Goethe-Institut

Thailand
Pre-Jury

​A pre-jury of more than 30 local science education and science communication professionals from the participating countries are closely involved in the selection of the films.

In Thailand the pre-jury in 2021 consisted of the following members:
Dr. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Dr. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh

Spokesperson
Department of Mental Health, Ministry of Public Health

Dr. Varoth Chotipitayasunondh (Dr. Nat) is a child and adolescent psychiatrist and holding the position of the Spokesperson for the Department of Mental Health, Ministry of Public Health. He works primarily in the care of mental health issues in children and is also responsible for communicating with Thai society about various matters of mental health. Personally, Dr. Nat has always been interested in media and communication, especially in relation to mental health. Therefore, he had received scholarships to study master's and doctoral degrees in Media psychology abroad. After that, he has worked in media and mental health for the Ministry of Public Health and served as a consultant and lecturer in media psychology for a number of agencies. Furthermore, he has co-produced more than 10 mental health advertisements and short films over the past three years.

Natasha Worapornrujee
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Natasha Worapornrujee

Educator
Science Center for Education (Bangkok Planetarium)

A Fine Art graduate from Goldsmiths University of London (United Kingdom) in 2017. She later started her career in Thailand as a cultural officer at the Ministry of Culture, where she gained experience in managing an art space and coordinating art and cultural projects at Ratchadamnoen Contemporary Art Center in Bangkok. Natasha is currently pursuing a distance learning master's degree in the UK and working as an educator at Science Center for Education (Bangkok Planetarium), where she represented as the main project coordinator for the Science Film Festival in 2020.

Waree Auswakiatruksa
Science FIlm Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Waree Auswakiatruksa

Science Communicator
Division of Science Communication and Public Engagement National Center for Public Awareness of Science National Science Museum (Thailand)

Waree Auswakiatruksa graduated with a bachelor's degree from the Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Science, Chulalongkorn University. She has worked in various fields of science. In the meantime, she saw that if people can apply their specialized knowledge in a scientific way, it could improve their quality of life and also help with their career. Therefore she decided to switch her study field until she graduated with a master's degree from the Department of Mass Communication, Faculty of Communication Arts, Chulalongkorn University. Then, she has been working as a science communicator at the National Science Museum since 2001 to assist in various forms of science communication such as exhibitions, activities, works, as well as various media works such as radio programs and Youtube channel of the NSM.

Surasak Suksiri
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Surasak Suksiri

Information Officer
National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)

Surasak Suksiri graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from the Faculty of Political Science, Ramkhamhaeng University. He currently works in the Department of Media and Product Creation (MPC), Product Creation (PCS), National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA). Surasak has a passion for music, sports and movies. He was delighted to be honored as part of Science Film Festival, the activity that promotes scientific learning through films to give young people the opportunity to enter the fantasy world of learning, so that they can grow as young scientists.

Wachiraporn Khwakhong
Science Film Festival 2021 - Thailand - Jury - Wachiraporn Khwakhong

Film Program Coordinator
Thai Film Archive

Wachiraporn Khwakhong graduated from Silpakorn University with a master's degree in Educational Technology. Currently, she is holding a position at Thai Film Archive as a Film Program Coordinator who is responsible for the selection and screening of youth films for students from elementary school level until high school. Her responsibility includes the dissemination of film knowledge. Wachiraporn has been participating in the Science Film Festival since 2015. She feels challenged with new topics every year since they open up a view of science beyond textbooks by using movies for young learners, so that they understand a wide variety of scientific issues.

The Discovery Centre
SFF International Jury 2021: The Discovery Centre

Hands-on Science Education Team
Kenya

The Discovery Centre in Kenya has a highly motivated science team with a keen appreciation for science communication. The Nairobi-based center has experience in dispensing and inculcating science concepts to students in the GCSE, CBC, and 8-4-4 curriculums and prides itself in the ability to convey concepts clearly and thus build trust and motivation with their partners. This cultivates a fun and positive learning environment in which students can realize their maximum capabilities. The Discovery Centre is committed to enhancing the learning of STEM subjects by simplifying them, using experiential methods, and making learning fun and interactive. The center offers a STEM Curriculum to both schools and individual clients in Primary and Secondary levels of education.

Goethe-Institut

Thailand
Pre-Jury

​Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der 
teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden.​ 

In Thailand bestand die Auswahljury in 2021 aus folgenden Mitgliedern:
Dr. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Dr. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh

Pressesprecher
Abteilung für psychische Gesundheit, Ministerium für öffentliche Gesundheit

Dr. Varoth Chotipitayasunondh (Dr. Nat) ist Kinder- und Jugendpsychiater und bekleidet die Position des Sprechers der Abteilung für psychische Gesundheit im Ministerium für öffentliche Gesundheit. Er beschäftigt sich hauptsächlich mit der Behandlung von psychischen Problemen bei Kindern und ist auch für die Kommunikation mit der thailändischen Gesellschaft über verschiedene Themen der psychischen Gesundheit zuständig. Persönlich hat sich Dr. Nat schon immer für Medien und Kommunikation interessiert, vor allem in Bezug auf die psychische Gesundheit. Deshalb hatte er Stipendien erhalten, um im Ausland einen Master- und Doktortitel in Medienpsychologie zu erwerben. Danach hat er im Bereich Medien und psychische Gesundheit für das Ministerium für öffentliche Gesundheit gearbeitet und war als Berater und Dozent für Medienpsychologie für eine Reihe von Agenturen tätig. Darüber hinaus hat er in den letzten drei Jahren mehr als 10 Werbespots und Kurzfilme zur psychischen Gesundheit mitproduziert.
 

