Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Art & Migration© Mohamed Somji

Art & Culture
Love, Labour, Leisure

The project Love Labour Leisure investigates the cultural life of migrant workers in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) through the lenses of visual art, film, performance and music. Foreign nationals make up the majority of the population in in the countries of the Persian/Arabian Gulf and more than 80% of the population in Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. In this online exhibition we will be exploring the cultural implications of these demographics.

 


Artists

Amirah Tajdin © Amirah Tajdin

Amirah Tajdin

Amirah Tajdin is a Kenyan artist and filmmaker. She graduated from Rhodes University with a Bachelor of Fine Art (Photography) in South Africa and Goucher College Maryland (USA).

Vikram Divecha © Courtesy National Pavilion UAE

Vikram Divecha

Beirut-born, Mumbai-bred, Vikram Divecha is an artist based in Dubai. His practice raises questions about time, value and authorship by engaging people across urban and social spheres, and working with available material and space.

Eisa Jocson

Eisa Jocson exposes body politics in the service and entertainment industry as seen through the unique socioeconomic lens of the Philippines. She studies how the body moves and what conditions make it move – be it social mobility or movement out of Philippines through migrant work.

Saba Qizilbash © Saba Qizilbash

Saba Qizilbash

Saba Qizilbash grew up in Abu Dhabi, UAE and later moved back to Pakistan. She graduated from the National College of Art (NCA) with a BFA degree in Painting. The same year, she went to Sitka Center for Art and Ecology on the idyllic coast of Oregon on an artist residency. 

Riyas Komu © Riyas Komu

Riyas Komu

Riyas Komuis a critically acclaimed multimedia artist and curator based out of Mumbai. His works are inspired mostly by social conflicts, political movements, migration, governmental policies, sport, marginalisation and displacement. 

Augustine Paredes © Augustine Paredes

Augustine Paredes

Augustine Paredes is a Filipino artist and photographer based in Dubai. Augustine’s lyrical, contemporary, and sensuous visual narratives are derived from his many-storied travels, South East Asian consciousness, and queer gaze.

Anahita Razmi © Goethe-Institut

Anahita Razmi

Anahita Razmi studied at Bauhaus-University Weimar, Pratt Institute New York and State Academy of Art and Design Stuttgart, prior to exhibiting widely internationally and in numerous institutions like Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warsaw, Kunstraum Innsbruck, Austria, Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Germany, Kunsthalle Baden-Baden, Germany, The National Art Center, Tokyo and within the 55th Venice Biennale.

Mohamed Somji © Mohamed Somji

Mohamed Somji

Mohamed Somji, born in Tanzania in 1976 and moved to Dubai a month later and has lived there since, with a short interlude in the US to pursue a degree in Business Administration and Marketing. He quit his corporate career in 2006 to take up photography professionally. 

Music in Exile © Bana Haffar

Music in Exile

Music is something we have been doing since we were nomadic at the dawn of time. Something to unite people beyond language and status, something we keep on doing at home, away from home, on the road however perilous it may be, in our head and heart, with our body, alone and also to get closer to each other, to find our place and hopefully to belong there.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Introbild Art&Migration© Goethe-Institut

Art & Culture
Love, Labour, Leisure

Das Projekt Love Labor Leisure untersucht das kulturelle Leben von ausländischen Arbeitskräften in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten (VAE) durch den Blickwinkel der bildenden Kunst, Film, Performance und Musik. In den Ländern des Persischen/Arabischen Golfs stellen Ausländer die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung und in Katar und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten sogar mehr als 80 % der Bevölkerung. In dieser Online-Ausstellung untersuchen wir die kulturellen Implikationen dieser Demografie.


Künstler*innen

Amirah Tajdin © Amirah Tajdin

Amirah Tajdin

Amirah Tajdin ist eine kenianische Künstlerin und Filmemacherin. Sie absolvierte die Rhodes University mit einem Bachelor of Fine Art (Fotografie) in Südafrika und dem Goucher College Maryland (USA). 

Vikram Divecha © Courtesy National Pavilion UAE

Vikram Divecha

Vikram Divecha, in Beirut geboren, in Mumbai aufgewachsen, ist ein in Dubai lebender Künstler. Sein Werk wirft Fragen zu Zeit, Wert und Urheberschaft auf, indem er Menschen in städtischen und sozialen Bereichen einbezieht und mit verfügbarem Material und Raum arbeitet.

Eisa Jocson © Eisa Jocson

Eisa Jocson

Eisa Jocson enthüllt die Körperpolitik in der Dienstleistungs- und Unterhaltungsindustrie aus der einzigartigen sozioökonomischen Perspektive der Philippinen. Sie untersucht, wie sich der Körper bewegt und unter welchen Bedingungen er sich bewegt - sei es soziale Mobilität oder Bewegung aus den Philippinen durch Migration.

Saba Qizilbash © Saba Qizilbash

Saba Qizilbash

Saba Qizilbash wuchs in Abu Dhabi, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, auf und zog später nach Pakistan zurück. Sie absolvierte das National College of Art (NCA) mit einem BFA-Abschluss in Malerei. Im selben Jahr besuchte sie eine Künstlerresidenz im Sitka Center für Kunst und Ökologie an der idyllischen Küste von Oregon.

Riyas Komu © Riyas Komu

Riyas Komu

Riyas Komu ist ein von der Kritik gefeierter Multimedia-Künstler und Kurator aus Mumbai. Seine Arbeiten sind hauptsächlich von sozialen Konflikten, politischen Bewegungen, Migration, Regierungspolitik, Sport, Marginalisierung und Vertreibung inspiriert.

Augustine Paredes © Augustine Paredes

Augustine Paredes

Augustine Paredes ist ein philippinischer Künstler und Fotograf aus Dubai. Augustines lyrische, zeitgenössische und sinnliche visuelle Erzählungen leiten sich aus seinen zahlreichen Reisen, seinem südostasiatischen Bewusstsein und seiner queeren Perspektive ab. 

Anahita Razmi © Goethe-Institut

Anahita Razmi

Anahita Razmi studierte an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, dem Pratt Institute New York und der Staatlichen Akademie für Kunst und Design Stuttgart, bevor sie international und in zahlreichen Institutionen wie der Zachęta Nationalgalerie für Kunst, Warschau, dem Kunstraum Innsbruck, dem Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Kunsthalle Baden-Baden, Nationales Kunstzentrum  Tokio und im Rahmen der 55. Biennale von Venedig ausstellte.

Mohamed Somji © Mohamed Somji

Mohamed Somji

Mohamed Somji, 1976 in Tansania geboren und einen Monat später nach Dubai gezogen, lebt seitdem dort, mit einer kurzen Pause in den USA, um einen Abschluss in Business Administration und Marketing zu machen. 2006 gab er seine Karriere als Unternehmer auf, um sich professionell mit Fotografie zu beschäftigen.

Music in Exile © Bana Haffar

Musik im Exil

Musik machen wir schon, seit wir zu Beginn aller Zeiten als Nomaden lebten. Musik vereint Menschen jenseits von Sprache und Status, wir musizieren zu Hause, auswärts und unterwegs, auch wenn es gefährlich sein mag, in unserem Kopf und Herzen, mit unserem Körper, allein und um einander näherzukommen, um unseren Platz zu finden und hoffentlich dazuzugehören.

Top