Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

60 Years Treffpunkt Goethe
Timeline 1961-2021

1965

Exhibition on the city partnership of Karlsruhe and Nicosia.

Christoforos Savva stands on the right side of the entrance to his exhibition, looking at the camera. He is wearing suit trousers, a shirt and black shoes, his arms hanging loosely down. His hair is dark and he has a full beard. Some pictures of the exhibition hanging on the wall are vaguely visible through the open door. To the left of the door and above the door are plants. © Goethe-Institut

May 1968

From 12 until 20 May 1968 an exhibition by Christoforos Savva is held in the event hall of the Goethe-Institut. This is his last exhibition before his death.
In the same year, Savva was one of the artists representing Cyprus in its first participation in the 1968 Venice Biennale. Cyprus' participation in the Venice Biennale in 2019 was based on his exhibition at the Goethe-Institut.

February 1971

An exhibition of works by established Cypriot artist Nikos Kouroussis is held at the Goethe-Institut's event hall in February 1971.

Four men and a woman carrying a white handbag stand in the foreground looking at photographs at the "World Exhibition of Photography" (1970). In the background are other visitors wearing elegant clothes. © PIO – Press and Information Office

May 1973

In May 1973 the Goethe-Institut organises the World Photography Exhibition in collaboration with the Nicosia Municipality and the Cyprus Society of Photography. It is held in the Nicosia City Hall and in Eleftheria Square (then Metaxa Square).

Several participants in the fairy tale opera, men and women, stand on stage during the applause after the performance. In the foreground, two men stand facing the audience, holding one hand and pointing with their free arm in the direction of the other participants. © Goethe-Institut

Christmas 1976

The Fairy Tale Opera Hansel and Gretel is performed at the Goethe-Institut with the choir and orchestra of the Ethnikon Odeon Kyprou. The set designer for this performance is Glyn Hughes.

1984

In February 1984 the Goethe-Institut organises a film series on Bertolt Brecht at the Famagusta Gate in collaboration with the Cypriot National Theatre and the Municipality of Nicosia. The film series is complemented by a photo and book exhibition in the library of the Goethe-Institut.

1987

The Goethe-Institut organises an exhibition on documenta 8 in October.

1991

The Goethe-Institut organises a seminar for teachers of German from both communities at the Ledra Palace Hotel.

1993

In collaboration with the Nicosia Municipality, the Ministry of Agriculture and the Association for the Protection of the Environment in Cyprus, the Goethe-Institut organises the exhibition To be or not to be on the industrial destruction of nature, from 1 until 16 June 1993at Famagusta Gate.

1995

An event with Cypriot dances, songs and music is held on 16 June 1995 at the Ledra Palace Hotel, with almost 1,000 visitors from both communities.

1998

The first European Dance Festival in Cyprus, organised by the Rialto Theatre and the Ministry of Education and Culture, is held in Nicosia with the participation of the Goethe-Institut. The following year, the dance theatre exhibition Dance Theatre Today: 30 Years of German Dance History is presented by the Goethe-Institut as part of the dance festival.

1999 / 2000

On 31 December 1999 the Goethe-Institut Nicosia is closed and on 1 January 2000 Ute Wörmann-Stylianou, Dorothea Ioannides and Ursula Karekla found the Goethe-Zentrum Nicosia.

2002

With the support of the Goethe-Zentrum, German teacher Johannes Patsalides travels to Germany in the summer with a group of German students from the Goethe-Zentrum and other schools and universities.

2003

On 23 April 2003 the checkpoint at Ledra Palace is opened and people are allowed to cross. With the support of the Turkish-Cypriot-German Cultural Association, Turkish Cypriots are able to take part in courses and examinations at the Goethe-Zentrum from the autumn.

2004

The Goethe-Zentrum, in cooperation with the Ministry of Education and Culture and the Music Department of the Goethe-Institut, initiates a concert by the Cyprus Youth State Orchestra and the Mannheim Youth Symphony Orchestra.

2007

Together with the Department of Computer Science of the University of Cyprus and with the support of the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Telecommunications Authority of Cyprus, the Goethe-Zentrum organises the symposium Sustainability, Markets & Me–Innovations for the future on 2 February 2007.

On the occasion of the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the Goethe-Zentrum organises several events.

2009

The Goethe-Zentrum organises a series of events in cooperation with the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany to mark the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

The first exhibition of Go Ganesha Go – Elephants for Peace, an international participatory art movement initiated by Rose Marie Gnausch, takes place in Nicosia on both sides of the buffer zone. The project will continue until 2018.

January 2011

In January 2011, German Chancellor Angela Merkel visits the Goethe-Zentrum on the occasion of her trip to Cyprus. Students of the Goethe-Zentrum have the opportunity to talk to Chancellor Angela Merkel.

