Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLAGoethe-Institut | created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA
Emerging International Voices

They are young, they are bold and they are connected – and they are the future of our libraries. 22 emerging international voices discuss the role of digital libraries – and digital technologies in libraries – in their countries. 


Emerging International Voices Network

Meet the global network of Emerging International Voices: young digital experts at their institutions and advocates for the future of libraries.


Statements on digital libraries

We asked the participants of the programme how they felt about the state of digital libraries in their home countries.


#EmergingInternationalVoices in Social Media


Past Seminars und Presentations

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online Seminar Recording
Digital(ised) Libraries: Why? What? How?

The first session focused on what we mean when we talk about digital libraries. Paricipants explored the different ways in which digital tools can enhance existing library services, as well as making it possible to offer new ones. The focus was put on the process of creating digital libraries: how can we make sure that we create platforms that suit the users’ needs?

The seminar took place on 8th October 2020 with Partha Pratim Das (National Digital Library of India) and Katie Moffat (The Audience Agency). 

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online Seminar Recording
From a Physical to a Virtual Community Space: What is Possible?

Libraries are often seen as ‘third spaces’, or a key part of the ‘social infrastructure’ of the communities they serve. Much of this is based on the physical spaces they offer. We want participants to be able to explore the question of how increased use of digital tools – in particular remotely from the library – is likely to affect this aspect of libraries’ work. What do we know about how people interact with digital offerings, and how both to attract new users and keep those who are already there?

The seminar took place on the 15th October 2020 with Kathrin Schuster (Munich City Library) and Luke Swarthout (New York Public Library)

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online Seminar Recording
Competitors, Comparators, Complements? Digital libraries and Internet Giants

There have been many obituaries written for libraries, and yet they remain stubbornly present and popular with communities. Nonetheless, the rise of commercial internet platforms, facilitating both access to information and other everyday activities, does oblige the field to think about how libraries prove their ongoing importance for society. We want participants in this session to explore questions around the purpose and value-added of libraries in a world of digital platforms, what we can learn, and where we can focus.

The seminar took place on the 22th October 2020 with Marie Ostergaard (Aarhus Central Library) and Harry Verwayen (Europeana) 


About the project

They are young, they are bold and they are connected – and they are the future of our libraries. 22 emerging international voices discuss the role of digital libraries – and digital technologies in libraries – in their countries. Join the discussion and participate in a series of online seminars with the best experts in the field.

The three online seminars will take place on the 8th, 15th and 22nd October 2020 at 1PM - 2 PM CEST and will be open to the public. The seminars will be followed by a 45 minute masterclass with the speakers during which the participants of the Emerging International Voices Programme will have a chance to discuss the subject further. The outcomes of the project will be published on a platform goethe.de/EmergingInternationalVoices as well as IFLA website in the form of statements and articles by the participants as well as a collection of best practice examples of libraries worldwide engaging with their communities digitally.

„Emerging international voices“ is a joint project of the Goethe-Institut and IFLA. Its long-term purpose is to establish an international network of young individuals engaged in library advocacy in their countries. The participants had been chosen by the local Goethe-Institutes in an open call process. 
 

In cooperation with


Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Ein weißes Lautsprechersymbol und eine Hand mit einem Smartphone, auf dem ein Bücherregal zu sehen ist. Goethe-Institut | created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Ein Weltweites Netzwerk
Emerging International Voices

Sie sind jung, sie sind mutig, sie sind vernetzt – und sie sind die Zukunft unserer Bibliotheken. 19 junge Menschen aus dem Bibliotheksbereich diskutieren die Rolle digitaler Bibliotheken – und digitaler Technologien in Bibliotheken – in ihren Ländern. 


Gibt es ein Erfolgsrezept für eine digitale Bibliothek?

Wir haben die Teilnehmer*innen gefragt, was ihnen zum Stand der digitalen Bibliotheken in ihren Ländern einfällt.


Emerging International Voices Network

Das weltweite Netzwerk der "Emerging International Voices": Junge digitale Expert*innen an ihren Institutionen und Fürsprecher der Zukunft von Bibliotheken. 


Gedanken zu digitalen Bibliotheken

Wir haben die Teilnehmer*innen gefragt, was ihnen zum Stand der digitalen Bibliotheken in ihren Ländern einfällt.


#EmergingInternationalVoices in den Sozialen Medien


Bereits abgehaltene Seminare und Präsentationen

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online-Seminar-Aufzeichnung
Digital(isiert)e Bibliotheken: Was? Wie? Warum?

