This Is Not Lebanon: Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks

This is not Lebanon Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Frankfurt LAB

This Is Not Lebanon: Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks

Within a short period of time, Lebanon has experienced a fourfold catastrophe: the revolution of October 2019 that came to a standstill, hyperinflation due to the free fall of the Lebanese lira on the currency markets, the explosion in the port of Beirut on 4 August 2020 and finally the pandemic. Against this background, "This is Not Lebanon" was initiated by the dramaturge Matthias Lilienthal, the Frankfurt LAB with the Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and the Ensemble Modern in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Libanon to provide a platform for artists whose practices have been overshadowed by the many crises; "This Is Not Lebanon" gives artists a platform to contradict simplistic reporting on the situation in Lebanon and to develop differentiated perspectives on the country.

The three-week festival, which will take place in Frankfurt am Main from 26 August to 12 September 2021, is primarily an opportunity to discover the voice of an emerging generation of artists who either live in Lebanon or whose work is in some way connected to the country, and who draw from the fields of performance, visual arts, choreography and music.

The festival will open with a world premiere by Lawrence Abu Hamdan: an audiovisual essay exploring the relationship between territoriality and atmospheric violence. This will be followed by new productions by four other artists, which will be developed in Frankfurt during production residencies in the run-up to the festival:

Choreographer and trained architect Ghida Hachicho, together with four other performers, explores the behavior of groups and swarms – the performance negotiates questions about group formation processes, how and through what relationships between participants are created and what these can reveal about the individual in relation to the group.

Artist and filmmaker Marwa Arsanios elaborates the fourth chapter of her research, which takes an intersectional look at women's anti-colonial struggles for comprehensive social and political change. In this chapter, the artist addresses issues of heritage, ownership, property and value through a video installation.

Together with author Sanja Grozdanic, artist Bassem Saad explores various processes of the International Criminal Court and the incongruence of historical narratives and his own experiences – in his first performance, the artist questions the distribution of violence and desire.

In a performative intervention, the multidisciplinary artist Ali Eyal creates a space between his own history and fleeting memories. He expands these with fictional, artistic narratives and connects the public perception of the Iraq war with his personal experiences and their consequences. 

In addition to other works by artists such as Rabih Mroué, Maan Abu Taleb, Lily Abi Chahine, Noor Abed and Mark Lotfy, a discourse programme curated by Rabih Mroué entitled “We cannot determine what will make us surrender” will take place on the first weekend of the festival. The curator invites artists and authors to examine past and current events in Lebanon from different perspectives in lectures, talks and films. The title, based on a quote by a Lebanese activist published in a newspaper on the occasion of the first anniversary of the October protests, led the curator to wonder whether the sentence was meant as such or whether the activist was misunderstood by the journalist. It suggests that the revolutionaries will inevitably fail, but at the same time confirms that the moment of surrender has not yet come. Rabih Mroué calls us to endure this ambivalence and, together with his guests, creates a space for discussion and thinking about old and new questions, doubts, fears and unfinished ideas and thoughts. 

The Ensemble Modern has devised a music programme for the festival in several parts, providing commissions for both compositions and productions. One part is a collaboration with the composer Saed Haddad – another is a commission from the Lebanese composer and visual artist Zad Moultaka. Other Ensemble Modern co-operations are being developed with the pianist, composer and installation artist Cynthia Zaven and with the sound designer and film-maker Nour Sokhon. In addition, a collaboration is also planned between the jazz pianist Florian Weber with Rabih Lahoud, singer with the successful jazz band Masaa.

The festival in Frankfurt will be followed by a second iteration in Beirut, in October 2021, in collaboration with Ashkal Alwan​.

Matthias Lilienthal, the main curator of the festival, has developed the programme in close collaboration with his co-curators - Christine Tohmé, director of Ashkal Alwan, Rabih Mroué, performance and media artist, Anna Wagner, dramaturge and artistic co-director of Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and the members of the Ensemble Modern Jaan Bossier, Uwe Dierksen and Christian Hommel.

 “This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” is a cooperation project of the Frankfurt LAB with Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and Ensemble Modern in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Lebanon, supported by the German Federal Cultural Foundation and Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e.V. The discourse programme is supported by the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). The residencies within the framework of “This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” are part of "Frankfurt Moves!", a cooperation of the KfW Stiftung and the Frankfurt LAB to promote international emerging artists in the field of dance and performing arts.




 
Top

This Is Not Lebanon: Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks

This is not Lebanon Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Frankfurt LAB

This Is Not Lebanon: Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks

Innerhalb kurzer Zeit hat der Libanon eine vierfache Katastrophe erlebt: die Revolution vom Oktober 2019, die zum Stillstand kam, die Hyperinflation durch den freien Fall der libanesischen Lira auf den Devisenmärkten, die Explosion im Hafen von Beirut am 4. August 2020 und schließlich die Pandemie. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde "This is Not Lebanon" von dem Dramaturgen Matthias Lilienthal, dem Frankfurt LAB mit dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und dem Ensemble Modern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon initiiert, um Künstler/innen, deren Praxis von den vielen Krisen überschattet wird, eine Plattform zu bieten, um einer vereinfachenden Berichterstattung über die Situation im Libanon zu widersprechen und differenzierte Perspektiven auf das Land zu entwickeln.

