Oops…
Dictionary of Misinterpretations

Feier Illustration (Detail): © Priya Kuriyan

No doubt, there are many evident faults in the Indian educational system. But that is not our topic. Our comic artist and chronic doodler Priya Kuriyan takes a tongue-in-cheek look at some flaws in the school system in India. By using fictional dictionary definitions to suit the context of the subject matter in a series of vignettes, she gives the reader a glimpse into the anxieties that plague the parents of Indian schoolchildren: the devaluation of the arts in education, the innate need for schoolchildren to please authority of any kind, the exasperations of the Indian teacher, and the sometimes tragicomic events that are so much a part of Indian school life.

Priya Kuriyan

Ambition, Noun

A strong desire for their kids to achieve something.  
“Congratulations! So, have you decided which coaching class you’ll be sending the kid to? Medicine or Engineering?” “Congratulations! So, have you decided which coaching class you’ll be sending the kid to? Medicine or Engineering?” | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Celebration, Noun

A special social event, such as the Annual School Day, when you celebrate something and get a chance to confidently goof up on stage because behind that hideous make-up, no one could guess who you really are.
(Banner) NSS Public School Day | (Small bubble) Ooopss… (Banner) NSS Public School Day | (Small bubble) Ooopss… | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Tuition, Noun

Extra teaching or instruction take outside of school, mostly due to peer pressure that ist supposed to miraculously change the graph of your downward spiraling  grades.
“Don’t worry, ma’am, he was finding this maths tuition teacher difficult to understand. Sow, now I’ve enrolled him for a second tuition to help him cope with the first.” | (Notice Board) Parent Teacher Meet | Mathematics Rohan Sharma: What is 52  3/2 | (sheet on board) notice “Don’t worry, ma’am, he was finding this maths tuition teacher difficult to understand. Sow, now I’ve enrolled him for a second tuition to help him cope with the first.” | (Notice Board) Parent Teacher Meet | Mathematics Rohan Sharma: What is 52 3/2 | (sheet on board) notice | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Assumption, Noun

A thing that is accepeted as true o ras certain to happen, without proof.
“I thought I’ll get him there before things get worse. Can you imagine!? He says he wants to do a graduation in history!” “I thought I’ll get him there before things get worse. Can you imagine!? He says he wants to do a graduation in history!” | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan
 

Desperation, Noun

A state of despair, typically one which results in rash or extrem behaviour especially during examinations.
Write five lines aobut Satyajit Ray | * only the greatest filmmaker that ever lived | Scribble, scribble! | 1. Satyajit Ray is a ray that passes through the atmosphere.  2. | Someone give the boy some marks, already! Write five lines aobut Satyajit Ray | * only the greatest filmmaker that ever lived | Scribble, scribble! | 1. Satyajit Ray is a ray that passes through the atmosphere. 2. | Someone give the boy some marks, already! | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Detention, Noun

The punishment of being kept in school afterhours. Which is not so common as „Standing outside the classroom with your hands in the air!“
“Heyyy! Long Time.” –  “Yeah!” – “What did you do this time?” – “Got caught reading a comic. You?” – “Just chatting.” – “Saw the match yesterday?” | Class X-c, Class XI-A “Heyyy! Long Time.” – “Yeah!” – “What did you do this time?” – “Got caught reading a comic. You?” – “Just chatting.” – “Saw the match yesterday?” | Class X-c, Class XI-A | Illustration: © Priya Kurian

Explosion, Noun

A sudden outburst of something such as emotion, especially anger. COMMON CLASSROOM EXPLOSIONS
QUIET! Is this a classroom or a fishmarket? | Forgot your homework? Do you ever forget to eat? | Out! Stand outside with your hands up in the air! | I want pin drop silence! | No talking! I have eyes at the back of my head!! QUIET! Is this a classroom or a fishmarket? | Forgot your homework? Do you ever forget to eat? | Out! Stand outside with your hands up in the air! | I want pin drop silence! | No talking! I have eyes at the back of my head!! | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

You might also like

API-Error

Upps …
Wörterbuch der Fehlinterpretationen

Feier Illustration (Detail): © Priya Kuriyan

Ohne Zweifel hat das indische Schulsystem einige deutliche Schwachstellen. Aber um diese soll es an dieser Stelle nicht gehen. Unsere immer und überall mit Papier und Stift ausgestattete Comic-Zeichnerin Priya Kuriyan nimmt hier ironisch einige Mängel des Schullalltags in Indien aufs Korn. Mit Hilfe von fiktionalen Wörterbucheinträgen, die zum jeweiligen Thema ihrer Vignetten passen, verschafft sie ihrer Leserschaft einen Eindruck von dem Druck, unter dem Eltern von Schulkindern in Indien stehen. Hier hat die Kunst im Lehrplan nur einen geringen Stellenwert, indische Schulkinder sollen möglichst die Obrigkeit mit ihrem Können erfreuen, die Lehrenden in Indien sind frustriert und die Schulveranstaltungen, die hier auf der Tagesordnung stehen, haben oftmals einen tragikomischen Beigeschmack.
 

