Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Europe-themed illustration with various symbols and yearsIllustration (detail): © Tobias Schrank

Europe

The tension between national consciousness and European community, the gap between city and country as well as divided generations – these ambivalent feelings, conflicts of identity and the divided view of Europe are particularly noticeable in the United Kingdom. That is why we want to reflect more on the current state and the future challenges of Europe. What does "Europe" mean? What are "European" identities? And what can cultural work contribute to create a common Europe?

#SharedEurope


Discover the new Europe brochure 2021

Discover our new Europe brochure 2021 introducing the projects to our key subjects such as Germany's Presidency of the EU Council, Civil Society, Connecting Arts & Future Technologie and Arts.


Projects

Voices.Europe © Goethe Institut, Groupe Dejour

Music Project for Europe
Voices.Europe

The generation of people born around 1945, from England, France and Italy, are the ones being given a voice in our music and exchange project about the past, present, and future of Europe. The Russian-German composer Michael Langemann has created this Europe-wide musical dialogue for amateur singers and choirs, and other interested people. Voices.Europe can be experienced in both digital and analogue form, on social media and in person.

Imagining Futures © Goethe-Institut

Network for the Future of Festivals
Imagining Futures

At a moment of continued uncertainty and increasing barriers, independent performance festivals from across the UK and mainland Europe come together to rip up the festival rule book by exploring what the future of producing festivals will look like. Imagining Futures aims to spark new connections, support artistic development, explore new festival models and encourage porous, international dialogue between festival leaders – through open conversations and cultural experiments!

Crowd Banner © Goethe-Institut London

Residency Programme
CROWD - International Dance Exchange

CROWD is our international dance residency programme developed together with European partners in a time when we feel international sharing and human connection is needed more than ever.
This research programme supports dance artists with an established practice in community engaged dance making.

Cultural Bridge © Nils Koenning

Forming cultural bridges between the UK and Germany
Cultural Bridge

The Cultural Bridge pilot programme is a pilot funding opportunity to advocate bilateral community arts collaboration with our partners.It aims to enable social change through the medium of diverse artforms and community arts practices. It promotes cross-border cooperation between the UK nations (Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, England) and German cultural institutions in various disciplines and participative methods.

Europe Talks 2021 © Europe Talks

In cooperation with My Country Talks & The Mirror
Europe Talks 2021 - Was Brexit worth it?

Europe Talks invites people from all over Europe to engage in cross-border debates to tackle controversial topics such as immigration, the universal basic income and climate change. The project aims to use the power of conversation to create a space for dialogue and fight polarisation. For the 2021 edition we were hosting a discussion on Post-Brexit on our Seat #12 in our library.

Collage of various people and landmarks of Europe © Groupe Dejour

Tell Me About Europe
Stories Beyond Generations

Europe is more than a continent or an idea. Europe consists of many different stories – personal stories of people from different generations. The project “Tell me about Europe” brings the memories of well-known Europeans alive and invites you to listen and join in the discussion.

A hand pulls a small wooden block out of a wall that is built out of nothing but small wooden blocks. On the block, the following writing is engraved: "It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting. - Paulo Coelho" © Duffy Rafferty

Germany’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020
The Disappearing Wall – Belfast

The interactive art installation Disappearing Wall was set up across Europe between autumn 2020 and spring 2021. Built from 6,000 wooden blocks inscribed with quotes from European high and pop culture, the walls represented the diversity of the continent. Set up in Belfast and 15 other European cities, the pan-European project travelled through overall 10 countries, celebrating the European identity with all its facets of languages and ideas.

Logo of the project Europe's kitchen Glasgow Illustration: © Daniela Burger

"Europe’s Kitchen" in Glasgow
Event Series in Scotland and online with Jeannette Ehlers

Video installations by Danish-Trinidadian artist Jeannette Ehlers are the starting point for this event series in Scotland. It combines food, recipes and intellectual responses to Jeannette Ehlers` art to create different forms and layers of exchange, locally as well as online.

Newsletter about current cultural events

All our events in the visual arts, film, literature, music, dance and theatre!

Europe and us

What is our position on Europe? What is Europe's position in the world? Two questions that are linked and their answers could overcome limits and borders.

Street art by Banksy: a man on a ladder chiselling away at one of the stars on the European flag. © dullhunk

Residency Programme: Journalism/Writing
(Re-)Collecting Europe

This residency invites two journalists from European countries to investigate, question, debate and reflect on the impact of Brexit on the British civil society.

 

Freiraum © Goethe-Institut

“Freiraum”
On the status of freedom in Europe

Physical distancing, border closings and surveillance have shaped the lives of Europeans during the coronavirus pandemic – freedoms have been restricted. What is the status of freedom in Europe today? This question will be the focus of the Freiraum Festival on 30 and 31 October.

Europe - Open to debate

Europe as an idea, a concept, a "Staatenverbund": that's open to debate! Let's argue with each other – not against each other. And perhaps we will find common ground on this continent.


Follow the Goethe-Institut London on Instagram

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Illustration zu Europa mit verschiedenen Symbolen und JahreszahlenIllustration (Ausschnitt): © Tobias Schrank

Europa

Die Spannung zwischen Nationalbewusstsein und europäischer Gemeinschaft, das Gefälle zwischen Stadt und Land und gespaltene Generationen – Besonders im Vereingten Königreich sind diese ambivalenten Gefühle, Identitätskonflikte und der geteilte Blick auf Europa spürbar. Deshalb wollen wir mehr über die aktuelle Verfasstheit und die zukünftigen Herausforderungen Europas reflektieren. Was bedeutet „Europa“? Was sind „europäische“ Identitäten? Und was kann Kulturarbeit beitragen, um ein gemeinsames Europa zu schaffen?

