Resisting success
The Polish Failures Club

Failure as the motive behind the association: Piotr Mordel and Adam Gusawski from the Club of Polish Failure Photo: Darek Gontarski

The members of the Polish Failures Club in Berlin devote themselves with great zeal to examining failure. They analyze failure and highlight its positive aspects – and, of course, are never successful in their endeavors. Their story is told by our Havana-based author and colleague Michael Thoss.

Michael M. Thoss

“There are not many of our kind in the city, just a handful, perhaps a few dozen. The rest are success people, cool and cold-blooded specialists – whatever they do, they do it brilliantly,” is how Leszek Oswiecimski begins the “Small Manifesto of Polish Failures” that gave the club, founded in 2001, its name. Its origins can be traced back to a group of Polish artists who came to Berlin in the 1980s and would meet on a regular basis. To this day, the manifesto has remained the club’s guiding philosophy. To counter the cult of success, its members postulate a culture of failure:

“We endure the terror of other people’s perfection. Their presence intimidates us. That suits them extremely well for they live with the fear that they could lose the monopoly on creation that they claim for themselves.”

That said, the word “failure,” as translated from the Polish, also has a positive connotation: a nieudacznik can be a person who does not accomplish anything because he or she is restless. Polish nieudaczniks counter the urge for frenzied new beginnings, constant reinventions of themselves and continuous self-optimization for the sake of dubious success by reflecting on the necessity of failure as an integral part of life itself. After all, they believe that there can be no true, lasting success without failure and have devoted themselves to examining and analyzing failure and its positive aspects with great zeal since registering their club as a nonprofit organization in 2001.

Survey: How much do people in the state of Brandenburg know about Polish culture?

In 2007, the club, which the founding members Piotr Mordel and Adam Gusawski run on a voluntary basis to this day, moved within Berlin’s Mitte district from Torstrasse to Ackerstrasse. They themselves define their club as “a platform for analog communication, an experimental setup for anyone willing to take part.” Prior to the corona crisis, concerts, readings, talks, and parties were staged on a regular basis in their event room that has space for 70 to 100 people. According to the nonprofit organization’s website, its official language is “German and all other foreign languages.”

For many years, the Polish failures also appeared in their own radio program broadcast by the WDR’s Funkhaus Europa, as well as in live events such as Die Schizonationale and Leutnant Show. Over one hundred episodes of Gespräche mit einem interessanten Menschen and roughly 30 episodes of their interview series Umgefragt in Bernau can be found on their YouTube channel. A small town of just 38,000 inhabitants, Bernau is situated in the state of Brandenburg between Berlin and the Polish border and for years was the setting for the bizarre surveys they carried out to highlight deficiencies in German-Polish cultural exchange and to hone their resilience to frustration. The people of Bernau were unable to answer any of the questions about Polish culture – with the exception of one passer-by, who was from Poland herself. Although Mordel and Gusawski offered individual respondents as much as 1,000 euros to watch a Polish film with them, not a single Bernau resident accepted the offer. Nonetheless, in 2017 the Polish failures won third place in the Blauer Bär, a prize that is jointly awarded by Berlin’s Senate Administration and the European Commission in Germany to “people behind the scenes” for their European engagement.

“We stumble on a straight and even path” – a policy of failure

They also failed in their 2018 attempt to establish a pro-European Polish Party of Germany (PPD) and to use satirical shows to combat right-wing populism. When the initial funding provided by Germany’s Federal Agency for Civic Education was used up, they disbanded their party and founded the Federation of European Poles in Germany, formerly the Polish Party of Germany.

Was its failure foreseeable, or perhaps the secret objective of the PPD? – This is certainly suggested by the concept of the Polish failure club, which oscillates between a voluntary refusal to accept success and an involuntary failure to achieve success. The way the club members describe themselves in their manifesto hints at the same thing: “We – the weak, the less gifted, can hardly accomplish anything; we try to buy milk at the pharmacy and half a kilo of cheese at the hairdresser’s. Cars honk their horns at us, we stumble on a straight and even path, and we step in dog shit time after time, but it simply refuses to bring us any luck.”

Sometimes, when Mordel and Gusawski are overcome by Polish melancholy and regret not having earned more money and achieved fame with their club – as a number of currently sought-after and telegenic multicultural comedians have done – it is hard to tell whether it’s an expression of self-pity or coquetry. After all, if we assess their strategy of failure using the parameters of long-term success and lasting impact, we will be amazed to discover that their philosophy for life (indeed for survival) has been and remains more than successful.

You might also like

API-Error

Wider den Erfolg
Der Club der polnischen Versager

Versagen als Vereinszweck: Piotr Mordel und Adam Gusawski vom Club der Polnischen Versager Foto: Darek Gontarski

Die Mitglieder des Clubs der polnischen Versager in Berlin widmen sich mit ganzer Inbrunst der Untersuchung des Misserfolgs. Sie analysieren das Scheitern und stellen dessen positive Seiten heraus – und haben freilich niemals Erfolg. Unser Autor und Kollege Michael Thoss aus Havanna erzählt ihre Geschichte.

