Theme 2019: Humboldt and the Web of Life

Theme of the Year 2019: Humboldt and the Web of Life

Humboldt-today.de © Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
What has Alexander von Humboldt, who was born 250 years ago (1769 - 1859), to do with global climate change and sustainability today? Alexander von Humboldt revolutionized the conception of nature by scientifically approaching it as an interconnected living web - and in doing so, inspired countless scientists, environmentalists, writers and artists alike. On the 250 Year Anniversary of Humboldt’s birth, we need such a global perspective more today than ever: an appreciation that all things are connected and that harm caused in one place, always has implications elsewhere and for the whole. Perhaps these ideas can help to stimulate alternatives - whole-system thinking and the pursuit of endeavors that rejuvenate the natural world. Humboldt had respect for nature, for the wonders it contained, but also as the system in which we ourselves are an inseparable part.

In a time when scientists are trying to understand and predict the global consequences of climate change, Humboldt’s interdisciplinary approach to science and nature is more relevant than ever. He refused to be tied to one discipline and insisted that all and everything was linked — humans, land clearing, plants, oceans, biodiversity, atmospheric changes, temperature, and so on. Humboldt’s nature was a global force. Time and again he examined the connections between nature and science, art and society, and has taken a cosmopolitan perspective on the world as a whole. When nature is perceived as a web, its vulnerability also becomes obvious. Everything hangs together. If one thread is pulled, the whole tapestry might unravel.

The Science Film Festival 2019 aims to illustrate the relevance of this complex approach to the 21st century, in particular for students and young people, and raise awareness of environmental issues, climate change and sustainability.

Thema des Jahres 2019:
Humboldt und das Netz des Lebens

Thema des Jahres 2019: Humboldt und das Netz des Lebens

Humboldt-heute.de © Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Was hat Alexander von Humboldt, der vor 250 Jahren geboren wurde, heute mit globalem Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit zu tun? Alexander von Humboldt (1769–1859) revolutionierte die Naturauffassung, indem er sie wissenschaftlich als vernetztes lebendiges Netz ansah und inspirierte damit unzählige Wissenschaftler, Umweltschützer, Schriftsteller und Künstler gleichermaßen. Zum 250. Jubiläum von Humboldts Geburt brauchen wir heute mehr denn je eine globale Perspektive und die Einsicht, dass alle Dinge miteinander verbunden sind und Schaden an einem Ort immer Auswirkungen auf das Ganze bedeutet. Humboldt hatte Respekt vor der Natur, vor den darin enthaltenen Wundern, aber auch vor dem System, mit dem wir selbst untrennbar verbunden sind.

In einer Zeit, in der Experten versuchen, die globalen Folgen des Klimawandels zu verstehen und vorherzusagen, ist Humboldts interdisziplinärer Ansatz für Wissenschaft und Natur aktueller denn je. Er lehnte es ab, an eine Disziplin gebunden zu sein und bestand darauf, dass alles zusammenhängt – Menschen, Rodungen, Pflanzen, Ozeane, Artenvielfalt, atmosphärische Veränderungen, Temperatur und so weiter. Humboldt verstand die Natur als globale Kraft. Immer wieder untersuchte er die Zusammenhänge zwischen Natur und Wissenschaft, Kunst und Gesellschaft und betrachtete die Welt aus kosmopolitischer Sicht in ihrer Gesamtheit. Wer die Natur als Netz wahrnimmt, versteht auch ihre Verletzlichkeit besser. Alles hängt zusammen. Wird ein Faden gezogen, kann sich der ganze Teppich auflösen.

Das Science Film Festival 2019 zeigt die Relevanz dieses komplexen Ansatzes für das 21. Jahrhundert auf. Die Vorführungen richten sich insbesondere an Studierende und junge Menschen, um deren Bewusstsein für Umweltthemen, Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit zu schärfen.