Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Awards and Funds

With prizes and awards, the Goethe-Institut aims to honour outstanding cultural work and promotes international cultural exchange based on partnership and dialogue. The following overview is a selection of the prizes and awards presented by the Goethe-Institut.

Goethe Medal Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Goethe Medal

Every year the Goethe-Institut honours foreign figures who have performed outstanding service for the German language and international cultural dialogue. 

The Henrike Grohs Art Award

The Henrike Grohs Art Award is presented every two years to an African artist. The award was founded by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family in memory of Henrike Grohs, the former director of the Goethe-Institut in Abidjan.

Documentary Film Prize Photo (detail): Goethe-Institut/Bettina Siegwart

Documentary Film Prize

Since 2003, the Goethe-Institut has awarded the Documentary Film Prize to an outstanding film work once a year. The selection and award ceremony take place within the framework of DOK Leipzig. With this award, the Goethe-Institut honours a feature-length German documentary of the Official Selection (Competitions and International Programme). [DE]

 Die Jury verkündet den Gewinner des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL

Children's and Youth Film Prize

Once a year, the Film, Television, Radio Division awards its Children's and Youth Film Prize to an outstanding feature film which is primarily aimed at children or a young audience. The cooperation partner is the International Film Festival for Children and Young Audiences "Schlingel" in Chemnitz. [DE]

Isabel Fargo Foto: Simona Lexau

Helen und Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize

The Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize is awarded every year in June for an outstanding literary translation from German into English that was published in the USA the previous year. Financed by the German government, the prize has been awarded by the Goethe-Institut New York since 2015.

The Nerval-Goethe-Preis

The Goethe-Institut Paris, the DGLFLF, the DLF and the Sorbonne are jointly awarding a prize for literary translations from German into French. [DE/FR]

Kakehashi Literature Prize © Unsplash

Kakehashi Literature Prize

The science and technology company Merck and the Goethe-Institut have been awarding the renowned Kakehashi Literature Prize every two years since 2013. The prize honors Japanese translators for their translation of a German work into Japanese. [DE/JA]

Found in Translation © Goethe-Institut London

Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

The  Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation is presented by the Society of Authors and the Goethe-Institut London every two years. This translation prize is aimed at new and emerging translators, including those whose work has not yet been published.

Gutekunst Prize © Moa Karlberg

Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York

In 2010, the Goethe-Institut New York received a generous donation in memory of Frederick and Grace Gutekunst. A prize was created to identify outstanding young translators of German literature into English and assist them in establishing contact with the translation and publishing communities.

Merck Translation Prize

With the support of the German Embassy in Moscow, the Goethe-Institut and Merck LLC are announcing the Merck Translator Prize 2020 and the Goethe Prize for Poetry. The Merck Translation Prize will be awarded for translations of German texts published by a Russian publisher between 2017 and 2019. [DE/RU]

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Mit Preisen und Auszeichnungen möchte das Goethe-Institut herausragende kulturelle Arbeiten würdigen und eine partnerschaftliche und dialogische Zusammenarbeit im internationalen Kulturaustausch fördern. Bei dem hier dargestellten Überblick der vom Goethe-Institut verliehenen Preise und Auszeichnungen handelt es sich um eine Auswahl.

Goethe-Medaille Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Goethe-Medaille

Einmal jährlich zeichnet das Goethe-Institut ausländische Persönlichkeiten aus, die sich um die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache und um den internationalen Kulturaustausch verdient gemacht haben.

©Art: Ferdinand Makouvia , Photo: Excerpt of a photo by Peter Houston ©Art: Ferdinand Makouvia , Photo: Excerpt of a photo by Peter Houston

Der Henrike Grohs Art Award

Der Henrike Grohs Art Award wird alle zwei Jahre an eine*n afrikanische*n Künstler*in verliehen. Gegründet wurde der Preis vom Goethe-Institut und der Familie Grohs in Erinnerung an Henrike Grohs, die frühere Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Abidjan.

Documentary Film Prize Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Bettina Siegwart

Dokumentarfilmpreis

Seit 2003 ehrt das Goethe-Institut einmal jährlich eine herausragende filmische Arbeit mit dem Dokumentarfilmpreis. Auswahl und Preisverleihung finden im Rahmen von DOK Leipzig statt. Mit dem Preis würdigt das Goethe-Institut einen abendfüllenden deutschen Dokumentarfilm der Offiziellen Auswahl (Wettbewerbe und Internationales Programm).

 Die Jury verkündet den Gewinner des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL

Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreis

Einmal jährlich vergibt das Goethe-Institut den Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreis an einen herausragenden Kinofilm, der sich in erster Linie an Kinder oder ein jugendliches Publikum wendet. Kooperationspartner ist das Internationale Filmfestival für Kinder und junges Publikum „Schlingel“ in Chemnitz.

Isabel Fargo Foto: Simona Lexau

Helen & Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis

Mit dem Helen und Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis wird jedes Jahr im Juni eine herausragende Literaturübersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische ausgezeichnet, die im vorangegangenen Jahr in den USA veröffentlicht wurde. Der von der deutschen Regierung finanzierte Preis wird seit 2015 vom Goethe-Institut New York verliehen.

Buchstapel © Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Der Nerval-Goethe-Preis

Das Goethe-Institut Paris, die DGLFLF (Délégation générale à la langue française et aux langues de France), die DLF (Défense de la langue française) und die Sorbonne verleihen gemeinsam einen Preis für literarische Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen ins Französische.

Kakehashi-Literatur-Preis © Unsplash

Kakehashi-Literaturpreis

Das Wissenschafts- und Technologieunternehmen Merck und das Goethe-Institut verleihen seit 2013 alle zwei Jahre den renommierten Kakehashi-Literaturpreis. Mit dem Preis werden japanische Übersetzer*innen für ihre Übersetzung eines deutschen Werks ins Japanische geehrt.

Found in Translation © Goethe-Institut London

Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

Der Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation wird gemeinsam vom Goethe-Institut London und der Society of Authors alle zwei Jahre verliehen. Seit 2010 zeichnet der Preis auch Übersetzer*innen aus, deren Arbeit noch nicht veröffentlicht wurde. 

Gutekunst Prize © Moa Karlberg

Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York

2010 erhielt das Goethe-Institut New York eine Spende zum Gedenken an Frederick und Grace Gutekunst. Es wurde ein Förderpreis ins Leben gerufen, um talentierte junge Übersetzerinnen und -übersetzer deutscher Literatur ins Englische auszuzeichnen und sie bei der Kontaktaufnahme mit der Übersetzungs- und Verlagswelt zu unterstützen.

Merck Translation Award 2016 © Goethe-Institut

Merck-Übersetzerpreis

Das Goethe-Institut und die Firma Merck LLC schreiben mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Botschaft Moskau den Merck-Übersetzerpreis 2020 und den Goethe-Förderpreis für Lyrik aus. Der Merck-Übersetzerpreis wird für Übersetzungen deutscher Texte vergeben, die zwischen 2017 und 2019 in einem russischen Verlag erschienen sind.

Top