Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
A human hand touches a robotic hand.© Eva Beck / Goethe-Institut

Art and Technology

Artificial intelligence, the Semantic Web, blockchains and cryptocurrencies – everyone’s talking about digitisation, and yet some seminal new technologies are unknown to the general public. With a view to boosting digital literacy in civil society, we start up projects about technologies that have the potential to transform society. We bring cultural values and critical perspectives into the debate and point up sociocultural, humanist and ethical aspects that should inform the ways in which we use and shape these developments.


Current Programmes & Projects

Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? © Goethe-Institut, LABLAB

Mapping the Weather in Arts & Science

The project is an interdisciplinary research in the region of North-West Europe. Through hackathons, artistic research and a concluding symposium it explores the questions of how weather and climate change are experienced and how we communicate about them.

DAOWO © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

DAOWO

DAOWO: Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others - The global collaboration project examines the potential of blockchain technologies for the arts and civil society. By convening transnational networks of leading international arts and tech institutions and communities, we seek to seed a new decentralised ecology of open source cultural organisations, built by artists embedded in distributed global communities.
An initiative of Furtherfield, Serpentine Galleries and the Goethe-Institut London.

A woman behind a pane of glass onto which a white structure showing numbers is projected. © Goethe-Institut/Getty Images

Fine Arts/Robotics
AI in Residence

The Goethe-Institut Glasgow, the Alliance Française Glasgow and the Institut Français d’Écosse invite artists based in France or in Germany to apply for one of two residencies taking place in Edinburgh and Glasgow around the topic of Artificial Intelligence.

Illustration: Coloured letters and lines streaming out of a laptop. Illustration: Marcia Mihotich

Generation A = Algorithm
Couch Lessons

Artificial Intelligence will contribute to a new revolution in human history. We invited experts from all over the world to discuss the opportunities, challenges and risks associated with algorithmic decision-making systems in this digital-format.
All episodes are available online for you to watch!

Logo containing the words “One Zero Society” © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Perspectives on Post-Digital Cultures
One Zero Society

Digitisation is a transformation process and a creative task for civil society. The magazine “One Zero Society” invites to a global exchange about our future. 

Newsletter about current cultural events

All our events in the visual arts, film, literature, music, dance and theatre!


New Technologies in Our Lives

Our everyday lives are determined by technology – by the tools we use and which (often without our even noticing it) use us. We’ve put together a collection of articles that critically explore various aspects of new technologies.

The Role of Blockchain in the Arts - Ensembl (Hong Kong) - DAOWO © Goethe-Institut

#DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes
How to Prototype the Artworld with Blockchain

The theme of the DAOWO Sessions: Artworld Prototypes was remarkably relevant to the times we are living: a pandemic prompting us to work with each other differently, calls for a fairer society, art spaces looking for new strategies to remain relevant and the hysterical (or just baffled?) media interest for crypto art. The topic also inserts itself into a broader, much older context in which contemporary art follows market logics that don’t work for most artists.

Screenshot from the “Berlin: Black Swan DAO” Zoom online session, 28 January 2020 © Goethe-Institut

#DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes
Can Blockchain Democratise Arts Commissioning?

So far, blockchain systems have been mostly used in the world of finance or supply chain but they have so much more potential. An article about the Berlin contribution to the DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes: Black Swan DAO.

Illustration: Several robots carry books through a control room, a human oversees their activities. Philippos Vassiliades | CC-BY-SA

Technology and Literature
A.I. and Literary Translation

Is Artificial Intelligence advanced enough to grasp and process literary texts in all their linguistic richness, and translate them into another language? Will it ever be advanced enough? Or will it remain "artificial" instead of "artistic"? Perhaps it doesn't have to be perfect to be useful and can work as a tool to support literary translators in their work – Let's ask some experts! 

When AI creates a painting, is it truly art? And who ultimately owns the copyright? Photo (detail): © DeepArt

Artificial Intelligence and Art
When Is Art Really Art?

Artificial intelligence making art puts a new spin on age-old questions, such as if AI art can really be called art, and who gets credit as the artist – the machine, the programmer or the person whose data was fed into the algorithm.

