Playthrough and discussion Papers, please!

Papers, please!, Screenshot © 3909 LLC

Thu, 10.10.2019

Goethe-Institut Nicosia

21 Markou Drakou
Next to Ledra Palace Hotel on the "Green Line"
1102 Nicosia

Games and Politics

The game Papers, please! produced by Lucas Pope in 2013, is the third of three games, which will be played live. Experts from Cyprus and Germany will comment the playthrough and answer audience questions.

In the videogame Papers, please! the player takes the role of a border guard in the dictatorial regime Arstotzka. People are waiting in long queues at the border to enter Kolechia. Based on a rulebook the player has to decide who to allow and who to deny entry. The player must verify whether the information given on the papers is true, whether the people are lying or could pose a terrorist threat. Should the player make a mistake, this could lead to sanctions like wage deductions, resulting to starvation and illness for their family. In the course of the game its rules become more complicated and the histories of those wishing to enter Kolechia more complex. Is the man with the expired work visa really just a harmless family man? Does the woman with the invalid passport really just want to visit her sick mother? The guard, in a position of power, is torn between their consciousness and fear for their existence.

Moderator: Frixos Masouras
Gamer: Constantinos Psillides
Speaker DE: Konstantin Mitgutsch
Speaker CY: Christos Kyriacou

Frixos Masouras Photo: private Frixos Masouras was born and raised in Cyprus during times of less technological dependence. That makes him sound like a technophobe, but in reality, the previous statement is simple fact and not a nostalgic dirge. An avid gamer, both on tabletops and monitors, he grew up playing Dungeons & Dragons since he was 12 and a myriad of digital games on countless systems. He understood early on that the social responsibility that befalls on the shoulders of developers is not unlike the responsibility of any other creators of art.  He is a published author and screenwriter as well as an established sports commentator and presenter for the last twelve years.

Constantinos Psillides Photo: private Constantinos Psillides is a former journalist, specializing in the areas of technology, environment and social issues. Having worked in the industry for more than 10 years, he is now currently employed by a software company as Project Manager. Always interested in what lies ahead, Constantinos hosted one of the first podcasts in Cyprus, the Laughing Mouflon Show where he interviewed people from the entertainment industry as well as experts in various academic fields. Ever the gamer, he continues to have fun in the virtual world while remaining aware of the huge impact the gaming industry now has in modern society.

Dr. Konstantin Mitgutsch Photo: Lea Fabienne Dr. Konstantin Mitgutsch is the founder of Playful Solutions, a Viennese games agency that creates playful solutions for real world problems.

Dr. Mitgutsch is also an Affiliate Researcher at the MIT Game Lab (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and a lecturer at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. He also serves as Gaming Director of the Red Bull Mind Gamers project, and explores novel forms of using game design as a tool for personal development. He received his PhD in education science and media education at the University of Vienna education and has published books on purposeful game design, learning and technology.

Christos Kyriacou has received a PhD at the University of Edinburgh and he is a Lecturer at the University of Cyprus. His main research interests lie in epistemology, metaethics and their intersection. He has published in journals such as Synthese, Erkenntnis, Episteme, Philosophical Pyschology, Journal of Ethics and Social Philosophy and elsewhere. He has also co-edited the volume Metaepistemology (2018, Palgrave) co-editing another volume on skepticism (Routledge, 2021) and recently drafted an introduction to moral philosophy.

Back

Spielung und Diskussion Papers, please!

Papers, please!, Screenshot © 3909 LLC

Do, 10.10.2019

Goethe-Institut Nikosia

21 Markou Drakou
Neben dem alten Hotel Ledra Palace an der „Grünen Linie“
1102 Nikosia

Games and Politics

Das Spiel Papers, please! von Lucas Pope 2013 produziert, ist das dritte von drei Spielen, die live vorgespielt werden. Zyprische und deutsche Experten kommentieren den Spielverlauf und beantworten die Fragen des Publikums.

