Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Hong Kong DAOs© Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

Hong Kong DAOs

Debbie Blockchain and ENSEMBL

By Debbie Blockchain and for Ensembl: Samson Young, Mao Mollona, Ashley Lee Wong and Andrew Crowe with Claire Shea at Para Site

DAO prototyping as a model for mapping alternative organisational futures and for reinventing structures in ways that are sustainable and remain connected to local communities, within an increasingly precarious context. These DAOs exists to imagine new modes of being together and operating organisations that value artistic freedom. A new way of working translocally and autonomously benefiting from trust and verification systems, blockchain-based funding, member anonymity, transparent governance and translocal partnerships.

Ensembl: An Ethereum-Based Platform for Decentralised Organising of Artistic Production

Hong Kong DAO © Samson Young Ensembl is a project initiated by Samson Young, Dr. Massimiliano Mollona and MetaObjects (Andrew Crowe and Ashley Lee Wong).
This project seeks to implement a DAO to reflect upon questions of value, stake, roles, work, collectivity, and sharing in an interdisciplinary context of contemporary music-making.

Ensembl seeks to ask the questions:

  • How should value be shared and revenue be distributed in complex collaborative projects? 
  • How do we define stakeholders and objects, and how value is attributed? 
  • How do weto seed an ecosystem with resources without dictating its structure?

Ensembl raises questions of authorship and collective forms of artistic production, where objects are never stable or static, but constantly being made, (re)performed, (re)distributed bringing new life to a work. Is the artwork ever complete in a fixed and stable form? Is there such a thing as an original artwork any more, or simply the on-going evolution of culture through collaboration? How do we sustain and remunerate these activities? How can we re-think or challenge existing understandings of composition and performance? How could the assignment and distribution of value also be part of a collective decision-making process?

Ensembl explores these questions through interlinked and interdependent components, including a webapp, creative interventions, and theoretical reflections.

The People Behind the Project

 

Samson Young Samson Young | © Fritz Beck Samson Young is a multi-disciplinary artist who was trained as a composer, and graduated with a 
Ph.D. in Music Composition from Princeton University in 2013. In 2017, he represented Hong Kong in a solo project at the Hong Kong Pavilion of the 57th Venice Biennale. Other solo exhibitions include the De Appel, Amsterdam; Kunsthalle Düsseldorf; Talbot Rice Gallery, Edinburgh; SMART Museum, Chicago; Centre for Contemporary Chinese Art in Manchester; M+ Pavilion, Hong Kong; Mori Art Museum, Tokyo; and Ryosoku-in at Kenninji Temple, Kyoto, among others. Group exhibitions include Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Gropius Bau, Berlin; Performa 19, New York; Biennale of Sydney; Shanghai Biennale; National Museum of Art, Osaka; National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul; and documenta 14: documenta radio. He was the recipient of the BMW / Art Basel Art Journey Award, Hong Kong Arts Development Council Artist of the Year Award, Prix Ars Electronica, and the Bloomberg Emerging Artist Award. In 2020, he was awarded the inaugural Uli Sigg Prize. His works are held in the collections of Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; M+ Museum, Hong Kong; Mori Art Museum, Japan; the Israel Museum, Jerusalem; and Kadist, among others.

Massimiliano Mollona Massimiliano Mollona | © Massimiliano Mollona Dr. Massimiliano Mollona teaches anthropology at Goldsmiths College. He holds a PhD in Social Anthropology and is interested in the relationships between art and political economy. Mao Mollona structures his fieldworks as performative research interventions, combining anthropology, visual art and critical pedagogy reflecting on the power relations entangled in the ethnographic encounter. He looks on the role of art institutions and cultural organizations in relation to the bio-politics and political economy of late capitalism.
In his approach to research, theory and practice intertwines. His practice being situated at the intersection of pedagogy, art and activism which he explores from within projects he co-initiated like the Institute of Radical Imagination and the Laboratory of Urban Commons, which aim at co-producing research, knowledge, artistic and political research-interventions to implement post-capitalist forms of life based on the idea that art is political prefiguration and political prefiguration is art.