2013-2014

Several events are held at the Goethe-Institut with the negotiating delegations of both populations and with contributions from experts from Germany who report on the problems and procedures of German reunification.

2017

Paphos is the European Capital of Culture and the Goethe-Institut Cyprus participates in the official Pafos 2017 programme with a guest performance by Rimini Protokoll and a performance Myths and tales from across the divide by Achim Wieland and Marios Ioannou. The performers are Greek and Turkish Cypriots.

2018

The Goethe-Institut Cyprus introduces four-language communication on its website in order to consciously address and involve even more inhabitants of the island. In addition to German and English, communication is now also in Greek and Turkish.

From September 2018, the Goethe-Institut will also offer German lessons in Paphos.

At the microphone is Karin Varga, Director of the Goethe-Institut Cyprus, who gives an opening speech and stands with her back to the camera. The visitors sit on orange benches, which belong to an installation of the exhibition, or stand spread out in the room. They listen to the speech and sometimes hold brochures of the exhibition in their hands. Posters on the theme of Bauhaus hang on the walls, as does the exhibition on the work of the Cypriot architect Fivos Polydorides. The latter is standing on the right of the picture and is wearing a red pullover and a white shirt. His hair is white and he wears glasses. Photo: Goethe-Institut Zypern/Maria Neophytou

2019

The Goethe-Institut celebrates the 100th anniversary of the founding of Bauhaus and organises a series of events including exhibitions, film screenings, a dance performance and a conference, which will take place in March and April.

The work of the Cypriot architect Fivos Polydorides will also be presented as part of the exhibition. On the occasion of the opening, Alexis Papadopoulos will talk to the 93-year-old architect, who himself studied with Bauhaus students, about the history of modern architecture in Cyprus. This is Fivos Polydorides' last exhibition before his death in September of the same year. The series of events is held in collaboration with the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Nicosia, with Echo Arts and Dance Gate Nicosia.

Wooden blocks in a transparent plexiglass frame. © Goethe-Institut, Andreas Loucaides

2020

In the context of the German presidency of the European Council, the project The Disappearing Wall takes place, celebrating European culture with a large collection of quotations and an interactive installation. In autumn, the wall is presented at two locations and on both sides of the Green Line: Faneromeni Square and Sarayönü Square. The third event planned for Limassol cannot take place due to rising infection figures at the end of November and will be presented in June 2021.

November 2020

Moving Silence takes place for the 10th time in Cyprus in collaboration with ARTos Foundation, but under different circumstances due to the pandemic. Nevertheless, an exchange between musicians and filmmakers is possible and the event is successfully held in physical and digital space.

From April to October 2021

From April to October 2021, the Goethe-Institut Cyprus will celebrate Beuys' 100th birthday with a series of events curated by Marina Christodoulidou, consisting of an artist workshop, an exhibition, film screenings and a conversation with Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, art historian and friend of Beuys.

Banner 60 Jahre Goethe-Institut Zypern

2021

The Goethe-Institut is celebrating 60 years in Cyprus: first as the Goethe-Institut Nicosia from 1961 to 1999, then as the Goethe-Zentrum from 2000 to 2011 and from June 2011 again as the Goethe-Institut Cyprus.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

60 Jahre Treffpunkt Goethe
Rückblick 1961-2021

1965

Ausstellung zu der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Karlsruhe und Nikosia.

Christoforos Savva steht auf der rechten Seite des Eingangs seiner Ausstellung und schaut in die Kamera. Er trägt Anzughosen, ein Hemd und schwarze Schuhe, seine Arme hängen locker nach unten. Seine Haare sind dunkel und er trägt einen Vollbart. Einige Bilder der Ausstellung die auf der Wand hängen sind vage durch die offene Tür zu erkennen. Links neben der Tür und über der Tür sind Pflanzen. © Goethe-Institut

Mai 1968

Vom 12. bis 20. Mai 1968 findet im Veranstaltungssaal des Goethe-Instituts eine Ausstellung von Christoforos Savva statt. Diese ist seine letzte Ausstellung vor seinem Tod.
Im gleichen Jahr war Savva einer der Künstler, die Zypern in ihrer ersten Teilnahme 1968 an der Venedig Biennale repräsentierte. Die Teilnahme von Zypern an der Venedig Biennale im Jahr 2019 basierte auf seiner Ausstellung am Goethe-Institut.

Februar 1971

Im Februar 1971 findet eine Ausstellung mit Werken des etablierten zyprischen Künstlers Nikos Kouroussis im Veranstaltungssaal des Goethe-Instituts statt.