Im Videospiel Papers, please! schlüpft der*die Spieler*in in die Rolle eines Grenzbeamten des autoritären Staates Arstotzka. In einer langen Schlange warten Menschen am Grenzübergang zu Kolechia darauf, einreisen zu können. Anhand eines Regelhandbuchs muss der Spieler entscheiden, welche Personen er einreisen lässt und welche er abweist. Er muss überprüfen, ob die Angaben in den Papieren stimmen, ob die Leute lügen oder gar eine Gefahr als Terroristen darstellen könnten. Irrt er/sie sich, kann das zu Sanktionen wie Lohnabzügen und als Folge davon Hunger und Krankheit für seine Familie bedeuten. Im Verlauf des Spieles werden die Regeln immer komplizierter, die Geschichten der Einreisenden immer komplexer. Ist der Mann mit dem abgelaufenen Arbeitsvisum wirklich nur ein harmloser Familienvater? Will die Frau mit dem ungültigen Pass wirklich nur ihre kranke Mutter besuchen? Der Beamte in seiner Machtposition wird hin- und hergerissen zwischen seiner Menschlichkeit und der Angst um die eigene Haut.

Moderator: Frixos Masouras
Spieler: Constantinos Psillides
Redner DE: Konstantin Mitgutsch
Redner CY: Christos Kyriacou

Frixos Masouras Foto: privat Frixos Masouras wurde in Zypern in Zeiten geringerer technologischer Entwicklung geboren und ist dort aufgewachsen. Der Eindruck eines „Technophoben“ täuscht, da die vorherige Aussage in Wahrheit eine einfache Tatsache und keine nostalgische Tragödie ist. Als begeisterter Gamer, sowohl auf Brettspiele als auch auf Monitoren, wuchs er seit seinem 12. Lebensjahr, mit Dungeons & Dragons und einer Vielzahl von digitalen Spielen unterschiedlichster Art, auf. Er verstand früh, dass die soziale Verantwortung, die auf den Schultern der Entwickler*innen liegt, nicht anderer Natur als die anderer Kunstschaffender ist. Masouras ist herausgebender Autor und Drehbuchautor, sowie seit zwölf Jahren ein etablierter Sportkommentator und Moderator.

Constantinos Psillides Foto: privat Constantinos Psillides ist ehemaliger Journalist in den Fachgebieten Technologie, Umwelt und in weiteren sozialen Themenfeldern. Nachdem er mehr als 10 Jahre in der Branche gearbeitet hat, ist er derzeit bei einem Softwareunternehmen als Projektmanager beschäftigt.

Constantinos war immer an neuen Entwicklungen interessiert und moderierte einen der ersten Podcasts in Zypern, die Laughing Mouflon Show, bei der er Menschen aus der Unterhaltungsindustrie sowie Experten aus verschiedenen akademischen Bereichen interviewte. Er ist der Spieler, der weiterhin Spaß an der virtuellen Welt hat und sich der enormen Auswirkungen der Spieleindustrie auf die moderne Gesellschaft bewusst ist.

Dr. Konstantin Mitgutsch Foto: Lea Fabienne Dr. Konstantin Mitgutsch ist der Gründer von Playful Solutions, einer Wiener Spiele Agentur, die spielerische Lösungen für reale Probleme entwickelt.

Dr. Mitgutsch ist außerdem Affiliate Researcher am MIT Game Lab (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) und Dozent an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Er fungiert als Gaming Director des Red Bull Mind Gamers-Projekts und untersucht neue Formen der Verwendung von Spieledesign als Werkzeug für die persönliche Entwicklung und Bildung. Er promovierte in Erziehungswissenschaft und Medienpädagogik an der Universität Wien und hat Bücher über zielgerichtetes Spieldesign, Lernen und Technologie veröffentlicht.

Christos Kyriacou hat an der University of Edinburgh promoviert und ist Dozent an der University of Cyprus. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Epistemologie, der Metaethik und die Schnittmenge der beiden Bereiche. Er hat Artikel in Zeitschriften wie Synthese, Erkenntnis, Episteme, Philosophical Pyschology, Journal of Ethics and Social Philosophy und anderen Journalen veröffentlicht. Er hat auch den Band Metaepistemology (2018, Palgrave) mitherausgegeben, einen weiteren Band über Skepsis mitverfasst (Routledge, 2021) und kürzlich eine Einführung in die Moralphilosophie verfasst.

Zurück