Renaissance of the Prefabricated Building Ugly but Useful

A prefabricated building in Berlin-Lichtenberg that used to house the offices of the Reichsbahn (East German Railways) - now renovated and converted into an apartment block.
A prefabricated building in Berlin-Lichtenberg that used to house the offices of the Reichsbahn (East German Railways) - now renovated and converted into an apartment block. | Photo (detail): © GPU

For so long the grey apartment blocks from the old GDR were berated as eyesores. Today, however, the prefabricated building is celebrating its comeback as a bastion of inexpensive housing – thanks not least to the business savvy of certain entrepreneurs in the real estate sector.

It would be over the top to call a prefabricated building beautiful, but that was never the intention behind it: The Platte, as the Germans nickname it, was at first was merely functional. Then it became an expression of political conviction – the symbol of a system whose demise it witnessed. Over the past few years it has been derided, vilified and ridiculed. Again and again people wanted nothing more than to see the back of it. Nevertheless the prefabricated building survived, in Berlin, in Leipzig, in cities like Potsdam and Erfurt, as highly visible remnant from the days of German socialism.

These grey apartment blocks were mostly built in the 1970s due to the housing shortage in the GDR, to provide homes for as many people as possible as quickly as possible. At times entire urban districts came into being in the form of prefabricated blocks, housing around 100,000 people. They rose to become the epitome of the socialist all-men-are-equal ideology. Today these anonymous concrete fortresses seem disconcerting. They are often unoccupied and berated as eyesores. If an investor does come along, he usually demolishes the building, in order to build more upmarket, new property. The real-estate market in the big cities has picked up strongly, but people are not interested in these cold cubes of concrete from the old GDR. They want nicely appointed apartments with parquet flooring, balconies and high ceilings.

Discount on real estate

At least that is what those who can afford it want. Those who cannot afford it feel they are being more and more marginalised. More and more people are moving into the big cities, above all into inner-city districts. The wheel of gentrification keeps on turning, living space is becoming scarce. It is getting more expensive all the time. For Lutz Lakomski this is where the Platte comes into play. Lakomski is the managing director of a project development company called GPU. In collaboration with his partner, Arndt Ulrich, he has been investing for years in things nobody is interested in. For example, the two of them buy prefabricated buildings in Berlin that are only fit for demolition, they renovate them and inside they create tiny apartments. They then re-let them at an affordable price.

The one big advantage with the prefabricated Platte to create inexpensive housing is that it is already there. That saves time, bureaucracy and money, even their energy-oriented modernisation is relatively inexpensive. The target groups are students, trainees, pensioners – the people who lose out on gentrification. “We are addressing tenants who earn between 800 and 1000 euros a month,” says Lakomski. These are the people who are often neglected on the housing market. “Everybody is into building something nice and realising their inner selves. That does not come cheap. There are, however, a lot of people who do not earn so much and they should not be ignored, either.” As an entrepreneur he has a down-to-earth approach – if there is a demand, then he will provide a supply.

Inexpensive housing

In a certain way the prefabricated building is returning to its original purpose. No way was it solely a socialist idea spawned by the GDR regime, prefabricated housing actually started its triumphant advance in Germany during the Weimar Republic. Back then the state was looking for ways to create inexpensive housing. A rationalised approach to constructing housing for the masses was a counter-project to the artistically motivated architecture of the time and aimed at providing adequate housing for people from the socially deprived sections of society.

The principle has now finally gained a foothold on the privately financed housing market. In Berlin-Lichtenberg, in an office block that used to house the Stasi (the GDR’s secret police) Lakomski and Ulrich have installed small apartments and a day-care centre for children. A nine-storey, brute of an apartment block on Frankfurter Allee has in the meantime been painted in bright colours. Most of its apartments have an area of 25 to 35 square metres, the cheapest costing 299 euros including heating. Their best trump card, however, is not so much the price per square metre, but their size. In a city that attracts more and more young people every day, but also in a city in which more and more people live alone, inexpensive apartments for singles are a rare commodity.

Other entrepreneurs have also re-discovered the Platte. Investors recently acquired, for example, a former hostel for GDR contract workers on Wartenberger Strasse, with the aim of renovating it. There is talk here of it housing 625 apartments.

