Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Enter Africa at A MAZE. Berlin
Cooperation Makes Everything Possible

Enter Africa auf der A MAZE. Berlin
© Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam

For the first time, Enter Africa had the possibility to present itself on the European gaming stage. From 10th to 13th April 2019, members of the individual Enter Africa teams showcased their 15 location-based games that will be finalized soon, the process as well as the reason behind Enter Africa.

The week began with an intensive workshop to prepare the stage presentation and was accompanied by a city tour through Berlin, the first “Currywurst” and – who would have thought – the first snow for some of the participants.

The gaming fair officially opened on Wednesday, 10th April, evening. Already during the set-up of the booth during the day it became clear that the project attracted a lot of attention. Being one of the biggest booths, not only A MAZE staff, but also other exhibitors and later on visitors were very curious and keen to find out more about Enter Africa.

During his opening speech, festival director Thorsten Wiedemann explicitly mentioned Enter Africa and expressed his thankfulness and excitement for hosting the young game developers from 15 African counties, thereby making the festival more international, more colorful, more exciting. An amazing opening of A MAZE.

On Thursday, Enter Africa presented itself on the stage to the interested audience. During 90 minutes, the colleagues from Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba, Dagmawi Bedilu and Bethlehem Anteneh, guided the audience on a journey through the different locations in Africa, while the respective team members introduced the story and creation of their games on behalf of their teams. The show was full of visitors that engaged actively in discussions with the Enter Africa members.
Stage presentations at A MAZE © Andy Katambwe "The stage presentation was a wonderful experience for me since I am not used to a lot of public speaking ... I loved that I had to do that. I initially thought of it to be a very formal presentation but then after watching Thorsten give the opening speech of A MAZE, I realised I shouldn't be so much worried about how I look on stage.” Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra

The following days were full of exchanging, networking and – of course – playing games. Many exhibitors and visitors engaged in discussions with the Enter Africa members about their ideas behind the individual games, technical aspects or what the “African” of African stories is. It soon became very clear that there is a lack of knowledge about Africa – be it politics, culture, or African industries – and prejudices and stereotypes are still prevailing in the media, storytelling and the general picture about the continent. However, there is a growing appetite and big eagerness from both sides to change these perceptions.

“People really want to know more about Africa and I mean they want to know more about African Stories, African tales, etc. They are really looking forward to see this project succeed, they want that Africa take his place in the game industry. And sadly, their knowledge about Africa as a continent is really limited to what is being shown by the media, they have a really bad representation of the continent.” Abdou Aziz Sall, Enter Africa Dakar

“The world beyond actually doesn't know much on Africa and countries to base it on stereo types. I met two female student game developers that are working on a game that is about futuristic Africa and yet they have never left Germany before. I definitely want to check that one out.” Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Kampala

“Most of them, if not all really did appreciate the whole concept of Enter Africa and what we are trying to achieve. They really liked that we want to tell the African story the African way as much as we want to do that through gaming and solving social issues in the process.” Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra.

“We all share similar or even same experiences but in isolation. Colonization affected the whole world and not just Africa. We can all learn so much from each other and implement existing solutions in our environments especially in Africa.” Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg
Activities at the booth © Nina Fink Those and other discussions were deepened during the workshops Enter Africa offered in the A MAZE. Exchange Area. Topics discussed ranged about dialogue, partnership and future cooperation possibilities (“Enter Africa and the World”), the chances and challenges of “Being an Indie Game Developer in Africa”, and about African storytelling. Questions were raised about how African stories can be told in games and what African storytelling is about (“Storytelling in African Games”), if a new genre in relation to African mythology can be created and how the aspect of cultural appropriation and ownership relates to game development in Africa (“African Mythology”), and finally how African characters in games do look like and how we can fight stereotypes and create own characters to bring African stories back to the continent (“Video Game Character Design”).

“Many of people who took part of the workshop had good ideas depending on the topic. We talked a lot about prejudices and how to handle it in the creation process. In the character design workshop for example, we had some suggestions and discovered good talented designers.” Cedric Minlo, Enter Africa Yaoundé

“I think that one of the highlight moment I had during A Maze was when we finished the workshop about being an indie gamdev in Africa and that people after was gathering to keep asking questions, to share contacts, to ask my points of view about the indie scene and as an indie game developer I was really happy to enlighten all these people about the game scene in Africa.” Abdou Aziz Sall, Enter Africa Dakar

Thus, Enter Africa was approached not only by interested visitors and other exhibitors, but also by very important stakeholders in the European gaming industry. Universities, Gaming Collectives and other organizations expressed their interest in collaborating with the network in the long run.

