Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 | 01.-03. June

The Sharing Game

The Goethe-Institut’s Kultursymposium Weimar dissects the promises of the Internet economy – and shares genuine community experiences. […] The Goethe-Institut invited hundreds of scientists, activists, intellectuals and artists to Weimar to talk about sharing and exchange – in other words, what holds society together at its core. (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

This was KSWE16

Sharing and exchange are basic human cultural practices. They play as big a role in poor countries as they do in affluent societies. But when do I actually share – and with whom? What social and cultural developments emerge from the various forms and manifestations of sharing and exchange? What is the meaning of trust in times of couch surfing and car sharing?

Three hundred participants from the fields of culture, business, science and politics gathered in Weimar on 1–3 June 2016 to discuss ideas about the topic of “The Sharing Game – Exchange in Culture and Society” in a creative atmosphere. Classic formats such as lectures and panel discussions were complemented by fishbowl conversations, exchange performances and other artistic interventions.

KSWE Worldwide

 Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Tagung „Agora & Gabe“ in Thessaloniki
Conference: Agora & Gift

Thessaloniki

Dinner Conversations „COMMONism“ in Pilsen (Ondřej Kašpárek)
Dinner Conversations: COMMONism

Pilsen

Discussion „Ours to Govern and to Own“ in New York
Discussion: Ours to Govern and to Own

New York

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Seminar über alternative Ökonomie in Porto Alegre
Seminar: Alternative Economy

Porto Algere

The Goethe-Institut’s Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 examined and discussed processes of sharing and exchange around the world. Why do people exchange or share with each other? Cultural traditions, local initiatives, artistic adaptations and scientific approaches enriched the Kultursymposium Weimar with new voices and ideas.

In Weimar, artists, young academics and students met with opinion leaders from all over the world, including Yochai Benkler (Harvard), Rachel Botsman (Sydney), Ute Frevert (Berlin), Eva Illouz (Jerusalem), Hartmut Rosa (Jena), Tomáš Sedláček (Prague), Joseph Vogl (Berlin) and Jeremy Rifkin (Washington D.C.).

Highlights and Impressions

Programme Highlights

The Kultursymposium Weimar explored various aspects of the theme of sharing and exchange across the different strands of the programme, including the following questions: What cultural values are associated with the practice of sharing and exchange? What new networks are created by collaborative economic forms? What role does trust play in the sharing economy? Do food and car sharing, couch surfing, swap parties, and so on constitute cultural, social or economic phenomena – or all of them at once?

One strand of the programme addresses the cultural significance of sharing and exchange, their anthropology and development in the history of ideas. The second thematic focus is exchange as a basic element of communication, society and religion. Participants can discuss the idea of global public goods and shared property as part of the topic of sharing as utopia. If sharing is an acquired trait – and thus not an anthropological constant but an ontogenetic civilizational achievement – how much (culture-specific) pressure is exerted to achieve this educational goal? This question is explored in the strand on sharing and exchange as a doctrine. And finally, the last strand of the Kultursymposium Weimar programme will navigate the question of how sharing and exchange is carried out in networks of cultural exchange.
Keynote Tomáš Sedláček
Opening Talk

Keynote speech by Tomáš Sedláček

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Digitale Anthropophagie (Ramos-Velasquez)
Digital Anthropophagy

Talk by Vanessa Ramos-Velasquez

Brauchen wir heute noch Mittler? (Beckedahl, Devane, Ebert, Magnier)
Do we Need Intermediaries Today?

Panel with Markus Beckedahl, Sir Ciarán Devane, Johannes Ebert, Michel Magnier 

Shared Heritage (Lehmann, MacGregor, Parzinger, Weigel)
Shared Heritage

Panel and World Café mit Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Neil MacGregor, Hermann Parzinger und Sigrid Weigel

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Teilen in sozialen Netzwerken (John, Rötzer, Staebner)
Sharing in Social Networks

Panel with Nicholas A. John, Florian Rötzer, Georg Staebner  

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – The Sharing Imperative (Bhargava, Sützl, Salvador-Amores)
The Sharing Imperative

Panel with Analyn Salvador-Amores, Rajeev Bhargava, Wolfgang Sützl

Programme Overview

An overview of all events, topics, speakers and formats of the Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 is available for download:

Sharing Ideas

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 | 01.-03. Juni

Teilen und Tauschen

Das "Weimarer Kultursymposion" des Goethe-Instituts zerlegt die Versprechen der Internet-Ökonomie - und tauscht echte Gemeinschaftserfahrungen aus. [...] Hunderte Wissenschaftler, Aktivisten, Intellektuelle und Künstler hatte das Goethe-Institut nach Weimar eingeladen, um übers Teilen und Tauschen zu reden, Also über das, könnte man sagen, was Gesellschaft im Innersten zusammenhält. (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

Das war das KSWE16

Teilen und Tauschen sind Grundlagen menschlicher Kulturpraktiken. Sie spielen in armen Ländern eine ebenso große Rolle wie in Wohlstandsgesellschaften. Wann aber teile ich überhaupt – und mit wem? Welche gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Entwicklungen ergeben sich aus den verschiedenen Erscheinungsformen des Teilens und Tauschens? Was bedeutet Vertrauen in Zeiten von Couchsurfing oder Car Sharing?

