For Everyday Heroes
Casablanca

Alltagshelden Illustrator and comic book artist Calle Claus portrays Casablanca – the largest city in Morocco. At the invitation of the Goethe-Institut, he travels to Morocco in October 2013 as part of the “Comic Transfer” project. Claus’ “Casablanca” comprises five pages, 22 panels. A flying visit in three brief episodes: a walk through the old city, a taxi ride, then impressions, the diversity around the mosque and along the seaside promenade.

 

Extracts from "Casablanca":

Casa

About the artist Calle Claus:

Calle Claus

Calle Claus

Calle Claus, German cartoonist and text writer, illustrator and radio play author, also teaches at various universities and art schools as a lecturer for drawing, character design and storytelling.


Travelpedia: Casablanca

  • Casa 5_1 © Calle Claus (Detail)

    The coastal settlement of Anfa was a Berber trading place dating back to at least the 8th century. In 1575, Portuguese colonizers called the city ‘Casa Branca’ or ‘White House’. Spanish traders established ‘Casablanca’ in the 19th century. Between 1906 and 1956, Morocco was exploited as a colony under the French. Today, ‘Casa’ as the locals call it, is Morocco’s most important port and industrial center. More than three million people live here. In 1993, the fifth largest mosque in the world was completed and dedicated to Hassan II.

  • Casa 2_4 © Calle Claus (Detail)

    If you want to explore Casablanca on your own, you can take a taxi. The small, red ‘petit taxis’ are designed to carry a maximum of 3 passengers and travel short distances within the city. The white ‘grand taxi’ can accommodate up to six passengers and is essentially for longer stretches, for instance to take you to hotspots in the area.

  • Casa 5_3 © Calle Claus (Detail)

    “Casablanca”, a romantic drama, was filmed in 1942, only in Hollywood; the Casablanca Conference, a meeting between Roosevelt and Churchill, was held in 1943. The film reviews complained that the milieu and plot of the film (agents, Allies, diplomats, Nazis) were really more suited to the port city of Tangier in northern Morocco than to Casablanca. A restaurant – Rick’s Café – was opened in 2004 and was designed to recreate the film set.

Stefan Mesch about "Casablanca"

I am happy to see that at no point does Claus play the Morocco expert: His sentence – ‘Around the mosque and its inner courtyard, life is lively and relaxed' – lays his cards on the table, in all the hackneyed phrases. This is not the eye of an insider, a know-all."

Review

More Comics for everyday heros




More about Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Alltagshelden
Casablanca

 

Alltagshelden Der Illustrator und Comiczeichner Calle Claus zeigt Casablanca – die größte Stadt Marokkos. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts reist er im Oktober 2013 als Teil des Projekts "Comic Transfer". Calles "Casablanca"-Comic hat fünf Seiten, 22 Panels. Eine Stippvisite in drei kurzen Episoden: ein Spaziergang durch die Altstadt, eine Taxifahrt, dann Eindrücke, Vielfalt rund um Moschee und Uferpromenade.

Auszüge aus "Casablanca":

Casa

Über den Künstler Calle Claus:

Calle Claus

Calle Claus

Calle Claus, deutscher Comic-Zeichner und -Texter, Illustrator und Hörspielautor, unterrichtet auch an verschiedenen Hochschulen und Schulen in Hamburg.


Travelpedia: Casablanca

  • Casa 5_1 © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Die Küstensiedlung Anfa war seit mindestens dem 8. Jahrhundert Handelsplatz der Berber. 1575 nannten portugiesische Besatzer die Stadt "Casa Branca", "Weißes Haus". Im 19. Jahrhundert etablieren spanische Händler "Casablanca". 1906 bis 1956 wurde Marokko als französische Kolonie ausgebeutet. Heute ist "Casa", wie Einheimische sagen, der wichtigste Hafen und das Industriezentrum Marokkos: Über drei Millionen Menschen leben hier. 1993 wurde die fünftgrößte Moschee der Welt, gewidmet Hassan II, fertig gestellt.

  • Casa 2_4 © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Wer Casablanca auf eigene Faust erkunden möchte, kann ein Taxi nehmen. Die kleinen roten Petit Taxis sind für maximal 3 Fahrgäste ausgelegt und übernehmen kürze Strecken in der Stadt. In das weiße Grand Taxi passen bis zu sechs Fahrgäste. Es fährt vor allem weitere Strecken, etwa zu Hot Spots in der Umgebung.

  • Casa 5_3 © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Die Agenten-Romanze "Casablanca" wurde 1942 nur in Hollywood gedreht; die Casablanca-Konferenz zwischen Roosevelt und Churchill fand erst 1943 statt. Die Filmkritik klagt: Milieu und Plot des Films (Agenten, Alliierte, Diplomaten, Nazis) passen eigentlich besser zur nordmarokkanischen Hafenstadt Tanger als nach Casablanca. 2004 wurde ein Restaurant eröffnet, das die Filmkulisse vor Ort umsetzt: "Rick's Cafe".

Stefan Mesch über "Casablanca"

Ich freue mich, dass Claus sich an keiner Stelle zum Marokko-Experten aufspielt: Sein Satz "Rund um die Moschee und ihren Innenhof herrscht lebhaftes, entspanntes Treiben" spielt, in aller Abgegriffenheit, Phrasenhaftigkeit, mit offenen Karten. Hier schaut kein Insider, Alleswisser."

Rezension

Weitere Comics für Alltagshelden




Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top