What we do

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach.

We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programmes encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centres, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centres, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for almost seventy years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.

Goethe-Institut Singapore © Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut Singapore

The Goethe-Institut Singapore is open to everyone.

We value collaborative ways of engagement based on a strong sense of partnership and long term commitment with an interest in intercultural and transnational exchange.

Our language courses are suitable for people of all ages to study German at all levels. We certify German language proficiency with our exams programme. We offer teaching materials and further training for German teachers. As the world’s leading German language Institut we act as a consulting agency for companies, schools, universities and public institutions.

We promote and enable cultural exchange and international collaboration in the arts, bilaterally between Singapore and Germany and multilaterally between Germany, Europe and Southeast Asia.

Our programming covers contemporary practices in all areas of the arts. We value innovative, critical and experimental engagements beyond the mainstream and we recognise the diversity of perspectives as an added value. Our initiatives address contemporary issues, while acknowledging the important impact of the arts and culture on public discourse. Our current focus areas are How the New Emerges, Cultures of Equality and Ecology and Sustainable Development.

Our staff and partners value collaborative approaches to initiating and implementing projects. We engage in mutual dialogue throughout the process: from the initial idea to discussions about different types of events, the selection of artists, performers and speakers, funding, organisation and promotion.

Our events take place in German or English either at the Goethe-Institut, online or at our collaborators, depending on the target audience and form of collaboration.

Goethe-Institut Singapore Project Space © Goethe-Institut

What we believe in

Our activities and programme choices are based on the conviction that art and culture are valuable and meaningful in themselves.

We believe in artistic freedom, the intrinsic value of the arts, their non-utilitarian nature, their added value through their “surplus of meaning” and the important of the arts for social discourse. We believe that dialogue and different perspectives and opinions create value.

As part of the arts ecosystem in Singapore, we also recognise and respect the ways of being and modes of operation of the community in which we are based.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Information über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme fördern den interkulturellen Dialog und ermöglichen kulturelle Teilhabe. Sie stärken den Ausbau zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen und fördern weltweite Mobilität.

Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit fast siebzig Jahren für viele Menschen der erste Kontakt mit Deutschland. Die langjährige partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Institutionen und Persönlichkeiten in über 90 Ländern schafft nachhaltiges Vertrauen in unser Land. Wir sind Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und parteipolitisch ungebunden.

Goethe-Institut Singapur © Goethe-Institut

Das Goethe-Institut Singapur

Das Goethe-Institut Singapur ist ein offenes Haus.

Wir legen Wert auf eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und langfristiges Engagement mit Interesse an interkulturellem und transnationalem Austausch.

Unsere Sprachkursesind für Menschen jeden Alters geeignet, um Deutsch auf allen Niveaus zu lernen. Mit unserem Prüfungsprogrammzertifizieren wir Deutschkenntnisse. Wir bieten Unterrichtsmaterialienund Fortbildungen für Deutschlehrer*innen an. Als weltweit führendes Institut für deutsche Sprache sind wir beratend für Unternehmen, Schulen, Universitäten und öffentliche Einrichtungen tätig.

Wir fördern und ermöglichen kulturellen Austausch und internationale Zusammenarbeit in den Künsten, bilateral zwischen Singapur und Deutschland und multilateral zwischen Deutschland, Europa und Südostasien.

Unser Programmumfasst zeitgenössische Praktiken in allen Bereichen der Künste. Wir schätzen innovative, kritische und experimentelle Engagements jenseits des Mainstreams und wir erkennen die Vielfalt der Perspektiven als Mehrwert an. Unsere Initiativen befassen sich mit zeitgenössischen Themen, wobei wir den wichtigen Einfluss von Kunst und Kultur auf den öffentlichen Diskurs anerkennen. Unsere aktuellen Schwerpunkte sind Wie das Neue entsteht, Kulturen der Gleichberechtigung und Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Unsere Mitarbeiter*innen und Partnerlegen Wert auf kooperative Ansätze bei der Initiierung und Umsetzung von Projekten. Wir stehen während des gesamten Prozesses im gegenseitigen Dialog: von der ersten Idee bis hin zu Diskussionen über verschiedene Veranstaltungstypen, die Auswahl von Künstlern, Darstellern und Sprechern, Finanzierung, Organisation und Kommunikation.

Unsere Veranstaltungenfinden in deutscher oder englischer Sprache entweder im Goethe-Institut, online oder bei unseren Kooperationspartnern statt, je nach Zielpublikum und Form der Zusammenarbeit.

Goethe-Institut Singapur Projektraum © Goethe-Institut

Woran wir glauben

Unsere Aktivitäten und unser Programm fußen auf der Überzeugung, dass Kunst und Kultur an sich wertvoll und sinnvoll sind.

Wir glauben an die künstlerische Freiheit, den immanenten Wert der Künste, ihren nicht-utilitaristischen Charakter, ihren Mehrwert durch ihren "Bedeutungsüberschuss" und ihre Signifikanz für den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs. Wir glauben, dass Dialog und unterschiedliche Perspektiven und Meinungen Werte schaffen.

Als Teil des kulturellen Ökosystems in Singapur erkennen und respektieren wir auch die Daseins- und Arbeitsweisen der Gemeinschaft, in der wir ansässig sind.