main page Zeitgeister The Cultural Magazine of the Goethe-Institut

Zeitgeister on Air #4 Driving a Smart on the autobahn with Şeyda Kurt

As a child, author Şeyda Kurt often travelled across Europe by car with her parents. That’s the subject of today’s episode. Georg Milz is at the mic. An episode that will make you want to turn up the volume and enjoy Turkish pop songs, hip-hop sounds and childhood memories.

Potato Print by Verena Hütter
Autobahn Potato Print

Zeitgeister on Air #3 Top Trumps Supercars with Berthold Franke

Berthold Franke wrote the lead article for our Zeitgeister Autobahn edition. In conversation with Verena Hütter, he takes us through almost 100 years of autobahn history in Germany. And it’s not just about the autobahn. It’s about nothing less than the German soul.

Potato Print by Verena Hütter Autobahn Potato Print

Zeitgeister on Air #2 Something over the hill with Andreas Ströhl

US road trips, good art, the longing to travel on highways and the certainty that someone or something is waiting for us over the next hill. Today’s guest is Andreas Ströhl. In conversation with Verena Hütter, he completes the Top 10 of the most beautiful highway songs.

Potato Print by Verena Hütter Autobahn Potato Print

Zeitgeister on Air #1 Elvis and the Autobahn with Michael Krell

In episode 1 of our Autobahn season, Michael Krell from Montréal presents his favourite highway songs. Michael and our podcast’s host, Verena Hütter, talk about Elvis, Berlin before the fall of the Wall, key moments in rock ’n’ roll history and the greatest crooners of all time.

Potato Print by Verena Hütter
Autobahn Potato Print
“Zeitgeister on Air” is a cultural podcast for people with an interest in art, international perspectives, original (and even nerdy) subjects, zines and Germany. We invite international artists and authors to tell us about themselves. Currently we’re talking all things Autobahn. Get ready for a total of ten episodes packed with compelling highway stories. A new episode will be released each week, and you’ll get to know the authors and artists of our Autobahn edition through in-depth conversations. Tune in! Apple Podcasts | Spotify | RSS

Season 2: Being Kafka

Explore the magical world of Franz Kafka in “Being Kafka”, the second season of ZEITGEISTER ON AIR. Our hosts Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson and Dina Elsayed of “Common Ground Berlin” talk to Kafka experts in Israel, India, Columbia, Czechia, Poland, the USA, the United Kingdom and Switzerland. Their interviews look at the author’s legacy, including the lesser-known aspects, and show how popular he is in all corners of the world – sometimes for entirely contradictory reasons.

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #8 with Grzegorz Jankowicz

Dina Elsayed’s guest on the Kafka-Podcast is Polish philosopher and translator Grzegorz Jankowicz. His tip for anyone reading Kafka for the first time: relax, forget about the clichés, and have fun. And we hope you have fun listening to this episode too!

Being Kafka #8 with Grzegorz Jankowicz

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #7 with Ross Benjamin

This time, Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson’s guest in our Kafka podcast is Ross Benjamin. Ross lives in New York and translates German literature into English. His latest project is a translation of the diaries of Franz Kafka. What does Ross admire most about Kafka? He tells you that in the podcast – listen in and find out.

Being Kafka #7 with Ross Benjamin

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #6 with Jaroslav Rudiš

Czech author and musician Jaroslav Rudiš is touring Europe with his group, the Kafka Band. What fascinates the musician about Kafka is the mixture of tragedy and comedy in his works. Jaroslav sings these works in German, Czech and English, against a backdrop of alternative rock … it’s tricky to describe, you need to listen!

Being Kafka #6 with Jaroslav Rudiš

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #5 with Gerald Barry

“Without Ohropax day and night, I really couldn’t cope,” wrote Franz Kafka in 1922. The author from Prague struggled with the loudness of the city. The Irish composer Gerald Barry revisited precisely this characteristic in his work “Kafka’s Earplugs” – and in 2023 he celebrated its world premiere by the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in London. 

Being Kafka #5 with Gerald Barry

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #4 with Marianne Kolb

Can Franz Kafka change your life? Artist Marianne Kolb from California – who is Swiss by birth – had this experience. She tells Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson about how Kafka saved her from the grey days of her education and apprenticeship in a strict Switzerland. 

Being Kafka #4 with Marianne Kolb

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #3 with Hernán D. Caro

What makes Franz Kafka so popular in Latin America? Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson interviews the Colombian author Hernán D. Caro to find out. They talk about Kafka’s clear language which can be translated into Spanish without much detriment. Hernán says that Kafka showed us how to write about the weirdest things as if they were more normal than anything else in the world.

