Books — Made in UAE
Our participants

Our writers

Noura Abbas Al-Khoori was born in 1982 in the United Arab Emirates. She graduated as an environmentalist and pursued a four-year career in the field until she became a mother and a home-maker. Her three little children are the main source of inspiration and her bedtime stories spurred the idea of writing books for children that reflect the culture of this region. She is now coupling volunteer work with writing for children.

noura.khoori@gmail.com

 

Nooreya Mohamed Tayeb was born in Abu Dhabi. She is married and mother of two daughters. Nooreya holds a Bachelor degree in family science, a diploma in curriculum and teaching methods and a Masters degree in Educational and Psychological Counseling. She works as a personal counselor at Masdar Institute.

nwaary1979@yahoo.com

 

Maitha Al Khayat is a children’s book author and illustrator who is passionate about reading and writing since childhood. A graduate in business administration from Higher Colleges of Technology in Ras Al Khaimah, Maitha worked in the college library before becoming a full time mother.  The need for funny Emirati books inspired her to write and illustrate for children. Among her published works are I love my Daddy’s Long Beard and the award-winning My own special way – the first Emirati children’s book to see its rights sold to the UK. Her book When a Camel Craves Loqaimat was published during Sharjah International Book Fair 2012.

 

maitha.alkhayat@hotmail.com

Mariam Al Rashedi was born in Abu Dhabi in 1987. After attending Children Literature course with Prof. Patience Sowa, she discovered her talent in writing. With the help of Goethe-Institut Gulf-Region and the UAE Board on Books for Young People, Mariam’s writings went to publishing. Mariam holds a Bachelor degree in Education from Zayed University. She lives in Abu Dhabi.
 

alrashedi.mariam@gmail.com

Reem Saleh Easa Al Gurg, mother of two, born and bred in Dubai has been a passionate reader as early as she can remember. From the moment she knew she was to be a mother, she kept no book unread about how to make children love reading and discovered how scarce Arabic children’s literature is in bookshops. Writing being her dream, she penned her debut children’s book Wid wa Walid – a series of seven picture books. Reem is currently pursuing a PhdD degree in the UK and has several stories about to be published.
 

reemalgurg@gmail.com

Ayesha Al Hashemi was born and raised in Abu Dhabi. After studying Education and Literature, she started exploring the world of children’s books and writing for them in Arabic. Reading books from her father’s bookcase awakened her love of reading and writing in early life. Coming from a culturally diverse family, Ayesha grew up with an appreciation for languages. She currently works with college students learning Arabic as a second language.
 

ayesha.hashem@gmail.com

Our illustrators

Shaima Al Malik, born 1984 in Dubai, graduated from Dubai Women’s College (Bachelor of Arts, distinction of honours) in Graphic Design. She now works as independent illustrator and graphic designer. In 2010, she won first place for best design at the Sheikh Majid Media Awards. Shaima participated in many events such as Character Dubai 2009 and Middle East Film and Comic Con 2012. She also works for the Ministry of Education, private companies and individual clients.

Website of Shaima Al Malik

shaima.almalik@gmail.com
Fatma Al Mehairi was born in 1985 in Dubai. She studied interior design at Zayed University. Since her childhood, she showed an interest in and a talent for drawing and illustration. Her love for children’s stories and movies was her motivation to work as an illustrator. Currently Fatma works as an illustrator and a graphic designer for curriculum books in the Curriculum Department at the Ministry of Education.

Instagram page of Fatma Al Mehairi

almehairi.fatma@gmail.com
Abdullah Al Sharhan is an Emirati illustrator and director from Ras Al Khaimah. He is the creator of the popular Hamdoon character and comic book series about the life of an Emirati boy, later made into cartoon series shown on UAE TV during Ramadan 2012.  He is also the editor of the 999 children's magazine.  His published works include The Tsar's Treasure in Abu Dhabi, the Atfaluna series and Ana Hurra (arabic, 'I am free') to be published by Dar Al-Aalam Al-Arabi. Abdullah is the recipient of several prizes, such as the first prize in the Kanagawa Biennial World Children's Art in 1996 and the second prize at the Arab University Biennale 2002.