Priya Kuriyan

Ehrgeiz, Nomen

Ein starker (meist Eltern vorbehaltener) Wunsch, dass ihre Kinder einmal erfolgreich sein sollen.  
„Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Und, habt Ihr schon entschieden, welchen Zusatzunterricht  das Kind bekommen soll – Medizin oder Maschinenbau?“ „Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Und, habt Ihr schon entschieden, welchen Zusatzunterricht das Kind bekommen soll – Medizin oder Maschinenbau?“ | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Feier, Nomen

Ein besonderes gesellschaftliches Ereignis, zum Beispiel die Jahresschulfeier, bei dem man auf der Bühne etwas nach Herzenslust vermasseln kann, weil man unter dem lächerlich dicken Make-up sowieso nicht erkannt wird. 
(Banner) NSS Staatliche Schule – Jahrestag | (Kleine Sprechblase) Upps … (Banner) NSS Staatliche Schule – Jahrestag | (Kleine Sprechblase) Upps … | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Nachhilfe, Nomen

Meist durch vorherrschenden Gruppendruck bedingte Extrastunden oder Nachhilfe neben der Schule mit dem Ziel, den sinkenden Notenspiegel durch Zauberhand wieder in die Höhe schießen zu lassen. 
„Keine Sorge. Er ist mit seinem Mathe-Nachhilfelehrer nicht klargekommen, also haben wir ihn für einen weiteren Kurs angemeldet, damit er den ersten versteht.“ | (Hinweistafel) Eltern-Lehrer-Gespräche | Mathematik Rohan Sharma: Was ist 52 3/2 | (Blatt an Tafel) Hinweis „Keine Sorge. Er ist mit seinem Mathe-Nachhilfelehrer nicht klargekommen, also haben wir ihn für einen weiteren Kurs angemeldet, damit er den ersten versteht.“ | (Hinweistafel) Eltern-Lehrer-Gespräche | Mathematik Rohan Sharma: Was ist 52 3/2 | (Blatt an Tafel) Hinweis | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Annahme, Nomen

Etwas, das als wahr oder mit Sicherheit eintreffend angesehen wird, ohne dass es irgendwelche Beweise dafür gibt. 
„Ich dachte, ich bring‘ ihn mal hierher, bevor es noch schlimmer wird. Können Sie sich das vorstellen, mein Junge will allen Ernstes einen Abschluss in Geschichte machen!“ „Ich dachte, ich bring‘ ihn mal hierher, bevor es noch schlimmer wird. Können Sie sich das vorstellen, mein Junge will allen Ernstes einen Abschluss in Geschichte machen!“ | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan
 

Verzweiflung, Nomen

Zustand der Verzweiflung, der besonders bei Prüfungen auftritt und oft zu unbedachtem oder extremem Verhalten führt. 
Schreibe fünf Sätze über Satyajit Ray | * nur der beste Filmregisseur aller Zeiten | Kritzel, kritzel! | 1. Satyajit Ray ist ein Lichtstrahl, der die Atmosphäre durchbricht. 2. | Gebt dem Jungen ruhig schon mal ein paar Noten! Schreibe fünf Sätze über Satyajit Ray | * nur der beste Filmregisseur aller Zeiten | Kritzel, kritzel! | 1. Satyajit Ray ist ein Lichtstrahl, der die Atmosphäre durchbricht. 2. | Gebt dem Jungen ruhig schon mal ein paar Noten! | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Nachsitzen, Nomen 

Als Strafe nach dem Unterricht noch in der Schule bleiben. Meist ist das sprichwörtliche Nachsitzen allerdings eher ein „Mit erhobenen Armen vor dem Klassenraum stehen“.
„Heeey! Lange nicht gesehen.“ – „Stimmt.“ – „Was du denn diesmal ausgefressen?“ – „Bin beim Comiclesen erwischt worden. Und du?“ – „Hab‘ bloß gequatscht.“ – „Und, gestern das Spiel gesehen?“ | Klasse 10 c, Klasse 11a „Heeey! Lange nicht gesehen.“ – „Stimmt.“ – „Was du denn diesmal ausgefressen?“ – „Bin beim Comiclesen erwischt worden. Und du?“ – „Hab‘ bloß gequatscht.“ – „Und, gestern das Spiel gesehen?“ | Klasse 10 c, Klasse 11a | Illustration: © Priya Kurian
 


Ausbruch, Nomen

Ein plötzlicher Ausbruch von gefühlsähnlichen Zuständen, etwa Wut. HÄUFIGE AUSBRÜCHE IM KLASSENZIMMER
RUHE! Ist das hier ein Klassenraum oder ein Fischmarkt? | Wie, du hast die Hausaufgaben vergessen? Vergisst du auch manchmal, etwas zu essen?! | Raus! Bleib draußen stehen! Und Arme hoch! | Ich will eine Stecknadel fallen hören! | Ruhe dahinten! Ich sehe alles!! RUHE! Ist das hier ein Klassenraum oder ein Fischmarkt? | Wie, du hast die Hausaufgaben vergessen? Vergisst du auch manchmal, etwas zu essen?! | Raus! Bleib draußen stehen! Und Arme hoch! | Ich will eine Stecknadel fallen hören! | Ruhe dahinten! Ich sehe alles!! | Illustration: © Priya Kuriyan

Das könnte euch auch gefallen

API-Error