International Laureate Programme

PAD 2020 Getty Images

International Laureate Programme


Every year around 450 outstanding German language secondary school students from more than 90 countries world-wide are selected to take part in the International Laureate Programme. The laureates will be invited to a 4-week stay in Germany and joining an extensive study and culture program in Cologne, Bonn, Berlin, and Munich or Hamburg. A highlight is the 2-week stay in a German host family and the attendance of classes in the local grammar school including special German language sessions. The programme is financed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and coordinated by the Pädagogischer Austauschdienst (PAD).

The PAD is the sole public organization in Germany working on behalf of the 16 Federal States to promote international exchange and cooperation in the school sector. The PAD is a department of the Secretariat of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany (Kultusministerkonferenz). 

Please Note

After following the rapidly changing situation surrounding the spread of the COVID-19 virus, the Federal Foreign Office and the PAD have decided to suspend the International Laureate Programme in 2020. We are painfully aware that this decision is particularly disappointing for the selected students. The reason of the suspension is due to the unpredictable and volatile rise of infections. And our top priority is the wellbeing of all programme participants.

Laureate Programme in Malaysia

The 2020 selection process had 2 rounds:

Preliminary round: From 17th to 28th February 2020 round 120 students from 78 selected public secondary schools within our Educational Cooperation participated in a video contest. They shot a 1-minute video with the following content:
-  Who are you?
-  What do you love to do?
-  Which role does German play in your life?
-  Why should you receive a scholarship to Germany?

A jury at Goethe-Institut assessed the videos with the criteria: language, creativity/originality, content. 

Final round: 15 students qualified for the final round. On 13th March 2020, they were invited for 30-minutes group interview session at the German Embassy. The interviews had 3 parts:
-  Part 1: The students will get to know to each other.      They will ask each other questions and answer them.
-  Part 2: The students will plan something together.
-  Part 3: In this part, the jury will ask questions. 
- You are a German student in form 4.
- You speak German at least on level A2.
- You hold a valid Malaysian passport.
- You have never lived longer than 6 months in a German-speaking country.
- German is not your native language and you don’t have one or more German-speaking parent.

3 Malaysian students receive a grant that includes:

-  2-week German language course and classroom visits in the local grammar school
-  2-week roundtrip through Germany in international student groups
-  Extensive culture, sports, and leisure program
-  Flights, transfers and airport pick-up service
-  Accommodation in host families, and hotels during the round trip
-  Full board
-  Accident, liability, and health insurance  

2 students are selected as replacement candidates. 
Nur Aliah Shallyna binti Shamsuri, SMK Ahmad Boestamam (Perak) 

>> Get to know Aliah Shallyna

I am Aliah Shallyna and am 16 years old. Learning German is wonderful, especially when I speak to my teacher and friends in German. My favourite word is "Wonderful", because it is so positive. I like the word "menarik" in my mother tongue, which means "interesting", as I find everything in life interesting. And what do I like about Germany and Malaysia? Well, of course its the food! 
 


Alya Maisarah binti Ahmad Latapi, SMKA Kerian (Perak)

>> Get to know Alya Maisarah

Hello, my name is Alya and I am 16 years old. I learn German because it is fun. I love learning with stories the most. My favorite German word would therefore be "Schloss" - palace, because fantasies emerge from palaces. Anyhow, in my mother tongue, palace is called "istana", which also sounds beautiful, right? I especially like the lifestyle at Germany and in Malaysia the food. 
 


Puteri Sarah Fitrisha binti Shahizam Pahkrul, SMS Kuala Selangor (Selangor)

>> Get to know Puteri Sarah Fitrisha

My name is Puteri Sarah Fitrisha and I am 16 years old. I find German interesting and it is my dream to become a german-language teacher. My favorite German word is "Danke" - thanks. I like the word "sayang" - love, in my mother tongue, because I love my family. I like the culture and historical architecture at Germany, and in Malaysia the courtesy of the people, our traditional dance and the beautiful beaches. I look forward to staying with a german guest family soon. 
 


Angus Chieng Qiyang, SMK St. Michael (Perak) and Nur Syahirah binti Ramli, SMK Telok Mas (Melaka) are selected as a replacement candidates.

Internationales Preisträgerprogramm

PAD 2020 Getty Images

Internationales Preisträgerprogramm


In rund 90 Staaten werden jedes Jahr rund 450 Schülerinnen und Schüler allgemeinbildender Schulen ausgewählt, die sich im Fach Deutsch besonders ausgezeichnet haben. Sie werden als Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger zu einem vierwöchigen Aufenthalt nach Deutschland eingeladen. Ihnen wird in internationalen Gruppen in Köln, Bonn, Berlin und München oder Hamburg ein jeweils mehrtägiges Studienprogramm geboten. Ein Highlight des Programms ist der vierzehntägige Aufenthalt in einer Gastfamilie und der Besuch des örtlichen Gymnasiums oder der Gesamtschule. In dieser Zeit besuchen die Jugendlichen speziellen Deutschunterricht und hospitieren zudem im Unterricht der Gastgeschwister. Das Programm wird aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes gefördert und vom PAD koordiniert.

