Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
 Forsythe© Forsythe Foundation

WHAT MIGHT CHOREOGRAPHIC THINKING LOOK LIKE?

Program on interdisciplinary choreographic methodologies and approaches of William Forsythe

A collaboration of the Goethe-Institut, FOUNDATION FORSYTHE and the Sharjah Performing Arts Academy

Presented by Michael Schumacher and Jill Johnson - dancers, choreographers and long-time collaborators and protégés of Forsythe’s

PROGRAM

3-day Choreographic Lab with local dancers in partnership with Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA) led by Michael Schumacher
18 – 20 November 2022 @ Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA)
2 open public talks led by Michael Schumacher
21 November 2022, 5:15pm - 6:45pm @ Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA)
22 November 2022, 6:30pm - 8pm @ Berklee Abu Dhabi
ABOUT

“Choreography is a curious and deceptive concept. The word itself, like the processes it describes, is elusive, agile, and maddeningly unmanageable. To reduce choreography to a single denotation is to not understand the most crucial of its mechanisms: to resist and reform previous definitions.”

So begins choreographer William Forsythe’s essay, Choreographic Objects. A peerless artist beyond definition himself, Forsythe’s interdisciplinary invention in the field of dance have made him one of the most prolific and influential artists of the last two centuries. Forsythe’s ethos: “If dance only does what we assume it can do, it will expire.” 

Over the last four decades, the methodologies and philosophies that William Forsythe has collaboratively developed with dancers around the globe have not only rendered a cohort of artists who work and research across disciplines, mediums, and platforms – as a group – they have radically expanded the range of possibilities within dance and how Forsythe’s choreographic thinking and approaches to dancing has forever changed how dance can be created, experienced, and presented. Furthermore, Forsythe’s approaches can be and are employed in fields beyond dance in equally innovative ways.

What are these embodied methodologies and philosophies? How were they developed? How can they be applied and practiced? Michael Schumacher and Jill Johnson, dancers, choreographers, producers, stagers, educators, and long-time collaborators and protégés of Forsythe’s -- will share wide-ranging expertise and insights into their three-decade long collaboration with William Forsythe.

William Forsythe is infinitely curious about how choreographic ideas might be in dialogue with fields such as advanced mathematics, philosophy, and technology. Research and application of ideas in said fields are often a part of his choreographic processes as well as his visual art project. Examples of his interdisciplinary collaborations include those with architect Daniel Libeskind on The Books of Groningen and Limb’s Theorem, with esteemed Professor of Law Kendall Thomas on Human Writes, and on the intersection of dance, physics, and digital composition with Professor Joel Ryan. Forsythe’s Choreographic Objects have been exhibited in museums around the world for over two decades, including in Avignon, Frankfurt, Paris, London, Paris, and Sao Paolo, to name but a few.

The program WHAT MIGHT CHOREOGRAPHIC THINKING LOOK LIKE? offers the arts, design, education communities, and greater public of the Gulf region an unprecedented series of unique opportunities to learn about one of the world’s greatest living choreographers through primary practitioner sources.

In addition to the productions of Forsythes Ballett Frankfurt (1984-2004) /The Forsythe Company (2005 - 2015 presented in Frankfurt and on tour around the globe for over thirty years, Forsythe’s choreographic works have also been performed in the repertories of virtually every major dance company in the world for four decades, including the Paris Opera Ballet, La Scala, Netherlands Dans Theater, National Ballet of Canada, English National Ballet, Semperoper Ballet Dresden, New York City Ballet, Boston Ballet, and San Francisco Ballet. 
  
Resources:
https://www.williamforsythe.com/biography.html
https://www.williamforsythe.com/essay.html
https://gagosian.com/quarterly/2017/09/01/william-forsythe-louise-neri/
https://bombmagazine.org/articles/william-forsythe/
 

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schuhmacher © Privat Michael Schumacher is a performing artist with roots in classical and modern dance. He has been a member of several groundbreaking companies, including Ballet Frankfurt, Twyla Tharp Dance, Feld Ballet, Pretty Ugly Dance Company, and Magpie Music Dance Company. As an independent artist, he has appeared in productions of Peter Sellars, William Forsythe, Dana Caspersen, Sylvie Guillem, Mark Haim, Paul Selwyn Norton, and Anouk van Dijk.                                                
As a choreographer, Schumacher has collaborated with the dancers of Ballet Frankfurt, Netherlands Dance Theater I and III, The Dutch National Ballet, Dansgroep Amsterdam, and Jin Xing Dance Theatre in Shanghai. His work has also come to the forefront in several productions of the Holland Dance Festival. Specifically for the festival he created Queen Lear, in which he and Sabine Kupferberg transformed Shakespeare’s epic narrative into a poignant duet. Together with Jiří Kylián, Schumacher created the highly acclaimed Last Touch First, which has been performed throughout Europe, Asia and the U.S.        

