Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Science Film Festival 2022© Goethe-Institut Singapore

Knowledge Through Entertainment
Science Film Festival

This festival brings science on to the screen! It shows international films on current topics in the fields of ecology, technology and research.

The Science Film Festival presents scientific issues accessibly and entertainingly to a broad audience, especially young people, and demonstrates that science can be fun.
 


Science Film Festival 2023

SFF 2023 Goethe-Institut

#GenerationRestoration
Reimagine. Recreate. Restore.

In 2023, the Science Film Festival is official supporting partner of the United Nations Decade on Ecosystem Restoration. The theme is a rallying call for the protection and revival of ecosystems all around the world. The UN Decade runs from 2021 through 2030, which is also the deadline for the Sustainable Development Goals and the timeline scientists have identified as the last chance to prevent catastrophic climate change. Ecosystem restoration means assisting in the recovery of ecosystems that have been degraded or destroyed, as well as conserving the ecosystems that are still intact.

The Goethe-Institut and the United Nations Decade on Ecosystem Restoration warmly invited filmmakers, producers, broadcasters and organizations worldwide to send in films to the festival for consideration. The festival takes place internationally from October 1 to December 20.
 

Goethe-Institut

Programme and Films

The festival jury chose 47 films from 16 countries, targeting children from primary schools upwards for the programme in Singapore. The films are subtitled or dubbed into English where necessary to allow accessibility for young audiences.

These films can be conveniently watched online through a secure streaming platform. Register to enjoy all films anytime from home for free.
 


Teaching Resources

The festival’s accompanying program also includes educational activities developed by experts.


Partners

Inger AndersenUN

United Nations

Dear Science Film Festival Partners and Audiences,  
Esteemed Filmmakers,  
 
The world is in the grip of a triple planetary crisis – the crisis of climate change, of nature and biodiversity loss, and pollution and waste.  
 
Climate-related weather events are getting more frequent and more extreme, our oceans are choking in plastic, farmlands are losing fertile soils, and one million plant and animal species are at the risk of extinction.  
 
Yet, amongst all these crises, there is reason for hope. Because the good news is: Nature is forgiving. And given half a chance, she can recover.   
 
One mighty weapon we have in this fight for our future is our imagination. We are in the middle of a story with an uncertain ending. And we are the ones that hold the pen. We can reimagine, recreate and restore, a brighter future. One where we go from a narrative of exploiting nature to reviving it.   
 
I thank the Goethe-Institut and partners, as well as all our wonderful filmmakers for bringing us these stories of hope.  
 
So lean back, keep your eyes peeled and minds open. Let’s take the lessons from these selected films to heart and start working on becoming a #GenerationRestoration  
…aaand Action!  
 
Inger Andersen  
Executive Director  
UN Environment Programme (UNEP) 

Dr Bicky BhanguRolls-Royce

Rolls-Royce

Over the last century, Rolls-Royce has been a driving force in the aerospace and engineering sectors globally. 

Our power and propulsion solutions keep customers’ engines running in the air, sea and land – from turbine engines for planes to fly, piston engines to move ships and trains, to microgrids and generators that power high-rise buildings and data centres. 

Our business relies heavily on engineers and technologists to bring ideas to life and solve the world’s most pressing problems. STEM subjects don’t just power our products, they power the functioning of a modern world. And amid the pressures of climate change and the necessary energy transition, we urgently need sustainable technology solutions which are rooted in science. 

We believe the next generation has an important role in safeguarding the future. This is why we are committed to promoting STEM education to inspire the scientists and engineers of tomorrow, from all parts of the world. 

Our partnership with the Science Film Festival aims to bring the wonders of science to young people of all backgrounds. Through exposure to these topics at an early age, we want to foster curiosity and a love of learning. 

Together, we can create a bright and sustainable future. 
 
Dr Bicky Bhangu 
President, South East Asia, Pacific and South Korea, Rolls-Royce 

UN Logo UN


Rolls-Royce Logo


Anderson Prime logo Anderson Prime


Science Center Logo


Ad Rolls-RoyceRolls-Royce
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Science Film Festival 2022© Goethe-Institut Singapur

Knowledge Through Entertainment
Science Film Festival

Dieses Festival bringt Wissenschaft auf die Leinwand! Es zeigt internationale Filme zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Ökologie, Technologie und Forschung.

Auf unterhaltende Weise vermittelt das Science Film Festival einem breiten Publikum und vor allem jungen Menschen, dass Wissenschaft Spaß machen kann.
 


Science Film Festival 2023

SFF 2023 Goethe-Institut

#GenerationRestoration
Reimagine. Recreate. Restore.

Das Science Film Festival 2023 ist offizieller Partner der Dekade zur Wiederherstellung von Ökosystemen der Vereinten Nationen. Das Thema ist ein Aufruf zum Schutz und zur Wiederbelebung von Ökosystemen auf der ganzen Welt. Die UN-Dekade läuft von 2021 bis 2030. In diesem Zeitraum sollen auch die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung erreicht werden, und die Wissenschaftler sehen darin die letzte Chance, einen katastrophalen Klimawandel zu verhindern. Bei der Wiederherstellung von Ökosystemen geht es darum, die Wiederbelebung geschädigter oder zerstörter Ökosysteme zu unterstützen und die noch intakten Ökosysteme zu erhalten.