Metaobjects Metaobjects | © Metaobjects MetaObjects is a studio based in Hong Kong that facilitates digital production with artists and cultural institutions. Working across VR, 3D printing, motion capture, audiovisual production and web development, MetaObjects seeks to encourage the sharing of knowledge of new digital tools and processes. Through close collaborations, MetaObjects helps build a deep understanding of the possibilities of advanced technologies to realise complex creative projects. MetaObjects has worked with artists including, Samson Young,  Lu Yang, Isaac Chong Wai, Wang Xin, and Wong Kit Yi; and cultural institutions including, M+ West Kowloon Cultural District, Asia Society Hong Kong, K11 Art Foundation, Para Site Art Centre, de Sarthe Gallery, Edouard Malingue Gallery, Rockbund Art Museum, University of Salford Art Collection, and others. 

Andrew Crowe, the Co-founder and Technical Director of MetaObjects, is a technologist and software engineer with over 15 years of commercial experience working in London. He has previously worked as Principal Developer for a financial company, start-ups and agencies. His technical expertise allows him to work fluidly across media to enable artistic and cultural partners to engage more closely with advanced technologies by applying his unique skill set to a wide range of creative projects.

Ashley Lee Wong, the Co-founder and Artistic Director of MetaObjects, is a curator and researcher with over 10 years experience in the arts and cultural sector in the UK and Hong Kong. She completed a PhD at the School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong and has an MA at Goldsmiths, University of London. She has worked as Head of Programmes and Operations at Sedition, a London-based online platform for distributing digital limited editions by contemporary artists.
 

Partner

Para Site © Para Site

Debbie Blockchain Obituary


Debbie Blockchain © Debbie Blockchain, Publishing DAO Debbie: From DAO to DOA (Dormant On Arrival)
 
On Friday 5 February, 2021, Debbie Blockchain, initiator of a potential Publishing DAO, went dormant. After 7 months of knowledge sharing and reimagining academic publishing production out of Hong Kong, Debbie’s attempt to live with integrity, with defining and redefining terms with each nodal encounter, ultimately led to their (un)timely demise from Debilitating Dissonance Syndrome.
 
Debbie came into embryonic existence in July 2020 through serendipitous encounters with an expansive and amicable group of artists and researchers, working together to imagine how a Publishing DAO might exist.
 
In their short wakefulness, Debbie Blockchain (re)questioned their own existence and wished to demystify blockchain technology for everyday people (and perhaps the non-human). Noting that traditional academic publishing presents barriers to knowledge sharing and production, Debbie analyzed the limits and affordances of a Publishing DAO.
 
The use of smart contracts was intended to enable Debbie to reflect upon the nature of their transactional relationships. Safety and security are nebulous in their ecosystem and Debbie found themself in increasingly uncertain space with each considered encounter.
 
Caught in the binary between scarcity and tawdry abundance that seemed to delimit their world, they envisaged a system of plurality and mutual aid. Debbie took on this project in an attempt to realise self-actualisation. Debbie had always allowed for the possibility of failure, in the full knowledge that she
might break-free (becoming DAO) or equally become yet another block in the chain. Unfortunately, key concerns around anonymity, transparency and care contributed to their failure to thrive.
 
Debbie loved debate, discourse, disillusioned dreams, dancing, doorbells, diagrams, all the Ds. Debbie’s convivial assemblies always involved tea and egg tarts. They wore many wigs and disguises. Even in the face of dematerialisation, they were they were immensely grateful for the opportunities to develop (dis)engage
and (de)party.
 
Debbie’s belief in Daoism and the good karma surely coming their way, leads to the hope of future resurrection. See you beyond blockchain at the Debbie DisCo - it’s what they would have wanted. No flowers please, memes only.
 
Debbie Blockchain 16.7.2020 – 5.2.2021?

