Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For Adventurers
Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins

For adventurers In Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins Gregor Hinz takes us to the small community of the same name in the French Auvergne-Rhone-Alps region. In 2014, he spent two months in France helping children at various schools draw comics. His picture story is composed of a series of fragments painted with felt-tip pens, which tell of his travel impressions with a wink.

 


Extracts from "Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins":

 Saint Victor Sur Rhins © Gregor Hinz


About the artist Gregor Hinz:

Gregor Hinz

When Gregor Hinz draws, reality becomes tangible. Born in Rostock, the comic artist draws books for big and small children and is the co-founder of the magazine "Pure Fruit". Since 2011, he has been teaching at the Muthesius Academy of Art.


Travelpedia: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins

  •  Small but nice: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins is a village near Thizy. Around 2000 inhabitants live in the French commune. It belongs to the Loire department in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region. Saint Victor, however, can look back on a record: At the beginning of the twentieth century, there were three rail stations here. © Gregor Hinz (detail)
    Small but nice: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins is a village near Thizy. Around 2000 inhabitants live in the French commune. It belongs to the Loire department in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region. Saint Victor, however, can look back on a record: At the beginning of the twentieth century, there were three rail stations here.

David Schmidt about "Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins"

Five pages show five different scenes from this period, drawn in felt-tip pen. Viewed in isolation, the word-image collages seem like a loose chain of travel impressions..."

Review
 


More Comics for Adventurers

Dingos_2 © Jan Bauer

"The Salty River"

On the very first pages, Jan Bauer makes it clear that his focus in “The Salty River" is solitude, peace and quiet, the inner self. This is an ego trip to help him cope with the loss of his mother and the end of a 16-year relationship. The salty river is a dry riverbed which Jan Bauer, starting in Alice Springs, follows for 15 days and nights – 233 kilometres along the Larapinta Trail.

Sebastian Lörscher: A bisserl weiter | Bauer © Sebastian Lörscher (Detail)

"A bisserl weiter… ...geht's immer!"

Three months spent between morbid charm, arrogance and warmth: Sebastian Lörscher illustrates the Austrian attitude to life in ‘A bisserl weiter… ...geht's immer!‘ (A Bit Further...........Can Always Be Done!)

"Was kostet ein Yak"

In search of inspiration for his thesis, Philip Cassirer travelled through Nepal, India and Bangladesh. He processed his experiences in the graphic novel, ‘How Much For A Yak?’ A conversation about the process of drawing in foreign worlds.      


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Abenteurer
Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins

For adventurers In „Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins“ nimmt uns Gregor Hinz mit in die gleichnamige kleine Gemeinde in der französischen Auvergne-Rhone-Alpenregion. 2014 hat er in Frankreich zwei Monate lang Kinder an verschiedenen Schulen beim Comiczeichnen unterstützt. Seine Bildergeschichte setzt sich aus einer Reihe von mit Filzstift gemalten Fragmenten zusammen, die augenzwinkernd von seinen Reiseeindrücken erzählen.

 


Auszüge aus „Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins“:

 Saint Victor Sur Rhins © Gregor Hinz


Über den Künstler Gregor Hinz:

Gregor Hinz

Wenn Gregor Hinz zeichnet, dann wird die Realität greifbar. Der in Rostock geborene Comic-Künstler zeichnet Bücher für große und kleine Kinder und ist Mitbegründer der Zeitschrift Pure Fruit. Seit 2011 lehrt er an der Muthesius Kunsthochschule.


Travelpedia: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins

  •  Klein aber fein: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins ist Dorf in der Nähe von Thizy. In der französischen Gemeinde leben knapp 2000 Einwohner. Sie gehört zum Département Loire in der Region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Saint Victor kann aber auf einen Rekord blicken: Zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts gab es hier drei Bahnhöfe. © Gregor Hinz (Ausschnitt)
    Klein aber fein: Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins ist Dorf in der Nähe von Thizy. In der französischen Gemeinde leben knapp 2000 Einwohner. Sie gehört zum Département Loire in der Region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Saint Victor kann aber auf einen Rekord blicken: Zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts gab es hier drei Bahnhöfe.

David Schmidt über „Saint-Victor-sur-Rhins“

Fünf Seiten zeigen fünf verschiedene, mit Filzstift gemalte Szenen aus dieser Zeit. Für sich allein betrachtet scheinen die Text-Bild-Collagen wie eine lose Aneinanderkettung von Reiseeindrücken...“

Rezension
 


Weitere Comics für Abenteurer

Dingos_2 © Jan Bauer

"Der salzige Fluss"

Schon auf den ersten Seiten stellt Jan Bauer klar: Es geht in "Der salzige Fluss" ums Alleinsein, Ruhe, Innerlichkeit. Die Reise ist ein Ego-Trip, um den Verlust der Mutter und das Ende einer 16 Jahre langen Beziehung zu verkraften. Der salzige Fluss ist ein trockenes Flussbett, dem Jan Bauer von Alice Springs aus 15 Tage und Nächte folgt - 233 Kilometer entlang des Larapinta-Trails.

Sebastian Lörscher: A bisserl weiter | Bauer © Sebastian Lörscher (Ausschnitt)

"A bisserl weiter… ...geht's immer!"

Drei Monate zwischen morbidem Charme, Arroganz und Herzlichkeit: Sebastian Lörscher skizziert in „A bisserl weiter… ...geht's immer!“ das Lebensgefühl der Österreicher.

Was kostet ein Yak © Goethe-Institut New Delhi / Max Mueller Bhavan

"Was kostet ein Yak"

Um sich für seine Diplomarbeit inspirieren zu lassen, ist Philip Cassirer durch Nepal, Indien und Bangladesch gereist. Seine Erfahrungen hat er in seinem Comic »Was kostet ein Yak« verarbeitet.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top