Instagram page of Abdullah Al Sharhan

abudalla@socoool.com
Reem Al Mazrouei is a senior at Zayed University Abu Dhabi, currently studying visual art and animation at Twofour54. She always strives for detail and a rich palette, loosing herself in her sketches and drawings. When an audience experiences her work, she wants them to imagine, think and daydream about it. Reem finds her inspiration in modern and contemporary art. Moreover, she enjoys artwork that tells a story, such as mythology or folklore, as well as fairy tales.

handmade.memento@gmail.com
Nauf Abdulrahman Al-Shaikh was born in Al Ain in 1991. 3D movies and Japanese animations have been her source of inspiration. She has been drawing for as long as she can remember. Nauf moved to Abu Dhabi to continue her studies in Arts. She is now a student at Zayed University at the College of Arts and Design, and currently majoring in Animation.

nauf.uae@gmail.com
Dana Al Mazrouei is a third-year student at Zayed University specialized in Graphic Design. Art and design have been her passion ever since she was a child. She enjoys creating characters, illustrations, comic, video games, animation, and experimenting with various media and computer programs.

Website of Dana Al Mazrouei

dn.almazrouei@gmail.com
Nasir Nasrallah, born in Sharjah in 1984, currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Emirates Fine Arts Society. He is an ambassador to The UAE Board on Books for Young People. Nasir participated in several exhibitions, including two solo exhibitions at the Sharjah Art Museum in 2009 and 2011. As illustrator, he contributed to children’s books, such as The Emarati Fingers Plays (Kalimat) and wrote and illustrated Abjad Hawaz Fanan (self-published). Nasir served several times on the jury of the Sheikha Latifa bint Mohammed Award for Children's Creativity and won the first award at the 30th Emirates Fine Arts session exhibition.

Instagram page of Nasir Nasrallah

prof_creative@hotmail.com

Our Experts

Ute Krause/© Tomasz Poslada © Tomasz Poslada Ute Krause has been working as a children’s book writer and illustrator for the past 26 years. She has illustrated around 200 and written 14 books. Her work has been turned into films for children’s T.V., into radio plays, nominated for children’s book prizes and translated into many different languages. Six of her books have been translated by Abu Dhabi translation initiative KALIMA into Arabic.  She grew up in Asia and Africa and lived for six years in New York. Ute Krause’s picture book Oscar and the Very Hungry Dragon (also translated into Arabic) is nominated for the Florida Reading Association Award,  for the Montana Treasure State Picture Book Award and the Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award 2012.

Website of Ute Krause
Kirsten Boie/© UweToelle © UweToelle Kirsten Boie is one of Germany’s best known children’s and teen novel authors. She has written more than 60 children’s books and teen novels, many of which have been translated into English, Chinese, Spanish, and Turkish, among other languages.  Her novel Alhambra has been translated into Arabic. During her illustrious writing career, Kirsten Boie received all major German children’s literature prizes. She is a multiple Hans Christian Andersen Award nominee (IBBY) and has recently been awarded with the German order of merit.

Website of Kirsten Boie
Nadia Budde/© Nadia Budde © Nadia Budde Nadia Budde was born in Berlin in 1967. A trained retail display designer she began studying graphic arts at the Berlin College of Art in Weissensee in 1992 and continued at the Royal College of Art in London completing her degree in 2000. Her first picture book, Eins zwei drei Tier, was published in 1999 and received several awards. By now she has published many more picture books, all of them very popular and many of them translated into several languages. Nadia Budde lives and works in Berlin.

Website of Nadia Budde

Unsere Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer
Books - Made in UAE

Unsere Autorinnen

Noura Abbas Al-Khoori, geboren 1982 in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, studierte Umweltwissenschaften und arbeitete vier Jahre lang in diesem Gebiet, bis sie Mutter wurde. Ihre drei kleinen Kinder sind die Quelle ihrer Inspiration und ihre Gute Nacht Geschichten brachten sie auf die Idee, Kinderbücher zu schreiben, die die Kultur ihres Landes widerspiegeln. Wenn sie nicht Kinderbücher schreibt, engagiert sich Noura ehrenamtlich.

noura.khoori@gmail.com
Nooreya Mohamed Tayeb, geboren in Abu Dhabi, ist verheiratet und hat zwei Töchter. Nooreya studierte Family Science, hat ein Diplom in Lehrplan- und Unterrichtsmethodenplanung, sowie einen Master in Schulberatung und psychologischer Betreuung. Sie arbeitet als Personal Counselor am Masdar Institute.

nwaary1979@yahoo.com
Maitha Al Khayat ist Kinderbuchautorin und –illustratorin. Sie interessiert sich seit ihrer Kindheit leidenschaftlich für das Lesen und Schreiben. Nach einem Studium in Business Administration an den Higher Colleges of Technology in Ras Al Khaimah, arbeitete Maitha in der College-Bibliothek bevor sie Vollzeit-Mutter wurde. Der Mangel an lustigen emiratischen Kinderbüchern inspirierte sie, selber für Kinder zu schreiben und zu zeichnen. Sie veröffentlichte I love my Daddy's Long Beard und das prämierte Kinderbuch My Own Special Way, das erste emiratische Kinderbuch, dessen Rechte nach Großbritannien verkauft wurden. Ihr Buch When a Camel Craves Loqaimat erschien 2012 während der Sharjah International Book Fair.

