Adelaide Festival 2019 “It’s like choosing a favourite child”

Aidan Gibson, Susanna Santoro and Ayaha Tsunaki in Carmen.
Aidan Gibson, Susanna Santoro and Ayaha Tsunaki in 'Carmen'. | © Ian Whalen

The 2019 Adelaide Festival features a wide range of German talent. One of the festival’s two artistic directors Rachel Healy talked to us about why that is, how the programme is curated and which performances shouldn’t be missed.

Julian Hetzel’s ‘Schuldfabrik‘, ‘Komische Oper Berlin‘, the ‘Dresden Semperoper Ballett‘ performing ‘Carmen‘: the 2019 festival showcases it’s fair share of German talent. Can you tell us a little bit about the curating choices behind bringing them to Adelaide?

Artistic director of Adelaide Festival 2019 Rachel Healy. Artistic director of Adelaide Festival 2019 Rachel Healy. | © Shane Reid We don’t program with reference to the country of origin of artists. The fact that German artists are regularly in evidence in our festival program could be partly explained by the German government's substantial investment in the arts. Proper financial support and an understanding of the dividends that flow from serious government investment in the nation’s cultural life means that a great many German artists have time and resources to explore, experiment, refine and develop their creative practice.

EXTRAORDINARY DIVERSITY

There is also an extraordinary diversity of artists creating work in Germany - in 2018 Rundfunkchor’s Human Requiem and Volker Gerling’s Portraits in Motion couldn’t be more different but they are united in their originality, capacity to connect with audiences and virtuosic performance style. In 2019, we’ll present Julian Hetzel’s Schuldfabrik and Dresden Semperoper Ballett’s Carmen - they also couldn’t be more different - a neo-classical ballet company and a performance/installation in which donated human fat is used for the manufacture of soap - but the dedication to craft, attention to detail and commitment to presenting challenging contemporary issues unite them both.

'Schuldfabrik'. 'Schuldfabrik'. | © Ben and Martin Photography As for Komische Oper’s The Magic Flute, it was programmed because it is a game-changing work from, arguably, the greatest opera company in the world, led by an Australian who is reinventing the art form for a new generation of audiences. At Komische Oper director Barrie Kosky was able to work for three years on the development of The Magic Flute before its premiere - that level of support is extraordinary, but the dividends are huge: it has played to over 500,000 people throughout the world. And soon it will be Adelaide's turn!

TRAVEL AND A BIT MORE TRAVEL

What’s your process of finding international talent for Adelaide Festival?

Some of the work we present has been commissioned by Adelaide Festival but in the main we program work that exists already. We very rarely program work that we haven’t seen in front of a live audience and consequently our process for sourcing international work is: travel, watch videos, travel, talk to artists, travel, talk to international colleagues, travel, and then… a bit more travel.

Are there any performances in a language other than English this year - and if so, how are those realised for the audiences?

La Reprise from the National Theatre of Gent is performed in French and Flemish and there will be English surtitles. Manus from Iran is performed in Persian with English surtitles. Counting and Cracking is largely performed in English, but sometimes the characters speak Tamil and Sinhala – which fellow actors beside the stage immediately translate into English.

The Magic Flute. The Magic Flute. | © Iko Freese Looking at the entire programme for the 2019 festival: Do you have any personal favourites that shouldn’t be missed?

It’s like choosing a favourite child - impossible! But the absolutely unmissable events would have to include: The Magic Flute, Sretensky Monastery Choir, Ulster American, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, A Man of Good Hope, Grand Finale and Schuldfabrik. And on your spare nights - see everything else!

Adelaide Festival 2019 „Es ist so, als wählte man ein Lieblingskind“

Aidan Gibson, Susanna Santoro und Ayaha Tsunaki in Carmen.
Aidan Gibson, Susanna Santoro und Ayaha Tsunaki in 'Carmen'. | © Ian Whalen

Das Adelaide Festival 2019 hat auffällig viele deutsche Künstler im Programm. Rachel Healy, neben Neil Armfield künstlerische Leiterin des Festivals, hat mit uns darüber gesprochen, warum das so ist, wie das Programm kuratiert wird und welche Aufführungen man sich auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen sollte.

Julian Hetzels „Schuldfabrik", die Komische Oper Berlin, das Dresden Semperoper Ballett mit „Carmen": Das diesjährige Festival präsentiert eine Vielzahl deutscher Beiträge. Können Sie uns etwas über Ihre kuratorischen Entscheidungen erzählen? Was bewegte Sie dazu sie ins Programm zu nehmen?

