Interview Andrew Ferguson Supporting language teaching and learning in Australia

Andrew Ferguson with the current President of the MLTAV, Gabriella Bertolissi
Andrew Ferguson with the current President of the MLTAV, Gabriella Bertolissi | © Darren O'Connor

The Modern Language Teachers’ Association of Victoria (MLTAV) is a professional association for language teachers and is the umbrella organisation for approximately 22 Single Language Associations (SLAs) in Victoria. In cooperation with the SLAs and other partner organisations, the MLTAV supports teachers and learners of languages throughout Victoria. The MLTAV aims to encourage and promote the learning of languages as an essential part of the school curriculum.

In May of 2017, the MLTAV held a seventieth Platinum Anniversary Awards Celebration Dinner to celebrate the significant achievements of individual teachers and the organisation itself over the last 70 years. Andrew Ferguson, current Treasurer and former President of the association, received an Honorary Life Membership for his contributions over the past eleven years. We talked to him about the teaching and learning of languages in Australia and the benefit of the MLTAV’s work.

Andrew Ferguson with his Life Membership Certificate Award Andrew Ferguson with his Life Membership Certificate Award | © Darren O'Connor Mr Ferguson, you were President of the MLTAV for eleven years. What do you see as the main achievements of the association during this time?

We have raised the profile of Languages [In Victoria, the term ‘Languages’ with a capital ‘L’ is used to refer to languages other than English. The term is used correspondingly in this interview] teaching and the organisation, to the point where politicians in Victoria, school leaders, teachers, students and the wider community are now much more aware of both the importance of multilingualism, including maintenance of first Language(s), and the work of our organisation. This has been achieved in cooperation with strategic partners, including cultural organisations such as the Goethe-Institut, and with the significant support of the Victorian government, working together with SLAs, for example the Association of German Teachers of Victoria (AGTV).

Additionally, we have renewed both our organisation’s corporate image to appear much more vibrant and improved internal processes to run as efficiently as possible, recognising that we are an organisation of volunteers. This improvement and our proactive networking, have led to considerable success in attracting significant funding for our initiatives.

Multilingualism – an underestimated resource

The MLTAV aims to promote the teaching and learning of Languages. Why should the acquisition of Languages be deemed important in Australia?

Monolingual Anglo-Saxon Australians have traditionally been somewhat smug in their attitude that ‘English is enough’. This is clearly not true in our contemporary multicultural and internationalised society, through which we are all now global citizens. The capacities to communicate in various Languages and in an interculturally sensitive manner, are essential for individuals to succeed personally and professionally in today’s world, as well as to contribute to building a tolerant and harmonious society in Australia.

Gabriella Bertolissi (President, MLTAV) with Brigitte Ankenbrand Gabriella Bertolissi (President, MLTAV) with Brigitte Ankenbrand | © Darren O'Connor The MLTAV supports not only mainstream programs in schools that teach Languages, but also the maintenance of home and Australia’s first Languages. Respect for Language Rights as an Integral Part of Human Rights, as outlined by UNESCO, is integral to our work.

The MLTAV supports teachers and learners of Languages. How is this support put into practice in Victoria? How can teachers and learners access services?

We support teachers and learners of Languages throughout Victoria by providing quality services, including professional learning opportunities, advocacy and consultancy. These services are advertised on our website and members of MLTAV receive regular updates via our various publications, including the eJournal, Languages Victoria. In particular, MLTAV can assist schools to monitor the quality of their Languages program through an individually-tailored audit process.

Developing a national framework

What developments would you like to observe in the near future in regards to the teaching and learning of Languages in Australia? How can the MLTAV contribute to these developments?

Australia suffers greatly from the fact that we have neither a national Languages policy, nor an institution dedicated to overseeing Languages initiatives and programs. Over recent decades Federal funding for Languages has been sporadic and unreliable.

Through our umbrella organisation, the Australian Federation of Modern Language Teachers Associations (AFMLTA), we would like to see some long-term planning, coordinated by national and State/Territory governments, with a commitment to significant funding of initiatives, to improve the availability and quality of delivery of Languages education throughout Australia.

Gabriella Bertolissi (President, MLTAV) with Jaclyn Curnow Gabriella Bertolissi (President, MLTAV) with Jaclyn Curnow | © Darren O'Connor At the seventieth Platinum Anniversary Award Celebration Dinner in May, you were awarded an MLTAV Honorary Life Membership for your ongoing work at the MLTAV. What does the life membership mean to you?

