Street art of Sydney's Inner West Art from the tin can

Ballerinas by Lister.
Ballerinas by Lister. | © Ramona Bialowons

Unlike Melbourne, Sydney is not necessarily a city best known for street art, and yet, Sydney's Inner West has a lot of street art to offer. Even street art tours are becoming increasingly popular, as do the tour providers. To find out more about street art in Sydney, I’ve joined a tour by Culture Scouts. Led by Melinda Vassallo, the tour focuses on two suburbs, Enmore and Newtown. Melinda is a graphic designer, author of the book “Street Art of Sydney's Inner West” and a true connoisseur of the scene. She stays in touch with various street-art artists and knows exactly where to find Sydney's best street art works.

Rays of sunshine fall on the concrete - it's warm. The smell of coffee wafts through the streets and friends meet for lunch. The neighbourhood is full of life, the atmosphere relaxed. Bright colours adorn the facades of houses, garage doors and walls. The tour starts in Newtown, the birthplace of Sydney's early street art scene. The most famous and oldest street art painting is by Andrew Aiken and Juilee Pryor: I Have a Dream! (1991). They are part of a group of artists called Unmitigated Audacity Productions, who has created a variety of street art, which was still illegal back then.

"A wall is a very big weapon. It's one of the nastiest things you can hit anyone with." - Banksy

„I have a dream!“ is Newtown’s most famous mural by Andrew Aiken and Juilee Pryor. „I have a dream!“ is Newtown’s most famous mural by Andrew Aiken and Juilee Pryor. | © Ramona Bialowons The mural on King Street captivates viewers with a quote from Martin Luther King. Melinda: "It is now one of Newtown’s most well-known landmarks and symbolises the rights of Aboriginal People." The residents of Newtown are proud of the work and really treasure it. Melinda tells us that there was a fire in the building and the work got damaged, but the community came together and restored the mural within a few days.

In Newtown, street art can be found in a number of places: On walls, in backyards and small streets, as well as in underground car parks. Melinda leads us right through the neighbourhood, and shows us all the hidden alleyways. It pays to venture a bit further away from King Street to find the more hidden murals. The various styles of street art leave artists plenty of room to express their creativity, like they have done with the Newtown Poetry Wall.
 

  • A poetry wall in Newtown where people can write down their poems and messages they’d like to share. © Ramona Bialowons
    A poetry wall in Newtown where people can write down their poems and messages they’d like to share.
  • Street artist Birdhat is famous for his bird heads. © Ramona Bialowons
    Street artist Birdhat is famous for his bird heads.
  • Mary’s is one of Sydney’s best burger restaurants and also covered in tags. © Ramona Bialowons
    Mary’s is one of Sydney’s best burger restaurants and also covered in tags.
  • A garage in Newtown full of street art. © Ramona Bialowons
    A garage in Newtown full of street art.
  • A mural by Jumboist aka JUMBO. © Ramona Bialowons
    A mural by Jumboist aka JUMBO.
  • A wall in Newtown covered in tags. © Ramona Bialowons
    A wall in Newtown covered in tags.
  • The black background makes the colorful street art pop. © Ramona Bialowons
    The black background makes the colorful street art pop.
  • Oftentimes street-art is used to express political views. © Ramona Bialowons
    Oftentimes street-art is used to express political views.
  • This street art mural by Ox King is also part of the Perfect Match program run by Inner West Council. © Ramona Bialowons
    This street art mural by Ox King is also part of the Perfect Match program run by Inner West Council.

Graffiti Rebels versus Commerce

But street art doesn’t necessarily equal street art. There are quite a few different styles. But to take a closer look, we have to go back to the roots: graffiti.

“Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing. And even if you don't come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can make someone smile while they're having a piss.” – Banksy

Graffiti is sprayed with a can. Through very large letters, also called tags, graffiti artists mark their territory - be it on house walls, garage doors or any kind of surfaces. They either represent a logo of an artist or serve as a signature under a mural. Some artists sign their work to be recognised, as well as being appreciated for their art, such as Alex Lehours. However, not every work reveals who created it, as some artists prefer to stay anonymous and therefore leave their art without a signature.