Could an algorithm write music to rival Bach? The performance “Gödel Escher Bach” at the Barbican Performing Arts Centre in London. Photo (detail): © privat

Artificial Intelligence and Art
The Machine that Unleashes Our Creativity

British mathematician Marcus du Sautoy is convinced that artificial intelligence (AI) can be as creative as humans and might even attain a state of consciousness in future: a discussion on the current creative limitations of AI, its ability to surprise us, and how AI changes the way our species is looking at its own creativity.

Illustration of a head made up of colourful thoughts, such as solidarity. © Kitty Kahane

Reflexions on a Post-Corona Time
Day-Afterthoughts

A virus is showing us how globally networked and yet how fragile our public life is. What does the pandemic mean to and for each of us and for society as a whole? Intellectuals and artists around the world respond with regard to our present predicament and what lies in store for us afterwards.


Follow the Goethe-Institut London on Instagram

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Eine Menschenhand und eine Roboterhand berühren sich.© Eva Beck / Goethe-Institut

Kunst und Technologie

Künstliche Intelligenz, Semantisches Web, Blockchain, Kryptowährung – die Diskussion über die Digitalisierung ist in aller Munde, doch prägende neue Technologien sind einer allgemeinen Öffentlichkeit oft nicht bekannt. Um die digitale Mündigkeit der Zivilgesellschaft zu stärken, initiieren wir Projekte zu Technologien, die gesellschaftliches Transformationspotential besitzen. Wir bringen kulturelle Werte und kritische Perspektiven in die Debatte ein und zeigen soziokulturelle, humanistische und ethische Aspekte auf, wie sich diese Entwicklungen nutzen und mitgestalten lassen.


Aktuelle Programme & Projekte

Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? © Goethe-Institut, LABLAB

„Mapping the Weather in Arts & Science“

Dieses Projekt ist eine interdisziplinäre Recherche in der Region Nord-West-Europa. In Hackathons, künstlerischen Formaten und einem Abschlusssymposium wird der Frage nachgegangen, wie Wetter und Klimawandel erlebt werden und wie wir darüber kommunizieren.

DAOWO Global Initiative © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

DAOWO

DAOWO: Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others - Das weltweite Kollaborationsprojekt untersucht das Potenzial von Blockchain-Technologien für Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft. Durch das Zusammenführen transnationaler Netzwerke aus führenden internationalen Kunst- und Technologieinstitutionen und -gemeinschaften wollen wir ein neues dezentrales Umfeld für Open-Source-Organisationen im Kulturbereich schaffen, das von Künstler*innen aus Gemeinschaften in aller Welt errichtet wird. Eine Initiative von Furtherfield, Serpentine Galleries und dem Goethe-Institut London.

Eine Frau hinter einer Glasscheibe auf die eine weiße Struktur mit Ziffern projiziert ist. © Goethe-Institut/Getty Images

Bildende Kunst/Robotik
AI in Residence

Das Goethe-Institut Glasgow, die Alliance Française Glasgow und das Institut Français d’Écosse laden Künstler*innen aus Frankreich und Deutschland ein, sich auf eine von zwei Residenzen in Edinburgh und Glasgow zum Thema „Künstliche Intelligenz“ zu bewerben.

Illustration: Farbige Buchstaben und Linien strömen aus einem Laptop. Illustration: Marcia Mihotich

Generation A = Algorithmus
Couch Lessons

Künstliche Intelligenz wird zu einer neuen Revolution in der Menschheitsgeschichte beitragen. Expert*innen aus der ganzen Welt diskutierten in diesem digitalen Format über die Möglichkeiten, Herausforderungen und Risiken, die mit algorithmischen Entscheidungssystemen einhergehen.
Alle Episoden sind online für Sie verfügbar!

Logo mit dem Schriftzug „One Zero Society" © Goethe-Institut e. V./Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Perspektiven auf postdigitale Kulturen
One Zero Society

Digitalisierung ist Wandel und Gestaltungsaufgabe für die Zivilgesellschaft. Das Magazin „One Zero Society“ lädt ein zum globalen Austausch über unsere Zukunft. 

Newsletter zu aktuellen Kultur­veranstaltungen

Alle Veranstaltungen aus bildender Kunst, Film, Literatur, Musik, Tanz und Theater!


