Events and Competitions

Events and Competitions

Activating pupils is one of the most important – and sometimes most difficult – challenges any teacher faces. The Goethe-Institut Australia has therefore put together a series of cultural events and competitions designed to help you motivate your pupils and to make learning German more fun.



Events Goethe-Institut in Sydney (NSW, QLD, ACT, NT)


Are you planning a school excursion with your German class? We would love to welcome you at Goethe-Institut Sydney! We offer different, topic-related activities for students. We are seeking to give your students the opportunity to actively get to know the German language and culture as well as to convey a current image of Germany in a way that is suitable for youth.

The Goethe-Institut in Sydney currently offers two poster exhibitions  "Land of Inventors - Research in Germany" and Lautstark.

Target group: all levels
Duration: approx. 2hrs
Costs: free
Contact: inken.steeb@sydney.goethe.org

Would you and your students like to prepare the oral HSC exam together with other German learners? We offer a day with intensive communicative activities for high school students from different schools, who prepare the oral exam under guidance of experienced teachers.

Dates for 2018:
HSC Continuers Day: 4.5.2018
HSC Extension Day: 1.6.2018

Target group: HSC Continuers/Extension
Duration: 9am - 2 pm
Cost: free entry Registration Form

What is a ring-tailed possum in German? Or a short-beaked echidna? What about a blue tongued lizard? Where does the python live? What animal cannot get enough of eating Praying Mantids and how does a crocodile get its babies? If that sounds interesting for your students, the German Zoo Days Goethe Goes Wild offered by the Goethe Institute Australien are just the right idea for you and your German classes!

Target group: Level A1-A2, classes 6-8
Cost: $19 per student

Brisbane Zoo Days: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Dates 2018:
  • 13.6.2018
  • 14.6.2018
  • 15.6.2018
Registration Form - Brisbane
Sydney Zoo Days: Taronga Zoo
Please contact  inken.steeb@goethe.de for more information 

Canberra Zoo Day: National Zoo&Aquarium
Please contact inken.steeb@goethe.de for more information

Target group
Students from level 7 for schools with German classes and a possible cooperation with the subject art

Project instructor
Gabriele Richter, freelance artist and lecturer German as Foreign Language

Project location
Gallery of New South Wales, Working room in the Goethe-Institut or in the school

Program
Guided tour through a department of the gallery and evaluation of the tour with German work material
Students create their own artwork under the theme of the exhibition

Time
Part 1: 90 minutes
Part 2: 150 minutes

Further information
  • Part 1 can be booked separately
  • Working material for the artwork of the students must be provided by the school
  • Class material will be provided by the Goethe-Institut
  • Instructor fee to be discussed
Contact
marina.shine@sydney.goethe.org   

For high school students we are offering HSC preparation courses (continuers and extension). These courses are suitable for Year 11 and Year 12 students who wish to enrich their knowledge of German in their school holidays. The content is based on themes and topics specified to the NSW curriculum. 

Target Group: Year 10-12
Date: 10.07.-14.07.2017
Continuers: 9:30-12:30 pm
Extension: 1:30-4:30pm
For further information please visit the Language Course Department website
Costs: $279 per course
Contact: learngerman@sydney.goethe.org    
 

New arrival: Our ‘Wheel Of Knowledge‘! The Goethe-Institut provides the opportunity to lend a wheel of fortune and attached quiz questions for German lessons at schools or promotional events.  The questions refer to the five categories ‘German Food’, ‘German Cities and Geography’, ‘German Language’, ‘Sports’ and ‘leisure time’. If interested, the wheel of fortune is available for self-pick up at the Goethe-Institut Sydney.

Contact: inken.steeb@goethe.de
Cost:  free

The Wheel of Knowledge
© Goethe-Institut

Events Goethe-Institut in Melbourne (VIC, SA, WA, TAS)


Why should your next school excursion not go to the Goethe-Institut? Guided tours through regularly changing, interesting exhibitions are waiting for you at the Goethe-Institut in Melbourne, as well as a range of topic-related activities. We are seeking to give your students the opportunity to actively get to know the German language and culture as well as to convey a current image of Germany in a way that is suitable for youth.

In addition to general information concerning the work of Goethe-Institut in Australia but also worldwide, we offer changing learning stations in relation to the exhibitions that we host at the Goethe-Institut.

Contact: Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org

The German Day Out is held in Victoria each year. Lectures and a cultural programs give students the chance to learn about the advantages and opportunities that German language skills offer.

Target Group: Year 8-12
Duration: approx. 3-4h
Costs: varying
Date: Wed, 26 July 2017
Location: Melbourne Town Hall
Contact: Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org
 

Would your students like to prepare for their VCE-exams or improve their grammar skills together with other learners of German of the same age? Then our VCE and Grammar Classes are the perfect opportunity for them. We offer an intensive and effective preparation for their VCE-exams with the help of our qualified and experienced teachers.