Das Goethe-Institut und die Dekade der Vereinten Nationen zur Wiederherstellung der Ökosysteme luden Filmemacher, Produzenten, Fernsehsender und Organisationen weltweit herzlich ein, Filme für das Festival einzureichen. Das Festival findet international vom 1. Oktober bis 20. Dezember statt. 
 

Goethe-Institut

Programm und Filme

Die Jury wählte 47 Filme aus 16 Ländern für das Programm in Singapur aus, die sich an Kinder ab der Grundschule richten. Einige dieser Filme wurden mit englischen Untertiteln oder Synchronisationen versehen, um sie für ein jüngeres Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

Diese Filme können bequem über eine sichere Streaming-Plattform online angesehen werden. Melden Sie sich an, um alle Filme jederzeit kostenlos von zu Hause aus zu genießen.


Lehrmaterialien

Zum Begleitprogramm des Festival gehören auch pädagogische Aktivitäten, die von Experten entwickelt wurden.


Partner

Inger AndersenUN

United Nations

Liebe Partner und Zuschauer des Science Film Festivals,  
Sehr geehrte Filmemacher,  
 
Die Welt befindet sich in einer dreifachen Krise - der Krise des Klimawandels, der Krise der Natur und des Verlusts der biologischen Vielfalt sowie der Krise der Umweltverschmutzung und des Abfalls.  
 
Klimabedingte Wetterereignisse werden immer häufiger und extremer, unsere Ozeane ersticken in Plastik, Ackerland verliert fruchtbare Böden, und eine Million Pflanzen- und Tierarten sind vom Aussterben bedroht.  
 
Doch inmitten all dieser Krisen gibt es auch Grund zur Hoffnung. Denn die gute Nachricht ist: Die Natur ist verzeihend. Und wenn man ihr eine Chance gibt, kann sie sich erholen.   
 
Eine mächtige Waffe, die wir in diesem Kampf um unsere Zukunft haben, ist unsere Vorstellungskraft. Wir befinden uns mitten in einer Geschichte mit ungewissem Ausgang. Und wir sind diejenigen, die den Stift in der Hand halten. Wir können uns eine bessere Zukunft ausmalen, neu erschaffen und wiederherstellen. Eine, in der wir von einer Geschichte der Ausbeutung der Natur zu ihrer Wiederbelebung übergehen.   
 
Ich danke dem Goethe-Institut und seinen Partnern sowie all unseren wunderbaren Filmemachern dafür, dass sie uns diese Geschichten der Hoffnung gebracht haben.  
 
Lehnen Sie sich also zurück, halten Sie die Augen offen und den Geist wach. Nehmen wir uns die Lehren aus diesen ausgewählten Filmen zu Herzen und beginnen wir, daran zu arbeiten, eine #GenerationRestoration zu werden
..uuund Action!  
 
Inger Andersen  
Exekutiv Direktorin  
UN-Umweltprogramm (UNEP)

Dr Bicky BhanguRolls-Royce

Rolls-Royce

Im letzten Jahrhundert war Rolls-Royce weltweit eine treibende Kraft in der Luft- und Raumfahrt und im Maschinenbau. 

Unsere Energie- und Antriebslösungen halten die Motoren unserer Kunden in der Luft, zu Wasser und zu Lande am Laufen - von Turbinentriebwerken für Flugzeuge, Kolbenmotoren für Schiffe und Züge bis hin zu Mikronetzen und Generatoren, die Hochhäuser und Rechenzentren mit Strom versorgen. 

Unser Unternehmen ist in hohem Maße auf Ingenieure und Technologen angewiesen, um Ideen zum Leben zu erwecken und die dringendsten Probleme der Welt zu lösen. 
MINT-Fächer sind nicht nur die Grundlage für unsere Produkte, sondern auch für das Funktionieren einer modernen Welt. Und angesichts der Belastungen durch den Klimawandel und die notwendige Energiewende brauchen wir dringend nachhaltige technologische Lösungen, die in der Wissenschaft verwurzelt sind.  

Wir glauben, dass der nächsten Generation eine wichtige Rolle bei der Sicherung der Zukunft zukommt. Deshalb engagieren wir uns für die Förderung der MINT-Bildung, um die Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure von morgen aus allen Teilen der Welt zu inspirieren. 

Unsere Partnerschaft mit dem Science Film Festival zielt darauf ab, jungen Menschen jeglicher Herkunft die Wunder der Wissenschaft näher zu bringen. Durch die frühzeitige Beschäftigung mit diesen Themen wollen wir die Neugierde und die Liebe zum Lernen fördern. 

Gemeinsam können wir eine strahlende und nachhaltige Zukunft schaffen. 
 
Dr. Bicky Bhangu 
Präsident, Südostasien, Pazifik und Südkorea, Rolls-Royce

UN Logo UN


Rolls-Royce Logo


Anderson Prime logo Anderson Prime


Science Center Logo


Ad Rolls-RoyceRolls-Royce
Top