This is a large-scale mural by Alex Lehours. This is a large-scale mural by Alex Lehours. | © Ramona Bialowons Tagging is the most basic type of graffiti. "Almost every street artist started with this method," Melinda tells us during the tour. However, most people don’t really like tags. They’re often sprayed illegally on walls and have to be removed afterwards, which can be costly.

But unlike graffiti, street art is now accepted by most people. Whilst there are clear differences in the various styles, using a spray can is still the most common form. Other styles include stencil art, paste-ups (stickers), tiles, sculpted figures or knitted wool patterns at traffic lights and lampposts.

Many artists express their opinions with their paintings, pass on a message or communicate something. This may also include socio-critical issues, such as this artwork by Phibs, who wants to draw attention to the topic of marine pollution.
 
  • With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans. © Ramona Bialowons
    With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans.
  • With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans. © Ramona Bialowons
    With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans.
  • With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans. © Ramona Bialowons
    With this mural, Phips intends to draw attention to the pollution of our oceans.

Melinda: "Street art is very popular in Newtown. Therefore, street art has become something commercial, which is often criticised by graffiti artists.” Building owners and the local council often pay artists for murals to avoid mere tagging, as removing tags can actually be more expensive than paying an artist for a mural.

Respect – an important value

Artists and residents in Sydney's Inner West take a respectful approach to co-habitation. However, due to a number of prohibitive signs, there are still a few walls every now and then that remain blank.

No street art allowed declares the sign above this black gate. No street art allowed declares the sign above this black gate. | © Ramona Bialowons For the most part, the relationship between artists is quite respectful, "however, some ‘gangsters’ spray their tags over other artists’ murals or in forbidden places, such as train stations, which can lead to their arrest. “But these ‘gangsters’ are an exception in Sydney’s street art scene. During our tour, we meet artists who are currently working on a mural. The atmosphere is relaxed, and the artwork is created swiftly. Out of respect to the artists, I don’t take their photo while they are working and leave it to them to decide if they want to be recognised or if they prefer to remain anonymous.
 
  • These atypical street art murals appear like they are on display in a gallery. © Ramona Bialowons
    These atypical street art murals appear like they are on display in a gallery.
  • This street art wall looking like a gallery can be found on Goddard Street in Newtown. The left picture is by Gwaa and the faces by Ears. © Ramona Bialowons
    This street art wall looking like a gallery can be found on Goddard Street in Newtown. The left picture is by Gwaa and the faces by Ears.
  • Ears is known for his fragmented and fractured faces. © Ramona Bialowons
    Ears is known for his fragmented and fractured faces.
  • Ballerinas by Lister. © Ramona Bialowons
    Ballerinas by Lister.
  • Ballerinas by Lister. © Ramona Bialowons
    Ballerinas by Lister.
  • The same paste-up in three different places. © Ramona Bialowons
    The same paste-up in three different places.
  • The same paste-up in three different places. © Ramona Bialowons
    The same paste-up in three different places.
  • The same paste-up in three different places. © Ramona Bialowons
    The same paste-up in three different places.
  • This mural was painted by Kyle Hughes – it is part of the Perfect Match program run by Inner West Council. Perfect Match is one of the council's initiatives to prevent unwanted graffiti through fostering legitimate creative expression and art in public spaces. © Ramona Bialowons
    This mural was painted by Kyle Hughes – it is part of the Perfect Match program run by Inner West Council. Perfect Match is one of the council's initiatives to prevent unwanted graffiti through fostering legitimate creative expression and art in public spaces.

Street art is an art form, a culture that surprises and excites passers-by. The scene continues to evolve and new mural paintings quickly emerge everywhere, ready to be discovered. - A visual tour of Sydney's colourful Inner West.