#SharedEurope


Projekte

Stimmen.Europa © Goethe Institut, Groupe Dejour

Musikprojekt für Europa
Stimmen.Europa

Die Generation der um 1945 Geborenen aus England, Frankreich und Italien kommen in unserem Musik- und Begegnungsprojekt über die Gegenwart, Zukunft und Vergangenheit Europas zu Wort. Der russisch-deutsche Komponist Michael Langemann entwickelte diesen europaweiten Musik-Dialog für Interessierte, Laien-Sänger*innen und -Chöre. Stimmen.Europa wird sowohl digital als auch analog, in den sozialen Medien und vor Ort erlebbar sein.
Wenn Sie mitsingen möchten, bewerben Sie sich bis 30. Juni!

Imagining Futures © Goethe-Institut

Netzwerk für die Zukunft der Festivals
Imagining Futures

In einer Zeit anhaltender Unsicherheit und zunehmender Barrieren kommen unabhängige Performance-Festivals aus ganz Großbritannien und dem europäischen Festland zusammen, um das Festival-Regelwerk zu durchbrechen, indem sie erkunden, wie die Zukunft der Festivalproduktion aussehen wird. Imagining Futures will neue Verbindungen schaffen, künstlerische Entwicklung unterstützen, neue Festivalmodelle entdecken und einen durchlässigen, internationalen Dialog zwischen Festivalleiter*innen fördern – durch offene Gespräche und kulturelle Experimente!

Crowd Banner © Goethe-Institut London

Residenzprogramm
CROWD - International Dance Exchange

CROWD ist unser internationales Tanz-Residenzprogramm, das zusammen mit europäischen Partner*innen in einer Zeit entwickelt wurde, in der wir das Gefühl haben, dass internationaler Austausch und menschliche Verbindung mehr denn je benötigt werden. 
Das Forschungsprogramm fördert Tänzer*innen mit einer bereits etablierten Praxis in gemeinschaftlich engagiertem Tanz („community engaged dance making“).

Collage mit verschiedenen Personen und Wahrzeichen Europas © Groupe Dejour

„Erzähle mir von Europa“
Geschichten über Generationen hinaus

Europa ist mehr als ein Kontinent oder eine Idee. Europa setzt sich aus vielen Geschichten zusammen – persönliche Geschichten von Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen. Das Projekt „Erzähle mir von Europa“ erweckt Erinnerungen bekannter Europäer*innen zum Leben und lädt zum Zuhören und Diskutieren ein.

Eine Hand zieht ein Holzklötzchen aus einer Wand, die ausschließlich aus diesen Holzklötzchen besteht. Auf dem Holzklötzchen steht eingraviert: „It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting. - Paulo Coelho“ © Duffy Rafferty

Deutschlands Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union 2020
Die Verschwindende Wand – Belfast

Die interaktive Wandinstallation Verschwindende Wand wurde zwischen Herbst 2020 und Frühjahr 2021 europaweit aufgestellt. Mit ihren 6.000 Holzblöcken mit eingravierten Zitaten aus der europäischen Hoch- und Popkultur repräsentierten die Wände die Vielfalt des Kontinents. Das in Belfast und 15 weiteren Städten ausgestellte Projekt erstreckte sich über insgesamt zehn Länder und feierte die europäische Identität mit all ihrem Facettenreichtum an Sprachen und Ideen.

Logo des Projekts Europaküche Glasgow Illustration: © Daniela Burger

„Europaküche“ in Glasgow
Eventreihe in Schottland und online mit Jeannette Ehlers

Videoinstallationen der dänisch-trinidadischen Künstlerin Jeannette Ehlers sind der Ausgangspunkt für diese Veranstaltungsreihe. Sie kombiniert Kochen, Rezepte und intellektuelle Auseinandersetzung mit Jeannette Ehlers' Kunst, um verschiedene Formen und Ebenen des Austauschs zu schaffen, sowohl lokal als auch online.

Newsletter zu aktuellen Kultur­veranstaltungen

Alle Veranstaltungen aus bildender Kunst, Film, Literatur, Musik, Tanz und Theater!

Europa und wir

Wie stehen wir zu Europa? Wie steht Europa in der Welt? Zwei Fragen, die sich bedingen und deren Antworten Grenzen überwinden können.

Streetart von Banksy: Ein Mann auf einer Leiter schlägt mit einem Meißel auf einen der Sterne in der Europaflagge. © dullhunk

Residenzprogramm: Journalismus/Literatur
(Re-)Collecting Europe

Unsere Journalismus-Residenz lädt zwei Journalist*innen aus europäischen Ländern ein, die Auswirkungen des Brexit auf die britische Zivilgesellschaft zu untersuchen.
 

Freiraum © Goethe-Institut

„Freiraum“
Zum Stand der Freiheit in Europa

Kontaktsperren, Grenzschließungen und Überwachung haben während der Corona-Pandemie das Leben der Europäer*innen bestimmt – Freiheiten wurden eingeschränkt. Welchen Stellenwert hat Freiheit heute in Europa? Diese Frage steht am 30. und 31. Oktober im Zentrum des „Freiraum“-Festivals.

Europa - Darüber lässt sich streiten

Europa als Idee, als Konzept, als Staatenverbund: Darüber lässt sich streiten! Streiten wir doch miteinander – statt gegeneinander zu argumentieren. Und vielleicht findet wir auf diesem Kontinent dann zueinander.


Folgen Sie dem Goethe-Institut London auf Instagram

Top