International German Language Olympics 2024

Werbebanner Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) 2024 © Goethe-Institut

The IDO is legendary. Known as a major international celebration of the German language, the 2024 edition of the contest comes to Göttingen! Young participants will compete for the title of best learner of the German language and also embark on a journey of discovery through the green city of science. In national preliminary rounds, around 50 countries around the world are now preparing for the grand IDO final in Göttingen from 15 to 22 July 2024. It’s taking part that counts!

National competition in Pakistan

High school students who have qualified at A2, B1 or B2 level in a Nationale Deutscholympiade (NDO), or any other accredited national selection procedure, are eligible to compete in the IDO. Contestants must be between 14 and 17 years of age.

The following persons are not eligible to take part in the IDO:

  • Students whose mother tongue is German or who have at least one native German-speaking parent.
  • Students who have lived for more than six months at a time in a German-speaking country.
  • Students at German schools abroad or private schools whose principal language of instruction and communication is German.
  • Students who are already of legal age (18 or older).
  • Students already enrolled to study at a university.
  • Students who provide false information about themselves will be disqualified and/or stripped of their titles.
  • Two contestants per country, whether at the same or different language levels, may compete in Dresden.

The world's biggest German language event, the International German Olympiad (IDO) will be held from 15.-22.07.2024 in Göttingen.

German language students from PASCH and BKD schools who have achieved a certain higher German language level A2+ can participate in the national qualifying round in Pakistan, which will be held on February 24 (TBC) in Karachi, Islamabad, and Lahore.

The selection process follows a very comprehensive list of criteria and the age level of students falls in the bracket between 14-17 years of age. German native speakers and students who have lived in Germany as well as students whose parents are native speakers cannot participate in the event.

The national round will be taking place in three cities in Pakistan at the same time, Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad. The student who receives the best result in the round and after an interview will be selected to represent Pakistan in the IDO in Germany.

Questions? Contact us!

Do you have a question? Please do not hesitate to contact us!

What is the Internationale Deutscholympiade?


  • The Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) is the world’s biggest contest for German language learners. In 2024, it will take place from 15 to 22 July according to the motto “DABEI SEIN! Wissen schaffen. Zukunft machen” (“BE THERE! Creating knowledge. Making the future”).
  • The final elimination is contested every two years with the venue alternating between Goethe-Institut cities in Germany. In the past, the following cities have hosted the IDO: Dresden in 2008, Hamburg in 2010, Frankfurt in 2012 and 2014, Berlin in 2016, Freiburg in 2018, in digital format with a Dresden connection in 2020, and Hamburg again in 2022. Göttingen will host the event for the first time in 2024.

Looking back to Hamburg 2022

Partners and Sponsors

Follow us

Internationale Deutscholympiade 2024

Werbebanner Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) 2024 © Goethe-Institut

Die IDO ist Kult: Bekannt als das große internationale Fest der deutschen Sprache kommt sie 2024 nach Göttingen! Dort wetteifern Jugendliche nicht nur um den Titel der besten Deutschlernenden, sondern begeben sich auf Entdeckungstour durch die grüne Wissenschaftsstadt. Weltweit bereiten sich nun rund 50 Länder in nationalen Vorrunden auf das große IDO-Finale in Göttingen vom 15. bis 22. Juli 2024 vor. Dabei sein ist alles!

Nationale Deutscholympiade in Pakistan

Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Schüler*innen, die sich im Rahmen der Nationalen Deutscholympiaden (NDO) bzw. anderer nationaler Auswahlverfahren für die Teilnahme am IDO-Finale in einer der Niveaustufen A2, B1, B2 qualifiziert haben.
Die Teilnehmer*innen müssen mindestens 14 Jahre und dürfen maximal 17 Jahre alt sein. 
Pro Land können zwei Schüler*innen mitmachen. Dabei ist es möglich, dass sich die Teilnehmenden in unterschiedlichen Niveaustufen oder in der gleichen Niveaustufe qualifizieren.  

Von der Teilnahme an der IDO ausgeschlossen sind – aus Gründen der Fairness: 

  • Schüler*innen, deren Mutter- oder Kommunikationssprache Deutsch ist, bzw. bei  
    denen mindestens eines der Elternteile deutschsprachig ist. 
  • Schüler*innen, die nach dem dritten Lebensjahr länger als sechs Monate  
    durchgehend in deutschsprachigen Ländern gelebt haben. 
  • Schüler*innen von deutschen Auslandsschulen 
  • Schüler*innen von lokalen Privatschulen, deren Unterrichts- und  
    Kommunikationssprache vorwiegend Deutsch ist. 
  • Schüler*innen, die für 2024 bereits ein Sprachenstipendium für Deutschland  
    haben.
  • Ehemalige Schüler*innen, die bereits ihr Studium an einer Universität begonnen  
    haben. 
  • Schüler*innen, die bereits volljährig sind
​​​​​​​Falsche Angaben zu den Schüler*innen führen zur Disqualifikation bzw. zur Aberkennung von Titeln. 

Das weltweit größte Ereignis der deutschen Sprache, die Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO), findet vom 15. bis 22.07.2024 in Göttingen statt.

Deutschsprachige Schülerinnen und Schüler der PASCH- und BKD-Schulen, die ein bestimmtes höheres Deutschniveau A2+ erreicht haben, können an der nationalen Qualifikationsrunde in Pakistan teilnehmen, die am 24. Februar (TBC) in Karachi, Islamabad und Lahore stattfindet.

Das Auswahlverfahren folgt einer sehr umfassenden Liste von Kriterien, und die Altersstufe der Schüler liegt zwischen 14 und 17 Jahren. Deutsche Muttersprachler und Schüler, die in Deutschland gelebt haben, sowie Schüler, deren Eltern Muttersprachler sind, können nicht an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen.

Die nationale Runde findet in drei Städten Pakistans gleichzeitig statt: Karachi, Lahore und Islamabad. Der Schüler oder die Schülerin, der/die in der Runde und nach einem Interview das beste Ergebnis erzielt, wird ausgewählt, um Pakistan bei der IDO in Deutschland zu vertreten.

Kontakt

Haben Sie Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns gern!

Was ist die Internationale Deutscholympiade?

  • Die Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO) ist der weltweit größte Wettbewerb der deutschen Sprache. Er findet dieses Jahr vom 15. bis 22. Juli 2024 unter dem Motto "DABEI SEIN! Wissen schaffen. Zukunft machen" statt.  
  • Der alle zwei Jahre wechselnde Austragungsort der Endausscheidung ist ein Standort des Goethe-Instituts in Deutschland. Die IDO war in den vergangenen Jahren in folgenden Städten zu Gast: 2008 in Dresden, 2010 in Hamburg, 2012 sowie 2014 in Frankfurt, 2016 in Berlin, 2018 in Freiburg, 2020 hat sie in einem Digitalformat mit Dresden-Bezug stattgefunden, 2022 fand sie erneut in Hamburg statt und 2024 kommt sie nach zum ersten Mal nach Göttingen.  

Rückblick auf die IDO 2022 in Hamburg: Die Highlights auf einen Blick

Partner und Sponsoren

Folgen Sie uns