Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig Artists in Residence© Goethe-Institut

Artist-in-Residence
Pazifik-Leipzig

In collaboration with LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) the Goethe-Institute offers artists from Southeast Asia a three-month residency at the Art and Culture Centre Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. At the beginning of the 20th century the Baumwollspinnerei (cotton mill) was the site of Europe’s largest processing centre for cotton, today it houses the cultural centre for one of the most exciting places for the production and exhibition of contemporary art and culture in Europe.

Leipzig International Art Programme

Cooperation Project "Pacific-Leipzig"

ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE PROGRAM FOR ARTISTS FROM SOUTHEAST ASIA

In 2020 the new cooperation project “Pacific-Leipzig” between the Goethe-Institut and LIA starts. About 200 artists had applied for the open call for artists from Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines. The jury has chosen the five winners, in cooperation with the Goethe Institute in the respective countries. The winners will receive their own studio and are professionally accompanied by the LIA-team. The artworks, which the artists will produce during their stay in Leipzig, will be made accessible to interested visitors during regular held Open Studio sessions. Moreover, after the conclusion of the residencies, a small exhibition with works of all participants will be organized.

RESIDENCE AS A STAGE FOR CULTURAL EXCHANGE

The Residency program allows artists to work in a new cultural environment and to draw drom a variety of new inspirations. Moreover, they offer the opportunity to engage in an open exchange with local artists and to connect with the Leipzig art scene. New ideas are born out of exchanges with local artists, curators as well as the local crowd, and from here new projects can be developed and realised.

The Goethe-Institut has made the promotion of cultural exchanges one of its aims. Residency programmes for international artists help achieve this aim. Pazifik-Leipzig does not merely bring Scandinavian artists and their German contemporaries together, it also offers participants from Scandinavia the opportunity for cultural exchange amongst each other.


Activities of Artists in LIA

Resonate Opus

Resonate Opus II

In this second installment in the online concert series, Resonate, musicians from the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig combine with Filipino multimedia artist, Jett Ilagan aka escuri, to create 6 video clips of Kurtág’s 6 Moments musicaux Op. 44. Filmed in the historic Moritzbastei underground club in Leipzig, sound and visuals by Jett Ilagan reinterpret Kurtág’s music specially for a digital audience.


Pazifik-Leipzig 2021

The Goethe-Institut has been funding residencies in Leipzig for artists from Southeast Asia since 2020. The first Filipino artist to participate in this residency programme is music producer and multimedia artist Jett Ilagan, aka Escuri from Laguna, Philippines. He started his residency in the beginning of November 2021. He stayed at Leipzig’s art and culture center “Baumwollspinnerei” (cotton mill) where he also spent most of his time working.

During his residency, Jett Ilagan produced Reflections an immersive multichannel sound installation that reflects Leipzig's sonic landscape. He also collaborated with musicians from the Gewandhausorchester to create an audiovisual performance for the Resonate Opus II.

  •  Jett Ilagan with Gewanhausorchester © Jett Ilagan
    Jett Ilagan with Gewanhausorchester
  •  Jett Ilagan with Gewanhausorchester © Jett Ilagan
  • Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Open Studio Reflections
  • Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Open Studio Reflections
  • Jett Ilagan at the Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Jett Ilagan at the Open Studio Reflections

Open Call

LIA Studio of fellow T. Kiernander, Canada @ LIA

Open Call for a Three-Month-Residency in Leipzig

Residency Period from 1st November 2022 - 31st January 2023: for artists from the Philippines and Malaysia

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig Artists in Residence© Goethe-Institut

Residenzprogramm
Pazifik-Leipzig

In Zusammenarbeit mit LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Südostasien eine dreimonatige Residenz im Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts noch Europas größte Anlage zur Verarbeitung von Baumwolle, handelt es sich beim heutigen Kreativzentrum um einen der spannendsten Produktions- und Ausstellungsorte für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur in Europa.