“How can we work with Enter Africa, that's what everyone was asking me.” Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg
Workshops at A MAZE © Cedric Minlo and Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku At the same time, the participation at A MAZE showed that Enter Africa still has a long road ahead of itself, regarding both its presentation at Gamescom in August 2019 as well as the future of the network as a whole. First and foremost, most people were missing to play the actual games.

“My impression was that we have a long way to go to fulfill their expectations but that there were plenty of people and organizations interested in collaborating and supporting us. (…) we are divided in how we see the future of Enter Africa and (…) we need to have more conversations about it.” Mihret Redda, Enter Africa Addis Ababa

Nevertheless, the great potential of Enter Africa was visible to everyone.

“Enter Africa has unified a small group of magic minds and can therefore do the same even on a larger scale. We have to keep on going because this is what we have all been longing for, a platform where all African stories and experiences can be told.” Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Kampala

All in all, A MAZE was an important experience for the Enter Africa network. It provided the members with the opportunity to present themselves to a broad audience and relevant stakeholders of the international (indie) gaming scene, thereby also broadening their individual experience and skills. A MAZE was a first platform for the development of future partnerships and possibilities for cooperation, and thus was a pivotal step towards the sustainable and self-determined development of the Enter Africa network itself.

“Germany is really cold and there is so much opportunity in the world. I can literally be anyone I want to be in the world as long as I work hard at it and always have a positive attitude in whatever I do.” Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg

“A MAZE meant a lot to me. It meant putting me out there on the global market. It meant breaking out of my shell, by speaking to an audience on stage. It meant meeting new people from various backgrounds and connecting with them.” Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra

“Realizing that as an African I should spend less time regressing and complaining about the past or the effects of our past in the present and look to the future by finding alternatives or even come up with new systems that the whole world could follow and get us involved in the world as a community. I learned that from the workshops and talking to random people at the booth and event.” Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg


At the end, the experience at A MAZE clearly showed us one simple message:

“Cooperation makes everything possible.” Frank John Magulyati, Enter Africa Dar es Salaam
Picture with festival director Thorsten Wiedemann© Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Enter Africa bei A MAZE. Berlin
Kooperation macht alles möglich

Enter Africa auf der A MAZE. Berlin
© Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam

Erstmals hatte Enter Africa hatte die Möglichkeit, sich auf der europäischen Gaming-Bühne zu präsentieren. Vom 10. bis 13. April 2019 stellten die Mitglieder der einzelnen Enter Africa-Teams ihre 15 Spiele, die in Kürze fertig gestellt werden, den Prozess sowie die Motivation hinter Enter Africa vor.


Die Woche begann mit einem intensiven Workshop zur Vorbereitung der Bühnenpräsentation und wurde von einer Stadtrundfahrt durch Berlin, der ersten "Currywurst" und - wer hätte gedacht - dem ersten Schnee für einige der Teilnehmenden begleitet.

Die Gaming-Messe wurde am Mittwochabend, den 10. April, offiziell eröffnet. Bereits beim Aufbau des Standes wurde deutlich, dass das Projekt viel Aufmerksamkeit erregte. Als einer der größten Stände waren nicht nur die Mitarbeiter von A MAZE, sondern auch andere Ausstellerinnen und später die Besucher neugierig und wollten mehr über Enter Africa erfahren.

In seiner Eröffnungsrede begrüßte Festivalleiter Thorsten Wiedemann Enter Africa und brachte seine Dankbarkeit und Begeisterung darüber zum Ausdruck, dass er die jungen Spieleentwickler aus 15 afrikanischen Ländern empfangen hat, um das Festival internationaler, bunter und aufregender zu machen. Was ein Auftakt von A MAZE.