Concentration instead of beauty

Yes, the Platte is enjoying a small renaissance, yet at the same time there has been a further change in its significance. It might well have been stigmatised as a symbol of a misguided approach to social equality in the years after the Berlin Wall came down, today – as British architect David Chipperfied sees it – it is a sign of social heterogeneity. In an interview with the German newspaper, Die Welt, he said that these concrete blocks may well be ugly, but they are useful – because they ensure a social blending of the city’s population. He went on to say that it was difficult to imagine ways in which a Platte could be gentrified. Their appearance and historical stigma, he believes, are the two things that make them unsuitable for conversion into luxury apartments.

What Chipperfield might well observe from a sociological standpoint, is viewed more pragmatically by entrepreneurs. The influx of people moving to the cities is going to become more and more drastic. Child day-care centres have already been set up in a Platte, this would also be an option for schools, says Lakomski. “Then there is also the ever-important question of how refugees are to be housed.” The company is also planning a new building that will be a 100 metres tall. In this case, too, it is not a matter of beauty, but of concentrating living space. What Lakomski has in mind is a kind of new Platte. One that is built to be functional – as it always was.

Renaissance des Plattenbaus Hässlich aber hilfreich

Ehemaliges Bürohaus der Reichsbahn in Berlin-Lichtenberg, saniert und umgebaut zu einem Appartmenthaus.
Ehemaliges Bürohaus der Reichsbahn in Berlin-Lichtenberg, saniert und umgebaut zu einem Appartmenthaus. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © GPU

Lange galten die grauen Wohnblöcke der DDR als Schandflecke. Heute feiert der Plattenbau ein Comeback als Hort günstigen Wohnraums – nicht zuletzt dank geschäftstüchtiger Immobilienunternehmer.

Sie schön zu nennen, wäre zu viel gesagt – es war aber auch nie ihre Bestimmung, schön zu sein: Die Platte, wie der Plattenbau umgangssprachlich heißt, war zunächst nur funktional, dann Ausdruck einer Gesinnung. Sie war Sinnbild eines Systems und Zeuge seines Zusammenbruchs. In den vergangenen Jahren wurde sie belächelt, geschmäht, verspottet. Immer wieder wurde ihr Abriss herbeigewünscht. Aber die Häuser haben überlebt, in Berlin, in Leipzig, in Städten wie Potsdam oder Erfurt. Plattenbauten sind weithin sichtbare Überbleibsel des deutschen Sozialismus.

Die grauen Wohnblöcke wurden vor allem in den Siebzigerjahren wegen des Wohnungsmangels in der DDR gebaut, um möglichst schnell möglichst viele Menschen unterzubringen. Bisweilen wurden ganze Stadtteile in Plattenbauweise errichtet, mit Wohnraum für rund 100.000 Menschen. Mit der Zeit avancierten sie zum Inbegriff sozialistischer Gleichheitsideologie. Heute wirken die anonymen Betonburgen befremdlich. Sie stehen oft leer und gelten als Schandflecke. Findet sich ein Investor, reißt er die Häuser meist ab und baut teure Neubauten. Der Wohnungsmarkt in den großen Städten hat zwar fast überall kräftig angezogen, aber die Leute wollen trotzdem nicht in schmucklosen DDR-Klötzen leben. Sie wollen meist schön geschnittene Appartements mit Holzboden, Balkon und hohen Decken.

Discount für Immobilien

Diejenigen, die sich das nicht leisten können, sehen sich zunehmend in die Peripherie gedrängt. Immer mehr finanzkräftige Menschen zieht es in die zentrumsnahen Viertel der Städte. Das Rad der Gentrifizierung dreht sich, der Wohnraum wird knapp und deswegen immer teurer. Und genau hier kommt für Lutz Lakomski der Plattenbau ins Spiel. Lakomski ist einer der Geschäftsführer des Projektentwicklungsunternehmens GPU. Gemeinsam mit seinem Partner Arndt Ulrich investiert er seit Jahren da, wo sonst keiner investieren will: Die beiden kaufen in Berlin abrissreife Plattenbauten auf, sanieren sie und schaffen im Inneren Kleinstwohnungen. Dann vermieten sie diese wieder – zu bezahlbaren Preisen.

