Photo Exhibition Herlinde Koelbl: "Targets"

Herlinde Koelbl: Targets © Herlinde Koelbl

Fri, 05.05.2017 -
Sun, 28.05.2017

Paddington Reservoir

251-255 Oxford St, Paddington
2021 Sydney

Photography Exhibition at Head On Festival

Exhibition: 05-28 May 2017 from 9am until 5pm, Paddington Reservoir
 

Celebrated German artist Herlinde Koelbl visits Head On Festival in Sydney as a guest of the Goethe-Institut. At the festival she will exhibit her work "Targets" which features a selection of stunning photos showing military targets from all over the world. 

Herlinde Koelbl is one of the major political photographers in Germany. Her photos addressing burning issues of the time have made her known worldwide. Koelbl combines a journalistic documentary approach with high artistic standards in a way uniquely her own.

The project "Targets" is a particularly impressive example of this: for years Herlinde Koelbl travelled around the world, and in a total of thirty countries made photographs of the military targets used in the training of soldiers. "Targets" raises questions such as: How is the enemy, who is later to be killed, portrayed? As an abstract figure or with a face? Do the targets exhibit cultural differences? Have the images representing the enemy changed? Furthermore, in the reality of war, the soldiers themselves are always ultimately the target. Therefore the series also includes portraits of the soldiers - the living targets.

Head On Festival and the Goethe-Institut are proud to present a selection of these moving photos in Australia for the first time. They were first seen at Deutsches Historisches Museum Berlin in 2014, followed by exhibitions in Oslo at the Nobel Centre, and in Myanmar at the Goethe-Institut. 

The exhibition will be at the Paddington Reservoir, opening hours are daily from 9am until 5pm.
 
Artist Talk: 06 May 2017 at 1pm, Paddington Town Hall  

In conjunction with her exhibition at Paddington Reservoir, Herlinde Koelbl will present an artist talk at nearby Paddington Town Hall on Saturday 6th of May at 1pm. The talk will be followed by a visit to the exhibition which is only a short distance away. Later that day Herlinde Koelbl will also attend the official festival Head On Photo Festival opening at UNSW Art & Design which starts at 6pm.

In addition to “Targets”, Herlinde Koelbl will present her “Traces of Power” featuring Angela Merkel portraits at the Goethe-Institut in Sydney, opening on Thursday 04 April 2017. Click here for more info on this exhibition.


Back

Fotoausstellung Herlinde Koelbl: "Targets"

Herlinde Koelbl: Targets © Herlinde Koelbl

Fr, 05.05.2017 -
So, 28.05.2017

Paddington Reservoir

251-255 Oxford St
2021 Paddington

Fotoausstellung im Head On Photo Festival

Ausstellung: 5.-28. Mai 2017 von 9.00 bis 17.00 Uhr, Paddington Reservoir
 
Die international gefeierte deutsche Künstlerin Herlinde Koelbl reist nach Australien, ums als Gast des Goethe-Instituts beim Head On Festival in Sydney auszustellen. Das Festival präsentiert ihre Arbeit "Targets", eine Auswahl von atemberaubenden Fotos, die militärische Zielscheiben auf der ganzen Welt zeigen.

Herlinde Koelbl ist eine der bedeutenden politischen Fotografen Deutschlands. Ihre Fotos, die sich mit brennenden Ausgaben der Zeit beschäftigen, haben sie weltweit bekannt gemacht. Dabei kombiniert Koelbl ihren journalistischen und dokumentarischen Ansatz mit einem hohen künstlerischen Anspruch.

Das Projekt "Targets" zeigt dies in besonders eindrucksvoller Weise: Herlinde Koelbl reiste jahrelang um die Welt, und in insgesamt dreißig Ländern militärischen Zielscheiben zu fotografierten, die für die Soldatenausbildung verwendet wurden. „Targets“ wirft dabei viele Fragen auf: Wie wird der Feind, der später getötet wird, dargestellt? Als abstrakte Figur oder mit Gesicht? Gibt es kulturelle Unterschiede zu entdecken? Haben sich die Feindbilder verändert? Darüber hinaus sind letztlich die Soldaten selbst immer auch das Ziel, weshalb die Serie auch Soldaten-Porträts enthält.
 
Head On Festival und Goethe-Institut sind stolz darauf, zum ersten Mal eine Auswahl dieser bewegten Fotos in Australien präsentieren zu können. Die Fotografien wurden erstmals im Jahr 2014 im Deutschen Historischen Museum Berlin gezeigt, gefolgt von Ausstellungen in am Nobelzentrum in Oslo und am Goethe-Institut in Myanmar.

Die Ausstellung befindet sich am Paddington Reservoir, Öffnungszeiten sind täglich von 9.00 bis 17.00 Uhr.
 
Künstlergespräch: 6. Mai 2017 um 13 Uhr, Paddington Town Hall
 
In Verbindung mit ihrer Ausstellung im Paddington Reservoir präsentiert Herlinde Koelbl am Samstag, den 6. Mai um 13 Uhr ein Künstlergespräch in der nahe gelegenen Paddington Town Hall. Dem Vortrag folgt ein Besuch der Ausstellung, die nur wenige Schritte entfernt ist. Später am selben Tag wird Herlinde Koelbl auch an der offiziellen Eröffnung des Head On Photo Festivals teilnehmen, das um 18 Uhr an der UNSW Art & Design statt findet.

Zusätzlich zu “Targets” wird Herlinde Koelbl ihre Fotoserie “Spuren der Macht” mit Porträts von Angela Merkel im Goethe-Institut in Sydney zeigen. Eröffnung ist am Donnerstag, 4. April 2017. Mehr info dazu hier.

Zurück