Comic-Exhibition COMIC STORIES FROM GERMANY

Comic Sophia Martineck LE MONDE diplomatique Februar 2011 Sophia Martineck © 2011

Fri, 08.04.2022 -
Thu, 15.09.2022

Goethe-Institut Melbourne

White Bunnies Arabic Cola and the last passenger pigeon

50 German comics for 50 years of Goethe-Institut in Australia

In celebration of our 50th birthday, we are thrilled to present, in partnership with LE MONDE diplomatique, “White Bunnies, Arabic Cola and the Last Passenger Pigeon: comic stories from Germany”. This unique comic exhibition, curated by Karoline Bofinger, features the comics of 50 German artists – to mark 50 years of the Goethe Institut in Australia. Furthermore, we are especially proud to also present 6 Australian artists who contributed to the exhibition. This fits perfectly to celebrate another anniversary: 70 years of successful diplomatic relations between Germany and Australia. 

Visitors to the exhibition will have the chance to see the works of artists such as ATAK, Anke Feuchtenberger, Holger Fickelscherer, Katia Fouquet, Line Hoven, Markus Huber, CX Huth, Martin tom Dieck, Sophia Martineck, Mawil, Leigh Hobbs, Tommi Parish and many more. 

Comic Artists from Melbourne

Of the 56 artists 52 were published in LE MONDE diplomatique, whilst the other four were designed specifically for our exhibition, featuring themes which range from life in the most locked down city in the world (Melbourne!), to the iconic Mr Chicken and his dreams of journeying to Berlin. 

LE MONDE diplomatique (LMd) is one of the biggest monthly newspapers which reports on international politics and economics. First founded in 1954 by the Paris daily paper, Le Monde, with the goal of informing French diplomats in the colonies in Africa and Indochina (now the countries of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia formerly associated with France), there are currently 31 editions of LMd in 22 languages.

The German-language edition of LMd was launched in 1995 by the cooperative of the daily newspaper taz and the Swiss weekly WOZ. LMd has been editorially independent of Le Monde since 1996. Since 2005, the last cover page of the German edition of LE MONDE diplomatique has been home to avant-garde, critical comics. Drawn especially for the newspaper, the comics engage with topics from politics and everyday life: mostly cheeky, often absurd, and sometimes melancholic. The concept pays homage to the beginnings of modern comic strips, which emerged at the end of the 19th century, traditionally adorning the last page of newspapers. The German edition is the only one to publish this comic page. Every month the comic editor of LMd, Karoline Bofinger, selects a comic artist or cartoonist to design this page and capture their personal view of international politics and current events. Over the years, LMd has been able to win over some of the very best German and international comic creators to design the last page of each issue.

“White Bunnies, Arabic Cola and the Last Passenger Pigeon: comic stories from Germany” brings together works by renowned illustrators and comic artists from the German alternative comics’ scene as well as illustrators and picture book authors and fresh new talents.

The collection of 56 comics show how the artists have mastered the special challenge of the large page format as well as the limited narrative framework. Their works lie at the intersection between high art and trivial culture, which has become the hallmark of postmodern visual art.

The exhibition opens at the Goethe-Institut in Melbourne on the 8th April 2022 at 6pm, and will be on display until the end of the year. We look forward to seeing you there!   Registrations for the opening: Eventbrite


50 Years Goethe-Institut Australia

Back

Comic-Ausstellung Comic Geschichten aus Deutschland

Comic Sophia Martineck LE MONDE diplomatique Februar 2011 Sophia Martineck © 2011

Fr, 08.04.2022 -
Do, 15.09.2022

Goethe-Institut Melbourne

Weiße Hasen, arabische Cola und die letzte Wandertaube

50 deutsche Comics für 50 Jahre Goethe-Institut in Australien 

Zur Feier unseres 50. Geburtstags freuen wir uns, in Zusammenarbeit mit LE MONDE diplomatique "Weiße Hasen, arabische Cola und die letzte Wandertaube: Comic-Geschichten aus Deutschland" zu präsentieren. Die einzigartige Comic-Ausstellung, kuratiert von Karoline Bofinger, zeigt die Comics von 50 deutschen Künstlern - anlässlich des 50-jährigen Bestehens des Goethe-Instituts in Australien. Zu Ehren von 70 Jahren positiver diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Australien werden auch die Werke von sechs australischen Künstlern gezeigt. 

