Berlinale Selection 2021 Silence of the tides

Scene from the film "Silence of the tides" – The picture shows a sunset at Wadden Sea. On the left the silhouettes of two people standing next to a camera mounted on a tripod can be seen. They are looking towards the sunset in the background of the picture. © Pieter-Rim de Kroon

Mon, 24.01.2022

22:00

Pantheon

Silence of the tides / Der Atem des Meeres – a poetic cinema documentary about the impressive universe of the largest marshland in the world: the Wadden Sea.

The film immerses into the breathing rhythm of ebb and flow, tells of the extraordinary flora and fauna, the close-to-nature life of the people, the contrasts, seasons, life and death, storm and silence, masses and individuals, the small details and the big picture... All against a backdrop of sky, water, wind, fog, ever-changing light and an ever-present horizon.

On the one hand, man and nature are harmonious and respectful, residents make a living, guests enjoy the vastness and beauty of nature, but on the other hand, there is conflict, because the interests of man and the fragile inland system of the tidal flat seem to contradict each other. Fossil fuel development is blighting the area. Annoying geese are shot down. Military jets thunder across the landscape, ripping the silence apart. People dump their waste oil, leave their torn fishing nets in the water, and throw their trash overboard. And huge container ships lose their cargo, which washes ashore in pieces, threatening fauna and flora...

As a counterweight to human activity, we see millions of migratory birds, habitats of seals and crabs, flounders and mussels.... a highly complex inland system. And again and again the fascinating change of the tides, omnipresent and formative - the UNESCO World Heritage Site has many faces and holds countless fascinating stories...

Directed by: Pieter-Rim de Kroon
Screenplay: Pieter-Rim de Kroon & Michiel Beishuizen
Production: Annemiek Van Der Hell
Cinematography: Dick Harrewijn
Film editing: Erik Disselhoff

Awards:
Nominated for the kinokino Audience Award (Sponsored by BR and 3sat)

Back

Berlinale Selection 2021 Silence of the tides

Szene aus dem Film „Silence of the tides / Der Atem des Meeres“ – Sonnenuntergang im Wattenmeer Bildbeschreibung: Auf dem Bild sieht man das Wattenmeer. Auf der linken Seite sieht man zwei Personen, die neben einer Kamera auf einem Stativ stehen. Diese schauen zum Sonnenuntergang, den man im Hintergrund des Bildes sieht. © Pieter-Rim de Kroon

Mo, 24.01.2022

22:00

Pantheon

Silence of the tides / Der Atem des Meeres – ein poetischer Kinodokumentarfilm über das beeindruckende Universum des größten Marschlandes der Welt: das Wattenmeer.

Der Film taucht ein in den Atemrhythmus von Ebbe und Flut, erzählt von der außergewöhnlichen Flora und Fauna, dem naturverbundenen Leben der Menschen, den Gegensätzen, Jahreszeiten, Leben und Tod, Sturm und Stille, Massen und Individuen, den kleinen Details und dem großen Ganzen... Alles vor dem Hintergrund von Himmel, Wasser, Wind, Nebel, ständig wechselndem Licht und einem stets präsenten Horizont.

Mensch und Natur sind auf der einen Seite harmonisch und respektvoll, die Bewohner bestreiten ihren Lebensunterhalt, die Gäste erfreuen sich an der Weite und Schönheit der Natur, auf der anderen Seite aber auch konfliktgeladen, denn die Interessen des Menschen und das fragile Binnensystem des Watts scheinen sich zu widersprechen. Die Erschließung fossiler Brennstoffe verschandelt die Gegend. Lästige Gänse werden abgeschossen. Militärjets donnern über die Landschaft hinweg und zerreißen die Stille. Menschen entsorgen ihr Altöl, lassen ihre zerrissenen Fischernetze im Wasser liegen und werfen ihren Müll über Bord. Und riesige Containerschiffe verlieren ihre Fracht, die in Einzelteilen an Land gespült wird und Fauna und Flora bedroht...

Als Gegengewicht zum menschlichen Treiben sehen wir Millionen von Zugvögeln, Lebensräume von Seehunden und Krabben, Flundern und Muscheln... ein hochkomplexes Binnensystem. Und immer wieder der faszinierende Wechsel der Gezeiten, omnipräsent und prägend – das UNESCO Weltnaturerbe hat viele Gesichter und birgt unzählige faszinierende Geschichten...

Regie: Pieter-Rim de Kroon
Drehbuch: Pieter-Rim de Kroon & Michiel Beishuizen
Produktion: Annemiek Van Der Hell
Kamera: Dick Harrewijn
Schnitt: Erik Disselhoff

Preise/Auszeichnungen:
Nominiert für den kinokino Publikumspreis (Gestiftet von BR und 3sat)

Zurück