Außenblick

Project picture of the study "Außenblick" © DAAD/GIZ/Goethe-Institut

How is Germany viewed by the world? The DAAD, GIZ and Goethe-Institut have addressed this question together in the study “Außenblick – International perspectives on Germany in times of the Covid-19 pandemic”. From the perspective of science, culture, economics and politics. A particular focus of the study is the corona pandemic, which affects all areas.

Video message of the German Chancellor Angela Merkel on the expert exchange on the results of the study "Außenblick" on July 8, 2021
Video message of the German Chancellor Angela Merkel on the expert exchange on the results of the study "Außenblick" on July 8, 2021






Without German skills it’s difficult to gain access to Germany and the Germans: “The easiest way to make Germany your own is to speak their language.” At the same time, learning the German language is considered a great challenge.

The study is based on a dual level mixed format: a combination of a structured online questionnaire and semi-narrative in-depth interviews. We contacted experts from the partner networks of the three organisations who know Germany well and are able to formulate the expectations, desires and fears they have of Germany based on their observations. 622 people from 37 countries responded to the quantitative online questionnaire. 48 interviewees from 24 countries were questioned on their perspective of Germany during the in-depth interviews.

Management of the corona pandemic in spring 2020 was to a large extent viewed as efficient and exemplary. This opinion changed in the second wave. A gradual reduction in discipline was observed in the population, as well as problems with sourcing, logistics and organisation in the vaccination campaign. The interviewees felt that the lessons learned from the corona pandemic include the necessity for stronger international cooperation, as well as the importance of a functioning healthcare system and the requirement for an effective crisis management strategy. 

From an external perspective, German history is strongly linked with the history of National Socialism: “When Germany is thinking about its future, the neighbours are thinking about its past.” 

Further Information

Do you have further questions about the study "Außenblick - International perspectives on Germany in times of the Covid-19 pandemic"? Then please contact one of the following persons.

Contact

We are happy to send you a print copy of the study. Please contact Melanie Barón to request one.
 
Melanie Barón
Referentin Studie Außenblick
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)89-15921 881
Melanie.baron@goethe.de 
Frederike Berje
Referentin für Studien
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)89-15921 318
Frederike.berje@goethe.de 

Viola Noll
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)160 96 99 09 95
noll@goethe.de 
www.goethe.de/hauptstadtbuero  
 
 

Partner

Das Logo des DAAD © DAAD
Das Logo des giz © giz

Top

Außenblick

Projektbild der Studie Außenblick © DAAD/GIZ/Goethe-Institut

Wie wird Deutschland in der Welt gesehen? Mit der Studie „Außenblick – Internationale Perspektiven auf Deutschland in Zeiten von Corona“ nähern sich DAAD, GIZ und Goethe-Institut gemeinsam dieser Frage. Aus der Perspektive von Wissenschaft, Kultur, Wirtschaft und Politik. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf der Corona-Pandemie, die alle Bereiche betrifft. 
 

Videobotschaft der Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel zum Fachaustausch über die Ergebnisse der Studie „Außenblick“ am 8. Juli 2021
Videobotschaft der Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel zum Fachaustausch über die Ergebnisse der Studie „Außenblick“ am 8. Juli 2021






Ohne Deutschkenntnisse sei es schwierig, einen Zugang zu Deutschen und zu Deutschland zu finden: „Der einfachste Weg, Deutsche für sich zu gewinnen, ist, ihre Sprache zu sprechen.“ Gleichzeitig sei das Erlernen der deutschen Sprache eine große Herausforderung.

Die Studie basiert auf einem zweistufigen, gemischten Design: Sie ist eine Kombination aus einer strukturierten Online-Befragung und semi-narrativen Tiefeninterviews im Januar bzw. März 2021. Kontaktiert wurden Expert*innen aus den Partnernetzwerken der drei Organisationen, die Deutschland gut kennen und anhand ihrer Beobachtungen Erwartungen, Wünsche und Befürchtungen gegenüber Deutschland formulieren können. 622 Personen aus 37 Ländern gaben in der quantitativen Online-Befragung Antworten. In vertiefenden Interviews wurden 48 Gesprächspartner*innen in 24 Ländern zu ihrer Sicht auf Deutschland befragt.

Das Management der Corona-Pandemie im Frühjahr 2020 wurde weithin als effizient und vorbildlich wahrgenommen. Diese Einschätzung änderte sich in der zweiten Welle. Beobachtet wurden eine schleichende Abnahme der Disziplin in der Bevölkerung und Probleme bei der Beschaffung, Logistik und Organisation der Impfkampagne. Zu den Lehren aus der Corona-Pandemie zählen die Gesprächspartner*innen die Notwendigkeit einer stärkeren internationalen Zusammenarbeit, besonders hervorgehoben wurden ferner die Bedeutung eines funktionierenden Gesundheitssystems und das Erfordernis eines effektiven Krisenmanagements. 

Die deutsche Geschichte wird von außen stark mit der Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus verbunden: „Wenn Deutschland an seine Zukunft denkt, denken die Nachbarn an seine Vergangenheit.“

WEITERFÜHRENDE INFORMATIONEN

Sie haben weitere Fragen zur Studie "Außenblick –  Internationale Perspektiven auf Deutschland in Zeiten von Corona" ? Dann melden Sie sich gerne bei einer der folgenden Personen.

KONTAKT

Gerne schicken wir Ihnen auch ein Print-Exemplar der Studie zu. Bitte wenden Sie sich dafür an Melanie Barón.
 
Melanie Barón
Referentin Studie Außenblick
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)89-15921 881
Melanie.baron@goethe.de 
Frederike Berje
Referentin für Studien
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)89-15921 318
Frederike.berje@goethe.de 

Viola Noll
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Goethe-Institut
+49 (0)160 96 99 09 95
noll@goethe.de 
www.goethe.de/hauptstadtbuero  
 
 

Partner

Das Logo des giz Das Logo des DAAD
 

Top