Artist residence / exhibition foam born

A composition of objects and photographs. On the left there is a ceramic statue, depicting a naked female figure on a black background. On it is a photo showing a hand with an open pomegranate in front of the naked breasts of two women. On the right there is a photo of an amphora, representing the birth of Aphrodite. Above the photos there is a black and orange knitted cord. © Peles Empire, courtesy of Eins Gallery

Sat, 17.04.2021 -
Fri, 14.05.2021

eins gallery


3036 Limassol

Artist residence and exhibition of the artist duo Peles Empire

Due to the lockdown, the exhibition is temporarily closed until 8 May 2021. The exhibition will be extended from 10 until 14 May 2021 following the measures and conditions that will be in effect during that time.

The exhibition foam born is the outcome of a three-week artist residency of Peles Empire at eins gallery in Limassol, where the artist duo Barbara Wolff and Katharina Stöver deal with the Cyprus born Goddess Aphrodite.

Peles Empire dissect and reshuffle the supposedly original meaning of somewhere (like the castle Peles), something (like a specific form of architecture), or someone (like Cleopatra or Aphrodite), in order to question what time and culture has made of it.

Aphrodite, the subject of art, mythology and fantasy for millennia, is mostly presented from a male perspective, ascribing her a passive rather than an active role. Throughout the centuries her representation has changed from bird-like or penile clay figurines to bearded representations, or, famously, to Botticelli’s depiction and so also her meaning has shifted.

The partly demonised, partly sexualised perception of Aphrodite is a more recent development; it ignores that for the ancients Aphrodite was a patron not simply for lust, but for a lust for life. An aspect often unmentioned is that she was the goddess of Mixis, celebrating sexuality in its diversity and helping humans to live together.

Aphrodite is also said to have planted the first pomegranate tree on Cyprus. The fruit itself has a long historical tail of references, including the suspicion of it being the “apple” Eve plucked from the tree in the Garden of Eden.

Notions of guilt about curiosity, sexuality and female expression accompany both Aphrodite and the Pomegranate.

Peles Empire was established in 2005 in Frankfurt. Their name is derived from Peleș Castle, a summer residence in the Carpathians of the Romanian royal family. Each of the castle’s hundreds of rooms boasts eclectic interiors, stylistic imitations from diverse architectural epochs, combined in a convoluted structure. The decoration of the halls extends from gothic to rococo to art deco and stages a history that never took place in this form. The principle of assimilation and reproduction is the basis of Peles Empire's artistic practice. The sampling of found structures and their own works draws its added value from the field of tension between reproductive transformation and manual mode of production.

Paper, concrete, tiles and cast stone are part of the artists' repertoire of materials. The components are overlaid, printed, deformed and mixed. It is not only found situations that find a translation in the work, but also their own works and installations are adopted as photographic images or as fragments in later works. Starting from photography as a medium to depict spacial relations in a two-dimensional way, the play between two-dimensional and three-dimensional reproduction is a constant in the work of Peles Empire.

Artists Barbara Wolff (*1980, Fogarasch, Romania, lives in Berlin) and Katharina Stöver (*1982 Gießen, lives in Berlin) are Peles Empire. They studied at the Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main under Wolfgang Tillmans, Michael Krebber and Hermann Nitsch and at the Slade School of Fine Arts and the Royal Academy School in London. Most recently, their work has  been shown at Barakat Contemporary, Seoul 2020, the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh, the Timisoara Biennale, Romania 2019, the Künstlerhaus Graz (2019), the Swiss Institute (2018), the Skulptur Projekten Münster (2017), the Kunstverein Hannover (2017), the Kunstverein Kassel (2017) and the Portikus in Frankfurt (2017). Works by Peles Empire are part of the official collections of the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, the European Central Bank, Frankfurt am Main, the Contemporary Art Collection of the Federal Republic of Germany, Bonn, as well as numerous private collections.

Among others they received the Peter Jacobi Prize in 2021, the Berliner Arbeitsstipendium in 2018, Stiftung Kunstfonds in 2016, Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg 2013, and the Hessische Kulturstiftung 2011.

Back

Künstlerresidenz / Ausstellung foam born

Eine Komposition von Objekten und Bildern. Links ist eine Tonstatuette zu sehen, die eine nackte weibliche Figur auf einem schwarzen Hintergrund darstellt. Darauf liegt ein Foto, das eine Hand zeigt, die einen geöffneten Granatapfel vor den nackten Brüsten von zwei Frauen hält. Rechts ist ein Foto einer Amphore zu sehen, die die Geburt der Aphrodite darstellt. Über den Fotos befindet sich eine Strickschnur mit schwarz-orangefarbenem Seil. © Peles Empire, mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Eins Gallery

Sa, 17.04.2021 -
Fr, 14.05.2021

eins gallery

Themidos Str. 28
3036 Limassol

Künstlerresidenz und Einzelausstellung des Künstlerduos Peles Empire

Wegen der Ausgangssperre musste die Ausstellung vorrübergehend bis 8. Mai 2021 geschlossen werden. Die Ausstellung wird von 10. bis 14. Mai 2021 verlängert unter den dann geltenden Maßnahmen und Voraussetzungen.