Leipzig International Art Programme

Kooperationsprojekt "Pazifik-Leipzig"

RESIDENZPROGRAMM FÜR KÜNSTLERINNEN UND KÜNSTLER AUS SÜDOSTASIEN

2020 startet das neue Kooperationsprojekt “Pazifik-Leipzig” zwischen dem Goethe-Institut und LIA. Nach einer offenen Ausschreibung für Künstler*Innen aus den Ländern Malaysia, Myanmar, Neuseeland, Thailand, Vietnam, und Philippinen, auf die sich knapp 200 Künstler*Innen beworben haben, wählte eine Jury, in Kooperation mit den Goethe-Instituten in den jeweiligen Ländern, die Gewinner aus. Die Gewinner werden in der Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei ein eigenes Atelier beziehen und werden vor Ort professionell vom LIA-Team in ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen unterstützt. Die Arbeiten, welche während des Aufenthalts in der Spinnerei entstehen, werden in den regelmäßig stattfindenden Open Studios der kunstinteressierten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Zudem wird am Ende des Residenzprogrammes eine kleine Ausstellung mit Werken aller Teilnehmer organisiert.

RESIDENZEN ALS RAHMEN FÜR DEN KULTURAUSTAUSCH

Das Residenzprogramm ermöglicht Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in einem neuen kulturellen Kontext zu arbeiten und aus einer Vielzahl neuer Inspirationen zu schöpfen. Zudem bietet das Programm die Möglichkeit sich mit lokalen Künstlern auszutauschen und sich mit der Leipziger Kunstszene zu vernetzen. Durch den Austausch mit lokalen Künstler*Innen, Kurator*Innen und der Bevölkerung vor Ort können neue Impulse gesammelt und innovative Ideen herausgearbeitet werden.
 
Das Goethe-Institut hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den kulturellen Austausch zu fördern. Residenzprogramme schaffen dafür einen passenden Rahmen. Pazifik Leipzig bringt nicht nur Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus Südostasien mit deutschen Kolleginnen und Kollegen zusammen, sondern gibt den Teilnehmenden auch Gelegenheit für den Austausch untereinander.


Mehreren Aktivitäten bei LIA

Resonate Opus II

In der zweiten Ausgabe der Online-Konzertserie Resonate erschaffen Musiker*innen des Gewandhausorchesters Leipzig gemeinsam mit dem philippinischen Multimediakünstler Jett Ilagan aka escuri 6 Videoclips basierend auf Kurtágs 6 Moments musicaux op 44. Gefilmt wurden die Clips in den historischen Gewölben der Moritzbastei, einem der bekanntesten Underground-Clubs der Stadt. Jett Ilagan re-interpretiert Kurtágs Musik mit eigens für die Videos geschaffenen Visuals für ein digitales Publikum.
 


Pazifik-Leipzig 2021

Das Goethe-Institut fördert seit 2020 Aufenthalte von Künstlern aus Südostasien in Leipzig. Der erste philippinische Künstler, der an diesem Residenzprogramm teilnimmt, ist der Musikproduzent und Multimediakünstler Jett Ilagan, alias Escuri aus Laguna, Philippinen. Er begann seinen Aufenthalt Anfang November 2021. Er wohnte im Leipziger Kunst- und Kulturzentrum "Baumwollspinnerei", wo er auch die meiste Zeit seiner Arbeit verbrachte. 

Während seines Aufenthalts produzierte Jett Ilagan Reflections, eine immersive Mehrkanal-Klanginstallation, die die Klanglandschaft Leipzigs widerspiegelt. Außerdem arbeitete er mit Musikern des Gewandhausorchesters zusammen, um eine audiovisuelle Performance für das Resonate Opus II.

  •  Jett Ilagan mit Gewanhausorchester © Jett Ilagan
    Jett Ilagan mit Gewanhausorchester
  •  Jett Ilagan mit Gewanhausorchester © Jett Ilagan
    Jett Ilagan mit Gewanhausorchester
  • Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Open Studio Reflections
  • Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Open Studio Reflections
  • Jett Ilagan bei den Open Studio Reflections © Jett Ilagan
    Jett Ilagan bei den Open Studio Reflections

Ausschreibung

LIA Studio of fellow T. Kiernander, Canada @ LIA

Ausschreibung für eine dreimonatige Residenz in Leipzig

Residency Period vom 1. November 2022 - 31. Januar 2023: für Künstler aus den Philippinen und Malaysia

Top