Vier Männer und eine Frau, die eine weiße Handtasche trägt, stehen im Vordergrund und betrachten Fotografien bei der „Weltausstellung der Fotografie“ (1970). Im Hintergrund stehen weitere Besucher*innen, die elegante Kleidung tragen. © PIO – Press and Information Office

Mai 1973

Im Mai 1973 organisiert das Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Nicosia und der Zyprischen Gesellschaft für Fotografie die Weltausstellung der Fotografie. Diese findet im Rathaus von  Nikosia sowie am Eleftheriaplatz (damals Metaxaplatz) statt.

Es stehen mehrere Beteiligte an der Märchenoper, Männer und Frauen, nach der Aufführung auf der Bühne während des Applauses. Im Vordergrund stehen zwei Männer in Richtung des Publikums, halten die eine Hand und mit dem freien Arm zeigen sie in die Richtung der anderen Beteiligten. © Goethe-Institut

Weihnachten 1976

Am Goethe-Institut wird die Märchenoper Hänsel und Gretel mit dem Chor und Orchester des Ethnikon Odeon Kyprou aufgeführt. Der Bühnenbildner für diese Aufführung ist Glyn Hughes.

1984

Im Februar 1984 organisiert das Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem zyprischen Nationaltheater und der Stadt Nikosia eine Filmreihe zu Bertolt Brecht im Famagusta Tor. Die Filmreihe wird von einer Foto- und Bücherausstellung in der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts ergänzt.

1987

Das Goethe-Institut organisiert eine Ausstellung zu documenta 8 im Oktober.

1991

Das Goethe-Institut organisiert ein Seminar für Deutschlehrer*innen aus beiden Bevölkerungsgruppen am Ledra Palace Hotel.

1993

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Nikosia, dem Landwirtschaftsministerium und dem Verein zum Schutz der Umwelt in Zypern, organisiert das Goethe-Institut die Ausstellung Sein oder Nichtsein über die industrielle Zerstörung der Natur, vom 1. bis 16. Juni 1996 am Famagusta Tor.

1995

Eine Veranstaltung mit zyprischen Tänzen, Liedern und Musik findet am 16. Juni 1995 am Ledra Palace Hotel statt, mit fast 1.000 Besucher*innen aus beiden Bevölkerungsgruppen.

1998

Das erste Europäische Tanzfestival in Zypern, organisiert vom Rialto Theater und dem Ministerium für Bildung und Kultur, findet mit der Beteiligung des Goethe-Instituts in Nikosia statt. Im folgenden Jahr wird im Rahmen des Tanzfestivals die Tanztheater Ausstellung Tanztheater heute: 30 Jahre deutsche Tanzgeschichte vom Goethe-Institut präsentiert.

1999 / 2000

Am 31. Dezember 1999 wird das Goethe-Institut Nicosia geschlossen und am 1. Januar 2000 von Ute Wörmann-Stylianou, Dorothea Ioannides und Ursula Karekla das Goethe-Zentrum Nikosia gegründet.

2002

Mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Zentrums reist der Deutschlehrer Johannes Patsalides im Sommer mit einer Gruppe von Deutschlernenden des Goethe-Zentrums sowie anderer Schulen und Hochschulen nach Deutschland.

2003

Am 23. April 2003 wird der Checkpoint am Ledra Palace geöffnet und darf überkreuzt werden. Mit Unterstützung des türkisch-zyprisch-deutschen Kulturvereins können türkische Zypriot*innen ab Herbst an den Kursen und Prüfungen des Goethe-Zentrums teilnehmen.

2004

Das Goethe-Zentrum initiiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ministerium für Bildung und Kultur und der Musikabteilung des Goethe-Instituts ein Konzert des Jugendstaatorchesters Zypern und des JugendSinfonieOrchester Mannheim.

2007

Zusammen mit der Abteilung für Computerwissenschaften der Universität Zypern und mit Unterstützung der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland sowie der Telekommunikationsbehörde Zypern organisiert das Goethe-Zentrum das Symposium Sustainability, Markets & Me–Innovations for the future zu Nachhaltigkeit und Innovation am 2. Februar 2007.

Anlässlich der deutschen Ratspräsidentschaft organisiert das Goethe-Zentrum mehrere Veranstaltungen.

2009

Das Goethe-Zentrum organisiert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen zum 20. Jubiläum des Mauerfalls.

Die erste Ausstellung von Go Ganesha Go – Elephants for Peace, einer internationalen partizipatorischen Kunstbewegung von Rose Marie Gnausch initiiert, findet in Nikosia auf beiden Seiten der Pufferzone statt. Das Projekt wird bis 2018 weitergeführt.