Im ersten Seminar ging es darum, was wir eigentlich meinen, wenn wir von „digitalen Bibliotheken“ sprechen. Die Teilnehmer*innen erkundeten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, wie digitale Tools bestehende Bibliotheksdienste verbessern und neue möglich machen können. Der Fokus lag auf dem Prozess der Schaffung digitaler Bibliotheken: Wie können wir sicherstellen, dass wir Plattformen schaffen, die den Bedürfnissen der Nutzer*innen entsprechen? 

Das Seminar fand am 8. Oktober 2020 statt: Mit Partha Pratim Das (National Digital Library of India) und Katie Moffat (The Audience Agency).

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online-Seminar-Aufzeichnung
Vom physischen zum virtuellen Community Space: Was ist möglich?

Bibliotheken werden oft als "dritte Orte" oder als wichtiger Teil der "sozialen Infrastruktur" der Communities betrachtet, für die sie da sind. Vieles davon basiert auf den physischen Räumen, die sie bieten. Die Teilnehmer*innen gehen der Frage nach, wie sich die verstärkte Verwendung digitaler Tools - insbesondere fernab der Bibliothek - wahrscheinlich auf diesen Aspekt der Bibliotheksarbeit auswirken wird. Was wissen wir darüber, wie Menschen mit digitalen Angeboten interagieren und wie man sowohl neue Nutzer*innen gewinnen als auch bereits vorhandene halten kann? 

Das Seminar fand am 15. Oktober 2020 mit Kathrin Schuster (Munich City Library) und Luke Swarthout (New York Public Library) statt.

Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Insitut | Created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Online-Seminar-Aufzeichnung
Konkurrenz, Vergleichsobjekt, Ergänzung? – Digitale Bibliotheken und Internetgiganten

Es wurden bereits zahlreiche Nachrufe auf Bibliotheken geschrieben und dennoch sind Bibliotheken nach wie vor hartnäckig präsent und in den Communities beliebt. Trotzdem zwingt das Aufkommen kommerzieller Internetplattformen, die sowohl den Zugang zu Informationen erleichtern als auch andere alltägliche Aktivitäten ermöglichen, die Branche dazu, darüber nachzudenken, wie Bibliotheken ihre anhaltende Bedeutung für die Gesellschaft unter Beweis stellen können. Die Teilnehmer*innen dieses Seminars erkundeten den Zweck und Mehrwert von Bibliotheken in einer Welt der digitalen Plattformen und beschäftigten sich mit der Frage, was wir lernen und wo wir den Schwerpunkt setzen können.

Das Seminar fand am 22. Oktober 22 statt mit Marie Ostergaard (Aarhus Central Library) und Harry Verwayen (Europeana).


Über das Projekt

Sie sind jung, sie sind mutig, sie sind vernetzt – und sie sind die Zukunft unserer Bibliotheken. 22 junge Menschen aus dem Bibliotheksbereich diskutieren die Rolle digitaler Bibliotheken – und digitaler Technologien in Bibliotheken – in ihren Ländern. Beteiligen Sie sich an der Diskussion und nehmen Sie an einer Reihe von Online-Seminaren mit bekannten Expert*innen teil!

Die drei Online-Seminare finden am 8., 15. und 22. Oktober 2020 von 13:00 bis 14:00 Uhr (MEZ) statt und sind für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Im Anschluss an die Online-Seminare findet eine 45-minütige Masterclass mit den Referent*innen statt, in der die Teilnehmer*innen des Programms „Emerging International Voices“ die Möglichkeit haben, das Thema zu vertiefen. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts werden auf der Seite goethe.de/EmergingInternationalVoices sowie auf der Website der International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) IFLA website in Form von Statements und Artikeln der Teilnehmer*innen veröffentlicht. Dort werden auch Best-Practice-Beispiele von Bibliotheken aus aller Welt zu finden sein, die sich auf digitalen Wegen mit ihren Communities auseinandersetzen. 

 „Emerging International Voices" ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und der IFLA. Das langfristige Ziel ist, ein internationales Netzwerk junger Menschen aufzubauen, die sich in ihren Ländern für Bibliotheken einsetzen. Die Teilnehmer*innen sind von den Goethe-Instituten vor Ort in einer offenen Ausschreibung ausgewählt worden.
 

In kooperation mit


Top