Being Kafka #3 with Hernán D. Caro

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #2 with Stefan Litt

Stefan Litt from the National Library of Israel talks about the adventurous travels of Franz Kafka’s manuscripts after his death. It was Max Brod who saved them from Kafka’s last wish and did not burn them. In the end there followed decades of court cases. A crime thriller with … watch out for the spoiler … a happy ending.

Being Kafka #2 with Stefan Litt

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #1 with Kathi Diamant

Kathi Diamant works with the San Diego State University in the USA. She talks to Dina Elsayed about her special relationship with the last woman in Franz Kafka’s life: Dora Diamant. Kathi has spent decades searching for letters and notebooks belonging to Franz Kafka.

Being Kafka #1 with Kathi Diamant

Season 1: Radio Around the World

The first season of ZEITGEISTER ON AIR is a collaboration with “Common Ground Berlin”. To mark its centenary, the whole season will revolve around radio: our hosts Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson and Dina Elsayed chat to international radio personalities. From Alaska, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, the Isles of Scilly and the USA, they share their personal radio stories with us. Tune into eight episodes and an extra-long bonus episode from Alaska.

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World Alaska-Special

Theo Greenly is a reporter at the single radio station covering Alaska’s Aleutian Islands. Here’s Theo telling the story of how he wound up living on a volcano in the Bering Sea. And about getting more than what he bargained for.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR: Alaska

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #8 with Anna Winger

Before her TV career, Anna Winger was a radio broadcaster. She produced around 200 “Berlin Stories” – about odd happenings during the Cold War, encoded Secret Service messages transmitted over the radio, and a young clubber from Berlin who swam across the Spree one night to visit her favourite club.
 

Zeitgeister on Air #8: Anna Winger

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #7 with Kamal Nasir Hamyar

Kamal Narsad Hamyar takes us through the turbulent history of radio in Afghanistan: during Kamal’s childhood in the 1980s there was only one radio station in the entire country. On reaching adulthood, Kamal became a a radio journalist himself.

Radio Around the World #7 with Kamal Nasir Hamyar

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #6 with Rik De Lisle

Since the 1980s, Rik De Lisle has been on Berlin Radio so frequently that his young son used to think every kid could listen to their dad live on air all the time, they just had to turn on the radio to hear his voice. Rik is now 76 – and still broadcasting. 

Radio Around the World #6 with Rik De Lisle

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #5 with Mary Louise Kelly

In this podcast episode Mary Louise Kelly, host of NPR’s beloved show “All Things Considered”, recounts her first driveway moment and how it forever changed the course of her career.
 

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #5: Mary Louise Kelly

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #4 with Keri Jones

Keri Jones, founder of the smallest radio station in the world, Radio Scilly, found his passion for radio when he volunteered at a local station so he could get out of taking gym classes. 

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #4: Keri Jones

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #3 with Lulu Garcia-Navarro

Longtime NPR presenter Lulu Garcia-Navarro now produces the “New York Times” opinion podcast “First Person”. She talks about how she ended up in radio, and what challenges are currently faced by the 100-year-old medium in her view.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #3: Lulu Garcia-Navarro

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around The World #2 with John Masuku

John Masuku has been a radio broadcaster in Zimbabwe for more than 40 years. He talks about the turbulent times during Zimbabwe’s independence movement, and about the huge importance radio came to have in his country.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #2: John Masuku

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around The World #1 with Steve Inskeep

It is hard to imagine public radio in the USA without NPR’s “Morning Edition” – a show that Steve Inskeep has been presenting for nearly two decades. Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson talks to him about his favourite radio anecdotes, his most influential experience as an NPR host, and more. 

© Goethe-Institut e.V. ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #1: Steve Inskeep

Partner Common Ground Berlin

A transatlantic podcast in English produced in Berlin.

© common ground berlin © common ground berlin der Berliner Fernsehturm

Startseite Zeitgeister Das Kulturmagazin des Goethe-Instituts

Zeitgeister on Air #3 Autoquartett mit Berthold Franke

Berthold Franke führt uns im Gespräch mit Verena Hütter durch gut 100 Jahre Autobahngeschichte in Deutschland. Und da geht’s nicht nur um die Autobahn. Da geht’s um nichts geringeres als um die Seele der Deutschen.

Kartoffeldruck: Verena Hütter
Autobahn Kartoffeldruck

Zeitgeister on Air #2 Something over the hill mit Andreas Ströhl

Roadtrips durch die USA, gute Kunst, Sehnsucht nach Highways und die Gewissheit, dass hinter dem nächsten Hügel jemand oder etwas auf uns wartet. Andreas Ströhl macht im Gespräch mit Verena Hütter die Top 10 der schönsten Highway-Songs komplett.