Das dreiwöchige Festival, das vom 26. August bis zum 12. September 2021 in Frankfurt am Main stattfinden wird, ist vor allem eine Gelegenheit, die Stimme einer aufstrebenden Generation von Künstler/innen zu entdecken, die entweder im Libanon leben oder deren Arbeit in irgendeiner Weise mit dem Land verbunden ist und die aus den Bereichen Performance, bildende Kunst, Choreografie und Musik kommen.
 

Eröffnet wird das Festival mit einer Weltpremiere von Lawrence Abu Hamdan: ein audiovisueller Essay, der die Beziehung zwischen Territorialität und atmosphärischer Gewalt untersucht. Es folgen neue Produktionen von vier weiteren Künstler/innen, die im Vorfeld des Festivals im Rahmen von Produktionsresidenzen in Frankfurt entwickelt werden:

Die Choreografin und ausgebildete Architektin Ghida Hachicho erforscht gemeinsam mit vier weiteren Performer/innen das Verhalten von Gruppen und Schwärmen - die Performance verhandelt Fragen zu Gruppenbildungsprozessen, wie und wodurch welche Beziehungen zwischen den Beteiligten entstehen und was diese über die Einzelnen im Verhältnis zur Gruppe aussagen können; Die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Marwa Arsanios erläutert das vierte Kapitel ihrer Forschungsarbeit, das einen interdisziplinären Blick auf die antikolonialen Kämpfe von Frauen für einen umfassenden sozialen und politischen Wandel wirft. In diesem Kapitel befasst sich die Künstlerin mit Fragen des Erbes, des Besitzes, des Eigentums und des Wertes durch eine Videoinstallation; Gemeinsam mit der Autorin Sanja Grozdajnic untersucht der Künstler Bassem Saad den verschiedenen Prozessen des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs und die Inkongruenz von historischen Erzählungen und dem eigenen Erleben – in seiner ersten Videoperformance hinterfragt der Künstler die Verteilung von Gewalt und Begehren; In einer performativen Intervention schafft der multidisziplinäre Künstler Ali Eyal einen Raum zwischen eigener Geschichte und vergänglichen Erinnerungen. Diese erweitert er um fiktionale, künstlerische Erzählungen und verbindet die öffentliche Wahrnehmung des Irakkriegs mit seinen persönlichen Erlebnissen und deren Nachwirkungen. 

Neben weiteren Arbeiten von Künstler/innen wie Rabih Mroué, Maan Abu Taleb, Lily Abi Chahine, Noor Abed und Mark Lotfy findet am ersten Wochenende des Festivals ein von Rabih Mroué kuratiertes Diskursprogramm mit dem Titel “We cannot determine what will make us surrender” statt. Der Kurator lädt Künstler/innen und Autor/innen ein, um die vergangenen und aktuellen Ereignisse im Libanon in Vorträgen, Gesprächen und Filmen aus vielfältigen Perspektiven zu beleuchten. Der Titel, ein Zitat einer libanesischen Aktivistin, das anlässlich des ersten Jahrestages der Oktober-Proteste in einer Zeitung veröffentlicht wurde, hat den Kurator zu der Frage veranlasst, ob der Satz als solcher gemeint war oder ob die Aktivistin vom Journalisten missverstanden wurde. Er suggeriert, dass die Revolutionär/innen unvermeidbar scheitern werden, bestätigt jedoch zugleich, dass der Moment der Kapitulation noch nicht eingetreten ist. Rabih Mroué fördert dazu auf, diese Ambivalenz auszuhalten und schafft zusammen mit seinen Gäst/innen einen Diskussions- und Denkraum für alte und neue Fragen, für Zweifel, Ängste sowie unfertige Ideen und Gedanken.

Das Ensemble Modern hat für das Festival ein mehrteiliges Musikprogramm entwickelt, das sowohl Kompositions- als auch Produktionsaufträge vorsieht. Ein Teil ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Saed Haddad - ein anderer ist ein Auftragswerk des libanesischen Komponisten und bildenden Künstlers Zad Moultaka. Weitere Kooperationen des Ensembles Modern werden mit der Pianistin, Komponistin und Installationskünstlerin Cynthia Zaven sowie mit der Sounddesignerin und Filmemacherin Nour Sokhon entwickelt. Darüber hinaus ist eine Zusammenarbeit des Jazzpianisten Florian Weber mit Rabih Lahoud, Sänger der erfolgreichen Jazzband Masaa, geplant. 


Nach dem Festival in Frankfurt wird es im Oktober 2021 eine zweite Iteration in Beirut geben, in Zusammenarbeit mit Ashkal Alwan. 


Matthias Lilienthal, der Hauptkurator des Festivals, hat das Programm in enger Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Ko-Kurator/innen – Christine Tohmé, Leiterin von Ashkal Alwan, Rabih Mroué, Performance- und Medienkünstler, Anna Wagner, Dramaturgin und künstlerische Ko-Leiterin am Mousonturm und den Mitgliedern des Ensemble Modern Jaan Bossier, Uwe Dierksen und Christian Hommel – entwickelt.

 “This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Frankfurt LAB mit Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Ensemble Modern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, das Goethe-Institut und die Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e.V. Das begleitende diskursive Programm wird gefördert durch die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Die Residenzen im Rahmen von “This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” sind Teil von „Frankfurt Moves!", einer Kooperation der KfW Stiftung mit dem Frankfurt LAB zur Förderung internationaler aufstrebender Künstler:innen im Bereich Tanz und Darstellende Künste.



Mousonturm Frankfurt LAB Ensemble Modern
 
Top