Target Group: Year 10-12
Duration: varying, for further information please visit the Language Course Department website.
Costs: depending on the duration of the course

We also offer group courses outside of Melbourne, e.g. in Latrobe Valley, cost depends on the duration of the course.   

Motivate your students with a sense of achievement! With the Goethe-Zertifikat A1: Fit in Deutsch 1 and the Goethe-Zertifikat A2: Fit in Deutsch exams, your students get the opportunity to gain an internationally recognized certificate. The exams require simple German language skills and cover topics from everyday situations like presenting oneself and others, reading and listening comprehension, as well as common questions and requests.

For more information visit the Language Course Department website.   

Competition

Goethe-Institut and its partners in Australia, as well as various organisations in Germany regularly offer competitions for students, teachers and other target groups. You can win attractive prizes, occasionally even cash prizes or scholarships to Germany. It is always worthwhile to keep an eye on this page!


This competition invites students and school classes to produce a short film on a given topic in any format. There are three categories, with three prizes awarded in each category. Information is usually published in March each year.

School Film Festival

The Goethe-Institut, in collaboration with the German Teachers’ Association of Victoria AGTV invites students of German in Year 10 and 11 to participate in this popular competition. The lucky main winner will receive a full language scholarship for a 3-week German course at a Goethe-Institut in Germany in January 2018, including airfares and full board. Two further prizes are an intensive holiday course each by the Goethe-Institut (to be taken before November 2018).

The scholarschips will be announced and presented at the German Day Out 2017 on 26 July 2017.

Application deadline is 24 May 2017. Contact:
Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org

AGTV

The Goethe-Institut Sydney invites students of German in Year 10 and 11 to participate in this popular competition. The lucky winner will receive a full language scholarship for a 3-week German course in Germany in January 2019, including airfares and full board. Two further prizes are an intensive holiday course each held at the Goethe-Institut Sydney (to be taken before November 2019).

Each applicant is required
·to hand in a flyer, poster or brochure in GERMAN in which the student presents “Deutsch in meiner Welt”
·and to write a supporting letter in ENGLISH (approx. 200 words) in which the student explains why he/she is the ideal candidate for this scholarship.
 
Application deadline: 22.June 2018

Contact:  Inken.Steeb@goethe.de


The German Language Network Tasmania conducts the annual Goethe Competition. For students in secondary schools this consists of poetry recital, reading comprehension and listening comprehension, while primary students in Years 5 and 6 submit a poster. There are always lovely prizes from Germany to be won.

Contact:
Ans van Heyster
ansvanh@gmail.com

Top

Wettbewerbe und Veranstaltungen

Schüler und Schülerinnen zu aktivieren ist eine der wichtigsten - und manchmal schwierigsten - Aufgaben jeder Lehrerin bzw. jedes Lehrers. Das Goethe-Institut Australien hat deshalb eine Reihe von Angeboten zu Kulturveranstaltungen und Wettbewerben zusammengestellt, die Ihnen dabei helfen sollen, Ihre Schüler und Schülerinnen zu motivieren, so dass Deutsch lernen mehr Spaß und Freude macht.



Veranstaltungen Goethe-Institut in Sydney (NSW, QLD, ACT, NT)


Sie planen einen Schulausflug mit Ihrer Deutschklasse? Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie bei uns im Goethe-Institut vorbeischauen. Wir bieten unterschiedliche, thematisch orientierte Aktivitäten für SchülerInnen an und wollen damit vor allem ein aktuelles Deutschlandbild, das Jugendliche auch interessiert, vermitteln. Außerdem sollen die SchülerInnen hier am Institut die deutsche Sprache erleben und sprechen können. 

Zielgruppe: alle Niveau- bzw. Klassenstufen
Zeit: ca. 2h
Kosten: kostenlos
Kontakt: inken.steeb@goethe.de

Sie und Ihre SchülerInnen möchten gerne mit anderen Deutschlernern zusammen das mündliche HSC Examen optimal vorbereiten! Wir bieten einen Tag mit intensiven kommunikativen Aktivitäten für Oberschüler verschiedenen Schulen zusammen an, die sich in der HSC - Stufe unter Anleitung erfahrener LehrerInnen intensiv und prüfungsorientiert auf die mündliche Abschlussprüfung vorbereiten.

