Viva con Agua Collecting cups for a better world

Access to drinking water and sanitation – that’s something the organisation Viva con Agua has made possible for more than half a million people;
Access to drinking water and sanitation – that’s something the organisation Viva con Agua has made possible for more than half a million people; | © John Broemstrup

The Hamburg-based organisation Viva con Agua provides people in Africa, Asia and South America with access to drinking water.

When Benjamin Adrion returned from a training camp in Cuba in 2005, everything had changed. Adrion, at the time a midfield player for the regional league football club FC St. Pauli, had seen how poor the supply of fresh drinking water was in Cuba. Back in Hamburg again, he decided to do something about it.

Adrion mobilised the small world of musicians, football fans and bohemians in the Hamburg district of St. Pauli and launched an appeal for donations. Among the earliest supporters of the project were prominent figures like the hip-hop musicians of Fettes Brot and Bela B of the punk rock band Die Ärzte. In cooperation with Welthungerhilfe (German Agro Action), it subsequently proved possible to equip 150 kindergartens in Cuba’s capital Havana with water dispensers. In 2016, Adrion officially founded the organisation Viva con Agua de Sankt Pauli, an initiative that is seeking to provide people in poor countries with access to drinking water and sanitation.

Engagement off the pitch

Ten years later, Viva con Agua has a permanent staff of 20 and supporters in more than 40 German cities, as well as branches in Austria and Switzerland. Viva con Agua has conducted projects in 15 countries, including Ethiopia, Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda. He’d always had the idea of getting involved in other things, off the pitch, says Adrion. In German Agro Action he found an umbrella organisation that was already familiar with the way things work in Cuba.

The FC St. Pauli backs Adrion’s idea. The football club is well known for its social engagement and its close involvement with Hamburg’s creative and alternative scenes. “I don’t think that would have been possible with any other football club. Viva con Agua is only conceivable under these particular circumstances,” says Adrion.

Access to fresh drinking water

Over a period of ten years, Viva con Agua has helped provide access to clean drinking water and sanitation to more than half a million people, mainly in Africa, South America and Asia, mainly thanks to the efforts of 9,000 voluntary helpers worldwide. This support base is cultivated like a football club’s supporter group: Viva con Agua organises sports tournaments, sponsored runs and parties for the often young helpers. The advertising campaigns are witty and cheeky: “Wouldn’t you rather drill a well?” is the slogan on one postcard that shows a man picking his nose. German musicians like the rapper Marteria have written songs for Viva con Agua that can be listened to on YouTube.
BLUE UGANDA is the soundtrack to a Viva con Agua project journey

But the initiative’s principal source of revenue is probably collecting returnable cups at festivals and other large-scale events. Voluntary helpers ask visitors not to return their empty cups to the drinks stalls but put them instead in a Viva con Agua bin – thus donating the deposit. In the summer of 2014, that brought in nearly 100,000 euros, according to Viva con Agua. On top of this, there’s the other public and non-public support that Viva con Agua can draw on as a non-profit organisation.

A social business for a better world

Since 2010, the Viva con Agua Wasser GmbH has also marketed its own brand of mineral water, which is sold in cooperation with regional water bottlers. Sixty per cent of the profits go to water projects. The Viva con Agua Wasser GmbH operates as a so-called social business, i.e. a company that seeks to solve the social and ecological problems facing society. Such initiatives may develop from a foundation, a non-governmental organisation or a business company. Some also begin life as startups, as in the case of the Goldeimer project. This Kiel-based initiative has been working together with Viva con Agua since 2010. It provides mobile composting toilets for large-scale events. Most of the profits are invested in Viva con Agua’s WASH projects, which are implemented by German Agro Action.

WASH stands for Water, Sanitation & Hygiene. The projects are based on the principle that all three components have to be taken into consideration to achieve a sustainable provision of services. That’s why the people responsible not only build wells but also teach villagers the basics of hygiene and how to keep the wells in good repair. Eighteen German non-governmental organisations have joined the WASH network.

“Make a difference first”

Benjamin Adrion was just 28 years old when he received the Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2009 – an award conferred in recognition of special services rendered for the common good. “I’m glad to accept this thing on behalf of every single one of our supporters,” he said in his acceptance speech. “It shows that we are not a flash-in-the-pan organisation but one that can be taken seriously with a clear conscience.”

“This thing” and “flash-in-the-pan” are terms typical of Viva con Agua’s style. A “certain degree of amateurism” is part of who we are, Adrion once said. “We prefer to get cracking and do the optimising later on. Of course, we also plan things. But chiefly, we want to make a difference first.”

Viva con Agua Bechersammeln für eine bessere Welt

Zugang zu Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen: Der Verein Viva con Agua hat das für mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen möglich gemacht;
Zugang zu Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen: Der Verein Viva con Agua hat das für mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen möglich gemacht; | © John Broemstrup

Der Hamburger Verein Viva con Agua ermöglicht Menschen in Afrika, Asien und Südamerika den Zugang zu Trinkwasser.

Als Benjamin Adrion im Jahr 2005 aus dem Trainingslager auf Kuba zurückkam, hatte sich alles geändert. Adrion, damals Mittelfeldspieler des Regionalliga-Fußballklubs FC St. Pauli, hatte gesehen, wie schlecht die Menschen auf Kuba mit frischem Trinkwasser versorgt waren. Wieder zurück in Hamburg beschloss er, etwas dagegen zu unternehmen.