Over the past twenty-five years, Schumacher has developed a unique approach to the discipline of improvisation. He has collaborated with several pioneering artists, including Han Bennink, Katie Duck, Mary Oliver, Kirstie Simson, and Alex Waterman.
Michael Schumacher began dancing in musical theatre productions in his hometown of Lewiston, Idaho. After moving to New York, he received a B.F.A. in Dance from the Juilliard School. He currently resides in Amsterdam and conducts workshops in movement analysis and improvisation worldwide.


Jill Johnson

Jill Johnson © Privat Dancer, choreographer, artistic director, educator, producer, stager, movement consultant, and advisor. Principal dancer and researcher with William Forsythe for over three decades; stages and teaches Forsythe’s work worldwide. Danced in over 60 tours on 5 continents; was a soloist with the National Ballet of Canada; choreographs for film, television, dance, theater, and opera; Director of Harvard Dance Center, Founder/AD Harvard Dance Project and faculty, at Harvard University, 2011-2021. Recent projects: critically acclaimed performances in Forsythe’s A Quiet Evening of Dance (2018-2021); Paris Opera Ballet, La Scala, Boston Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, Harvard Choruses, Dries Van Noten/Louvre Museum, V (Eve Ensler) and American Repertory Theater, Sadler’s Wells Theater, PBS’s Poetry in America, and Equity Based Dialogue for Inclusion (EBDI), and LA Dance Project.


For more information, please contact: Bettina.Quabius@goethe.de

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
 Forsythe© Forsythe Foundation

WIE KÖNNTE CHOREOGRAFISCHES DENKEN AUSSEHEN?

Programm zu interdisziplinären choreografischen Methoden und Ansätzen von William Forsythe

Eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Goethe-Institut, der STIFTUNG FORSYTHE und der Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA)

Präsentiert von Michael Schumacher und Jill Johnson – Tänzer, Choreografen und langjährige Mitarbeiter*innen und enger Mitarbeiter von Forsythe


PROGRAMM

3-tägiger Choreografieworkshop mit lokalen Tänzern in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA) unter der Leitung von Michael Schumacher vom 18. bis 20. November in der Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA)
2 öffentliche Vorträge unter der Leitung von Michael Schumacher: 21. November, 17:15–18:45 Uhr @ Sharjah Performing Arts Academy (SPAA), 22. November, 18:30–20 Uhr @ Berklee Abu Dhabi

„Choreografie ist ein seltsamer und trügerischer Begriff. Das Wort selbst ist, wie die Prozesse, die es beschreibt, schwer fassbar, beweglich und auf verrückte Weise unkontrollierbar. Choreografie auf eine einzige Bezeichnung zu reduzieren, bedeutet, den wichtigsten ihrer Mechanismen nicht zu verstehen: sich früheren Definitionen zu widersetzen und sie zu reformieren.“

So beginnt der Essay des Choreografen William Forsythe, „Choreographic Objects“. Forsythes interdisziplinäre Erfindungen auf dem Gebiet des Tanzes haben ihn zu einem der produktivsten und einflussreichsten Künstler der letzten zwei Jahrhunderte gemacht, der selbst keine Definition kennt. Forsythes Ethos: „Wenn der Tanz nur das tut, was wir annehmen, dass er tun kann, wird er vergehen“. 

In den letzten vier Jahrzehnten haben die Methoden und Philosophien, die William Forsythe in Zusammenarbeit mit Tänzern auf der ganzen Welt entwickelt hat, nicht nur eine Gruppe von Künstlern hervorgebracht, die genre-, medien- und plattformübergreifend arbeitet und forscht, sondern auch das Spektrum der Möglichkeiten im Tanz radikal erweitert. Forsythes Arbeit hat auch die Art und Weise, wie sein choreografisches Denken und seine Herangehensweise an den Tanz, die Art und Weise, wie Tanz geschaffen, erlebt und präsentiert werden kann, für immer verändert. Darüber hinaus können und werden Forsythes Ansätze in Bereichen außerhalb des Tanzes auf ebenso innovative Weise eingesetzt.

Was sind diese Methoden und Philosophien? Wie wurden sie entwickelt? Wie können sie angewandt und praktiziert werden? Michael Schumacher und Jill Johnson, Tänzer, Choreograf*innen, Produzent*innen, Regisseur*innen, Pädagog*innen und langjährige Mitarbeiter*innen und Schützlinge Forsythes, werden ihr umfangreiches Fachwissen und ihre Erkenntnisse aus ihrer drei Jahrzehnte langen Zusammenarbeit mit William Forsythe weitergeben.