Die künstlerische Leiterin des Adelaide Festivals Rachel Healy. Die künstlerische Leiterin des Adelaide Festivals Rachel Healy. | © Shane Reid Wir treffen unsere Auswahl nicht nach Herkunftsland der Künstler. Dass in unserem Festivalprogramm regelmäßig deutsche Künstler zu sehen sind, könnte man zum Teil mit den erheblichen Investitionen der Bundesregierung in die Kunst erklären. Die richtige finanzielle Unterstützung und das Verständnis für die Dividenden, die aus ernsthaften staatlichen Investitionen in das kulturelle Leben des Landes fließen, räumen vielen deutschen Künstlern die Zeit und Ressourcen ein, um ihre kreative Praxis zu erforschen, zu experimentieren, zu verfeinern und zu entwickeln.

AUßERGEWÖHNLICHE VIELFALT

Zudem gibt es in Deutschland eine außerordentliche Vielfalt an Künstlern - 2018 konnten Human Requiem des Rundfunkchors und Volker Gerlings Portraits in Motion unterschiedlicher nicht sein. Trotzdem sind sie vereint in ihrer Originalität, ihrer Fähigkeit, sich mit dem Publikum zu verbinden, und ihrem virtuosen Vortragsstil. 2019 präsentieren wir Julian Hetzels Schuldfabrik und das Dresden Semperoper Ballett Carmen - sie könnten auch nicht unterschiedlicher ein - eine neoklassische Ballettkompanie und eine Performance/Installation, in der gespendetes menschliches Fett für die Herstellung von Seife verwendet wird - aber aufgrund der Hingabe an das Handwerk, der Liebe zum Detail und das Engagement für die Präsentation anspruchsvoller zeitgenössischer Themen sind sie sich wiederrum sehr gleich.

'Schuldfabrik'. 'Schuldfabrik'. | © Ben and Martin Photography Was Die Zauberflöte der Komischen Oper betrifft, so haben wir sie ins Programm genommen, weil sie ein wegweisendes Werk des wohl größten Opernhauses der Welt ist, unter der Leitung eines Australiers, der die Kunstform für eine neue Generation von Zuschauern neu erfindet. Barrie Kosky, der Leiter der Komischen Oper, hatte bis zur Prämiere von Die Zauberflöte drei Jahre lang Zeit, um an ihr zu arbeiten – diese Unterstützung ist außergewöhnlich, aber die Dividenden sind enorm: Das Stück wurde vor über 500.000 Menschen auf der ganzen Welt aufgeführt. Und ganz bald nun auch in Adelaide!

REISEN UND ETWAS MEHR REISEN

Wie verläuft die Auswahl von internationalen Künstlern/Aufführungen für das Adelaide Festival?

Einige der Arbeiten, die wir präsentieren, wurden vom Adelaide Festival selbst in Auftrag gegeben. Aber im Wesentlichen nehmen wir Arbeiten in unser Programm auf, die bereits existieren. Wir nehmen sehr selten Stücke in das Programm auf, die wir nicht vor einem Live-Publikum gesehen haben, und folglich ist unser Prozess zur Findung internationaler Künstler: Reisen, Videos sichten, reisen, mit Künstlern sprechen, reisen, Gespräche mit internationalen Kollegen führen, reisen und dann... etwas mehr reisen.

Gibt es in diesem Jahr Aufführungen, die nicht auf Englisch stattfinden- und falls ja, wie werden diese für das Publikum umgesetzt?

La Reprise
des Nationaltheaters Gent wird auf Französisch und Flämisch aufgeführt und es gibt englische Übertitel. Manus aus dem Iran wird auf Persisch mit englischen Übertiteln aufgeführt. Counting and Cracking wird größtenteils auf Englisch aufgeführt, aber manchmal sprechen die Charaktere Tamilisch und Singhalesisch - was dann andere Schauspieler neben der Bühne parallel ins Englische übersetzen.

Die Zauberflöte. 'Die Zauberflöte'. | © Iko Freese Wenn Sie auf das gesamte Programm des Festivals 2019 blicken, haben Sie persönliche Highlights, die man nicht verpassen sollte?

Das ist wie die Wahl eines Lieblingskindes - unmöglich! Aber zu den meiner Meinung nach absolut nicht zu versäumenden Aufführungen gehören: Die Zauberflöte, Sretensky Klosterchor, Ulster American, das Mahler Kammerorchester, A Man of Good Hope, Grand Finale und Schuldfabrik. Und an den anderen Abenden sollten Sie sich einfach alles andere anschauen!