maitha.alkhayat@hotmail.com
Mariam Al Rashedi, 1987 in Abu Dhabi geboren. Nachdem sie bei Prof. Patience Sowa einen Kinderbuchkurs belegte, entdeckte sie ihr Schreibtalent. Mit der Hilfe des Goethe-Instituts Golf-Region und des UAE Board on Books for Young People wurden Mariams Geschichten veröffentlicht. Mariam schloss den Bachelor of Arts in Erziehungswissenschaften ab. Sie lebt in Abu Dhabi.

alrashedi.mariam@gmail.com
Reem Saleh Easa Al Gurg, zweifache Mutter, geboren und aufgewachsen in Dubai, ist eine leidenschaftliche Leserin, seit sie denken kann. Von dem Moment an, da sie erfuhr, dass sie schwanger ist, hat sie jedes Buch darüber gelesen, wie man Kindern zu Lesern macht. Schnell entdeckte sie, wie wenig arabischsprachige Kinderbuchliteratur es in den Buchläden gibt. Da Schreiben ihr Traum ist, schrieb sie selber ihr Debütkinderbuch Wid wa Walid, eine Serie von sieben Bilderbüchern. Reem schreibt zurzeit an ihrer Doktorarbeit. Mehrere ihrer Geschichten stehen kurz vor der Veröffentlichung.

reemalgurg@hotmail.com
Ayesha Al Hashemi, geboren und aufgewachsen in Abu Dhabi. Nach ihrem Literatur- und Erziehungswissenschaftsstudium begann sie die Kinderbuchwelt zu erkunden und schrieb selber für Kinder. Sie las die Bücher aus den Bücherregalen ihres Vaters und begann schon früh Lesen und Schreiben zu lieben. Durch ihren eigenen multikulturellen familiären Hintergrund lernte sie Sprachen wertzuschätzen. Zurzeit arbeitet sie mit ausländischen Studenten, die in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten Arabisch lernen.

ayesha.hashem@gmail.com

Unsere Illustratorinnen und Illustratoren

Shaima Al Malik, 1984 in Dubai geboren, schloss ihr Grafik Design Studium am Dubai Women’s College mit Auszeichnung ab. Sie arbeitet zurzeit als selbständige Illustratorin und Grafik Designerin. 2010 belegte sie den ersten Platz für das beste Design bei den Sheikh Majid Media Awards. Shaima nahm an vielen Veranstaltungen wie dem Character Dubai 2009 und der Middle East Film and Comic Con 2012 teil. Sie arbeitet außerdem für das Erziehungsministerium sowie für private Firmen und Klienten.

Zur Webseite von Shaima Al Malik

shaima.almalik@gmail.com
Fatma Al Mehairi, geboren 1985 in Dubai, studierte Innenarchitektur an der Zayed Universität. Seit ihrer Kindheit zeichnet und illustriert sie gern. Ihre Liebe zu Kinderbüchern und -filmen motivierte sie Illustratorin zu werden. Zurzeit arbeitet Fatma als Illustratorin und Grafikdesignerin von Lehrbüchern für das Erziehungsministerium.

Zur Instagram-Seite von Fatma Al Mehairi

almehairi.fatma@gmail.com
Abdullah Al Sharhan ist ein emiratischer Illustrator und Regisseur aus Ras Al Khaimah. Er ist der Erfinder der erfolgreichen „Hamdoon“-Figur und Comicbuchserie über das Leben eines kleinen emiratischen Jungen, die auch als Comicserie während Ramadan 2012 im emiratischen Fernsehen lief. Abdullah ist zudem der Herausgeber des „999“ Kindermagazins. Zu seinen veröffentlichten Werken gehören The Tsar's Treasure in Abu Dhabi und die Atfaluna Serie. Sein neuestes Buch Ana Hurra (arabisch, wörtlich ‚Ich bin frei‘) wird von Dar Al-Aalam Al-Arabi veröffentlicht. Abdullah hat zahlreiche Preise gewonnen, unter anderem den ersten Preis der Kanagawa Biennial World Children's Art 1996 und den zweiten Platz bei der Arab University Bienanale 2002.