I am greatly honoured by this award. I am already a Life Member of the AGTV, having been very active for over 20 years with this organisation, including seven years as President, and also with the Network of Australian Teachers of German since its inception in 2002.

Working with the MLTAV has been a natural progression from my work with this SLA and whilst stressful and arduous at times, it has been an honour to contribute to furthering the work of the organisation, supporting teachers and advocating for quality Languages programs in Victorian schools, a cause to which I have been dedicated all my professional teaching career.

Thank you for the interview!

Interview mit Andrew Ferguson Fremdsprachen-Förderung in Australien

Andrew Ferguson mit der derzeitigen Präsidentin der MLTAV, Gabriella Bertolissi
Andrew Ferguson mit der derzeitigen Präsidentin der MLTAV, Gabriella Bertolissi | © Darren O'Connor

Die ‚Modern Language Teachers’ Association Victoria‘ (MLTAV; Organisation von Lehrern moderner Sprachen in Victoria) ist eine professionelle Vereinigung von Sprachenlehrern und der Dachverband von ungefähr 22 ‚Single Language Associations‘ (SLAs; Organisation einzelner Sprachen) in Victoria. In Kooperation mit den SLAs und anderen Partnerorganisationen, unterstützt das MLTAV Lehrer und Lerner von Sprachen im australischen Bundesstaat Victoria. Das MLTAV strebt an, das Lernen von Sprachen als wesentlichen Teil des Schulkurrikulums voranzutreiben.

Im Mai 2017 veranstaltete das MLTAV zu seinem siebzigsten Jahrestag eine Jubiläumsfeier und -preisverleihung, um die besonderen Leistungen von individuellen Lehrkräften, sowie seine über 70 Jahre andauernde Unterstützung von Mitgliedern und die Förderung von Sprachenunterricht in Victoria zu würdigen. Andrew Ferguson, derzeitiger Schatzmeister und ehemaliger Präsident der Organisation, erhielt für seine bereits über elf Jahre andauernde Mitwirkung eine Ehrenmitgliedschaft auf Lebensdauer. Wir sprachen mit ihm über Sprachenlehre und -lernen in Australien und das Leistungsangebot des MLTAV für die Gemeinschaft von Sprachenlehrern in Australien.

Andrew Ferguson mit seinem Life Membership Certificate Award Andrew Ferguson mit seinem Life Membership Certificate Award | © Darren O'Connor Herr Ferguson, elf Jahre lang waren Sie Präsident des MLTAV. Was sind Ihrer Meinung nach die wesentlichsten Leistungen der Organisation aus dieser Zeit?

Wir haben das Profil von Sprachenlehre [In Victoria wird der Begriff ‘Sprachen’, ‚Languages’ mit Großbuchstaben ‚L‘, in Bezug auf Fremdsprachen verwendet. Der Begriff wird in diesem Interview dementsprechend angewendet] und unserer Organisation soweit gesteigert, dass Politikern, Schulleitern, Lehrern, Schülern und der breiteren Öffentlichkeit nun die Bedeutsamkeit von Mehrsprachigkeit, einschließlich der Erhaltung von Erstsprache(n), und die Arbeit unserer Organisation wesentlich mehr bewusst sind. Dies ist in Kooperation mit strategischen Partnerschaften, darunter auch kulturellen Organisationen wie dem Goethe-Institut, und mit bedeutsamer Unterstützung von der Regierung in Victoria in Zusammenarbeit mit SLAs, zum Beispiel der Association of German Teachers of Victoria (AGTV; Vereinigung von Deutschlehrern in Victoria), erreicht worden.

Darüber hinaus haben wir sowohl das Image unserer Organisation in ein weitaus dynamischeres umgewandelt, als auch die Effizienz interner Prozesse gesteigert, rücksichtnehmend darauf, dass wir eine Organisation Freiwilliger sind. Diese Verbesserungen sowie aktives Netzwerken haben dazu geführt, dass wir beachtlichen Erfolg dabei hatten wesentliche Förderungen für unsere Initiativen zu gewinnen. 

Mehrsprachigkeit – eine unterschätzte Ressource

Das MLTAV sucht das Lehren und Lernen von Sprachen zu fördern. Warum sollte Sprachenerwerb in Australien als wichtig angesehen werden?