Dreihundert Teilnehmende aus Kultur, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik diskutierten vom 1. bis 3. Juni 2016 in Weimar Ideen und Impulse zum Thema „Teilen und Tauschen“ in kreativer Atmosphäre. Klassische Formate wie Vorträge und Paneldiskussionen wurden durch Fish Bowls, Tauschperformances und andere künstlerische Interventionen ergänzt.

KSWE Weltweit

 Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Tagung „Agora & Gabe“ in Thessaloniki
Tagung: Agora & Gabe

Thessaloniki

Dinner Conversations „COMMONism“ in Pilsen (Ondřej Kašpárek)
Dinner Conversations: COMMONism

Pilsen

Diskussion „Ours to Govern and to Own“ in New York
Panel: Ours to Govern and to Own

New York

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Seminar über alternative Ökonomie in Porto Alegre
Seminar: Alternative Ökonomie

Porto Algere

Auf dem Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 des Goethe-Instituts wurden Vorgänge des Teilens und des Tauschens in aller Welt untersucht und diskutiert. Warum tauschen oder teilen Menschen? Kulturelle Traditionen, lokale Initiativen, künstlerische Adaptionen und wissenschaftliche Zugänge bereicherten das Kultursymposium Weimar um neue Impulse und Stimmen.

In Weimar trafen Künstler*innen, junge Wissenschaftler*innen und Student*innen mit Meinungsführer*innen aus aller Welt zusammen, darunter Yochai Benkler (Harvard), Rachel Botsman (Sydney), Ute Frevert (Berlin), Eva Illouz (Jerusalem), Hartmut Rosa (Jena), Tomáš Sedláček (Prag), Joseph Vogl (Berlin) und Jeremy Rifkin (Washington D.C.).

Impressionen und Highlights

Programm Highlights

Das Kultursymposium Weimar ging in parallelen Programmsträngen verschiedenen Aspekten des Themenfelds Teilen und Tauschen nach. Zentral waren dabei unter anderem folgende Fragen: Welche kulturellen Werte verbinden sich mit der Praxis des Teilens und Tauschens? Welche neuen Netzwerke entstehen durch kollaborative Wirtschaftsformen? Welche Rolle spielt Vertrauen in der Sharing Economy? Stellen Food und Car Sharing, Couchsurfing, Tauschpartys etc. kulturelle, soziale oder wirtschaftliche Phänomene dar – oder alles zugleich?

Einer der Themenstränge setzt sich mit kulturellen Bedeutungen des Teilens und des Tauschens auseinander, mit ihrer Anthropologie und ideengeschichtlichen Entwicklung. Der Tausch als
Grundfigur
von Kommunikation, Gesellschaft und Religion bestimmt den zweiten Themenschwerpunkt. Über die Idee von globalen öffentlichen Gütern und gemeinschaftlich genutztem Eigentum diskutieren die Teilnehmer*innen im Schwerpunkt Teilen als Utopie. Wenn das Teilen anerzogen, keine anthropologische Konstante also, sondern eine ontogenetische zivilisatorische Leistung sein sollte, wie viel Druck wird dann (kulturspezifisch) ausgeübt, um das Erziehungsziel zu erreichen? Dieser Frage geht der Themenstrang Teilen und Tauschen als Doktrin nach. Und schließlich beschäftigt sich das Kultursymposium Weimar in einem letzten Themenstrang mit der Frage, wie in Netzwerken des Kulturaustausches geteilt und getauscht wird. 
Keynote Tomáš Sedláček
Eröffnung

Keynote von Tomáš Sedláček

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Digitale Anthropophagie (Ramos-Velasquez)
Digitale Anthropophagie

Vortrag von Vanessa Ramos-Velasquez

Brauchen wir heute noch Mittler? (Beckedahl, Devane, Ebert, Magnier)
Brauchen wir heute noch Mittler?

Diskussion mit Markus Beckedahl, Sir Ciarán Devane, Johannes Ebert, Michel Magnier 

Shared Heritage (Lehmann, MacGregor, Parzinger, Weigel)
Shared Heritage

Diskussion und World Café mit Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Neil MacGregor, Hermann Parzinger und Sigrid Weigel

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – Teilen in sozialen Netzwerken (John, Rötzer, Staebner)
Teilen in Sozialen Netzwerken

Diskussion mit Nicholas A. John, Florian Rötzer, Georg Staebner  

Kultursymposium Weimar 2016 – The Sharing Imperative (Bhargava, Sützl, Salvador-Amores)
Teilen als Gebot

Diskussion mit Analyn Salvador-Amores, Rajeev Bhargava, Wolfgang Sützl

Programmübersicht

Eine Übersicht über alle Veranstaltungen, Themen, Speaker*innen und Formate des Kultursymposiums Weimar 2016 gibt es in unserem Programmplan als Download:

Raum für Austausch