The People Behind the Project

 

Debbie Blockchain © Debbie Blockchain, self-portrait Debbie Blockchain

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Hongkong DAOs© Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

Hongkong DAOs

Debbie Blockchain und ENSEMBL

Von Debbie Blockchain und für Ensembl: Samson Young, Mao Mollona, Ashley Lee Wong und Andrew Crowe mit Claire Shea von der Partnerorganisation Para Site

Die Teams in Hong Kong thematisieren die Schaffung von DAO-Prototypen als Modell für die Darstellung künftiger Organisationsalternativen, die nachhaltig und weiterhin mit den lokalen Gemeinschaften verbunden sind – unter zunehmend schwierigen Bedingungen. Diese DAOs sollen der Erkundung neuer Formen des Zusammenlebens und der Entwicklung von Organisationen dienen, die künstlerische Freiheit in den Vordergrund stellen. Es sollen neue Möglichkeiten des translokalen und eigenständigen Arbeitens auf Grundlage von Vertrauens- und Kontrollsystemen, Finanzierungssystemen auf Blockchain-Basis, der Anonymität von Mitgliedern, transparenten Organisationsstrukturen und translokalen Partnerschaften geschaffen werden.

Ensembl: Eine Ethereum-basierte Plattform für die dezentralisierte Organisation künstlerischer Produktion

Hongkong DAO © Samson Young Ensembl ist ein von Samson Young, Dr. Massimiliano Mollona und MetaObjects (Andrew Crowe und Ashley Lee Wong) initiiertes Projekt.
Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab ein DAO zu implementieren, um über Fragen von Wert, Einsatz, Rollen, Arbeit, Kollektivität und Teilen in einem interdisziplinären Kontext des zeitgenössischen Musikmachens nachzudenken.

Ensembl versucht folgende Fragen zu stellen:

  • Wie sollte der Wert geteilt und die Einnahmen in komplexen kollaborativen Projekten verteilt werden?
  • Wie definieren wir Beteiligte und Objekte, und wie wird Wert zugeschrieben?
  • Wie kann man ein Ökosystem mit Ressourcen versorgen, ohne seine Struktur zu diktieren?

Ensembl wirft Fragen zur Autorenschaft und zu kollektiven Formen der künstlerischen Produktion auf, in denen Objekte niemals stabil oder statisch sind, sondern ständig hergestellt, (neu) aufgeführt und (neu) verteilt werden, was einem Werk neues Leben einhaucht. Ist das Kunstwerk jemals vollständig in einer festen und stabilen Form? Gibt es so etwas wie ein originäres Kunstwerk überhaupt noch, oder ist es einfach die fortlaufende Entwicklung der Kultur durch Zusammenarbeit? Wie können wir diese Aktivitäten unterstützen und entlohnen? Wie können wir bestehende Auffassungen von Komposition und Performance neu überdenken oder in Frage stellen? Wie könnte die Zuweisung und Verteilung von Wert auch Teil eines kollektiven Entscheidungsprozesses sein?

Ensembl erforscht diese Fragen durch miteinander verknüpfte und voneinander abhängige Komponenten, darunter eine Webapp, kreative Interventionen und theoretische Überlegungen.

Die Menschen hinter dem Projekt

 