Street-Art in Sydneys Inner West Kunst aus der Dose

Ballerina von Lister.
Ballerina von Lister. | © Ramona Bialowons

Sydney ist nicht die bekannteste Stadt für Street-Art in Australien. Erstrangig gehört dieser Ruf Melbourne. Allerdings hat Sydneys Inner West einiges an Street-Art zu bieten. Auch Street-Art-Touren werden immer beliebter und somit auch die Anbieter solcher Touren. Damit ich mehr über Street-Art in Sydney herausfinden kann, schließe ich mich einer Tour von Culture Scouts an. Sie führt mich durch die beiden Stadtteile Enmore und Newtown und wird geleitet von Melinda Vassallo. Sie ist Grafikdesignerin und Autorin des Buches ‘Street Art of Sydney’s Inner West’, also eine echte Kennerin der Szene, die in regelmäßigem Austausch mit den verschiedenen Street-Art Künstlern steht. Und somit weiß sie natürlich ganz genau, wo wir die besten Street-Art-Werke Sydneys finden.

Sonnenstrahlen fallen auf den Asphalt – es ist warm. Der Geruch von Kaffee zieht durch die Straßen und Freunde treffen sich zum Lunch. Das Viertel ist voller Leben,  die Atmosphäre ist entspannt. Bunte Farben zieren die Fassaden von Häusern, Garagentoren und Mauern. Die Tour startet in Newtown. Dieser Stadtteil ist der Geburtsort der frühen Street-Art-Szene Sydneys. Das berühmteste und älteste Street-Art-Gemälde  ist von Andrew Aiken und Juilee Pryor: I Have a Dream! (1991). Sie gehörten der Künstler-Gruppe Unmitigated Audacity Productions an, die für eine Vielzahl der damals noch illegal entstandenen Street-Art-Werke verantwortlich ist.

“A wall is a very big weapon. It's one of the nastiest things you can hit someone with.” – Banksy

„I have a dream!“ – das wohl bekannteste Wandgemälde in Newtown von Andrew Aiken und Juilee Pryor. „I have a dream!“ – das wohl bekannteste Wandgemälde in Newtown von Andrew Aiken und Juilee Pryor. | © Ramona Bialowons Das Wandgemälde auf der King Street besticht durch das Zitat von Martin Luther King. Melinda: „Es fungiert heute als Wahrzeichen für Newtown und ist in ganz Australien ein Ausdruck und starkes Symbol für die Rechte der Aboriginal People.“ Dementsprechend sind die Einwohner Newtowns stolz auf das Werk und hüten es, wie einen Schatz. Melinda erzählt von einem Brand im Gebäude, bei dem das Werk sehr beschädigt wurde. Die Einwohner schlossen sich zusammen und restaurierten das Wandgemälde innerhalb weniger Tage.

Street-Art findet sich in Newtown an den verschiedensten Plätzen: Auf Mauern, in Hinterhöfen und kleinen Gassen, ebenso wie in Tiefgaragen. Melinda führt uns kreuz und quer durch das Viertel, lässt keine versteckte Gasse aus. Es lohnt sich abseits der King Street durch Newtown zu laufen, um die versteckteren Wandgemälde aufzuspüren. Die verschiedenen Ausdrucksformen von Street-Art lassen den Künstlern Spielraum – so, wie beispielsweise mit der Newtown Poetry Wall.
 