Neue Technologien in unserem Leben

Unser Alltag ist von Technik bestimmt – von den Tools, die wir nutzen, und von den Tools, die uns (oft unbemerkt) benutzen. Eine Sammlung von Artikeln, die verschiedene Aspekte zu neuen Technologien kritisch beleuchten.

Die Rolle von Blockchain in der Kunst - Ensembl (Hongkong) - DAOWO © Goethe-Institut

#DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes
Wie man die Kunstwelt mit Blockchain erschließen kann

Das Thema der DAOWO-Sessions: Artworld Prototypes waren bemerkenswert relevant für die Zeiten, in denen wir leben: eine Pandemie, die uns dazu veranlasst, anders miteinander zu arbeiten, Rufe nach einer gerechteren Gesellschaft, Kunsträume, die nach neuen Strategien suchen, um aktuell zu bleiben, und das hysterische (oder einfach nur verwirrte?) Medieninteresse an Kryptokunst. Das Thema fügt sich auch in einen breiteren, viel älteren Kontext ein, in dem die zeitgenössische Kunst Marktlogiken folgt, die für die meisten Künstler*innen nicht funktionieren.

Screenshot der „Berlin: Black Swan DAO“ Online-Session, 28. Januar 2020 © Goethe-Institut

#DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes
Kann Blockchain die Vergabe von künstlerischen Aufträgen demokratisieren?

Blockchain-Systeme wurden bisher hauptsächlich in der Finanzwelt oder bei Lieferketten eingesetzt, dabei ist ihr Potential wesentlich größer. Ein Artikel zum Berliner Beitrag der DAOWO Sessions - Artworld Prototypes: Black Swan DAO.

Illustration: Mehrere Roboter tragen Bücher durch einen Kontrollraum, ein Mensch überwacht die Tätigkeiten. Philippos Vassiliades | CC-BY-SA

Technologie und Literatur
K.I. und Literarische Übersetzung

Ist künstliche Intelligenz soweit, auch literarische Werke in all ihrer sprachlichen Vielfalt zu erfassen, zu verarbeiten und in eine andere Sprache zu übersetzen? Wird sie jemals so weit sein? Oder bleibt sie "künstlich" statt "künstlerisch"? Vielleicht muss sie gar nicht perfekt werden, um nützlich zu sein und kann literarische Übersetzer*innen in ihrer Arbeit unterstützen - Fragen wir Experten!

Wenn eine KI ein Gemälde entwirft, ist das dann Kunst? Und wer ist eigentlich der Urheber? Foto (Detail): © DeepArt

Künstliche Intelligenz und Kunst
Wann ist Kunst eigentlich Kunst?

Künstliche Intelligenzen, die Kunst erschaffen, werfen alte Fragen neu auf: Ist das überhaupt Kunst? Und wer ist der Künstler – die Maschine, der Programmierer oder die Person, mit deren Daten man den Algorithmus gefüttert hat?

Könnte ein Algorithmus Musik schreiben, die es mit Bach aufnehmen kann? Die Performance „Gödel Escher Bach“ im Barbican Performing Arts Centre in London. Photo (detail): © privat

Künstliche Intelligenz und Kunst
Die Maschine, die unsere Kreativität entfesselt

Der britische Mathematiker Marcus du Sautoy ist überzeugt, dass Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) so kreativ sein kann wie der Mensch – und dass sie künftig sogar Bewusstsein erlangen kann: Eine Diskussion über die derzeitigen kreativen Grenzen von KI, ihre Fähigkeit, uns zu überraschen, und darüber, wie KI die Art verändert, wie wir unsere eigene Kreativität wahrnehmen.  

Illustration eines Kopfes bestehend aus bunten Gedanken, z. B.  Solidarity. © Kitty Kahane

Reflexionen für eine Post-Corona-Zeit
Danachgedanken

Ein Virus führt uns vor Augen, wie global vernetzt und zugleich fragil unser öffentliches Leben ist. Was bedeutet die Pandemie für jede*n Einzelne*n von uns und was für die Gesellschaft? Intellektuelle und Künstler*innen weltweit antworten auf diese Frage – mit Blick auf das Jetzt und auf eine Zeit danach.


Folgen Sie dem Goethe-Institut London auf Instagram

Top