Kartoffeldruck: Verena Hütter Autobahn Kartoffeldruck

Zeitgeister on Air #1 Elvis und die Autobahn mit Michael Krell

In Folge 1 unserer Autobahn-Staffel stellt euch Michael Krell aus Montréal seine absoluten Highway-Lieblingssongs vor. Im Gespräch mit Verena Hütter geht es um: Elvis, Berlin vor dem Mauerfall, Schlüsselmomente der Rock-’n’-Roll-Geschichte und um die größten Schnulzensänger aller Zeiten.

Kartoffeldruck: Verena Hütter Autobahn Kartoffeldruck
„Zeitgeister On Air“ ist der Kulturpodcast für alle, die Interesse an Kunst, internationalen Perspektiven, originellen (auch nerdigen) Themen, Zines und an Deutschland haben. Wir laden internationale Künstler*innen und Autor*innen ein, uns von sich zu erzählen. In unserer Autobahn-Podcaststaffel erwarten euch insgesamt zehn Folgen prall gefüllt mit Autobahn-Geschichten, jede Woche eine neue Geschichte und ein neuer special guest. Schaltet ein! 
Apple Podcasts | Spotify | RSS

Staffel 2: Being Kafka

Erkunde die magische Welt von Franz Kafka in „Being Kafka“, der zweiten Staffel von ZEITGEISTER ON AIR. Unsere Hosts Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson und Dina Elsayed von „Common Ground Berlin“ sprechen mit Kafka-Expert*innen in Israel, Indien, Kolumbien, Tschechien, Polen, den USA, dem Vereinigten Königreich und der Schweiz. In ihren Gesprächen beleuchten sie auch weniger bekannte Aspekte rund um das Erbe des Schriftstellers und zeigen, wie beliebt er in allen Ecken der Welt ist – aus manchmal ganz widersprüchlichen Gründen.

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #8 mit Grzegorz Jankowicz

Zu Gast bei Dina Elsayed im Kafka-Podcast ist der polnische Philosoph und Übersetzer Grzegorz Jankowicz. Sein Tipp für alle, die zum ersten Mal Kafka lesen: entspannen, Klischees vergessen und Spaß haben. Und Spaß wünschen wir euch auch beim Anhören dieser Folge!

Being Kafka #8 mit Grzegorz Jankowicz

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #7 mit Ross Benjamin

Zu Gast bei Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson in unserem Kafka-Podcast ist Ross Benjamin. Ross lebt in New York und übersetzt deutsche Literatur ins Englische. Sein jüngstes Projekt? Die Übersetzung der Tagebücher von Franz Kafka. Was Ross an Kafka am meisten bewundert? Das erzählt er euch im Podcast!

Being Kafka #7 mit Ross Benjamin

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #6 mit Jaroslav Rudiš

Der tschechische Autor und Musiker Jaroslav Rudiš tourt mit seiner Kafka Band durch Europa. An Kafkas Texten fasziniert den Musiker die Mischung aus Tragik und Komik. Jaroslav vertont und singt diese Texte auf Deutsch, Tschechisch und Englisch, untermalt von Alternative Rock ... schwer zu beschreiben, hört rein!

Being Kafka #6 mit Jaroslav Rudiš

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #5 mit Gerald Barry

„Ohne Ohropax bei Tag und Nacht ginge es gar nicht“, schrieb Franz Kafka 1922. Den Prager Schriftsteller plagte die laute Stadt. Der irische Komponist Gerald Barry hat sich mit seinem Werk „Kafka’s Earplugs“ genau dieser Eigenart angenommen und feierte 2023 Uraufführung mit dem BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in London. 

Being Kafka #5 mit Gerald Barry

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #4 mit Marianne Kolb

Kann Franz Kafka dein Leben verändern? Die Malerin Marianne Kolb aus Kalifornien mit schweizerischen Wurzeln hat diese Erfahrung gemacht. Mit Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson spricht sie darüber, wie Kafkas Lektüre sie aus grauen Schul- und Lehrjahren in einer strikten Schweiz rettete. 

Being Kafka #4 mit Marianne Kolb

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #3 mit Hernán D. Caro

Was macht Franz Kafka so beliebt in Lateinamerika? Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson befragt den kolumbianischen Autor Hernán D. Caro. Sie sprechen über Kafkas klare Sprache, die sich gut ins Spanische übersetzen lässt. Hernán sagt, Kafka habe uns gezeigt, wie man über die merkwürdigsten Dinge schreibt, als wären sie das Normalste der Welt. 

Being Kafka #3 mit Hernán D. Caro

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #2 mit Stefan Litt

Stefan Litt von der Israelischen Nationalbibliothek erzählt von der abenteuerlichen Reise der Manuskripte Franz Kafkas nach dessen Tod. Zuerst rettete Max Brod die Manuskripte vor Kafkas letztem Willen und verbrannte sie nicht. Es folgten jahrzehntelange Gerichtsprozesse. Ein Krimi mit … Vorsicht Spoiler … Happy End.