  • Street-Art in Sydney beinhaltet zudem eine Poetry Wall, eine Wand mit Gedichten, Sprüchen und Zeilen, die Menschen loswerden wollen. © Ramona Bialowons
    Street-Art in Sydney beinhaltet zudem eine Poetry Wall, eine Wand mit Gedichten, Sprüchen und Zeilen, die Menschen loswerden wollen.
  • Der Name ist Programm: Birdhat ist bekannt für seine Vogelköpfe. © Ramona Bialowons
    Der Name ist Programm: Birdhat ist bekannt für seine Vogelköpfe.
  • Marys gehört zu Sydneys beliebtesten Burger-Restaurants. Die Fassade ist auch mit Tags verziert. © Ramona Bialowons
    Marys gehört zu Sydneys beliebtesten Burger-Restaurants. Die Fassade ist auch mit Tags verziert.
  • A garage in Newtown full of street art. © Ramona Bialowons
    Eine Garage in Newtown mit Street-Art.
  • Dieses Wandgemälde stammt von Jumboist, auch bekannt als JUMBO. © Ramona Bialowons
    Dieses Wandgemälde stammt von Jumboist, auch bekannt als JUMBO.
  • Eine Wand in Newtown voller Tags. © Ramona Bialowons
    Eine Wand in Newtown voller Tags.
  • Bunte Tags stechen auf der schwarzen Hauswand besonders hervor. © Ramona Bialowons
    Bunte Tags stechen auf der schwarzen Hauswand besonders hervor.
  • Man findet auch politische Statements auf den Straßen. © Ramona Bialowons
    Man findet auch politische Statements auf den Straßen.
  • Dieses Gemälde ist von Ox King und uch Teil des Perfect Match Programms des Inner West Councils. © Ramona Bialowons
    Dieses Gemälde ist von Ox King und uch Teil des Perfect Match Programms des Inner West Councils.

Graffiti-Rebellen versus Kommerz

Street-Art ist nicht gleich Street-Art. Es gibt Unterschiede. Sowohl bei den Wandgemälden, als auch bei der Machart. Um dies näher betrachten zu können, müssen wir zurück zu den Wurzeln: dem Graffiti.

“Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing. And even if you don't come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can make someone smile while they're having a piss.” – Banksy

Graffiti wird mit der Farbdose gesprüht. Durch die meist sehr großen Schriftzüge, auch Tags genannt, markieren Graffiti-Künstler ihr Revier – sei es auf Hauswänden, Garagentüren oder Gegenständen. Sie stehen entweder als Logo für den Künstler oder dienen als Signatur unter einem Wandgemälde. Manche Künstler signieren ihre Werke, um erkannt zu werden und Anerkennung zu erhalten, wie zum Beispiel Alex Lehours. Jedoch ist nicht bei jedem Werk ersichtlich, wer es kreiert hat, da manche Künstler unerkannt bleiben wollen und ihre Gemälde ohne Signatur hinterlassen.

Ein riesengroßes Wandgemälde von Alex Lehours auf einer Hauswand. Ein riesengroßes Wandgemälde von Alex Lehours auf einer Hauswand. | © Ramona Bialowons Die sogenannten Tags, sind eine einfache Form des Graffiti-Schreibens. „Mit dieser Methode startete fast jeder Street-Art-Künstler“, erzählt Melinda während der Führung. Allerdings sind Tags in der Öffentlichkeit nicht besonders beliebt und werden immer noch häufig illegal an Wände gesprüht. Meist müssen die Tags dann entfernt werden, was kostspielig sein kann.

Im Gegensatz zu Graffitis wird Street-Art, mittlerweile von einem Großteil der Gesellschaft akzeptiert. In der Machart gibt es aber deutliche Unterschiede: Zur gängigsten Form gehört das Sprühen mit der Sprühdose. Stencils entstehen mithilfe von Schablonen, hinzukommen Paste-ups (Aufkleber), Kacheln, geformte Figuren oder gestrickte Wollmuster an Ampel- und Laternenpfosten.

Viele Street-Art-Künstler wollen mit ihren Gemälden eine Meinung äußern, eine Message weitergeben und etwas kommunizieren. Dazu können auch gesellschaftskritische Themen gehören, wie zum Beispiel dieses Kunstwerk von Phibs, mit dem der Künstler auf die Umweltverschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam machen möchte.
 
  • Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam. © Ramona Bialowons
    Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam.
  • Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam. © Ramona Bialowons
    Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam.
  • Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam. © Ramona Bialowons
    Phips macht mit diesem Wandgemälde auf die Verschmutzung der Meere aufmerksam.

