© BlackKaji/ Playfreely

Nusasonic in BlackKaijXtra

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic is a two-day programme on 20–21 July 2019 in Singapore, with daytime programme of panels and workshop, and night-time concerts.

Nusasonic in BlackKaijXtra © BlackKaji/ Playfreely

About Nusasonic in BlackKajiXtra

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic is a two-day programme on 20–21 July 2019 in Singapore, with daytime programme of panels and workshop, and night-time concerts. The Singapore special (of monthly concert series BlackKaji) introduces new musicians (from Horizon99, Amazon Sun and Pupa) to the Nusasonic journey and deepens the intra-regional dialogues on experimental sound and music cultures.

About Nusasonic in BlackKajiXtra

Artists in BlackKajiXtra

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta

Nadah el Shazly

Starting out singing Misfits covers in a local punk band, Cairo’s Nadah el Shazly has since been making a name for herself in the city’s underground scene by producing her own electronic tracks. Her debut album, Ahwar (2017), emerged via Nawa Recordings, a label run by Khyam Allami that focuses on Middle Eastern artists.

Amazon Sun ©

Amazon Sun

Phitthaya Phaefuang, also known as Sun, was born in Thailand, and then moved to Norway when he was 3 years old. He graduated from Oslo National Academy of the arts in 2011, with a bachelor in modern and contemporary dance.

Fauxe © Fauxe

Fauxe

His 2015 EP, titled Huh Fuck Another Beat Tape, sampled recently dug up recordings of Singaporean tracks from the 60s, creating incredibly melodic grooves by “twisting them in a Dilla-like fashion” (Bandwagon Asia). The EP was produced and recorded within 24 hours, using only the first takes from contributing rappers Mediocre Haircut Crew.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi was accidentally founded by Kasimyn and Ican Harem following their fad staging at an underground punk concert in Denpasar. After some DJ- and MC-ing, Kasimyn began producing tracks for the duo using the smallest musical instrument: the Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, while Ican Harem provides vocals and joke-filled improvisation.

Rot Front ©Rot Front

ROT FRONT and A(;D (aka Aiyu Jelly)

ROT FRONT and A(;D (aka Aiyu Jelly) are co-founders and current organizers of Horizon99, a broadcast series using the party as form, the club as situation, music as binder.

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta

Jessica Ekomane

Berlin-based musician and installation artist Jessica Ekomane creates situations in which sound functions as a form of catharsis. Her work intersperses noise and melody, playing with listeners’ perception of rhythmic structures and seeking to transform the space between sound and audience.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Born in Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, Rully Shabara is interested in exploring oral traditions, folkloric texts, and the human voice as a medium of creation. Shabara is perhaps best-known internationally for his work as one-half of duo Senyawa (with Wukir Suryadi), where he explores the limits of the vocal range and vocal textures. As a solo artist, he has releases on labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records, and Yes No Wave Music.

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Setabuhan is a project created by Rully Shabara in 2017. In essence, it is a modern reinvention of tribal trance music delivered by the pure muscle and stamina of two heavy percussionists (Ramberto Agozalie and Caesarking), with voice (Rully Shabara) as the only other instrument. The project is originally inspired by the monotonous and interlocking beats of the ancient Central Sulawesian ritual, Balia; a dance associated with animism and sacred objects, particularly relating to traditional medicine used to treat someone who is affected by evil spirits.

The Observatory

The Observatory –a name that may suggest passive objectivity, but which really describes a band whose music is an impassioned response to the society it is enmeshed in. A world where politics have failed us, power and greed rule us, and hate and ignorance divide us.

Kasimyn ©

Kasimyn

Originally from a ghetto in North Jakarta, and now a resident in Southern Bali, Kasimyn has been cited by Fact magazine stylistically as “a mayhem of anti-aesthetic fun”. He has also been featured in Boiler Room’s Pure Rave Article and contributed a mix for its’ Global Hard Dance Mix no 9.

Pupa ©

Pupa

Pupa (pronounced "Poo-PAH") is a 2-piece electronic band comprised of Wu Jun Han and Zeekos Perakos. Formed in 2013 by chance, Pupa was interwoven at a transitionary phase for both individuals.

Nuh Peace ©

Nuh Peace

Nuh Peace is a multidisciplinary artist / fashion designer based in Bangkok / New York whose mediums combine fashion, performance, video and party. Using elements of post-internet, club-kids, drag and cyberpunk, they embody multiple experiences collaging countercultures and popular subcultures such as punk, techno, goth, rave, cyber and drag.

Horizon99 ©Horizon99

Horizon99

ROT FRONT and A(;D (aka Aiyu Jelly) are co-founders and current organizers of Horizon99, a broadcast series using the party as form, the club as situation, music as binder.

Cari Padu ©

Cari Padu

Conducted by Rully Shabara (Senyawa, ZOO, Setabuhan) and originally commissioned for Biennale Jogja 13, Cari Padu is a public choir formed with the intention of mocking how society is governed, in pursuit of awareness and harmony to achieve universal love.

© BlackKaji/ Playfreely

Nusasonic in BlackKaijXtra

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic fand vom 20. bis 21. Juli 2019 an zwei Tagen in Singapur statt, mit Panels und Workshops am Tag und Konzerten in der Nacht. Das Singapur-Special (der monatlichen Konzertreihe BlackKaji) führte neue Musiker*innen (Horizon99, Amazon Sun und Pupa) in Nusasonic ein und vertiefte die intraregionalen Dialoge über experimentelle Klang- und Musikkulturen.