Adrion mobilisierte den Kleinkosmos aus Musikern, Fußballfans und Lebenskünstlern im Hamburger Stadtteil St. Pauli und startete einen Spendenaufruf. Zu den Unterstützern der ersten Stunde gehörten Prominente wie die Hip-Hop-Musiker von Fettes Brot oder Bela B von der Punkrockband Die Ärzte. Gemeinsam mit der Welthungerhilfe konnten daraufhin 150 Kindergärten in der kubanischen Hauptstadt Havanna mit Wasserspendern ausgestattet werden. Im Jahr 2006 gründete Adrion offiziell den Verein „Viva con Agua de Sankt Pauli“, eine Initiative, die Menschen in ärmeren Ländern einen Zugang zu Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen ermöglichen will.

Engagement über den Fußballplatz hinaus

Zehn Jahre später hat Viva con Agua 20 festangestellte Mitarbeiter und Unterstützer in mehr als 40 deutschen Städten; in Österreich und der Schweiz gibt es Ableger. In 15 Ländern hat Viva con Agua Projekte realisiert, unter anderem in Äthiopien, Ruanda, Kenia und Uganda. Er habe schon immer die Idee gehabt, sich über den Fußballplatz hinaus mit anderen Dingen zu beschäftigen, sagt Adrion. In der Welthungerhilfe fand er eine Dachorganisation, die sich bereits mit den Strukturen in Kuba auskennt.

Der FC St. Pauli trägt Adrions Idee mit. Der Fußballverein ist bekannt für sein soziales Engagement und seine Verwurzelung in der Künstler- und Alternativen-Szene in Hamburg. Ich glaube, bei keinem anderen Fußballverein wäre das in der Weise möglich gewesen. Viva con Agua ist nur denkbar durch diese spezielle Konstellation“, sagt Adrion.

Zugang zu frischem Trinkwasser

Mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen vor allem in Afrika, Südamerika und Asien haben durch Viva con Agua innerhalb von zehn Jahren Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser und Sanitäranlagen erhalten – ermöglicht vor allem durch die Mitarbeit von 9.000 ehrenamtlichen Helfern weltweit. Diese Unterstützer-Basis wird gepflegt wie die Fangruppe eines Fußballklubs: Viva con Agua organisiert Sportturniere, Spendenläufe und Partys für die oft jungen Helfer. Die Werbeaktionen sind witzig und frech: „Lieber einen Brunnen bohren?“ steht beispielsweise auf einer Postkarte, die einen Mann zeigt, der gerade in der Nase popelt. Deutsche Musiker wie der deutsche Rapper Marteria haben für Viva con Agua Songs geschrieben, die man sich auf YouTube anhören kann.
Blue Uganda“ ist der Soundtrack zu einer 14-tägigen Viva con Agua-Projektreise

Die wichtigste Einnahmequelle der Initiative aber ist das Sammeln von Pfandbechern auf Festivals und anderen Großveranstaltungen. Ehrenamtliche Helfer bitten Besucher, ihre leeren Becher nicht am Getränkestand zurückzugeben, sondern in eine Viva-con-Agua-Tonne zu werfen – und damit das Pfand zu spenden. Im Sommer 2014 kamen so laut Viva con Agua fast 100.000 Euro zusammen. Dazu kommt weitere Unterstützung aus öffentlichen und nicht-öffentlichen Mitteln, auf die der Verein als gemeinnützige Organisation zugreifen kann.

Ein Social Business für eine bessere Welt

Seit 2010 vertreibt die Viva con Agua Wasser GmbH ein Mineralwasser, das in Kooperation mit regionalen Wasserabfüllern verkauft wird. 60 Prozent der Gewinne fließen in Wasserprojekte. Die Viva con Agua Wasser GmbH funktioniert als sogenanntes Social Business – als Unternehmen also, das soziale und ökologische Probleme der Gesellschaft lösen will. Solche Initiativen können aus einer Stiftung, einer Nichtregierungsorganisation oder einem Unternehmen heraus entstehen. Manche gehen auch aus Start-ups hervor, beispielsweise das Projekt „Goldeimer“. Diese Initiative aus Kiel arbeitet seit 2010 mit Viva con Agua zusammen. Sie stellt bei Großveranstaltungen mobile Kompost-Toiletten zur Verfügung. Der Großteil der Gewinne fließt in die WASH-Projekte von Viva con Agua, die von der Welthungerhilfe umgesetzt werden.

„WASH“ steht für „Water, Sanitation and Hygiene“ – also Trinkwasser, Abwasserentsorgung und Hygiene. Die Projekte basieren auf dem Prinzip, dass für eine nachhaltige Versorgung alle drei Komponenten berücksichtigt werden müssen. Deshalb bauen die Verantwortlichen nicht nur Brunnen, sondern schulen auch die Dorfbewohner in den Grundsätzen von Hygiene und darin, die Brunnen instand zu halten. Im WASH-Netzwerk haben sich 18 deutsche Nichtregierungsorganisationen zusammengeschlossen.

„Erst einmal etwas bewegen“

Als er 2009 das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande erhielt – eine Auszeichnung für besondere Verdienste um das Gemeinwohl – war Benjamin Adrion gerade einmal 28 Jahre alt. „Stellvertretend für jeden einzelnen Supporter nehme ich das Ding gerne an“, sagte er in seiner Dankesrede. „Es zeigt, dass wir keine Halligalli-Veranstaltung sind, sondern man uns mit gutem Gewissen ernstnehmen kann.“

„Das Ding“ und „Halligalli“ – auch der Tonfall macht Viva con Agua aus. Ein „gewisses Maß an Dilettantismus“ gehöre dazu, sagte Adrion einmal. „Wir fangen lieber an und optimieren danach. Klar machen wir auch Pläne. Aber hauptsächlich wollen wir erst einmal etwas bewegen.“