Die Ausstellung foam born ist das Resultat einer dreiwöchigen Künstlerresidenz von Peles Empire in der eins gallery in Limassol, in der sich das Künstlerinnenduo Barbara Wolff und Katharina Stöver mit der auf Zypern geborenen Göttin Aphrodite auseinandersetzt.

Peles Empire sezieren und verändern die vermeintlich ursprüngliche Bedeutung eines Ortes (wie das Schloss Peles), einer Sache (wie eine bestimmte Form der Architektur) oder einer Person (wie Kleopatra oder Aphrodite), um zu hinterfragen, was Zeit und Kultur daraus gemacht haben.

Aphrodite, seit Jahrtausenden Gegenstand von Kunst, Mythologie und Fantasie, wird meistens aus einer männlichen Perspektive dargestellt, die ihr eher eine passive als eine aktive Rolle zuweist. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte hat sich ihre Darstellung von vogelähnlichen oder penisartigen Tonfiguren zu bärtigen Darstellungen bis hin zu Botticellis berühmtem Bild verändert und damit auch ihre Bedeutung verschoben.

Die teils dämonisierte, teils sexualisierte Wahrnehmung von Aphrodite ist eine neuere Entwicklung; es ignoriert, dass Aphrodite in der Antike eine Schutzpatronin war, nicht nur für die Lust, sondern für die Lust am Leben selbst. Ein oft nicht erwähnter Aspekt ist, dass sie die Göttin der Mixis war, die Sexualität in ihrer Vielfalt zelebrierte und den Menschen half, zusammen zu leben.

Sie soll auch den ersten Granatapfelbaum auf Zypern gepflanzt haben. Die Frucht selbst hat lange historische Wurzeln, einschließlich der Annahme, dass es sich um den „Apfel“ handelt, den Eva im Garten Eden vom Baum gepflückt hat.

Schuldgefühle über Neugier, Sexualität und weiblichen Ausdruck begleiten sowohl Aphrodite als auch den Granatapfel.

Peles Empire wurde 2005 in Frankfurt gegründet. Der Name ist dem rumänischen Königsschloss Peleş in den Karpaten entlehnt, dessen Räume eklektizistische Innenausstattung diverser architektonischer Epochen in einem verworrenen Gefüge vereint. Von Gotik über Rokoko bis hin zur Art Déco erstreckt sich die Ausschmückung der Säle und inszeniert eine Historie, die in dieser Form nie stattgefunden hat.

Das Prinzip des Aneignen und Reproduzieren stellt die Grundlage der künstlerischen Praxis von Peles Empire dar. Das Samplen vorgefundener Strukturen und der eigenen Arbeiten zieht seinen Mehrwert aus dem Spannungsfeld zwischen reproduktioneller Umwandlung und manueller Produktionsweise. Papier, Beton, Kacheln und Steinguss gehören zum Materialrepertoire der Künstlerinnen. Die Komponenten werden überlagert, bedruckt, verformt und vermischt. Nicht nur vorgefundene Situationen finden eine Übersetzung in das Werk, auch die eigene Werke und Installationen werden als fotografische Abbildung oder als Fragment in spätere Arbeiten übernommen. Ausgehend von der Fotografie als Medium räumliche Sachverhalte flächig abzubilden, ist das Spiel zwischen zweidimensionaler und dreidimensionaler Wiedergabe eine Konstante im Werk von Peles Empire.

Peles Empire bestehen aus Barbara Wolff (*1980, Fogarasch, Rumänien, lebt in Berlin) und Katharina Stöver (*1982 Gießen, lebt in Berlin). Sie studierten an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main bei Wolfgang Tillmans, Michael Krebber und Hermann Nitsch und an der Slade School of Fine Arts und den Royal Academy Schools in London. Zuletzt waren ihre Werke unter anderem bei Barakat Contemporary, Seoul 2020, in der Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh, auf der Timisoara Biennale, Rumänien 2019, im Künstlerhaus Graz (2019), im Swiss Institute (2018), bei den Skulptur Projekten Münster (2017), im Kunstverein Hannover (2017), dem Kunstverein Kassel (2017) und im Portikus in Frankfurt (2017) zu sehen. Arbeiten von Peles Empire sind in den öffentlichen Sammlungen des Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, der Europäischen Zentralbank, Frankfurt am Main, der Sammlung für zeitgenössische Kunst der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Bonn, sowie in zahlreichen privaten Sammlungen vertreten.

Sie haben unter anderem 2021 den Peter Jacobi Preis erhalten, Das Berliner Arbeitsstipendium 2018, Stiftung Kunstfonds 2016, Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg 2013, und die Hessische Kulturstiftung 2011.

Zurück