Language Assistant Program

Each year, the Pädagogische Austauschdienst (PAD) offers scholarships for 12 language assistant positions in Germany. The scholarship includes a monthly allowance of €800 as well as health, accident and public liability insurance. In addition to that, all assistants will receive a one-off travel grant of €1000.

The assistants commence their stay in Germany with an introductory seminar in August/September, and finish on 31 May of the following year.

Their task is to assist the English teacher at a German secondary school to improve students‘ conversation and pronunciation skills, and to increase students‘ knowledge of Australian everyday life, culture, literature and current issues. This work involves approx. 12 hours per week, plus lesson preparation time.

Applications are open to university students of German who have already completed their bachelor's degree, preferably future or new teachers. Applicants must have a very good knowledge of German. They must be in good health independent and not older than 29.

Fremdsprachenassistenten-Programm

Der Pädagogische Austauschdienst (PAD) bietet australischen Studenten jedes Jahr insgesamt 12 Assistenzstellen an deutschen Schulen an. Das Stipendium umfasst einen monatliche Unterhaltszuschuss von €800, sowie Kranken- Unfall – und Haftpflichtversicherung. Zusätzlich bekommen alle Assistenten einen einmaligen Reisekostenzuschuss in Höhe von €1000.

Das Assistentenjahr beginnt mit einer Einführungstagung im August/September und endet am 31. Mai des Folgejahres.

Die Aufgaben der Assistent/-innen bestehen darin, ca. 12 Stunden pro Woche (plus Vor- und Nachbereitungszeit) einem Englischlehrer/-innen an einer deutschen Sekundarschule dabei zu helfen, die Aussprache und Sprechfähigkeit der Schüler/-innen zu verbessern und ihnen landeskundliche Kenntnisse über Kultur, Literatur und Tagesthemen in Australien zu vermitteln.

Studierende können teilnehmen, wenn sie Germanistik studieren. Es werden vorzugsweise angehende Lehrkräfte ausgewählt, die bei Antritt der Assistenzeit bereits einen Universitätsabschluss (z.B. Bachelor of Arts) erworben haben. Die Bewerber müssen sehr gute Deutschkenntnisse nachweisen können. Sie sollen gesund, selbständig und nicht älter als 29 Jahre.