The Goods Line Returning Power to the Feet of Sydney Citizens

The Goods Line
The Goods Line sits above traffic allowing pedestrians a safe passage across Ultimo | © Gina Robilliard

Completed in 2015, "The Goods Line" is the latest pedestrian network Sydney, designed with the democratic goal of bringing power back to the pedestrian. Once a railway line for the transportation of goods from the harbour to industry hubs, the space is now lined with cafes, study nooks and native greenery. Designed by ASPECT studios, "The Goods Line" pays homage to the area’s roots, allowing original railway lines to dart amongst flowerbeds and industry machinery flanking the path.
 

Having been closed to the public since 1855, it now services the area’s local residents, students and staff of the nearby University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and workers from the surrounding buildings. Despite being a fairly recent development, come lunch time The Goods Line is buzzing with students sprawled out over the lawn chatting with friends, suits settling down for a bite to eat and visitors practicing their photography skills on the surrounding architecture before venturing off to Darling Harbour. It has been well received by the residents of Sydney, as the area has been in dire need of community space for quite some time.

Frank Gehry’s ‘Crumpled Paper Bag’ Frank Gehry’s ‘Crumpled Paper Bag’ aka The Dr Chau Chak Building, which sits alongside The Goods Line | © Gina Robilliard The Goods Line connects the previously underutilized Southern end of the Central Business District (CBD) to Darling Harbour and rather poetically, Chinatown. The area has placed emphasis on its efforts to accommodate the Chinese Diaspora who come to Sydney for work and education. It has also become a (wheelchair accessible) way-finding tool for tourists navigating their way from Central Station to The Powerhouse Museum. Despite all the technological advancements in urban transportation and Sydney’s major investments in a new tramway line, The Goods Line has been quite deliberately created to increase the city’s ‘walkability’. Author and city planner, Jeff Speck’s theory of ‘Walkable Cities’ contains a set of criteria for how to make an area more enticing to walk through instead of using public transport or a car.
 
There must be:
A reason for walking
A safe place to walk
A comfortable walk
An interesting walk 

The idea is that walkable cities, as a result, become safer for pedestrians and cyclists, healthier for the community in promoting exercise and assist in tightening community bonds.

Creating a Stickier UTS

Known as the ‘Southern CBD’ the area surrounding The Goods Line has been heavily developed in partnership with the State Government and UTS to create their very own ‘Sticky Campus’. A relatively new concept to university planning, it’s very much the latest buzz word. The Sticky Campus is one created to foster atmosphere through greenery, shade, comfortable seating and cafes. The theory being that students will spend more time on the campus, liaising with staff and fellow students. Communities are subsequently cemented and experiences grounded in university life are far richer.

This is in stark contrast to the original ‘brutalist’ design of the UTS Tower which prominent architect, Frank Gehry has publicly proclaimed to be the ‘‘ugliest building in Sydney’’. Colloquial theories from the University’s architecture students propose that the tower was originally designed to deter students from congregating or protesting political issues. This is because the campus’ design was drafted at a time when student protests in Paris had almost shut down the French capital. The design of Parisian campuses that followed seem to have been subsequently created to have a similar effect to UTS. Gehry has since had the opportunity to make his mark on the campus, offering up the Dr Chau Chak Building, a multi-million dollar installment resembling a crumpled paper bag, which serves as an innovative Business School designed to inspire creative thought.

Nearby street art injects culture into the suburb Nearby street art injects culture into the suburb | © Gina Robilliard Fast forward to the present day and the university’s graduates are envious of the students who have enrolled since the recent updates. Alex, a law and communications graduate expressed disappointment over the lack of outdoor areas to sit and hang out between classes when she studied there between 2009 and 2013. ‘‘There was nowhere to eat so we always ended up going to Dodgy Dumplings’’ says Alex. Officially known as ‘Chinese Noodle House’ the restaurant has become somewhat of an institution to the students of UTS for its hand-made dumplings and severe lack of competition. Current students are far more impressed with what the campus has to offer. Ben has been studying business at UTS since before the renovations were completed. A resident of beachside Manly, he regularly opts to hang out at The Goods Line because of the peaceful atmosphere and concentration of natural light, which he says is a rarity in Sydney’s CBD. At the time of interview, he was catching up with a friend who joked that this was the only place to pin him down for a chat.