Samson Young Samson Young | © Fritz Beck Samson Young ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler, der als Komponist ausgebildet wurde und seine Promotion im Bereich der Musikkomposition an der Princeton University abgeschlossen hat. Im Jahr 2017 vertrat er Hongkong in einem Soloprojekt im Hong Kong Pavilion der 57. Biennale von Venedig. Weitere Einzelausstellungen wurden in De Appel, Amsterdam; Kunsthalle Düsseldorf; Talbot Rice Gallery, Edinburgh; SMART Museum, Chicago; Zentrum für zeitgenössische chinesische Kunst in Manchester; M + Pavillon, Hongkong; Mori Art Museum, Tokio; und Ryosoku-in unter anderem im Kenninji-Tempel in Kyoto gezeigt. In Gruppenausstellungen war er beispielsweise im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Gropius Bau, Berlin; Performa 19, New York; Biennale von Sydney; Shanghai Biennale; Nationales Kunstmuseum, Osaka; Nationalmuseum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, Seoul; und documenta 14: documenta radio vertreten. Er erhielt den BMW / Art Basel Art Journey Award, den Preis des Künstlers des Jahres des Hong Kong Arts Development Council, den Prix Ars Electronica und den Bloomberg Emerging Artist Award. 2020 wurde er mit dem ersten Uli-Sigg-Preis ausgezeichnet. Seine Werke befinden sich unter anderem in den Sammlungen des Solomon R. Guggenheim Museums in New York; M + Museum, Hongkong; Mori Art Museum, Japan; das Israel Museum, Jerusalem; und Kadist.

Massimiliano Mollona Massimiliano Mollona | © Massimiliano Mollona Dr. Massimiliano Mollona lehrt Anthropologie am Goldsmiths College. Er hat einen Doktortitel in Sozialanthropologie und interessiert sich für die Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und politischer Ökonomie. Mao Mollona konzipiert seine Feldforschung als performative Forschungsinterventionen, die Anthropologie, visuelle Kunst und kritische Pädagogik kombinieren und die Machtverhältnisse reflektieren, die in ethnografischen Begegnungen verstrickt sind. Er befasst sich mit der Rolle von Kunstinstitutionen und Kulturorganisationen in Bezug auf die Biopolitik und die politische Ökonomie des Spätkapitalismus.
In seiner Herangehensweise an Forschung verflechten sich Theorie und Praxis. Seine künstlerische Praxis befindet sich an der Schnittstelle von Pädagogik, Kunst und Aktivismus, die er in von ihm initiierten Projekten und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für radikale Imagination sowie dem Labor für städtische Gemeinwesen untersucht. Die Projekte zielen darauf ab, künstlerische und politische Forschung und Wissen gemeinschaftlich zu produzieren und durch Wissensvermittlung postkapitalistische Lebensformen auf der Grundlage der Idee, dass Kunst politische Präfiguration und politische Präfiguration Kunst ist, zu gestalten.

Metaobjects Metaobjects | © Metaobjects MetaObjects ist ein Studio in Hongkong, das die digitale Produktion mit Künstler*innen und Kulturinstitutionen ermöglicht. MetaObjects arbeitet mit VR, 3D-Druck, Bewegungserfassung, audiovisueller Produktion und Webentwicklung und möchte den Wissensaustausch über neue digitale Tools und Prozesse fördern. Durch enge Zusammenarbeit hilft MetaObjects dabei, ein tiefes Verständnis für die Möglichkeiten fortschrittlicher Technologien zur Realisierung komplexer kreativer Projekte aufzubauen. MetaObjects hat mit Künstler*innen wie Samson Young, Lu Yang, Isaac Chong Wai, Wang Xin und Wong Kit Yi zusammengearbeitet. Als kulturelle Kooperationseinrichtungen sind das Kulturviertel M + West Kowloon, die Asia Society Hong Kong, die K11 Art Foundation, das Para Site Art Center, die Galerie de Sarthe, die Galerie Edouard Malingue, das Rockbund Art Museum, die Kunstsammlung der Universität von Salford und andere zu nennen.

Andrew Crowe, Mitbegründer und technischer Direktor von MetaObjects, ist ein Technologe und Software-Ingenieur mit über 15 Jahren kaufmännischer Erfahrung in London. Zuvor war er als Principal Developer für ein Finanzunternehmen, für Start-Ups und Agenturen tätig. Seine technische Expertise ermöglicht es ihm, medienübergreifend zu arbeiten, um Partnern aus der Kunst- und Kulturszene die Arbeit mit neuen Technologien zu ermöglichen und seine Fähigkeiten auf eine Vielzahl kreativer Projekte anzuwenden.