Der Pädagogische Austauschdienst (PAD) ist als einzige staatliche Einrichtung in Deutschland im Auftrag der 16 Bundesländer für den internationalen Austausch und die internationale Zusammenarbeit im Schulbereich tätig. Der PAD ist eine Abteilung im Sekretariat der Ständigen Konferenz der Kultusminister der Länder (KMK) in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. 

Wichtige Information

Angesichts der sich aktuell rasant verändernden Situation rund um die Verbreitun des COVID-19-Virus haben das Auswärtige Amt und der PAD entschieden, das Internationale Preisträgerprogramm im Jahr 2020 auszusetzen. Es ist uns schmerzlich bewusst, dass diese Entscheidung vor allem für Schüler*innen enttäuschend ist. Jedoch sind die Verlangsamung der weiteren Ausbreitung des Virus und die Gesundheit aller Programmbeteiligten für uns oberste Priorität. 

Preisträgerprogramm in Malaysia

Der Auswahlprozess bestand 2020 aus 2 Runden:

Vorrunde: Vom 17. bis 28. Februar 2020 nahmen rund 120 Schüler*innen von 78 ausgewählten staatlichen Sekundarschulen an einem Videowettbewerb teil. Sie schickten 1-minütige Videos mit folgenden Inhalten ein:
-  Wer bist du?
-  Was magst du?
-  Welche Rolle spielt Deutsch in deinem Leben?
-  Warum solltest du das Stipendium gewinnen?

Eine Jury am Goethe-Institut wertete die Videos anhand der Kriterien Sprache, Kreativität/Orginalität, Inhalt. 

Finalrunde: 15 Schüler*innen qualifizierten sich für die Finalrunde. Am 13. März 2020 nahmen sie an 30- minütigen Interviews teil. Die Interviews hatten 3 Teile:
- Teil 1: Die Schüler*innen lernen sich kennen, stellen sich gegenseitig Fragen und antworten. 
-  Teil 2: Die Schüler*innen planen etwas zusammen.
-  Teil 3: Die Auswahlkommission stellt Fragen. 
- Du bist Schüler*innen in der Klassenstufe 4.
- Du sprichst Deutsch mindestens auf A2-Niveau. - Du hast einen Malaysischen Pass.
- Du hast nie länger als 6 Monate in einem deutschsprachigen Land gewohnt.
- Deutsch ist nicht deine Muttersprache und du hast keinen deutschsprachigen Elternteil.

Die 3 Gewinner*innen erhalten ein Vollstipendium:

- 2-wöchiger Sprachkurs
- 2-wöchige Rundreise durch Deutschland in einer international gemischten Gruppe
- umfangreiches Kultur-, Sport- und Freizeitprogramm
- Flugtickets, Transfer und Flughafen Pick-Up - Unterkunft bei einer deutschen Gastfamilie und während der Rundreise in jugendgerechten Hotels
- Vollpension
- Unfall-, Haftpflicht- und Reisekrankenversicherung 
 
Nur Aliah Shallyna binti Shamsuri, SMK Ahmad Boestamam (Perak) 

>>Lern Aliah Shallyna kennen

Ich heiße Aliah Shallyna und bin 16 Jahre alt. Deutsch zu lernen ist wunderbar, besonders, wenn ich mit meiner Lehrerin und meinen Freunden Deutsch spreche. „Wunderbar“ ist auch mein Lieblingswort, weil es so positiv ist. In meiner Muttersprache gefällt mir das Wort „menarik“ – „interessant“, denn ich finde alles im Leben interessant. Und was mag ich an Deutschland und an Malaysia? Na, das Essen natürlich! 
 


Alya Maisarah binti Ahmad Latapi, SMKA Kerian (Perak)

>> Lern Alya Maisarah kennen

Hallo, mein Name ist Alya und ich bin 16 Jahre alt. Ich lerne Deutsch, weil Deutsch Spaß macht. Am liebsten lerne ich mit Geschichten. Mein Lieblingswort auf Deutsch ist darum auch „Schloss“, weil Schlösser Fantasien wecken. In meiner Muttersprache heißt „Schloss“ übrigens „istana“, das klingt auch schön, oder? An Deutschland mag ich besonders den Lebensstil und an meinem Heimatland Malaysia das Essen.
 


Puteri Sarah Fitrisha binti Shahizam Pahkrul, SMS Kuala Selangor (Selangor)

>> Lern Puteri Sarah Fitrisha kennen

Mein Name ist Puteri Sarah Fitrisha und ich bin 16 Jahre alt. Deutsch finde ich interessant und mein Traum ist es, Deutschlehrerin zu werden. Mein Lieblingswort auf Deutsch ist „Danke“. In meiner Muttersprache gefällt ich das Wort „sayang“ – Liebe, weil ich meine Familie liebe. An Deutschland mag ich die Kultur und die historischen Gebäude und an Malaysia die Höflichkeit der Leute, unseren traditionellen Tanz und die schönen Strände. Ich freue mich darauf, bald bei einer deutschen Gastfamilie zu wohnen.
 


Die beiden Nackrückkandidat*innen sind: Angus Chieng Qiyang, SMK St. Michael (Perak) und Nur Syahirah binti Ramli, SMK Telok Mas (Melaka).