The Biophilic Citizen

The importance of exposure to nature and natural light for urban residents and students has been studied extensively in recent years. It has been linked to boosted productivity and an increase in sense of wellbeing according to a study published in 2014 by Exeter University that spanned ten years of research. What’s more, in 2016 the World Health Organization has dedicated an online dossier to ‘The New Urban Agenda’, which examines how policies promoting ‘‘Equitable access to parks and green spaces [are] conducive to good mental and physical health for urban residents, and integral to the achievement of health equity in cities’’. This idea, often called ‘biophilia’ is supposedly linked to human evolution as we have spent such a large proportion of our history amongst nature.

The layered history of The Goods Line reflects Sydney’s every changing focus. The layered history of The Goods Line reflects Sydney’s every changing focus. | © NSWGR Archives (NSWGR Archives) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons In its current state as a linear outdoor space, The Goods Line has the potential effect of changing Sydney-siders’ pathways. This is in part because the area has not had pedestrian access since 1855. Until these more recent developments to the Southern CBD, connecting pathways were concrete, indirect and unwelcoming. Normally a highly efficient walker, journalist Emma Kate found herself detouring through The Goods Line in between appointments and despite being a resident of the city, had not realized how connected Ultimo was to the harbour. A fan of community nature strips and ‘guerrilla gardening projects’, Emma Kate was happy with the urban investment. Older residents will speak of Ultimo as having been a grungy no-go zone, despite being a relatively small suburb nestled between Sydney’s largest transport hub, Central Station and one of the city’s most popular tourist destinations.

Connecting North to South and Past to Present

Not only a conduit to several of Sydney’s touch points, the area has preserved and amplified a connection to the city’s history. In this respect The Goods Line itself has had an ever-changing impact on Sydney-siders over the past 150 years, from serving as train line for the movement of goods that is said to have been quite dangerous - not only from the resulting air pollution – but also for the railway workers who had to manually adjust the tracks for approaching trains. The remaining exposed tracks and machinery serve as a reminder of changing priorities as the city it becomes more focused on creating a healthier and more democratic urban landscape. This key feature reflects an emerging trend in Sydney’s more recent large-scale architectural pursuits. Sydney’s current architectural style has consistently delivered nostalgic executions to reflect on the progress as a city. Despite being a relatively new city when considered on a global scale, souvenir-like historical artefacts from Australia’s trade and maritime pursuits have been popping up all over the CBD. This not only provides insight into Australian modern history for visiting tourists, but anchors residents in their historic roots - a rarity for a city overshadowed by its colonial past.

The Goods Line Mehr Rechte für Sydneys Fußgänger

Die Goods Line
Die Goods Line schwebt über dem Straßenverkehr und erlaubt Fußgängern so sichere Wege durch Ultimo | © Gina Robilliard

Die 2015 fertiggestellte „Goods Line" ist Sydneys neuestes Fußgängernetzwerk und wurde mit der demokratischen Intention konzipiert, Fußgängern wieder mehr Rechte zu verleihen. Einst eine Trasse für den Gütertransport vom Hafen zu den Industriezentren, wird die Fläche nun von Cafés, Lern-Nischen und einheimischen Pflanzen gesäumt und vielerseits mit der New Yorker Highline verglichen. Das Design der „Goods Line" stammt von ASPECT Studios und zollt den Wurzeln des Bezirks Respekt, indem es die Original-Gleise zwischen den Blumenbeeten und der industriellen Maschinerie aufblitzen lässt, die den Weg flankieren.
 

Seit 1855 für die Öffentlichkeit unzugänglich, steht die Trasse nun Anwohnern, Studierenden und Mitarbeitern der nahe gelegenen University of Technology Sydney (UTS) sowie Angestellten aus den umliegenden Gebäuden zur Verfügung. Obwohl ihre Fertigstellung noch nicht lange zurückliegt, wimmelt die Goods Line um die Mittagszeit nur so vor Studierenden, die auf dem Rasen liegen und sich mit ihren Freunden unterhalten, daneben Anzugträger, die sich zu einer kleinen Mahlzeit niederlassen, und Besucher, die an der umliegenden Architektur ihre fotografischen Fertigkeiten üben, bevor sie zum Darling Harbour weiterwandern. Die Trasse wurde von den Sydneysidern positiv aufgenommen, da eine Gemeinschaftsfläche in dieser Gegend schon lange fehlte.