William Forsythe ist unendlich neugierig darauf, wie choreografische Ideen im Dialog mit Bereichen wie fortgeschrittener Mathematik, Philosophie und Technologie stehen können. Die Erforschung und Anwendung von Ideen aus diesen Bereichen ist oft Teil seiner choreografischen Prozesse und seiner visuellen Kunstprojekte. Beispiele für seine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit sind die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekten Daniel Libeskind bei „The Books of Groningen“ und „Limb’s Theorem“, mit dem angesehenen Rechtsprofessor Kendall Thomas bei „Human Writes“ und mit Professor Joel Ryan bei der Überschneidung von Tanz, Physik und digitaler Komposition. Forsythes choreografische Objekte werden seit über zwei Jahrzehnten in Museen auf der ganzen Welt ausgestellt, unter anderem in Avignon, Frankfurt, Paris, London, Paris und Sao Paolo, um nur einige zu nennen.

Das Programm WHAT MIGHT CHOREOGRAPHIC THINKING LOOK LIKE?  bietet den Kunst-, Design- und Bildungsgemeinschaften sowie der breiten Öffentlichkeit der Golfregion eine noch nie dagewesene Reihe einzigartiger Gelegenheiten, einen der größten lebenden Choreografen der Welt anhand primärer praktischer Quellen kennenzulernen.

Zusätzlich zu den Produktionen von Forsythes Ballett Frankfurt (1984-2004) /The Forsythe Company (2005 - 2015), die seit über dreißig Jahren in Frankfurt und auf Tourneen rund um den Globus gezeigt werden, wurden Forsythes choreografische Werke vier Jahrzehnte lang in den Repertoires praktisch aller großen Tanzkompanien der Welt aufgeführt, darunter das Ballett der Pariser Oper, La Scala, das Nederlands Dans Theater, das National Ballet of Canada, das English National Ballet, das Semperoper Ballet Dresden, das New York City Ballet, das Boston Ballet und das San Francisco Ballet. 

Quellen:
https://www.williamforsythe.com/biography.html
https://www.williamforsythe.com/essay.html
https://gagosian.com/quarterly/2017/09/01/william-forsythe-louise-neri/
https://bombmagazine.org/articles/william-forsythe/

 

Michael Schuhmacher

Michael Schuhmacher © Privat Michael Schumacher ist ein darstellender Künstler mit Wurzeln im klassischen und modernen Tanz. Er war Mitglied mehrerer bahnbrechender Kompanien, darunter Ballett Frankfurt, Twyla Tharp Dance, Feld Ballet, Pretty Ugly Dance Company und Magpie Music Dance Company. Als unabhängiger Künstler trat er in Produktionen von Peter Sellars, William Forsythe, Dana Caspersen, Sylvie Guillem, Mark Haim, Paul Selwyn Norton und Anouk van Dijk.

Als Choreograf hat Schumacher mit den Tänzern des Balletts Frankfurt, dem Niederländischen Tanztheater I und III, dem Niederländischen Nationalballett, Dansgroep Amsterdam und dem Jin Xing Dance Theatre in Shanghai. Seine Arbeit wurde auch in mehreren Produktionen des Holland Dance Festivals zu sehen. Speziell für das Festival kreierte er „Queen Lear“, in dem er und Sabine Kupferberg Shakespeares epische Erzählung in ein ergreifendes Duett verwandelten. Gemeinsam mit Jiří Kylián schuf Schumacher das hochgelobte Stück „Last Touch First“, das in ganz Europa, Asien und den USA aufgeführt wurde.

In den letzten fünfundzwanzig Jahren hat Schumacher einen einzigartigen Ansatz für die Disziplin der Improvisation entwickelt. Er hat mit mehreren bahnbrechenden Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Han Bennink, Katie Duck, Mary Oliver, Kirstie Simson und Alex Waterman.

Michael Schumacher begann in Musiktheaterproduktionen in seiner Heimatstadt Lewiston, Idaho, zu tanzen. Nach seinem Umzug nach New York erwarb er einen B.F.A. in Tanz an der Juilliard School. Derzeit lebt er in Amsterdam und leitet weltweit Workshops in Bewegungsanalyse und Improvisation weltweit.
 

Jill Johnson

Jill Johnson © Privat Tänzerin, Choreografin, künstlerische Leiterin, Pädagogin, Produzentin, Regisseurin, Bewegungsberaterin und Beraterin. Haupttänzerin und Forscherin bei William Forsythe seit über drei Jahrzehnten; inszeniert und unterrichtet Forsythes Werke weltweit. Sie tanzte auf über 60 Tourneen auf 5 Kontinenten; war Solist mit dem National Ballet of Canada; choreografiert für Film, Fernsehen, Tanz, Theater und Oper; Direktorin des Harvard Dance Center, Gründerin/AD Harvard Dance Project und Dozentin an der Harvard University, 2011-2021. Jüngste Projekte: von der Kritik gefeierte Aufführungen in Forsythes „A Quiet Evening of Dance“ (2018–2021); Ballett der Pariser Oper, La Scala, Boston Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, Harvard Choruses, Dries Van Noten/Louvre Museum, V (Eve Ensler) und American Repertory
Theater, Sadler’s Wells Theater, PBS’s Poetry in America, Equity Based Dialogue for Inclusion (EBDI) und LA Dance Project.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an: Bettina.Quabius@goethe.de
 

Top