Die Besucher der Ausstellung haben die Möglichkeit, die Werke von Künstlern wie ATAK, Anke Feuchtenberger, Holger Fickelscherer, Katia Fouquet, Line Hoven, Markus Huber, CX Huth, Martin tom Dieck, Sophia Martineck, Mawil, Leigh Hobbs, Tommi Parish und vielen anderen zu sehen. 

Comic Autoren aus Melbourne

Von den 56 Künstlern wurden 52 in LE MONDE diplomatique veröffentlicht, während die anderen vier speziell für unsere Ausstellung entworfen wurden. Ihre Themen reichen vom Leben in der am meisten "Locked-Down" Stadt der Welt (Melbourne!) bis hin zu dem ikonischem Mr. Chicken und seinen Träumen von einer Reise nach Berlin. 

LE MONDE diplomatique (LMd) ist eine der größten Monatszeitungen, die über internationale Politik und Wirtschaft berichtet. Gegründet 1954 von der Pariser Tageszeitung Le Monde mit dem Ziel, die französischen Diplomaten in den Kolonien in Afrika und Indochina (heute die ehemals mit Frankreich assoziierten Länder Vietnam, Laos und Kambodscha) zu informieren, gibt es derzeit 31 Ausgaben von LMd in 22 Sprachen. 

Die deutschsprachige Ausgabe von LMd wurde 1995 durch die Kooperation der Tageszeitung taz und der Schweizer Wochenzeitung WOZ ins Leben gerufen. Seit 1996 ist LMd redaktionell unabhängig von Le Monde. Seit 2005 finden sich auf der letzten Titelseite der deutschen Ausgabe von LE MONDE diplomatique avantgardistische, kritische Comics. Eigens für die Zeitung gezeichnet, setzen sich die Comics mit Themen aus Politik und Alltag auseinander: meist frech, oft absurd, manchmal melancholisch. Das Konzept ist eine Hommage an die Anfänge des modernen Comics, der Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts entstand und traditionell die letzte Seite von Zeitungen zierte. Die deutsche Ausgabe ist die einzige, die diese Comicseite veröffentlicht. Jeden Monat wählt die Comic-Redakteurin von LMd, Karoline Bofinger, einen Comic-Zeichner oder Cartoonisten aus, der diese Seite gestaltet und seine persönliche Sicht auf die internationale Politik und das Zeitgeschehen festhält. Im Laufe der Jahre ist es LMd gelungen, einige der besten deutschen und internationalen Comiczeichner für die Gestaltung der letzten Seite jeder Ausgabe zu gewinnen.

Weiße Hasen, arabische Cola und die letzte Wandertaube: Comic-Geschichten aus Deutschland versammelt nicht nur Werke von renommierten Zeichnern und Comic-Künstlern aus der deutschen Alternativ-Comic-Szene, sondern auch von Illustratoren,  Bilderbuchautoren sowie  frischen Nachwuchstalenten. 

Die Sammlung von 56 Comics zeigt, wie die Künstler die besondere Herausforderung des großen Seitenformats und des begrenzten Erzählrahmens gemeistert haben. Ihre Arbeiten bewegen sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Hochkunst und Trivialkultur, die zum Markenzeichen der postmodernen bildenden Kunst geworden ist. 

Die Ausstellung wird am 8. April 2022 um 18 Uhr im Goethe-Institut in Melbourne eröffnet und wird bis Ende 2022 zu sehen sein. Buchung für die Eröffnungsparty: Eventbrite



50 Years Goethe-Institut Australia

Zurück