Frank Gehrys ‚Zerknüllte Papiertüte‘ Frank Gehrys ‚Zerknüllte Papiertüte‘, offiziell das Dr Chau Chak Building, das an der Goods Line liegt | © Gina Robilliard Die Goods Line verbindet das bisher unzureichend genutzte Südende der Innenstadt mit Darling Harbour und passenderweise auch mit Chinatown. Der Bezirk hat stets Wert auf seine Bemühungen um eine freundliche Aufnahme der chinesischen Diaspora gelegt, die zum Arbeiten oder Studieren nach Sydney kommt. Die Trasse ist zudem zu einer (rollstuhlgerechten) Orientierungshilfe für Touristen geworden, die vom Hauptbahnhof zum Powerhouse Museum unterwegs sind. Trotz aller technischen Fortschritte im Stadtverkehr und Sydneys beträchtlichen Investitionen in eine neue Trambahnlinie wurde die Goods Line ganz bewusst geschaffen, um die Fußgängerfreundlichkeit der Stadt zu erhöhen. Die Theorie der ‚Fußgängerfreundlichen Stadt‘ von Autor und Stadtplaner Jeff Speck umfasst ein Set von Kriterien dafür, wie man eine Gegend für Fußgänger attraktiver macht als den öffentlichen Nahverkehr oder das Auto.
 
Dafür sind erforderlich:
Ein Grund, zu Fuß zu gehen
Ein sicherer Ort für Fußgänger
Eine komfortable Strecke
Eine interessante Strecke 

Die Idee ist, dass fußgängerfreundliche Städte so für Fußgänger und Fahrradfahrer sicherer werden, für die Gemeinschaft gesünder sind, da sie Bewegung fördern, und außerdem dabei helfen, gemeinschaftliche Beziehungen zu stärken.

Eine ‚Sticky UTS‘ schaffen

Als ‚Südlicher CBD‘ bekannt, wurde die Gegend um die Goods Line in Partnerschaft mit der Landesregierung und der UTS stark ausgebaut, um einen so genannten ‚Sticky Campus‘ zu schaffen. Dieses in der Universitätsplanung relativ junge Konzept ist der absolut neueste Schrei. Ein ‚Sticky Campus‘ ist so gestaltet, dass er durch Bepflanzung, Schatten, bequeme Sitzmöglichkeiten und Cafés für Atmosphäre sorgt. Dahinter steht die Idee, dass die Studierenden mehr Zeit auf dem Campus verbringen und mit Mitarbeitern und Kommilitonen in Kontakt treten. So werden Gemeinschaften gefestigt und die Erfahrung des universitären Lebens um vieles reichhaltiger.

Dies steht in auffälligem Kontrast zum ursprünglichen ‚brutalistischen‘ Design des UTS Towers, den Frank Gehry öffentlich zum „hässlichsten Gebäude in Sydney“ erklärte. Unter den Architekturstudierenden der Universität geht die Theorie um, dass die Gestaltung des Turms ursprünglich zum Ziel hatte, Studierende von Zusammenkünften oder politischen Protesten abzuhalten. Stammt die Campusgestaltung doch aus einer Zeit, zu der Studierendenproteste in Paris beinahe die französische Hauptstadt lahmlegten. Das Design der danach entstandenen Pariser Hochschulgelände scheint auf einen ähnlichen Effekt wie das der UTS abgezielt zu haben. Gehry hatte seither selbst Gelegenheit, dem Campus seinen Stempel aufzudrücken, und entwarf das Dr Chau Chak Building, eine mehrere Millionen teure Anlage, die einer zerknüllten Papiertüte ähnelt und als innovative Business School dient, die kreatives Denken inspirieren soll.

In der Nähe verleiht Street Art dem Stadtteil einen Hauch von Kultur In der Nähe verleiht Street Art dem Stadtteil einen Hauch von Kultur | © Gina Robilliard Ein Zeitsprung zu heute, und die Abgänger der Universität beneiden die Studierenden, die sich seit diesen letzten Neuerungen eingeschrieben haben. Absolventin Alex, die hier von 2009 bis 2013 Jura und Kommunikation studierte, bringt ihre Enttäuschung über den Mangel an Freiflächen zum Ausdruck, auf denen man damals zwischen den Vorlesungen sitzen und sich hätte aufhalten können. „Man konnte nirgendwo essen, also landete man ständig bei Dubiose Dumplings“, erzählt Alex. Offiziell als ‚Chinesisches Nudelhaus‘ bekannt, ist das Restaurant für die Studierenden der UTS aufgrund seiner handgemachten Teigtaschen und dem eklatanten Mangel an Konkurrenz zu einer Art Institution geworden. Die heutigen Studierenden sind von dem, was der Campus zu bieten hat, um vieles beeindruckter. Ben, der in Manly wohnt, studierte bereits Business an der UTS, als die Renovierungen abgeschlossen wurden. Wegen der idyllischen Atmosphäre und der Konzentration an natürlichem Licht, die, wie er erklärt, in der Innenstadt von Sydney Seltenheitswert haben, verlegt er seinen Aufenthalt regelmäßig an die Goods Line. Als wir mit ihm sprachen, traf er sich gerade mit einem Freund, der witzelte, dass dies der einzige Ort sei, an dem man Ben auf ein Gespräch festnageln könne.