Termine 2018:
HSC Continuers Day: 4.5.2018
HSC Extension Day: 1.6.2018

Zielgruppe: HSC Continuers und Extension
Zeit: 9.00 - 14.00 Uhr
Kosten: Eintritt frei
Anmeldeformular

Was ist ein Ring-tailed Possum auf Deutsch? Oder ein Short Beaked Echidna? Oder gar ein Blue Tongue Lizard? Wo lebt der Python? Wer frisst Gottesanbeterinnen am liebsten und wie bekommt ein Krokodil seine Jungen? Wenn das interessant für Ihre SchülerInnen klingt und Sie Deutsch einmal auf anderem Wege lehren möchten, dann sind die Zootage vom Goethe-Institut Australien genau das Richtige für Sie und Ihre Deutschklassen.

Zielgruppe: Niveau A1-A2/ Klassenstufen 7-8
Kosten: $19 pro SchülerIn

Brisbane Zoo Tage: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Termine 2018:
  • 13.6.2018
  • 14.6.2018
  • 15.6.2018
Anmeldeformular - Brisbane
Sydney Zoo Tage: Taronga Zoo
Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
inken.steeb@goethe.de

Canberra Zoo Tag: National Zoo&Aquarium
Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
inken.steeb@goethe.de

Zielgruppe
Schüler (ab 7. Klasse) mit Deutschunterricht und einer möglichen Kooperation mit dem Fach Kunst

Projektleitung
Gabriele Richter, Freischaffende Künstlerin und Dozentin für Deutsch als Fremdsprache  
                  
Projektort
Gallery of New South Wales, Arbeitsraum im Goethe-Institut oder in der Schule

Ablauf
Führung durch eine Abteilung der Galerie und Auswertung der Führung mit deutschsprachigen Arbeitsblättern
Schüler erstellen ein eigenes Kunstwerk zum Thema der Ausstellung

Zeit         
Teil 1: 90 Minuten
Teil 2: 150 Minuten

Weitere Informationen
  • Teil 1 kann auch seperat gebucht werden.
  • Arbeitsmaterial für Kunstwerke der Schüler wird von der Schule gestellt
  • Unterrichtsmaterial übernimmt das Goethe-Institut
  • Honorar für die Projektleitung nach Absprache.
Kontakt
marina.shine@sydney.goethe.org   

Das Goethe-Institut Sydney bietet HSC Vorbereitungskurse für die Niveaus Continuers und Extension an. Diese Kurse sind zugeschnitten auf Schüler der 11. und 12. Klasse, die ihre Deutschkenntnisse in den Schulferien erweitern möchten. Der Unterricht basiert auf Themen des NSW Lehrplans.

Zielgruppe: Jahrgangsstufe 10-12
Datum: 10.07.-14.07.2017
Continuers: 9:30-12:30
Extension: 13:30-16:30
Preis: $279
Kontakt:  learngerman@sydney.goethe.org   

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite der Sprachkursabteilung

  
 

Neu eingetroffen: Unser „Rad des Wissens“! Das Goethe-Institut bietet die Möglichkeit, ein Glücksrad und dazugehörige Quizfragen für den Schulunterricht oder Werbeveranstaltungen auszuleihen. Die Fragen beziehen sich auf die fünf Kategorien „Deutsches Essen“, „Deutsche Städte und Geografie“, „Deutsche Sprache“, „Sport“ und „Freizeit“. Bei Interesse steht das Glücksrad am Goethe-Institut Sydney zur Selbstabholung bereit.

Kontakt:  inken.steeb@sydney.goethe.org
Kosten: kostenlos

Das Rad des Wissens
© Goethe-Institut

Veranstaltungen Goethe-Institut in Melbourne (VIC, SA, WA, TAS)


Warum hat Ihr nächster Schulausflug nicht das Goethe-Institut als Ziel? Betreute Führungen durch regelmäßig wechselnde, interessante Ausstellungen erwarten Sie am Goethe-Institut in Melbourne sowie eine Auswahl an Aktivitäten zu einer Reihe unterschiedlicher Themen. Unser Ziel ist es, Ihren Schülern die Gelegenheit zu bieten, die deutsche Sprache und Kultur aktiv kennenzulernen sowie ein aktuelles altersgemäßes Bild von Deutschland für Jugendliche zu vermitteln.

Neben allgemeinen Informationen über die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts in Australien, aber auch weltweit, bieten wir Schulprogramme in Zusammenhang mit Ausstellungen, die bei uns im Goethe-Institut stattfinden, an.

Kontakt: Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org

Jedes Jahr findet in Victoria der German Day Out statt. Die Schüler haben die Möglichkeit, durch Vorträge und ein kulturelles Rahmenprogramm etwas über die Vorteile und Chancen in Erfahrung zu bringen, die ihnen das Erlernen der deutschen Sprache bietet.