Michael M. Thoss

„Unseresgleichen gibt es nicht viele in der Stadt. Ein paar nur, vielleicht einige zehn. Der Rest, das sind Menschen des Erfolgs, kühle und kaltblütige Spezialisten – was immer sie auch tun, das tun sie bestens.“ beginnt Leszek Oswiecimski das „Kleine Manifest der polnischen Versager“, das dem im Jahr 2001 gegründeten Club seinen Namen gab. Seinen Ursprung hatte er in einem Stammtisch polnischer Künstler, die in den 1980er-Jahren nach Berlin gekommen waren. Das Manifest ist bis heute Programm des Clubs geblieben. Gegenüber dem Kult des Erfolgs postulieren seine Mitglieder eine Kultur des Scheiterns:

„Wir lassen den Terror der Vollkommenheit jener Anderen über uns ergehen. Ihre Gegenwart schüchtert uns ein. Denen ist es nur recht so, denn sie leben in der Angst, das Schaffensmonopol, das sie für sich reklamieren, zu verlieren.“

Allerdings hat das aus dem Polnischen übersetzte Wort „Versager“ dort noch eine positive Nebenbedeutung: Ein „nieudacznik“ kann jemand sein, der nichts zustande bringt, weil er rastlos ist. Dem rasenden Neubeginn, dem Sich-ständig-neu-Erfinden und der permanenten Selbstoptimierung um eines zweifelhaften Erfolgs willen setzen die polnischen Versager die Reflexion über das notwendige Scheitern entgegen, das fester Bestandteil des Lebens ist. Schließlich kann es keinen wahren, dauerhaften Erfolg ohne Misserfolg geben, meinen sie, und diesen zu untersuchen, zu analysieren und dessen positive Seiten herauszustellen, widmen sie sich mit ganzer Inbrunst, seit sie ihren Club 2001 als gemeinnützigen Verein eintragen ließen.

„Umgefragt“ – Wieviel wissen Brandenburger über polnische Kultur?

2007 zog der Club, den die Gründungsmitglieder Piotr Mordel und Adam Gusawski bis heute ehrenamtlich betreiben, in Berlin Mitte von der Torstraße in die Ackerstraße um. Ihren Club definieren sie selbst als „eine Plattform für analoge Kommunikation, eine Versuchsanordnung für alle Willigen“. In ihrem Veranstaltungssaal mit 70 bis 100 Plätzen standen vor der Coronakrise regelmäßig Konzerte, Lesungen, Talks und Parties auf dem Programm. Die Website des gemeinnützigen Vereins gibt als Amtssprache „Deutsch und alle anderen Fremdsprachen“ an.

Viele Jahre traten die polnischen Versager auch in einer eigenen Radiosendung des WDR-Kanals Funkhaus Europa auf und in Live-Veranstaltungen wie „Die Schizonationale“ und „Leutnant Show“. Auf ihrem Youtube-Kanal findet man über hundert Folgen von „Gespräche mit einem interessanten Menschen“ und etwa 30 Folgen der Interviewreihe „Umgefragt in Bernau“. Die 38.000 Seelen zählende Kleinstadt Bernau, im Brandenburgischen zwischen Berlin und der polnischen Grenze gelegen, war jahrelang Schauplatz ihrer skurrilen Umfragen, mit denen sie die Defizite im deutsch-polnischen Kulturaustausch aufdeckten und ihre Frustrations-Resilienz trainierten. Auf alle Fragen zur polnischen Kultur mussten die Bernauer passen – außer eine Straßenpassantin, die selbst aus Polen kam. Obwohl Mordel und Gusawski einzelnen Befragten bis zu 1.000 Euro dafür boten, sich mit ihnen einen polnischen Film anzuschauen, nahm kein Bernauer das Angebot an. Trotzdem kamen die polnischen Versager 2017 auf den dritten Platz des Preises „Blauer Bär“, den die Berliner Senatsverwaltung gemeinsam mit der EU-Kommission in Deutschland „Menschen hinter den Kulissen“  für ihr europäisches Engagement verleiht.

„Wir stolpern auf geradem Weg“ – Scheitern als Programm

Auch mit ihrem Versuch, 2018 eine proeuropäische „Polnische Partei Deutschlands“ (PPD) zu gründen und mit Satireshows den Rechtspopulismus zu bekämpfen, scheiterten sie. Als die Anschubfinanzierung der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung aufgebraucht war, lösten sie ihre Partei in einem neugegründeten „Bund der europäischen Polen in Deutschland ehemals Polnische Partei Deutschlands“ auf.

War das Scheitern vorauszusehen, vielleicht sogar das heimliche Ziel der PPD? – Das Konzept des Clubs der polnischen Versager, das zwischen freiwilliger Erfolgsverweigerung und unfreiwilliger Erfolgslosigkeit oszilliert, legt es nahe. Auch die Selbstbeschreibung der Clubmitglieder im Manifest lässt es erahnen: „Wir – die Schwachen, weniger Begabten, können kaum etwas erwirken; die Milch versuchen wir in Apotheken zu kaufen und beim Friseur ein halbes Kilo Käse. Autos hupen uns an, wir stolpern auf dem geraden Weg, immer wieder treten wir in die Hundescheiße, bloß es will und will uns kein Glück bringen.“

Wenn Mordel und Gusawski manchmal von polnischer Schwermut übermannt werden und sie bedauern, mit ihrem Club nicht mehr Geld und Ruhm erreicht zu haben – so wie einige aktuell gefragte und telegene Multikulti-Comedians, – dann weiß man nicht genau, ob es Ausdruck von Selbstmitleid oder Koketterie ist. Denn wer ihre Strategie des Versagens nach Parametern für langfristigen Erfolg und nachhaltige Wirkung beurteilt, wird erstaunt feststellen, dass ihre (Über)Lebensphilosophie mehr als erfolgreich war und ist.

Das könnte euch auch gefallen

API-Error