Am Donnerstag präsentierte sich Enter Africa dem interessierten Publikum auf der Bühne. 90 Minuten lang führten die Kollegen des Goethe-Instituts Addis Abeba, Dagmawi Bedilu und Bethlehem Anteneh, das Publikum auf eine Reise durch die verschiedenen Orte Afrikas, während die jeweiligen Teammitglieder im Namen ihrer Teams die Geschichte und Entstehung ihrer Spiele vorstellten. Die Show war voll von Besucherinnen, die sich aktiv an Diskussionen mit den Enter Africa-Mitgliedern beteiligten.
Bühnenpräsentationen auf der A MAZE © Andy Katambwe "Die Bühnenpräsentation war für mich ein wunderbares Erlebnis, da ich es nicht wirklich gewöhnt bin, öffentlich zu reden .... Ich hab es geliebt, dass ich das tun musste. Ich dachte zuerst, es sei eine sehr formale Präsentation, aber nachdem ich Thorsten bei der Eröffnungsrede von A MAZE gesehen hatte, wurde mir klar, dass ich mir nicht so sehr Sorgen machen sollte, wie ich auf der Bühne aussehe." Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra

Die folgenden Tage waren voll von Austausch, Networking und - natürlich - Spielen. Viele Ausstellerinnen und Besucher diskutierten mit den Enter Africa-Mitgliedern über ihre Ideen hinter den einzelnen Spielen, technische Aspekte oder was das "Afrikanische" der afrikanischen Stories ist. Schnell wurde deutlich, dass es an Wissen über Afrika mangelt - sei es in Bezug auf Politik, Kultur oder afrikanische Industrien - und Vorurteile und Stereotypen in Medien immer noch vorherrschen und das Bild vom Kontinent prägen. Allerdings wächst auf beiden Seiten zunehmend der Wunsch, diese Wahrnehmungen zu ändern.

"Die Leute wollen wirklich mehr über Afrika wissen und ich meine, sie wollen mehr über afrikanische Geschichten etc. wissen. Sie freuen sich schon sehr darauf, den Erfolg des Projekts zu sehen, sie wollen, dass Afrika seinen Platz in der Spieleindustrie einnimmt. Und leider ist ihr Wissen über Afrika als Kontinent wirklich auf das beschränkt, was die Medien zeigen, die eine wirklich schlechte Darstellung des Kontinents bieten." Abdou Aziz Sall, Enter Africa Dakar

"Der Rest der Welt weiß eigentlich nicht viel über Afrika und Länder und baut alles auf Stereotypen auf. Ich traf zwei Studentinnen, die an einem Spiel über ein futuristisches Afrika arbeiten, dabei haben sie Deutschland noch nie zuvor verlassen. Das werde ich auf jeden Fall mal auschecken." Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Kampala

"Die meisten von ihnen, wenn nicht sogar alle, haben das gesamte Konzept von Enter Africa und das, was wir erreichen wollen, wirklich geschätzt. Sie mochten es wirklich, dass wir afrikanische Geschichten auf afrikanische Weise erzählen wollen, genau so sehr, wie wir das durch Spielen und die Lösung sozialer Probleme tun wollen." Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra.
 
"Wir alle teilen ähnliche oder sogar gleiche Erfahrungen, aber isoliert voneinander. Die Kolonisation betraf die ganze Welt und nicht nur Afrika. Wir alle können so viel voneinander lernen und bestehende Lösungen in unserer Umwelt umsetzen, insbesondere in Afrika." Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg

Aktivitäten am Booth © Nina Fink
Diese und andere Diskussionen wurden während der Workshops, die Enter Africa in der A MAZE. Exchange Area anbot, vertieft. Die Themen reichten dabei vom partnerschaftlichen Dialog und zukünftigen Kooperationsmöglichkeiten ("Enter Africa and the World"), den Chancen und Herausforderungen eines Indie-Spieleentwicklers in Afrika ("Being an Indie Game Developer in Africa") bis hin zum afrikanischen Storytelling ("Storytelling in African Games"). Es wurden Fragen nach afrikanischer Mythologie gestellt, nach dem Verhältnis von Spielentwicklung, Ownership und kultureller Aneignung ("African Mythology"), und schließlich, wie afrikanische Charaktere in Spielen dargestellt werden, Stereotypen bekämpft werden können und eigene Charaktere geschaffen können, um afrikanische Geschichten zurück auf den Kontinent zu holen ("Video Game Character Design").