Melinda: „Street-Art ist in Newtown sehr beliebt. Daher hat sich Street-Art zu etwas Kommerziellem entwickelt, was von den Graffiti-Künstlern oft kritisiert wird.“ Denn Besitzeigentümer und der Bezirksrat bezahlen oft Künstler für Wandgemälde, um so das bloße Tagging zu vermeiden. Und die Entfernung der Tags kann tatsächlich kostspieliger sein kann, als die Bezahlung eines Künstlers für ein Wandgemälde.

Respekt – ein hohes Gut

Das Zusammenleben von Künstlern und Anwohnern in Sydneys Inner West zeichnet sich durch einen respektvollen Umgang aus. Aufgrund von Verbotsschildern gibt es dennoch Wände, die hin und wieder leer bleiben.

Street-Art unerwünscht deklariert ein Schild über dem schwarzen Rolltor. Street-Art unerwünscht deklariert ein Schild über dem schwarzen Rolltor. | © Ramona Bialowons Auch zwischen den Künstlern herrscht zum größten Teil ein respektvoller Umgang. „Allerdings sprühen manche „Gangster“ ihre Tags über große Wandgemälde anderer Künstler oder an verbotenen Orten, wie beispielsweise in den Zugstationen, was bis hin zur Verhaftung führen kann.“ Diese „Gangster“ sind in der Street-Art-Szene in Sydney eine Ausnahme. Während der Führung treffen wir Künstler, die mit ihrer Crew an weiteren Werken arbeiten. Die Atmosphäre ist sehr entspannt. Die Wandgemälde entstehen schnell und routiniert. Um den Künstlern gegenüber meinen Respekt zu zeigen, mache ich während sie arbeiten kein Foto und überlasse es ihnen, ob sie erkannt werden oder lieber anonym bleiben wollen.
 
  • Die Hauswände mit den kleinen und untypischen Street-Art-Bildern sehen aus wie eine Galerie. © Ramona Bialowons
    Die Hauswände mit den kleinen und untypischen Street-Art-Bildern sehen aus wie eine Galerie.
  • Eine Steet-Art-Wand in Newtown auf der Goddard Street, die wie eine Galerie aussieht. Das linke Bild ist von Gwaa und die Gesichter von Ears. © Ramona Bialowons
    Eine Steet-Art-Wand in Newtown auf der Goddard Street, die wie eine Galerie aussieht. Das linke Bild ist von Gwaa und die Gesichter von Ears.
  • Ears ist bekannt für seine zerstückelten und durcheinander geratenen Gesichter. © Ramona Bialowons
    Ears ist bekannt für seine zerstückelten und durcheinander geratenen Gesichter.
  • Lister sprühte diese beiden Ballerinas an die Wände. © Ramona Bialowons
    Lister sprühte diese beiden Ballerinas an die Wände.
  • Lister sprühte diese beiden Ballerinas an die Wände. © Ramona Bialowons
    Lister sprühte diese beiden Ballerinas an die Wände.
  • Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen. © Ramona Bialowons
    Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen.
  • Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen. © Ramona Bialowons
    Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen.
  • Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen. © Ramona Bialowons
    Das gleiche Paste-up an drei verschiedenen Stellen.
  • Dieses Wandgemälde stammt von Kyle Hughes – es ist ein Teil des Perfect Match Programms. Dieses Programm wurde vom Stadtbezirk ins Leben gerufen und unterstützt die Street-Art als Kunstform. © Ramona Bialowons
    Dieses Wandgemälde stammt von Kyle Hughes – es ist ein Teil des Perfect Match Programms. Dieses Programm wurde vom Stadtbezirk ins Leben gerufen und unterstützt die Street-Art als Kunstform.
Street-Art ist eine Kunst, eine Kultur, die vorrübergehende Passanten überrascht und begeistert. Die Szene entwickelt sich stets weiter und schnell entstehen neue Wandgemälde, die entdeckt werden wollen. Ein visueller Rundgang durch Sydney’s farbenfrohen Inner West.