Frequently asked questions

Here you will find all important information about the Kultursymposium Weimar. If you cannot find an answer to your question, please feel free to send us an e-mail: kultursymposium@goethe.de

About the KSWE

The Kultursymposium Weimar is a discursive festival for new networks and ideas. Every two years, the Goethe-Institut invites over five hundred people from all over the world to come together in Weimar to attend the event. Interdisciplinary, diverse and international, the Kultursymposium reflects the richness and complexity of global discourses and proposes new ideas for international cultural exchange. Each edition of this successful festival format has a different theme – the focus for 2021 will be “Generations”.
The first Kultursymposium Weimar took place in Weimar on 1–3 June 2016 under the title “The Sharing Game – Exchange in culture and society”.
The word “Kultursymposium” captures the interplay between discursive and artistic formats. With a diverse programme of performances, panel discussions, film series, musical contributions, short lectures and interactive discussions, the Kultursymposium is an international festival format that brings together different perspectives, disciplines and voices from the Goethe-Institut network.
The cultural city of Weimar is closely connected to the Goethe-Institut. After all, the namesake of our institution, poet and thinker Johann Wolfgang von Goethe lived here for many years until his death. The city brings together cultural diversity and a network of exciting programme partners for the Kultursymposium Weimar. The city is also creating a cultural framework for the festival, ranging from panel discussions in Goethe’s home to lectures at the Bauhaus-University. 

Get involved

The Kultursymposium Weimar is an event for all those who are interested in thinking about global social issues, discussing relevant topics and exchanging ideas with international participants.
For the first time, the Kultursymposium Weimar 2021 is accessible free of charge and without registration. The digital edition allows participants from all over the world to watch without restrictions. The only condition: a stable internet connection!
Please send any programme-related queries and ideas for the Kultursymposium Weimar to kultursymposium@goethe.de.

Digital Edition 2021

Due to the uncertainties caused by the current global COVID-19 pandemic, the third edition of the Kultursymposium Weimar will mostly take place online. We view the digital edition of the Kultursymposium Weimar as a pioneering opportunity to create a platform that incorporates the goals of cultural exchange and global networking not only in its content but also in its format.
You can easily follow the digital edition of the Kultursymposium Weimar here on our website or via the YouTube account of the Goethe-Institut. You can be there live on 16 and 17 June, free of charge and without any registration. Afterwards, all content will also be made available in the media library. 
Due to the current Corona pandemic, this year's edition is taking place in digital space. But we didn't want to miss the connection to the beautiful city of Weimar, so we realised two projects in Weimar. Of course, under the given conditions and with a safe health concept.  

We have an accompanying exhibition in Weimar again this year at Galerie Eigenheim. Our fantastic cooperation partner is showing "Generation Now", an exciting artistic perspective on our theme. 

The Rewild installation by Scottish artist Natalie Taylor is also worth a visit! She has planted wildflowers in the urban space of Weimar.

Language

The event languages of the Kultursymposium are German and English. A large part of the events will be held in English. All pre-recorded contributions are subtitled in German and English. In the livestream, the contributions will also be interpreted so that they can always be made available in German and English.  
The Kultursymposium Weimar thrives on the international voices from all over the world that enrich the discourse. To enable an exchange across (language) borders, a large part of the events will therefore take place in English. 
The event languages of the Kultursymposium are German and English. To switch to the other language version, you can click on the small blue button below our livestream window, or use the language change button in the upper right corner of our website. 

Technical Requirements

In order to join the chat during the festival and ask your questions, you have to register once on YouTube. After that, you can comment and participate directly on YouTube as well as here on our website. 
All pre-recorded contributions are subtitled in German and English and thus available for people with hearing disabilities.  

After the festival, all live sessions will also be subtitled and made available in the media library. 

About us

The Kultursymposium Weimar’s small project team organizes the event from the Goethe-Institut’s office in the capital city of Berlin. The team is supported by colleagues from the Goethe-Institut’s head office in Munich and the many ideas and voices from the Goethe-Instituts abroad and our partners in Weimar.

Frequently asked questions

Hier finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen zum Kultursymposium Weimar. Sollten Sie keine Antwort auf Ihre Frage finden, schreiben Sie uns gern eine E-Mail an: kultursymposium@goethe.de

Über das KSWE

Das Kultursymposium Weimar ist ein diskursives Festival für neue Netzwerke und Ideen, zu dem das Goethe-Institut alle zwei Jahre über 500 Teilnehmende aus der ganzen Welt in Weimar zusammenbringt. Interdisziplinär, divers und international spiegelt das Kultursymposium globale Diskurse in all ihrer Vielfalt wider und liefert damit frische Impulse für den internationalen Kulturaustausch. Das erfolgreiche Festivalformat setzt mit jeder Ausgabe neue Themenschwerpunkte – 2021 mit dem Fokus auf »Generationen«.

Das erste Kultursymposium Weimar hat unter dem Titel „Teilen und Tauschen“ vom 1.-3 Juni 2016 in Weimar stattgefunden.