Natasha Worapornrujee
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Natasha Worapornrujee

Educator

2017 schloss sie ihr Studium der Bildenden Kunst an der Goldsmiths University of London (Vereinigtes Königreich) ab. Später begann sie ihre Karriere in Thailand als Kulturbeauftragte des Kulturministeriums, wo sie Erfahrungen in der Verwaltung eines Kunstraums und der Koordination von Kunst- und Kulturprojekten im Ratchadamnoen Contemporary Art Center in Bangkok sammelte. Natasha absolviert derzeit ein Master-Fernstudium im Vereinigten Königreich und arbeitet als Pädagogin im Science Center for Education (Bangkok Planetarium), wo sie als Hauptprojektkoordinatorin für das Science Film Festival im Jahr 2020 tätig ist.

Waree Auswakiatruksa
Science FIlm Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Waree Auswakiatruksa

Wissenschaftskommunikator
Abteilung für Wissenschaftskommunikation und öffentliches Engagement Nationales Zentrum für öffentliches Bewusstsein für Wissenschaft Nationales Wissenschaftsmuseum (Thailand)

Waree Auswakiatruksa erwarb einen Bachelor-Abschluss an der Abteilung für Mikrobiologie der naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Chulalongkorn Universität. Sie hat in verschiedenen Bereichen der Wissenschaft gearbeitet. In der Zwischenzeit erkannte sie, dass, wenn Menschen ihr Fachwissen auf wissenschaftliche Weise anwenden können, es ihre Lebensqualität verbessern und auch bei ihrer Karriere helfen könnte. Deshalb entschied sie sich, ihr Studienfach zu wechseln, bis sie ihren Master-Abschluss an der Abteilung für Massenkommunikation der Fakultät für Kommunikationswissenschaften der Chulalongkorn Universität machte. Dann arbeitet sie seit 2001 als Wissenschaftskommunikatorin am National Science Museum, um bei verschiedenen Formen der Wissenschaftskommunikation wie Ausstellungen, Aktivitäten, Arbeiten sowie verschiedenen Medienarbeiten wie Radioprogrammen und dem Youtube-Kanal des NSM zu helfen.

Surasak Suksiri
Science Film Festival 2021 - Pre-Jury - Thailand: Surasak Suksiri

Informationsbeauftragter
Nationale Agentur für Wissenschafts- und Technologieentwicklung (NSTDA)

Surasak Suksiri schloss sein Studium an der Fakultät für Politikwissenschaften der Ramkhamhaeng Universität mit einem Bachelor of Arts ab. Derzeit arbeitet er in der Abteilung für Medien und Produkterstellung (MPC), Produkterstellung (PCS), National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA). Surasak hat eine Leidenschaft für Musik, Sport und Filme. Er war hocherfreut, als Teil des Science Film Festivals geehrt zu werden, einer Aktivität, die wissenschaftliches Lernen durch Filme fördert, um jungen Menschen die Möglichkeit zu geben, in die Fantasiewelt des Lernens einzutauchen, damit sie als junge Wissenschaftler wachsen können.
 

Wachiraporn Khwakhong
Science Film Festival 2021 - Thailand - Jury - Wachiraporn Khwakhong

Koordinator des Filmprogramms Thai Film Archive

Wachiraporn Khwakhong schloss ihr Studium an der Silpakorn University mit einem Master in Bildungstechnologie ab. Derzeit arbeitet sie als Koordinatorin des Filmprogramms im thailändischen Filmarchiv und ist für die Auswahl und Vorführung von Jugendfilmen für Schüler von der Grundschule bis zur Oberstufe zuständig. Zu ihren Aufgaben gehört auch die Verbreitung von Filmwissen. Wachiraporn nimmt seit 2015 am Science Film Festival teil. Sie fühlt sich jedes Jahr mit neuen Themen herausgefordert, da sie jungen Lernenden mit Hilfe von Filmen einen Blick auf die Wissenschaft jenseits von Lehrbüchern eröffnen, damit sie eine Vielzahl wissenschaftlicher Themen verstehen.

The Discovery Centre
SFF International Jury 2021: The Discovery Centre

Praxisteam für naturwissenschaftliche Bildung
Kenia

Das Discovery Centre in Kenia verfügt über ein hochmotiviertes wissenschaftliches Team mit einem ausgeprägten Sinn für Wissenschaftskommunikation. Das in Nairobi ansässige Zentrum hat Erfahrung in der Vermittlung von wissenschaftlichen Konzepten an Schüler in den Lehrplänen GCSE, CBC und 8-4-4 und ist stolz auf seine Fähigkeit, Konzepte klar zu vermitteln und so Vertrauen und Motivation bei seinen Partnern aufzubauen. So entsteht ein unterhaltsames und positives Lernumfeld, in dem die Schüler ihre Fähigkeiten voll ausschöpfen können. Das Discovery Centre hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, das Erlernen von MINT-Fächern zu verbessern, indem es diese vereinfacht, experimentelle Methoden anwendet und das Lernen spielerisch und interaktiv gestaltet. Das Zentrum bietet einen MINT-Lehrplan sowohl für Schulen als auch für Einzelkunden in der Primar- und Sekundarstufe an.