Go Ganesha Go – Elephants for Peace Screenshot © Naturalmente RoMa art/peace initiative

Go Ganesha Go – Elephants for Peace | © Naturalmente RoMa art/peace initiative

Januar 2011

Im Januar 2011 besucht Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel anlässlich ihrer Zypernreise das Goethe Zentrum. Schüler*innen des Goethe-Zentrums haben die Gelegenheit mit Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel ins Gespräch zu kommen.

2013-2014

Am Goethe-Institut werden mehrere Veranstaltungen mit den Verhandlungsdelegationen beider Bevölkerungsgruppen und mit Beiträgen von Fachleuten aus Deutschland durchgeführt, die über die Probleme und Vorgehensweisen bei der deutschen Wiedervereinigung berichten.

2017

Pafos ist Europäische Kulturhauptstadt und das Goethe-Institut Zypern beteiligt sich am offiziellen Pafos 2017 Programm mit einem Gastspiel von Rimini Protokoll und einer Performance Myths and tales from across the divide von Achim Wieland und Marios Ioannou. Die Performer*innen sind Griechische und Türkische Zypriot*innen.

2018

Das Goethe-Institut Zypern führt viersprachige Kommunikation auf seiner Website ein, um bewusst noch mehr Einwohner*innen der Insel anzusprechen und einzubeziehen. Neben Deutsch und Englisch wird nun auch in Griechisch und Türkisch kommuniziert.

Ab September 2018 bietet das Goethe-Institut Deutschunterricht auch in Pafos an.

Am Mikrofon steht Karin Varga, Institutsleitung des Goethe-Instituts Zypern, die eine Eröffnungsrede hält und mit dem Rücken zur Kamera steht. Die Besucher*innen sitzen auf orangenen Sitzbänken, die zu einer Installation der Ausstellung gehören, oder stehen im Raum verteilt. Sie lauschen der Rede und halten teilweise Broschüren der Ausstellung in den Händen. An den Wänden hängen Plakate zum Thema Bauhaus, sowie die Ausstellung über das Werk des Zyprischen Architekten Fivos Polydorides. Dieser steht rechts im Bild und trägt einen roten Pullover und ein weißes Hemd. Seine Haare sind weiß und er trägt eine Brille. Foto: Goethe-Institut Zypern/Maria Neophytou

2019

Das Goethe-Institut feiert das 100. Jubiläum seit der Gründung von Bauhaus und organisiert eine Veranstaltungsreihe mit Ausstellungen, Filmvorführungen, einer Tanzaufführung sowie eine Konferenz, die im März und April stattfinden.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung wird auch das Werk des zyprischen Architekten Fivos Polydorides präsentiert. Anlässlich der Eröffnung führt Alexis Papadopoulos ein Gespräch mit dem 93-jährigen Architekten, der selbst noch bei Bauhausschülern*innen studiert hat, über die Geschichte der modernen Architektur in Zypern. Diese ist die letzte Ausstellung von Fivos Polydorides vor seinem Tod im September des gleichen Jahres. Die Veranstaltungsreihe findet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Architekturfakultät der University of Nicosia, mit Echo Arts und Dance Gate Nicosia statt.

Holzklötzchen in einem transparenten Plexiglasgerüst. © Goethe-Institut, Andreas Loucaides

2020

Im Rahmen der deutschen Ratspräsidentschaft findet das Projekt Die verschwindende Wand statt, welches die europäische Kultur mit einer großen Sammlung von Zitaten und einer interaktiven Installation feiert. Im Herbst wird die Wand an zwei Orten und beiden Seiten der Grünen Linie präsentiert: am Faneromeniplatz und Sarayönüplatz. Die dritte Veranstaltung die für Limassol geplant war, kann wegen steigenden Infektionszahlen Ende November nicht stattfinden und wird im Juni 2021 präsentiert.

November 2020

Moving Silence findet zum 10. Mal in Zypern in Zusammenarbeit mit ARTos Foundation statt, allerdings unter anderen Umständen wegen der Pandemie. Trotzdem ist ein Austausch zwischen Musiker*innen und Filmemacher*innen möglich und die Veranstaltung wird erfolgreich im physischen und digitalen Raum durchgeführt.

April bis Oktober 2021

Von April bis Oktober 2021 feiert das Goethe-Institut Zypern Beuys´ 100. Geburtstag mit einer von Marina Christodoulidou kuratierten Veranstaltungsreihe, bestehend aus einem Künstler*innenworkshop, einer Ausstellung, Filmvorführungen und einem Gespräch mit Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, Kunsthistorikerin und Freundin von Beuys.

Banner 60 Jahre Goethe-Institut Zypern

2021

Das Goethe-Institut feiert 60 Jahre in Zypern: Erst als Goethe-Institut Nicosia von 1961 bis 1999, dann als Goethe-Zentrum von 2000 bis 2011 und ab Juni 2011 wieder als Goethe-Institut Zypern.

Top