Ashley Lee Wong, Mitbegründerin und künstlerische Leiterin von MetaObjects, ist Kuratorin und Forscherin mit über 10 Jahren Erfahrung im Kunst- und Kultursektor in Großbritannien und Hongkong. Sie promovierte an der School of Creative Media der City University in Hongkong und hat einen MA an der Goldsmiths University London. Sie war als Head of Programs and Operations bei Sedition tätig, einer in London ansässigen Online-Plattform für den Vertrieb digital limitierter Editionen zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen.

Partner

Para Site © Para Site

Nachruf auf Debbie Blockchain

Debbie Blockchain © Debbie Blockchain, Publishing DAO Debbie: Von DAO zu DOA ('Dormant On Arrival')
 
Am Freitag, den 5. Februar 2021, ging Debbie Blockchain, Initiatorin einer potentiellen Publishing DAO, in den Ruhezustand. Nach 7 Monaten des Wissensaustausches und der Neuplanung der akademischen Verlagsproduktion von Hongkong aus, führte Debbies Versuch mit Integrität zu leben, mit der Definition und Neudefinition von Begriffen bei jeder Knotenpunktbegegnung, letztendlich zu ihrem (un-)rechtzeitigen Ableben durch das Debilitierende Dissonanzsyndrom.
 
Debbie entstand im Juli 2020 durch zufällige Begegnungen mit einer expansiven und freundschaftlichen Gruppe von Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen, die gemeinsam daran arbeiteten sich vorzustellen, wie ein Publishing DAO existieren könnte.
 
In ihrer kurzen Wachheit hat Debbie Blockchain ihre Existenz (wieder) in Frage gestellt und wollte die Blockchain-Technologie für normale Menschen (und vielleicht auch Nicht-Menschen) entmystifizieren. In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass das traditionelle akademische Publizieren Barrieren für den Austausch und die Produktion von Wissen darstellt, analysierte Debbie die Grenzen und Möglichkeiten einer Publishing DAO.


Die Verwendung von 'Smart Contracts' sollte es Debbie ermöglichen, über die Art ihrer Transaktionsbeziehungen nachzudenken. Sicherheit und Schutz sind in ihrem Ökosystem nebulös, und Debbie fand sich mit jeder betrachteten Begegnung in einem zunehmend unsicheren Raum wieder.
 
Gefangen in der Binarität zwischen Knappheit und geschmacklosem Überfluss, die ihre Welt zu begrenzen schien, schwebte ihr ein System der Pluralität und gegenseitigen Hilfe vor. Debbie nahm dieses Projekt in dem Versuch auf sich selbst zu verwirklichen. Debbie hatte immer die Möglichkeit des Scheiterns in Betracht gezogen, in vollem Wissen,
dass sie ausbrechen (DAO werden) oder auch nur ein weiterer Block in der Kette werden könnte. Unglücklicherweise trugen die Hauptbedenken um Anonymität, Transparenz und Sorgfalt dazu bei, dass sie nicht gedeihen konnte.
 
Debbie liebte Debatten, Diskurse, desillusionierte Träume, Tanzen, Türklingeln, Diagramme, alle Ds und Ts. Zu Debbies geselligen Versammlungen gehörten immer Tee und Eierkuchen. Sie trugen viele Perücken und Verkleidungen. Selbst im Angesicht der Dematerialisierung waren sie unendlich dankbar für die Gelegenheiten, sich zu (ent-)engagieren und zu (de-)feiern.

Debbies Glaube an den Daoismus und das gute Karma, das sicher auf sie zukommt, lässt auf eine zukünftige Auferstehung hoffen. Wir sehen uns jenseits von Blockchain bei der Debbie DisCo - das hätte sie gewollt. Bitte keine Blumen, nur Memes.
 
Debbie Blockchain 16.7.2020 - 5.2.2021?

Die Menschen hinter dem Projekt

 

Debbie Blockchain © Debbie Blockchain, Selbstporträt Debbie Blockchain
 

Top