Die Platte bietet bei der Suche nach günstigem Wohnraum vor allem einen Vorteil: Sie ist schon da. Das spart Zeit, Bürokratie und Kosten, auch die energetische Sanierung ist verhältnismäßig preiswert. Die Zielgruppe sind Studenten, Auszubildende, Rentner – die Verlierer der Gentrifizierung. „Wir richten uns an Mieter, die 800 bis 1.000 Euro im Monat verdienen“, sagt Lakomski. Auf dem Wohnungsmarkt würden diese Leute oft vernachlässigt. „Alle wollen schön bauen und sich selbst verwirklichen. Das ist nicht billig. Aber es gibt eine Menge Leute, die nicht viel verdienen und die man auch berücksichtigen muss.“ Als Unternehmer sieht er das nüchtern: Wenn es eine Nachfrage gibt, schafft er das entsprechende Angebot.

Günstiger Wohnraum

In gewissem Sinne kehrt der Plattenbau damit zu seinen Ursprüngen zurück. Ursprünglich keineswegs eine sozialistische Idee, begann die Fertigteilbauweise ihren Siegeszug in Deutschland schon während der Weimarer Republik. Damals suchte der Staat nach Möglichkeiten, günstigen Wohnraum zu schaffen. Der rationalisierte Massenwohnungsbau war ein Gegenentwurf zu künstlerisch motivierter Architektur und hatte das Ziel, auch Menschen aus den sozial schwächeren Schichten angemessen unterzubringen.

Nun ist das Prinzip auf dem privat finanzierten Wohnungsmarkt angekommen. In einem ehemaligen Bürohaus des Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit der DDR in Berlin-Lichtenberg haben Lakomski und Ulrich kleine Wohnungen und eine Kita untergebracht. Ein brachialer, neunstöckiger Wohnklotz an der Frankfurter Allee ist mittlerweile hell gestrichen. Die meisten Wohnungen sind dort zwischen 25 und 35 Quadratmeter groß, die billigste kostet 299 Euro warm. Letztlich zählt jedoch weniger der Quadratmeterpreis als die Größe. In einer Stadt, die immer mehr junge Menschen anzieht, in der aber auch immer mehr Einwohner alleine leben, sind günstige Single-Appartements rar.

Auch andere Unternehmer sind wieder auf die Plattenbauten aufmerksam geworden. Investoren haben etwa ein heruntergekommenes ehemaliges Wohnheim für DDR-Vertragsarbeiter an der Wartenberger Straße erworben, um es zu sanieren. Etwa 625 Wohnungen sollen entstehen.

Verdichtung statt Schönheit

Es ist eine kleine Renaissance der Platte und zugleich ein weiterer Wandel ihrer Bedeutung. Wurde sie in den Jahren nach der Wende noch als Wahrzeichen einer fehlgeleiteten Gleichheitsideologie abgelehnt, ist sie – so sieht es der Architekt David Chipperfield – heute zu einem Zeichen gesellschaftlicher Heterogenität geworden. Im Interview mit der Tageszeitung Die Welt sagte der Brite, dass die Wohnklötze vielleicht hässlich seien, aber hilfreich, weil sie die soziale Durchmischung der Stadt sicherten. Es sei schwer vorstellbar, die Platte zu gentrifizieren. Gerade ihr Aussehen und das Stigma ihrer Geschichte, glaubt er, machten sie ungeeignet für Luxuswohnungen.

Was Chipperfield eher soziologisch betrachtet, sehen die Unternehmer pragmatisch. Der Zuzug in die Städte wird stärker werden. Nachdem seine Firma bereits Kitas in die Platte gebaut hat, wären auch Schulen möglich, sagt Lakomski. „Und auch die Frage, wie wir Flüchtlinge unterbringen, wird immer wichtiger.“ Das Unternehmen plant sogar ein neues Gebäude, bis zu 100 Meter hoch. Auch hier geht es nicht um Schönheit, sondern um Verdichtung. Lakomski schwebt eine Art neue Platte vor: gebaut, um zweckmäßig zu sein – wie immer.