Über Nusasonic in BlackKajiXtra

Künstler*innen

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta 2019

Nadah el Shazly

Sie begann mit dem Singen von Misfits-Liedern in einer lokalen Punk-Band. Seitdem hat sich Nadah el Shazly aus Kairo mit ihren eigenen elektronischen Tracks einen Namen in der Underground-Szene der Stadt gemacht. Ihr Debütalbum, Ahwar (2017), entstand über Nawa Recordings, ein Label von Khyam Allami, das sich auf Künstler aus dem Nahen Osten konzentriert.

Amazon Sun ©

Amazon Sun

Phitthaya Phaefuang, auch bekannt als Sun (Sonne), wurde in Thailand geboren. Mit drei Jahren zog seine Familie nach Norwegen. Sun schloss 2011 einen Bachelor in modernem und zeitgenössischem Tanz an der National Academy of the Arts in Oslo ab.

Fauxe © Fauxe

Fauxe

Seine 2015er EP mit dem Titel Huh Fuck Another Beat Tape hat kürzlich Aufnahmen von singapurischen Tracks aus den 60er Jahren gesampelt und dabei unglaublich melodische Grooves kreiert, indem „sie ‚Dilla-artig’ gedreht wurden“ (Bandwagon Asia). Die EP wurde innerhalb von 24 Stunden produziert und aufgenommen, wobei nur die ersten Aufnahmen der dazu beigetragenen Rappern der Mediocre Haircut Crew verwendet wurden.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi wurde eher zufällig von Kasimyn und Ican Harem nach einer kurzlebigen Inszenierung bei einem Underground-Punkkonzert in Denpasar gegründet. Nach einigen DJ- und MC-Auftritten begann Kasimyn, mit dem kleinsten Musikinstrument Tracks für das Duo zu produzieren: dem Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, während Ican Harem Gesang und humorvolle Improvisation dazu bietet.

Rot Front ©Rot Front

ROT FRONT and A(;D (aka Aiyu Jelly)

ROT FRONT und A(;D (auch bekannt als Aiyu Jelly) sind Mitbegründer und aktuelle Organisatoren der Sendereihe Horizon99, welche die Party als Form, den Club als Situation und die Musik als Klebstoff, der alles zusammenhält, verwendet.

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta 2019

Jessica Ekomane

Die in Berlin lebende Musikerin und Installationskünstlerin Jessica Ekomane schafft Situationen, in denen Klang als eine Form von Katharsis fungiert. Ihre Arbeit durchsetzt Lärm und Melodie, spielt mit der Wahrnehmung rhythmischer Strukturen der Zuhörer und versucht, den Raum zwischen Klang und Publikum zu transformieren.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara wurde in Palu, Zentral-Sulawesi, Indonesien geboren und interessiert sich für mündliche Überlieferungen, folkloristische Texte und die menschliche Stimme als Medium der Schöpfung. Shabara ist vielleicht international am bekanntesten für seine Arbeit als eine Hälfte des Duos Senyawa (mit Wukir Suryadi), wo er die Grenzen des Stimmumfangs und der Stimmstrukturen erforscht.

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Das Projekt Setabuhan wurde im Jahr 2017 von Rully Shabara initiiert. Im Wesentlichen ist es eine moderne Neuerfindung der Tribal-Trance-Musik durch die reine Muskelkraft und Ausdauer von zwei schweren Perkussionisten (Ramberto Agozalie und Caesarking), mit der Stimme (Rully Shabara) als das einzige andere Instrument.

The Observatory ©

The Observatory

The Observatory - ein Name, der zunächst passive Objektivität suggeriert. Tatsächlich beschreibt er jedoch eine Band, deren Musik eine leidenschaftliche Antwort auf die Gesellschaft ist, in die sie verwickelt ist. Eine Welt, in der die Politik versagt hat, Macht und Gier uns beherrschen und Hass und Unwissenheit uns trennen.

Kasimyn ©

Kasimyn

Ursprünglich aus einem Ghetto in Nordjakarta und heute auf Süd-Bali ansässig, wurde Kasimyn vom Fact Magazin stilistisch als "ein Chaos des antiästhetischen Spaßes" bezeichnet. Auch die unabhängige Musikplattform Boiler Room stellte Kasimyn in dem Artikel „Pure Rave“ kurz vor, für welche er einen Mix für den Global Hard Dance Mix Nr. 9 beisteuerte.

Pupa ©

Pupa

Pupa ist eine elektronische Band, bestehend aus Wu Jun Han und Zeekos Perakos. Die Band wurde 2013 durch Zufall gegründet, da beide Künstler eine Übergangsphase überbrückten.

Nuh Peace ©

Nuh Peace

NUH PEACE ist ein interdisziplinär arbeitender Künstler / Modedesigner mit Sitz in Bangkok / New York. Seine Schöpfungen verbinden Mode mit Performance, Video und Party, und bestehen aus Elementen, die dem Post-Internet, Club-Kids, Drag und Cyberpunk zugeordnet werden. Sein Schaffen versteht NUH PEACE als Ausdruck seiner gesammelten Erfahrungen mit Gegenkulturen und beliebten Subkulturen aus den Bereichen Punk, Techno, Gothic, Rave, Cyber und Drag.

Horizon99 ©Horizon99

Horizon99

ROT FRONT und A(;D (auch bekannt als Aiyu Jelly) sind Mitbegründer und aktuelle Organisatoren der Sendereihe Horizon99, welche die Party als Form, den Club als Situation und die Musik als Klebstoff, der alles zusammenhält, verwendet.

Cari Padu ©

Cari Padu

Cari Padu ist ein öffentlicher Chor, der von Rully Shabara (Senyawa, ZOO, Setabuhan) dirigiert und ursprünglich für die Biennale Jogja 13 in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Ziel des Chors ist es, menschliches Streben und Überwachung durch soziale Strukturen kritisch zu kommentieren.