Der biophile Bürger

Die Bedeutung des Zugangs zu Natur und Tageslicht für Stadtbewohner und Studierende ist in den letzten Jahren ausführlich untersucht worden. Einer 2014 publizierten Studie der Universität Exeter zufolge, die mehr als zehn Jahre Forschung umfasst, wurde sie mit einer Steigerung von Produktivität und Wohlbefinden in Verbindung gebracht. Darüber hinaus widmete die Weltgesundheitsorganisation 2016 der ‚New Urban Agenda‘ ein Online-Dossier, das untersucht, wie eine Politik, die den „gleichberechtigten Zugang zu Parks und Grünflächen [fördert,] für die geistige und physische Gesundheit von Stadtbewohnern zuträglich und für die Erreichung gesundheitlicher Chancengleichheit in Städten zentral“ ist. Diese auch als ‚Biophilie‘ bekannte Idee wird von ihren Anhängern auf die Evolution zurückgeführt, da wir Menschen einen so großen Teil unserer Entwicklung inmitten der Natur verbracht haben.

Die vielschichtige Geschichte der Goods Line reflektiert Sydneys sich ständig verändernden Fokus. Die vielschichtige Geschichte der Goods Line reflektiert Sydneys sich ständig verändernden Fokus. | © NSWGR Archives (NSWGR Archives) [lizenzfrei], via Wikimedia Commons In ihrer aktuellen Funktion als langgezogene Freifläche hat die Goods Line das Potenzial, die Wege der Sydneysider zu verändern. Dies liegt zum Teil daran, dass die Gegend seit 1855 nicht für Fußgänger zugänglich war und die Verbindungswege bis zu diesen neueren Ausbauten des südlichen CBD betoniert, umständlich und abweisend waren. Die Journalistin Emma Kate, gewöhnlich eine sehr effiziente Fußgängerin, fand sich zwischen zwei Terminen auf einem Abstecher über die Goods Line wieder, und obwohl sie in Sydney lebt, war ihr nicht bewusst, wie gut Ultimo an den Hafen angeschlossen ist. Als Fan von gemeinschaftlichen Grünflächen und ‚Guerillagärtner-Projekten‘ war Emma Kate begeistert von dieser städtischen Investition. Ältere Anwohner wissen davon zu erzählen, dass Ultimo einst eine schmuddelige No-Go-Zone war, obwohl es ein relativ kleiner Stadtteil ist, der sich zwischen Sydneys größtem Verkehrsknotenpunkt, dem Hauptbahnhof und einer der beliebtesten Touristenattraktionen der Stadt einschmiegt.

Nord mit Süd und Vergangenes mit heute verbinden

Die Gegend ist aber nicht nur ein Leitsystem zu mehreren von Sydneys Knotenpunkten, sondern hat auch ihre Anknüpfung an die Geschichte der Stadt bewahrt und erweitert. In dieser Hinsicht hatte die Goods Line selbst im Lauf der vergangenen 150 Jahre einen sich stets verändernden Einfluss auf die Einwohner von Sydney, von ihren Anfängen als Bahntrasse für den Gütertransport, der wohl nicht ganz ungefährlich war – nicht nur aufgrund der resultierenden Luftverschmutzung – sondern auch für die Bahnarbeiter, die die Schienen für die herannahenden Züge manuell verstellen mussten. Die verbleibenden freiliegenden Schienen und Maschinen dienen als Erinnerung an diese sich verändernden Prioritäten, während sich die Stadt stärker darauf konzentriert, ein gesünderes und demokratischeres Stadtbild zu schaffen. Dieses zentrale Merkmal spiegelt einen aufkommenden Trend in Sydneys jüngeren architektonischen Großprojekten wider. Sydneys aktueller Baustil präsentiert durchweg nostalgische Realisierungen, die seinen Fortschritt als Stadt reflektieren. Obwohl Sydney global gesehen eine relativ junge Stadt ist, finden sich in der gesamten Innenstadt historische Artefakte aus Australiens Handels- und Schifffahrtswesen gleichsam wie Souvenirs wieder. Das erlaubt nicht nur Touristen einen Einblick in die moderne australische Geschichte, sondern verankert auch die Einwohner in ihren historischen Wurzeln – eine Seltenheit in einer Stadt, die von ihrer kolonialen Vergangenheit überschattet wird.