Einsprachige angelsächsische Australier sind traditionell ein wenig selbstgefällig in ihrer Einstellung, dass ‚Englisch reicht‘. Dies trifft in unserer heutigen multikulturellen Gesellschaft, durch die wir alle nun Teil einer globalen Gemeinschaft sind, eindeutig nicht zu. Die Fähigkeit in mehreren Sprachen und interkulturell kompetent kommunizieren zu können, ist in der heutigen Zeit für jeden erforderlich, um im Privat- und Berufsleben erfolgreich zu sein und zum Aufbau einer toleranten und harmonischen Gesellschaft in Australien beizutragen. 

Gabriella Bertolissi (Präsidentin, MLTAV) mit Brigitte Ankenbrand Gabriella Bertolissi (Präsidentin, MLTAV) mit Brigitte Ankenbrand | © Darren O'Connor Das MLTAV fördert nicht nur etablierte Programme in Schulen, die weitere Sprachen anbieten, sondern auch die Erhaltung von zu Hause gesprochenen Sprachen und Australiens Aboriginal Sprachen. Respekt für ein Recht auf Sprache als integralen Bestandteil der Menschenrechte, wie durch die UNESCO beschrieben, ist für unsere Arbeit wesentlich.  

Das MLTAV unterstützt Sprachenlehrer und -lerner. Wie wird diese Unterstützung in Victoria in der Praxis umgesetzt? Wie können Lehrer und Lerner Unterstützung in Anspruch nehmen?

Wir unterstützen Lehrer und Lerner von Sprachen in Victoria durch das Angebot ausgezeichneter Dienstleistungen, darunter Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten, Interessenvertretung und Beratung. Diese Dienstleistungen werden auf unserer Internetseite angeboten und Mitglieder des MLTAV erhalten durch unsere verschiedenen Veröffentlichungen, wie der online Zeitschrift Languages Victoria (Sprachen Victoria), regelmäßige Updates. Das MLTAV kann insbesondere Schulen dabei unterstützen die Qualität ihrer Sprachenprogramme durch individuell konzipierte Prüfungsverfahren zu überwachen. 

Entwicklung eines nationalen Rahmens

Was für Entwicklungen würden Sie gerne in Bezug auf Sprachenlehre und -lernen in Australien in naher Zukunft sehen? Wie kann das MLTAV diese Entwicklungen vorantreiben?

Australien leidet stark unter der Tatsache, dass wir weder eine nationale Sprachenpolitik noch eine Institution haben, die Spracheninitiativen und -programme betreut. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten waren staatliche Finanzierung für Sprachenprogramme sporadisch und unverlässlich.

Durch unseren Dachverband, die Australian Federation of Modern Language Teachers Associations (AFMLTA; Australische Vereinigung von Lehrern Moderner Sprachen), würden wir gerne durch Bundes- und Landesregierungen koordinierte Langzeitplanungen mit Verpflichtung zu nennenswerter Finanzierung von Initiativen sehen, um das Angebot und die Qualität der Umsetzung von Sprachenlehre und -lernen innerhalb ganz Australiens zu verbessern.  

Gabriella Bertolissi (Präsidentin, MLTAV) mit Jaclyn Curnow Gabriella Bertolissi (Präsidentin, MLTAV) mit Jaclyn Curnow | © Darren O'Connor Auf der Jubiläumsfeier und -preisverleihung zum siebzigsten Jahrestag des MLTAV wurde Ihnen für Ihre andauernde Arbeit für das MLTAV eine Ehrenmitgliedschaft auf Lebenszeit verliehen. Was bedeutet diese Mitgliedschaft auf Lebenszeit für Sie?

Ich fühle mich sehr geehrt durch diese Auszeichnung. Ich bin bereits Mitglied auf Lebenszeit des AGTV, durch mein über 20 Jahre andauerndes Engagement für diese Organisation, darunter sieben Jahre lang als Präsident, und auch des Network of Australian Teachers of German (Netzwerk von Deutschlehrern in Australien) seit dessen Gründung in 2002.  

Mit dem MLTAV zu arbeiten, war ein naheliegender Fortschritt von der Arbeit mit der genannten SLA, und obwohl beizeiten stressreich und schwierig, ist es eine Ehre zu der Arbeit der Organisation beizutragen und es ist mir ein Anliegen, dem ich mich während meiner gesamten beruflichen Laufbahn als Lehrer gewidmet habe.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!