© Nusasonic

Nusasonic Residencies


Nusasonic residencies aim to strengthen artistic knowledge and links within the region and with Europe. The yearly residencies occur at various locations in South East Asia.
 
2020 Singapore
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this residency is currently on hold. Further information will be communicated to all applicants before the end of August 2020. The original call was launched together with Musicboard Berlin, for one artist interested in holding a residency hosted by Playfreely/BlackKaji for 6 weeks around October 2020.
 
2019 Manila: Laure Boer [FR/DE]
Hosted by WSK Festival of the Recently Possible, from August to October 2019, Laure Boer explored Manila music scenes and collaborated with different artistic constellations in WSK Festival! Supported by Musicboard Berlin.
 
2018 Yogyakarta: Jessica Ekomane [FR/DE] and Nadah El Shazly [EG]
Hosted by Yes No Klub from July to September 2018, Jessica Ekomane and Nadah El Shazly researched Indonesian traditional and contemporary music, earned about current cultural and artistic practices through discussions and workshops with local artists and communities, and produced new works.

Artists

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta 2019

Jessica Ekomane

Berlin-based musician and installation artist Jessica Ekomane creates situations in which sound functions as a form of catharsis. Her work intersperses noise and melody, playing with listeners’ perception of rhythmic structures and seeking to transform the space between sound and audience.

Laure Boer © Paul Rousteau
Manila 2019 / funded by Musicboard Berlin

Laure Boer

Berlin-based multi-instrumentalist and singer Laure Boer is inspired by electronic and traditional folk music. Her performances are hypnotic improvisations around traditional instruments, odd percussion, and the occasional French texts; a vibrant universe that is both vulnerable and brutal.

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta 2019

Nadah el Shazly

Starting out singing Misfits covers in a local punk band, Cairo’s Nadah el Shazly has since been making a name for herself in the city’s underground scene by producing her own electronic tracks. Her debut album, Ahwar (2017), emerged via Nawa Recordings, a label run by Khyam Allami that focuses on Middle Eastern artists.

© Nusasonic

Nusasonic Residenzen

Verschiedene Residenzen zielen darauf das künstlerisches Wissen und die Verbindungen innerhalb der Region und mit Europa zu stärken. Die jährlichen Residenzen finden an verschiedenen Orten in Südostasien statt.

2020 Singapur Open Call
Aktueller Open Call in Zusammenarbeit mit Musicboard Berlin für eine Künstler*in, mit Interesse an einer 6-wöchigen Residenz ausgerichtet von Playfreely/BlackKaji im Oktober 2020. Weitere Informationen und Bewerbung.
 
2019 Manila: Laure Boer [FR/DE]
Veranstaltet vom WSK Festival of the Recently Possible, erkundete Laure Boer von August bis Oktober 2019 die Szenen Manilas und kollaborierte in unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Konstellationen im Rahmen des WSK Festivals. Mit Unterstützung des Musicboard Berlin.
 
2018 Yogyakarta: Jessica Ekomane [FR/DE] und Nadah El Shazly [EG]
Begleitet von Yes No Klub recherchierten Jessica Ekomane und Nadah El Shazly von Juli bis September 2018 traditionelle und zeitgenössische indonesische Musik, informierten sich in Diskussionen und Workshops mit lokalen Künstler*innen und Communities über aktuelle kulturelle und künstlerische Praktiken und produzierten neue Werke.

Künstler*innen

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta 2019

Jessica Ekomane

Die in Berlin lebende Musikerin und Installationskünstlerin Jessica Ekomane schafft Situationen, in denen Klang als eine Form von Katharsis fungiert. Ihre Arbeit durchsetzt Lärm und Melodie, spielt mit der Wahrnehmung rhythmischer Strukturen der Zuhörer und versucht, den Raum zwischen Klang und Publikum zu transformieren.

Laure Boer © Paul Rousteau
Manila 2019 / unterstützt von Musicboard Berlin

Laure Boer

Die in Berlin lebende Multiinstrumentalistin und Sängerin Laure Boer ist inspiriert von elektronischer und traditioneller Volksmusik. Ihre Performances sind hypnotische Improvisationen um traditionelle Instrumente, Perkussionen und gelegentlich französische Texte; ein pulsierendes Universum, das sowohl verletzlich als auch brutal ist.

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta 2019

Nadah el Shazly

Sie begann mit dem Singen von Misfits-Liedern in einer lokalen Punk-Band. Seitdem hat sich Nadah el Shazly aus Kairo mit ihren eigenen elektronischen Tracks einen Namen in der Underground-Szene der Stadt gemacht. Ihr Debütalbum, Ahwar (2017), entstand über Nawa Recordings, ein Label von Khyam Allami, das sich auf Künstler aus dem Nahen Osten konzentriert.