panel discussion Theatre and Internationalisation I Barrie Kosky: Past, Present, Future

Barrie Kosky © Lupa Film GmbH

Fri, 26.04.2019

Goethe-Institut Sydney

90 Ocean Street, Woollahra
2025 Sydney

Film + Panel: All about international Theatre and Barrie Kosky

These days Australians can see exciting new theatre and opera from German-speaking countries without needing to travel half-way round the world – in 2019, we’ve already seen the Schaubühne Berlin’s Beware of Pity at the Sydney Festival and the Komische Oper Berlin’s The Magic Flute at the Perth Festival, with plenty more to come at the Adelaide Festival. At the same time, Australian directors such as Benedict Andrews, Barrie Kosky and Simon Stone play to German audiences, and Australian companies such as Back to Back Theatre tour to German festivals.

But what does this internationalisation of theatre mean for the art form, for audiences and for the people who work in it? Come and discuss with Australian and German experts!

Goethe-Institut Australia, in collaboration with the Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures of the Macquarie University, has invited a panel of high-profile experts from Australia and Germany to discuss theatre and internationalisation as well as the career of Barrie Kosky, the current intendant of Komische Oper Berlin. This Australian director has one of the most prominent examples of an internationalised career.

Before the panel discussion we will show Felix von Boehm’s documentary Der Opernmagier Barrie Kosky: Monsieur Butterfly (50min, in German with English subtitles).

You are invited to join us for either the film, the panel discussion or both! The film starts at 5.30pm and  the panel discussion at 6.30pm.

The discussion will be chaired by Associate Prof. Ulrike Garde (Macquarie University).


PANELLISTS
  • Sally Blackwood (Sydney) Australian opera director with experience of directing and collaborative opera-making in Australia, France, the USA and Germany, where she worked with Sasha Waltz & Guests.
  • Johannes Birgfeld (Saarbrücken) Scholar of intercultural theatre at the Universität des Saarlands and founder of the acclaimed ‘Poetikdozentur für Dramatik’ series of engagements between academics and theatre practitioners.
  • Sonja Griegoschewski (Sydney) Director Australia, Goethe-Institut, an organisation with a long history of supporting German theatre in Australia.
  • Michael Halliwell (Sydney) Associate Professor at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, with publications on Barrie Kosky’s work. Also an operatic baritone, with experience of working in Australian and German opera companies.
  • Günther Heeg (Leipzig) Professor Emeritus at the Institut für Theaterwissenschaft in Leipzig. Theatre and opera specialist and author of Das transkulturelle Theater.
  • Elena Kats-Chernin (Sydney). Composer and pianist with an international career, and a history of collaboration with Barrie Kosky and the Komische Oper Berlin.
  • John Severn (Sydney). Research Fellow in International Studies: Languages and Cultures at Macquarie University. Theatre and opera specialist currently working on a research project on Barrie Kosky's approach to community.
Elena Kats-Chernin will be available to sign books and music, including her latest CD, after the panel.

This event is part of a conference organised by Macquarie University that will take place on 26th April until 27th April. Clicke here for more details on the whole conference.   

Back

Podiumsdiskussion Theater und Internationalisierung I Barrie Kosky: Vergangenheit, Gegenwart, Zukunft

Barrie Kosky © Lupa Film GmbH

Fr, 26.04.2019

Goethe-Institut Sydney

90 Ocean Street, Woollahra
2025 Sydney

Film + Diskussion: Alles über internationales Theater und Barrie Kosky

Spannende Theater- und Operninszenierungen aus Deutschland sind mittlerweile ein fester Bestandteil des kulturellen Angebots in Australien: 2019 beispielsweise konnten Besucher des Sydney Festivals Ungeduld des Herzens (Schaubühne, Berlin) sehen. Das Perth Festival zeigte unlängst Die Zauberflöte (Komische Oper, Berlin), und das Adelaide Festival wird das kulturelle Angebot deutschsprachiger Theatermacher und Bühnen abrunden. Gleichzeitig präsentieren australische Regisseure wie Benedict Andrews, Barrie Kosky and Simon Stone ihre Arbeiten einem deutschen Publikum und australische Ensembles wie das Back to Back Theatre spielen mit großem Erfolg auf deutschen Festivals.

Was aber bedeutet die Internationalisierung im Theater für das Theater als Kunstform insgesamt, für seine Zuschauer und für Theatermacher? Diskutieren Sie über diese Frage mit ExpertInnen aus Deutschland und Australien!

Das Goethe-Institut Australien lädt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures der Macquarie University zu einer Podiumsdiskussion mit Experten aus Australien und Deutschland ein, um über Theater und Internationalisierung sowie die Karriere des australischen Regisseurs Barrie Kosky zu diskutieren, der als Intendant der Komischen Oper Berlin ein herausragendes Beispiel für eine erfolgreiche, kulturübergreifende Karriere ist.

Vor der Podiumsdiskussion zeigen wir Felix von Boehms Dokumentarfilm Der Opernmagier Barrie Kosky: Monsieur Butterfly (50min, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln).

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Kommen, sei es für den Film, die Podiumsdiskussion oder beides! Der Film beginnt um 17:30 Uhr und die Podiumsdiskussion um 18:30 Uhr.

Die Podiumsdiskussion leiten Associate Prof. Ulrike Garde (Macquarie University).


DISKUSSIONSTEILNEHMER
 
  • Sally Blackwood (Sydney) Australische Opernregisseurin. Sie war bereits an Inszenierungen in Australien, Frankreich, den USA und Deutschland beteiligt, wo sie mit Sasha Waltz & Guests zusammenarbeitete.
  • Johannes Birgfeld (Saarbrücken) Universität des Saarlandes. Forschungsschwerpunkte u.a. im Bereich interkulturelles Theater. Gründer der ‘Poetikdozentur für Dramatik’, die jährlich Akademiker, Theatermacher und die breitere Öffentlichkeit zum Gespräch über die zeitgenössische Dramatik einlädt.
  • Sonja Griegoschewski (Sydney) Institutsleiterin Australien, Goethe-Institut, welches regelmäßig deutsche Theater bei Auftritten in Australien unterstützt.
  • Michael Halliwell (Sydney) Dozent am Sydney Conservatorium of Music (Veröffentlichungen zu Barrie Koskys Werken) und Opernsänger mit Erfahrung in deutschen und australischen Opern-Ensembles.
  • Günther Heeg (Leipzig) Professor Emeritus am Institut für Theaterwissenschaft in Leipzig, Theater- und Opernspezialist sowie Autor von Das transkulturelle Theater.
  • Elena Kats-Chernin (Sydney). Komponistin und Pianistin mit internationaler Karriere, Zusammenarbeit mit Barrie Kosky und Komische Oper Berlin.
  • John Severn (Sydney). issenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in Internationalen Studien: Sprachen und Kulturen an der Macquarie University. Theater- und Opernfachmann arbeitet derzeit an einem Forschungsprojekt über Barrie Koskys Umgang mit der Gemeinschaft.
Elena Kats-Chernin wird nach der Diskussion gern Bücher und Tonträger signieren.

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil einer Konferenz der Macquarie University, die am 26. und 27. April stattfinden wird. Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen zu der gesamten Konferenz.

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in Internationalen Studien: Sprachen und Kulturen an der Macquarie University. Theater- und Opernfachmann arbeitet derzeit an einem Forschungsprojekt über Barrie Koskys Umgang mit der Gemeinschaft

Zurück