Being Kafka #2 mit Stefan Litt

Zeitgeister On Air Being Kafka #1 mit Kathi Diamant

Kathi Diamant von der San Diego State University in den USA erzählt von ihrer besonderen Beziehung zu der letzten Lebensgefährtin von Franz Kafka: Dora Diamant (sind Kathi und Dora etwa verwandt?). Seit Jahrzehnten sucht Kathi nach Briefen und Notizbüchern von Franz Kafka.

Being Kafka #1 mit Kathi Diamant

Staffel 1: Radio Around the World

Die erste Staffel von ZEITGEISTER ON AIR ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit „Common Ground Berlin“. Zum Jubliäum seines hundertjährigen Bestehens dreht sich alles um das Radio: Unsere Hosts Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson und Dina Elsayed sprechen mit internationalen Radiopersönlichkeiten. Aus Alaska, Simbabwe, Afghanistan, von den Scilly-Inseln und aus den USA bringen sie uns ihre persönlichen Radiogeschichten mit. Hört euch acht Folgen und eine extra-lange Bonus-Folge aus Alaska an.

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World Alaska-Special

Theo Greenly ist Reporter beim einzigen Radiosender der Aleuten, einer Inselgruppe in Alaska. Er erzählt euch, wie es ist, auf einem Vulkan im Beringmeer zu wohnen und aus einer Entscheidung so viel mehr herauszubekommen als man auf der Rechnung hatte.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR: Alaska

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #8 mit Anna Winger

Vor ihrer Karriere als Fernsehproduzentin hat Anna Winger Radio gemacht und rund 200 „Berlin Stories“ produziert. Die handeln von verrückten Begebenheiten zur Zeit des Kalten Krieges, Geheimdienstbotschaften und einer jungen Berliner Clubgängerin, die nachts durch die Spree schwamm.

Zeitgeister on Air #8: Anna Winger

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #7 mit Kamal Nasir Hamyar

Kamal Narsad Hamyar führt uns durch die turbulente Geschichte des Radios in Afghanistan: Während Kamals Kindheit in den 1980ern gab es nur einen einzigen Radiosender im ganzen Land. Als Kamal erwachsen war, arbeitete er selbst als Radiojournalist.

Radio Around the World #7 mit Kamal Nasir Hamyar

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #6 mit Rik De Lisle

Seit den 1980er-Jahren ist Rik De Lisle so häufig im Berliner Radio zu hören, dass sein kleiner Sohn früher glaubte, die Papas aller Kinder seien ständig live on air zu hören und man müsse nur das Radio einschalten, um ihre Stimme zu hören. Heute ist Rik 76 Jahre alt – und ist immer noch auf Sendung. 

Radio Around the World #6 mit Rik De Lisle

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #5 mit Mary Louise Kelly

In dieser Podcast-Folge erinnert sich Mary Louise Kelly an ihren ersten „driveway moment“. Und die Moderatorin der beliebten Sendung „All Things Considered“ im National Public Radio der USA erzählt, wie er ihre Karriere nachhaltig verändert hat.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #5: Mary Louise Kelly

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #4 mit Keri Jones

Keri Jones ist der Gründer von Radio Scilly, dem kleinsten Radiosender der Welt. Seine Leidenschaft fürs Radio entdeckte er, als er ehrenamtlich bei einem Lokalsender mitarbeitete, um sich vor dem Sportunterricht zu drücken. 

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #4: Keri Jones

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around the World #3 mit Lulu Garcia-Navarro

Die langjährige NPR-Moderatorin Lulu Garcia-Navarro ist mittlerweile Produzentin des Meinungs-Podcasts „First Person“ der „New York Times“. Sie erzählt, wie sie zum Radio kam, und was aus ihrer Sicht aktuelle Herausforderungen an das 100 Jahre alte Medium sind.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #3: Lulu Garcia-Navarro

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around The World #2 mit John Masuku

Seit über 40 Jahren macht John Masuku Radio in Simbabwe. Er spricht über die turbulenten Zeiten während Simbabwes Unabhängigkeitsbewegung und über die große Bedeutung, die dem Radio in seinem Land zukommt.

ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #2: John Masuku

Zeitgeister On Air Radio Around The World #1 mit Steve Inskeep

Die „Morning Edition“ von NPR ist fester Bestandteil des öffentlichen Rundfunks in den USA – und Steve Inskeep moderiert die Show seit fast zwei Jahrzehnten. Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson spricht mit ihm über seine liebsten Radioanekdoten, sein einprägsamstes Erlebnis als Moderator bei NPR und mehr. 

© Goethe-Institut e.V. ZEITGEISTER ON AIR #1: Steve Inskeep

Partner Common Ground Berlin

Ein transatlantischer Podcast in englischer Sprache, der in Berlin produziert wird.

© common ground berlin © common ground berlin der Berliner Fernsehturm