Zur Instagram-Seite von Abdullah Al Sharhan

abudalla@socoool.com
Reem Al Mazrouei ist Studentin der Zayed University und studiert zurzeit Visuelle Kunst und Animation bei Twofour54. Sie versucht immer allen Details und einer bunten Palette gerecht zu werden und verliert sich in ihren Skizzen und Zeichnungen. Der Betrachter soll ihre Bilder erfühlen, denken und über sie tagträumen. Reem findet ihre Inspiration in moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Sie mag Kunst, die eine Geschichte erzählt, wie zum Beispiel in der Mythologie, der Folklore und in Märchen.

handmade.memento@gmail.com
Nauf Abdulrahman Al-Shaikh, geboren 1991 in Al Ain. Ihre Inspiration sind 3D-Filme und japanische Anime. Sie zeichnet, seit sie denken kann. Nauf zog nach Abu Dhabi, um ihr Kunststudium fortzuführen und ist jetzt Studentin des College of Arts and Design der Zayed University. Ihr Hauptfach ist Animation.

nauf.uae@gmail.com
Dana Al Mazrouei ist Studentin der Zayed University im dritten Jahr. Ihr Spezialgebiet ist Grafik-Design. Kunst und Design sind seit Kindheit ihre Leidenschaft. Sie kreiert gerne Charaktere, Illustrationen, Comics, Videospiele und Trickfilme und liebt es mit verschiedenen Medien und Computerprogrammen zu experimentieren.

Zur Webseite von Dana Al Mazrouei

dn.almazrouei@gmail.com
Nasir Nasrallah, 1984 in Sharjah geboren, ist zurzeit Vize-Vorsitzender der Emirates Fine Arts Society. Er ist Botschafter des UAE Board on Books for Young People. Nasir hat an vielen Ausstellungen teilgenommen, darunter zwei Solo-Austellungen im Sharjah Art Museum 2009 und 2011. Als Illustrator hat er unter anderem an The Emarati Fingers Plays (Kalimat Verlag) mitgearbeitet und selber das Buch Abjad Hawaz Fanan geschrieben, illustriert und veröffentlicht. Nasir war mehrmals Jurymitglied des Sheikah Latifa bint Mohammed Award for Children`s Creativity und gewann den ersten Preis bei der 30. Session der Emirates Fine Arts-Aussstellung.

Zur Instagram-Seite von Nasir Nasrallah

prof_creative@hotmail.com

Unsere Expertinnen

Ute Krause/© Tomasz Poslada © Tomasz Poslada Ute Krause arbeitet schon seit über 26 Jahren als Kinderbuchautorin und -illustratorin und hat inzwischen rund 200 Bücher illustriert und 14 Bücher selber verfasst. Ihre Bücher sind für das Fernsehen verfilmt und für Radiohörspiele vertont, für Kinderbuchpreise nominiert und in viele Sprachen übersetzt worden. Sechs ihrer Bücher wurden von der Übersetzungsinitiative KALIMA ins Arabische übersetzt. Sie wuchs in Asien und Afrika auf und lebte sechs Jahre in New York. Ute Krauses Bilderbuch Oskar und der sehr hungrige Drache (auch in Arabisch erhältlich) ist für den Florida Reading Association Award sowie für den Montana Treasure State Picture Book Award und den Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award 2012 nominiert.

Zur Webseite von Ute Krause
Kirsten Boie/© UweToelle © UweToelle Kirsten Boie ist Deutschlands erfolgreichste und einflussreichste Kinder- und Jugendbuchautorin. Sie hat mehr als 80 Kinder- und Jugendbücher geschrieben, von denen viele in mehrere Sprachen (unter anderem Englisch, Chinesisch und Türkisch) übersetzt wurden. Ihr Roman Alhambra wurde von der Übersetzungsinitiative KALIMA ins Arabische übersetzt. Kirsten Boie hat alle wichtigen deutschen Kinder- und Jugendbuchliteraturpreise gewonnen. Sie wurde mehrfach für den Hans Christian Andersen-Preis (IBBY) nominiert und 2011 mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz erster Klasse ausgezeichnet.

Zur Webseite von Kirsten Boie
Nadia Budde/© Nadia Budde © Nadia Budde Nadia Budde, geboren 1967 in Berlin. Nach einer Ausbildung zur Schauwerbegestalterin, studierte 1992 sie Grafikdesign an der Berliner Hochschule für Kunst in Weissensee und am Royal College of Art in London, wo sie 2000 ihr Studium abschloss. Ihr erstes Bilderbuch Eins zwei drei Tier wurde 1999 veröffentlicht und mehrfach prämiert. Bis dato hat sie viele weitere Kinderbücher veröffentlich, alle sehr erfolgreich. Viele wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Nadia Budde lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Zur Webseite von Nadia Budde