gadap Town, this construction site spanning 35,000 acres is rapidly and radically transforming the local landscape to develop land for a 'world class' city, violently and systematically displacing indigenous communities. We examine and unpack the relationship of the marginalized township of Gadap to the city of Karachi, problematizing the historical and contemporary practices of urbanization.

Using artistic and interdisciplinary research methods we make visible the slow violence of erasures and transformations enacted by imperial and neoliberal processes of real estate development, resource extraction and climate change, unsettling dominant narratives that represent Gadap as barren, unproductive wasteland.

zoohaus | Inteligencias Colectivas
Every region of the world has its own repertoire of construction techniques. The coexistence of different degrees of industrialization allows for the mixing of semi-industrial products with old and enduring techniques; however, they are only considered valid in informal environments. While many of these constructions lack proper design planning, they generate a wide range of improvisation procedures through popular and generational wisdom.

Represented by the architects Juan Chacón Gragera and David Cardenas Lorenzo, the collective investigated informal urban design practices, traditional technologies and networks of working communities in public spaces. Using these techniques, the collective later constructed objects in collaboration with architects and heritage consultants Marvi Mazhar & Associates to come to use by the community and local stakeholders in Pakistan Chowk, a landmark heritage of Karachi.
 

Back

Ausstellung URBANITIES. Exhibition

1.-4.12.1016

Urbaner Raum ist ein besonderer Raum. Es liegt dem Urbanen inne, dass seine Komplexitäten und Verwobenheiten ein Wachstum ermöglichen, das sowohl befreiend als auch beschränkend wirken kann. Das Recht auf Stadt nach Lefebvre wird auf vielfache Weise interpretiert, richtet sich aber immer auf den Ursprung des Daseins, nämlich Veränderung und Verwandlung. Es beinhaltet die Transitivität, durch sich verändernden Raum und durch achtsame (Selbst-)wahrnehmung in einer urbanen Umgebung selbst verändert zu werden.
 
Die Ausstellung URBANITIES widmet sich der Stadt im Fluss als Ort künstlerischer Forschung und Intervention. Sie präsentiert Arbeiten, die während Künstler-Residenzaufenthalten in Karachi und Lahore entstanden und soziales Bewusstsein und globale Begehrlichkeiten, Landschaftsentwicklung und Walking Acts verhandeln, und dokumentiert eine Erkundung informeller urbaner Designpraktiken und kollektiven Wissens. 

Miro Craemer // Honi Ryan // Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani // zoohaus | Inteligencias Colectivas
Kuratiert von Sara-Duana Meyer
 
Miro Craemer
Der deutsche Mode- und Soziale Designer beschäftigt sich mit Fragen von Kollaboration, Konsum und sozialem Bewusstsein in ihrem globalen und lokalen Kontext.  Für die Arbeit, die während seines Residenzaufenthalts in Karachi entstand, recherchierte Craemer zu dem tragischen Fall des so genannten Baldia Factory Feuers in 2012 und übersetzte seine Erfahrungen mit den Familien der Opfer und ihren Erzählungen in Kunst und Design. Seine „soziale Skulptur“ wurde als gemeinschaftliches Projekt mit örtlichen Kunstakademien und Textilarbeitern zum Leben erweckt und basiert auf Kommunikation, Teilhabe und Kollaboration sowie auf dem festen Glauben, dass kreative Aktion das Potential hat, die Gesellschaft zu verändern.
 
Nach Pakistan will Craemer die Arbeit auch in Deutschland zeigen, um die inhärente Verbindung zwischen den zwei Ländern in diesem Projekt zu betonen.
 
Honi Ryan
Honi Ryans Künstlerresidenz in Lahore kreiste um verschiedene Aspekte der Fortbewegung zu Fuß. Stark beeinflusst von der historischen Bewegung der Situationistischen Internationalen, den Narrativen von Performance und Teilhabe und relationaler Ästhetik, stellt Ryans sozial engagierte künstlerische Praxis die gelebte Umwelt in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit. Ryan erforschte, wie der urbane Raum menschliche Beziehungen beeinflusst und wie Techniken der Achtsamkeit in Alltagssituationen eine veränderte Wahrnehmung schaffen können.
 
Ryans Forschungsmethodik in Lahore beinhaltete paarweise Spaziergänge in verschiedenen Stadtteilen zur Erkundung subjektiver Geographien (Subjective Geographies), eine über 300 Meter lange Gehweg-Intervention als Aktionsrecherche zur Umsetzbarkeit von abgegrenzten Fußgängerbereichen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekten Attiq Ahmed von OCCO, sowie eine Walking Performance entlang der Kasuri Road, um tiefe Präsenz im öffentlichen Raum zu aktiveren.

Shahana Rajani & Zahra Malkani
Wir sind daran interessiert, die landschaftliche Zerstörung und geschwächte Ökologie im Zusammenhang mit dem Mega-Entwicklungsprojekt Bahria Town in Karachi zu erkunden. An der Peripherie der Stadt in Gadap Town gelegen, umfasst die Großbaustelle 35.000 Morgen und verwandelt rapide und drastisch den örtlichen Landschaftsraum, um das Land für eine 'Weltklasse' Stadt zu erschließen. Einheimische Gemeinschaften werden gewaltsam und systematisch vertrieben. Wir untersuchen und entschlüsseln die Verbindung zwischen der marginalisierten Gemeinde in Gadap und der Stadt Karachi, indem wir die historischen und zeitgenössischen Praktiken von Urbanisierung problematisieren.
 
Mit künstlerischen und interdisziplinären Forschungsmethoden machen wir die langsame Gewalt der Auslöschung und Verwandlung sichtbar, die auf imperiale und neoliberale Prozesse von Grunderschließung, die Auslaugung von Ressourcen und Klimawandel zurück zu führen ist, verstörende und schwergewichtige Erzählungen, die Gadap als unwirtliches, ertragsarmes Ödland zeigen.

zoohaus | Inteligencias Colectivas
Jede Region der Welt hat ihr eigenes Repertoire an Konstruktionstechniken. Das Nebeneinander verschiedener Stufen von Industrialisierung erlaubt die Kombination von semi-industriellen Produkten mit alten und beständigen Techniken, die allerdings nur in einem informellen Milieu als zulässig angesehen werden. Während vielen dieser Konstruktionen das  planmäßige Design fehlt, bringen allgemeines und über Generationen vererbtes Wissen dennoch eine große Bandbreite an improvisierten Prozeduren hervor.
 
Vertreten von den beiden Architekten Juan Chacón Gragera and David Cardenas Lorenzo, erforschte das Kollektiv informelle urbane Designpraktiken, traditionelle Techniken und Netzwerke von Arbeitergemeinschaften im öffentlichen Raum. Unter Verwendung dieser Techniken konstruierte das Kollektiv später mit der Architektin und Spezialistin für Baukulturerbe Marvi Mazhar & Associates eine Struktur auf dem historischen Pakistan Chowk, die der Gemeinschaft und den Einwohnern zu Nutzen kommen soll. 
 

Zurück