Das Wort „Kultursymposium“ fasst das Zusammenspiel zwischen diskursiven und künstlerischen Formaten. In einem vielfältigen Programm aus Performances, Panel-Diskussionen, Filmreihen, Musikbeiträgen, Kurzvorträgen und interaktiven Diskussionsrunden entsteht mit dem „Kultursymposium“ ein internationales Festivalformat, das Perspektiven, Disziplinen und Stimmen aus dem Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts zusammenbringt.

Die Kulturstadt Weimar ist mit dem Goethe-Institut eng verbunden. Schließlich hat der Namensgeber unserer Institution, Dichter und Denker Johann Wolfgang von Goethe viele Jahre bis zu seinem Tod hier gelebt. Die Stadt bringt kulturelle Vielfalt und ein Netzwerk an spannenden Programmpartnern für das Kultursymposium Weimar zusammen. Dabei schafft die Stadt einen kulturellen Rahmen für das Festival, der von Panel-Diskussionen in Goethes Wohnhaus bis zu Vorträgen in der Bauhaus-Universität reicht. 

Mitmachen

Das Kultursymposium Weimar ist eine Veranstaltung für alle, die daran interessiert sind, über globale Gesellschaftsfragen nachzudenken, relevante Themen zu diskutieren und sich mit internationalen Teilnehmer*innen auszutauschen.
Das Kultursymposium Weimar 2021 ist zum ersten Mal kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung zugänglich. Die digitale Edition ermöglicht es Teilnehmenden aus aller Welt ohne Einschränkungen zuzuschauen. Einzige Bedingung: eine stabile Internetverbindung!
Programmatische Anfragen und Ideen für das Kultursymposium Weimar senden Sie bitte an kultursymposium@goethe.de.

Digitale Edition 2021

Aufgrund der aktuellen Unwägbarkeiten durch die globale COVID-19 Pandemie wird die dritte Ausgabe des Kultursymposiums Weimar zum größten Teil im digitalen Raum stattfinden. Wir verstehen die digitale Edition als zukunftsweisende Chance, eine Plattform zu schaffen, die die Ziele des kulturellen Austauschs, der globalen Vernetzung und Partizipation nicht nur inhaltlich, sondern auch formgebend einbezieht.
Die digitale Edition des Kultursymposium Weimar könnt ihr ganz einfach hier auf unserer Website oder über den YouTube-Account des Goethe-Instituts verfolgen. Am 16. und 17. Juni könnt ihr live dabei sein, kostenlos und ohne Voranmeldung. Danach werden alle Inhalte auch in der Mediathek verfügbar gemacht. 
Aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Pandemie findet die diesjährige Edition im digitalen Raum statt. Wir wollten aber den Bezug zum schönen Weimar auf keinen Fall missen, darum haben wir zwei Projekte in Weimar umgesetzt. Natürlich unter den gegebenen Auflagen und mit sicherem Hygienekonzept.  

Wir haben dieses Jahr in Weimar wieder eine begleitende Ausstellung in der Galerie Eigenheim. Unser toller Kooperationspartner zeigt dort mit “Generation Now” eine spannende künstlerische Perspektive auf unser Thema. 

Außerdem lohnt sich ein Besuch bei der Rewild-Installation der schottischen Künstlerin Natalie Taylor! Sie hat dafür den städtischen Raum in Weimar mit Wildblumen bepflanzt.

Sprache

Die Veranstaltungssprachen des Kultursymposiums sind Deutsch und Englisch. Ein Großteil der Veranstaltungen findet auf Englisch statt. Alle voraufgezeichneten Beiträge sind jeweils deutsch und englisch untertitelt. Im Livestream werden die Beiträge zudem verdolmetscht, um sie immer auf Deutsch und Englisch zur Verfügung stellen zu können.  
Das Kultursymposium Weimar lebt von den internationalen Stimmen aus aller Welt, die den Diskurs bereichern. Um einen Austausch über (Sprach-)Grenzen hinweg zu ermöglichen, findet daher ein Großteil der Veranstaltungen auf Englisch statt. 
Die Veranstaltungssprachen des Kultursymposiums sind Deutsch und Englisch. Um in die jeweils andere Sprachversion zu wechseln, könnt ihr den kleinen blauen Button unter unserem Livestream-Fenster anklicken, oder den Sprachwechsel-Button in der oberen rechten Ecke unserer Website nutzen. 

Technische Infos

Um während des Festivals im Chat mit uns zu diskutieren und eure Fragen zu stellen, müsst ihr euch einmal bei YouTube anmelden. Danach könnt ihr sowohl auf YouTube als auch hier auf unserer Website direkt kommentieren und mitmachen. 
Alle voraufgezeichneten Beiträge sind jeweils deutsch und englisch untertitelt und somit für Menschen mit Hörbehinderung verfügbar.  

Im Nachgang des Festivals werden alle Live-Sessions ebenfalls untertitelt und in der Mediathek verfügbar gemacht.  

Über uns

Das kleine Projektteam des Kultursymposium Weimar organisiert die Veranstaltung aus dem Hauptstadtbüro des Goethe-Instituts Berlin heraus. Unterstützt wird das Team durch die Kolleg*innen der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München und die vielen Ideen und Stimmen aus den Goethe-Instituten im Ausland und unserer Partner in Weimar.