"Viele der Leute in den Workshops hatten je nach Thema gute Ideen. Wir sprachen viel über Vorurteile und wie man damit im Entstehungsprozess umgeht. Im Workshop zu Character Design zum Beispiel hatten wir einige Vorschläge und fanden gute talentierte Designer." Cedric Minlo, Enter Africa Yaoundé

"Ich denke, einer der Höhepunkte, die ich während A Maze hatte, war, als wir den Workshop über das Thema Indie-Gamev in Afrika beendeten, und dass die Leute danach zusammenkamen, um immer wieder Fragen zu stellen, Kontakte auszutauschen, meine Ansichten über die Indie-Szene zu erfahren, und als Indie-Spieleentwickler war ich wirklich froh, all diese Leute über die Gamingszene in Afrika zu informieren." Abdou Aziz Sall, Enter Afrika Dakar

So wurde Enter Africa nicht nur von interessierten Besucherinnen und anderen Ausstellern, sondern auch von wichtigen Stakeholdern der europäischen Gaming-Branche angesprochen. Universitäten, Gaming Collectives und andere Organisationen bekundeten ihr Interesse an einer langfristigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Netzwerk.

"Wie können wir mit Enter Africa zusammenarbeiten, das war es, was mich alle gefragt haben." Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg
Workshops bei A MAZE © Cedric Minlo and Evelia Essenam Gadegbeku
Gleichzeitig zeigte die Teilnahme an A MAZE, dass Enter Africa noch einen langen Weg vor sich hat, sowohl was die Präsentation auf der Gamescom im August 2019 als auch die Zukunft des gesamten Netzwerks betrifft. In erster Linie fehlte es den meisten Leuten, die eigentlichen Spiele zu spielen.

"Mein Eindruck war, dass wir noch einen langen Weg vor uns haben, um ihre Erwartungen zu erfüllen, aber dass es viele Menschen und Organisationen gab, die daran interessiert waren, zusammenzuarbeiten und uns zu unterstützen. (....) wir sind gespalten, wie wir die Zukunft von Enter Africa sehen, und (....) wir müssen mehr darüber reden." Mihret Redda, Enter Africa Addis Abeba

Dennoch war das große Potenzial von Enter Africa für alle sichtbar.

"Enter Africa hat eine kleine Gruppe von magischen Köpfen vereint und kann daher dasselbe auch in größerem Maßstab tun. Wir müssen weitermachen, denn das ist es, wonach wir uns alle sehnen, eine Plattform, auf der alle afrikanischen Geschichten und Erfahrungen erzählt werden können." Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Kampala

Alles in allem war A MAZE eine wichtige Erfahrung für Enter Africa. Es bot den Mitgliedern die Möglichkeit, sich einem breiten Publikum und relevanten Stakeholdern der internationalen (Indie-) Gaming-Szene zu präsentieren und damit auch ihre individuellen Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten zu erweitern. A MAZE war eine erste Plattform für die Entwicklung zukünftiger Partnerschaften und Kooperationsmöglichkeiten und damit ein entscheidender Schritt zur nachhaltigen und selbstbestimmten Entwicklung des Enter Africa-Netzwerks selbst.

"Deutschland ist wirklich kalt und es gibt so viele Möglichkeiten in der Welt. Ich kann buchstäblich jeder sein, der ich sein will, solange ich hart daran arbeite und immer eine positive Einstellung in allem habe, was ich tue." Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg

"A MAZE hat mir sehr viel bedeutet. Es bedeutete, mich auf den Weltmarkt zu bringen. Es bedeutete, aus meiner Hülle auszubrechen, indem ich vor einem Publikum auf der Bühne sprach. Es bedeutete, neue Leute mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund zu treffen und sich mit ihnen zu verbinden." Matthew Hansen, Enter Africa Accra

"Zu erkennen, dass ich als Afrikaner weniger Zeit damit verbringen sollte, mich über die Vergangenheit oder die Auswirkungen unserer Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart zu beschweren, und auf die Zukunft zu schauen, indem ich Alternativen finde oder mir sogar neue Systeme ausdenke, denen die ganze Welt folgen könnte und die uns so als Gemeinschaft der Welt näher bringen könnten. Das habe ich aus den Workshops und den Gesprächen mit Leuten am Stand und dem Event gelernt." Thabo Tsolo, Enter Africa Johannesburg

Am Ende vermittelte die Erfahrung bei A MAZE schließlich eine einfache Botschaft:

"Kooperation macht alles möglich." Frank John Magulyati, Enter Africa Dar es Salaam

Abschlussbild mit Festivalleiter Thorsten Wiedemann© Evelia Gadegbeku Essenam

Top