Zielgruppe: Jahrgangsstufe 8-12
Dauer: ca. 3-4 Stunden
Preis: Variiert  
Datum: Mi, 26. Juli 2017
Ort: Melbourne Town Hall 
Kontakt: Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org
 

Ihre Schüler möchten sich gerne auf ihre VCE-Prüfungen vorbereiten oder ihre Grammatikkenntnisse gemeinsam mit anderen Deutschlernern im gleichen Alter aufbessern? Dann sind unsere VCE- und Grammatikkurse die perfekte Gelegenheit für sie. Wir bieten eine intensive und effektive Vorbereitung für VCE-Prüfungen bei qualifizierten und erfahrenen Lehrkräften an.
 
Zielgruppe: Jahrgangsstufe 10-12
Dauer: Variiert, weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite der Sprachkursabteilung.
Preis: Variiert abhängig von der Kursdauer
 
Außerdem bieten wir Gruppenkurse außerhalb von Melbourne an, z.B. im Latrobe Valley. Preis abhängig von der Kursdauer. 

Motivieren Sie Ihre Schüler durch ein Erfolgserlebnis! Mit den Goethe-Zertifikat A1: FIT in Deutsch 1 und dem Goethe-Zertifikat A2: FIT in Deutsch Prüfungen erhalten Ihre Schüler die Möglichkeit, ein international anerkanntes Zertifikat zu erwerben. Die Prüfungen erfordern grundlegende Deutschkenntnisse und testen unterschiedlichste Bereiche, von Alltagssituationen wie sich selbst und andere vorstellen meistern über Lese- und Hörverstehensübungen bis hin zu Fragen zu allgemeinen Themen.
 
Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite der Sprachkursabteilung.   

Wettbewerbe

Das Goethe-Institut und seine Partner in Australien sowie verschiedene Organisationen in Deutschland organisieren regelmäßig Wettbewerbe für Schüler, Lehrer und andere Zielgruppen. Dabei gibt es attraktive Preise zu gewinnen, von Sachpreisen bis zu Geldpreisen und sogar Stipendien für einen Deutschlandaufenthalt. Es lohnt sich also, diese Seite im Auge zu behalten!


Ein Wettbewerb für Schüler und Schulklassen, zu einem vorgegebenen Thema einen Kurzfilm in einem beliebigen Format zu drehen. Es werden jeweils drei Preise in jeder der drei Kategorien vergeben. Informationen dazu werden im März jedes Jahres veröffentlicht.

Schulfilmfestival
 

Das Goethe-Institut Australien und der viktorianische Deutschlehrerverband AGTV laden Deutschschüler im 10. und 11. Schuljahr zur Teilnahme an diesem beliebten Wettbewerb ein. Den glücklichen Hauptgewinner erwartet ein volles Stipendium für einen 3-wöchigen Sprachkurs an einem Goethe-Institut in Deutschland im Januar 2018 inklusive Flug und Vollpension! Zwei weitere Preise können sich ebenfalls sehen lassen: je ein Feriensprachkurs des Goethe-Instituts in Melbourne nach Wahl (einzulösen vor November 2018).

Die Preisverleihung findet auf dem German Day Out 2017 am 26. Juli 2017 statt.

Anmeldeschluss ist 24. Mai 2017. Kontaktperson:
Jelena Herster
jelena.herster@melbourne.goethe.org

AGTV

Das Goethe-Insitut Sydney lädt Deutschschüler im 10. und 11. Schuljahr zur Teilnahme an diesem beliebten Wettbewerb ein. Den glücklichen Gewinner erwartet ein volles Stipendium für einen 3-wöchigen Sprachkurs in Deutschland im Januar 2018 inklusive Flug und Vollpension! Zwei weitere Preise können sich ebenfalls sehen lassen: je ein Feriensprachkurs des Goethe-Instituts in Sydney nach Wahl (einzulösen vor November 2018).

Jeder Bewerber soll folgendes einreichen:
· Einen Flyer, ein Plakat oder eine Broschüre auf DEUTSCH mit dem Thema "Deutsch in meiner Welt"
· und ein Begründungsbrief auf ENGLISCH (ca. 200 Wörter), in dem der Schüler erklärt, warum er/sie der ideale Kandidat für dieses Stipendium ist.
 
Bewerbungsschluss: 23. Juni 2017

Kontaktperson:
Inken Steeb
Inken.Steeb@sydney.goethe.org


Das Deutschlehrer-Netzwerk in Tasmanien führt jedes Jahr einen Wettbewerb für Schüler durch. Für Sekundarschüler besteht dieser Wettbewerb aus Gedichtvortrag, Lese- und Hörverständnis, während die Primarschüler im Jahr 5 und 6 ein Poster einsenden. Es gibt immer sehr nette Preise aus Deutschland zu gewinnen.

Kontaktperson:
Ans van Heyster
ansvanh@gmail.com

Top