Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
DAO - JohannesburgGoethe-Institut / Studio Hyte

Johannesburg: Covalence Studios

How can we think of participation, attachments, membership, and commitment to equitable artistic practices under restricted movement and collapsing economic infrastructures?

Covalence Studios Logo © Covalence Studios A multi-purpose studio, research group, and peer-to-peer platform to support collaborative contemporary arts practice, born-digital works through the sharing of tools, resources, skills and knowledge amongst members. The studio promotes co-responsibility for the thriving of creative arts in Johannesburg’s art industry, amongst individual artists, collectives, galleries, art schools, and other non-profit organisations. The online studio draws upon existing independent studios space such as DGI Studios and Bag Factory Artists’ Studios in Johannesburg, and leverages existing networks to facilitate new connections. Collaboration amongst members for participation on the platform is incentivised in the form of tokens for each action or exchange. Members vote annually on the status and shaping of the studio and its publishing platform. The functioning of the studio relies on hospitality and respect for different positions and ideas.

The People Behind the Project


Bhavisha Panchia © Axel Städter
Bhavisha Panchia is a curator and researcher of visual and audio culture, currently based in Johannesburg. Her works engage with artistic and cultural practices under shifting global conditions, focusing on anti/postcolonial discourses, imperial histories and networks of production and circulation of (digital) media.


​Chad Cordeiro © ​Nathaniel Sheppard III
Chad Cordeiro is an artist and printmaker currently based in Johannesburg. Together with Nathaniel Sheppard and Sbongiseni Khulu, Cordeiro co-founded Danger Gevaar Ingozi Studio in 2016. DGI Studio is a co-operative space for artistic research and collaboration, with a focus of print-based media. Cordeiro is currently focused on processes of working with archived or collected material as a response to multiple, interconnected narratives that are embedded in archives or collections.


Carly Whitaker © Carly Whitaker Carly Whitaker is an independent artist, curator, researcher and lecturer based in Johannesburg, South Africa. She holds a MA in Digital Interactive. She has participated in numerous exhibitions at art spaces in Johannesburg, Freiburg, Casablanca, Miami and Sao Paulo. Her curatorial projects include Floating Reverie, an online digital residency programme, which has been running for over five years and Blue Ocean an online digital project space. Through her practice she engages in a constant exploration of how we communicate through media and the ways we use technology to create dialogues, form connections between ourselves and the digital space.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
 Johannesburg - Covalence StudiosGoethe-Institut / Studio Hyte

Johannesburg: Covalence Studios

Wie können wir angesichts von Bewegungseinschränkungen und zusammenbrechenden wirtschaftlichen Infrastrukturen über Teilhabe, Zugehörigkeit, Mitgliedschaft und Engagement für ausgewogene künstlerische Praktiken nachdenken?



Covalence Studios © Covalence Studios Als transdisziplinäres Studio, Forschungsgruppe und Peer-to-Peer-Plattform widmet sich Covalence Studios der Förderung kooperativer Praktiken im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst und digital erzeugter Werke durch den Austausch von Werkzeugen, Ressourcen, Fertigkeiten und Wissen zwischen seinen Mitgliedern. Das Studio setzt sich für eine geteilte Verantwortung für die Verbreitung der kreativen Künste innerhalb des Kunstbetriebs in Johannesburg unter einzelnen Künstler*innen, Künstler*innen-Kollektiven, Galerien, Kunstschulen und anderen gemeinnützigen Einrichtungen ein. Das Online-Studio nutzt bestehende unabhängige Studioräume wie DGI Studios und Bag Factory Artists’ Studios in Johannesburg und setzt für den Aufbau neuer Verbindungen auf bestehende Netzwerke. Durch die Vergabe von Tokens für einzelne Aktionen oder Kooperationen sollen Anreize für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Mitgliedern auf der Plattform geschaffen werden. Die Mitglieder stimmen einmal im Jahr über den Status und die Gestaltung des Studios und seiner Publikations-Plattform ab. Die Arbeit des Studios beruht auf Gastfreundschaft und dem Respekt für andere Standpunkte und Ansätze.

Die Menschen hinter dem Projekt

Covalence Studios wird von Bhavisha Panchia, Chad Cordeiro und Carly Whitaker geleitet.


Bhavisha Panchia © Axel Städter Bhavisha Panchia arbeitet gegenwärtig als Kuratorin und Forscherin für audiovisuelle Kultur in Johannesburg. Ihre Werke beschäftigen sich mit künstlerischen und kulturellen Praktiken vor dem Hintergrund veränderter weltweiter Bedingungen und legen den Schwerpunkt auf anti– /postkoloniale Diskurse, imperiale Geschichtszusammenhänge und Netzwerke für die Produktion und den Vertrieb von (digitalen) Medien.


​Chad Cordeiro © ​Nathaniel Sheppard III Chad Cordeiro arbeitet zurzeit als Künstler und Grafiker in Johannesburg. Zusammen mit Nathaniel Sheppard und Sbongiseni Khulu gründete er 2016 das Danger Gevaar Ingozi Studio. Das DGI Studio ist ein kooperativer Raum der künstlerischen Forschung und Zusammenarbeit mit einem Fokus auf Printmedien. Cordeiro arbeitet gegenwärtig vorrangig mit Material aus Archiven oder Sammlungen, um die darin enthaltenen vielfältigen und miteinander verknüpften Narrative zu ergründen.

Carly Whitaker © Carly Whitaker Carly Whitaker ist eine in Johannesburg lebende, freischaffende Künstlerin, Kuratorin, Wissenschaftlerin und Dozentin. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in Digital Interactive. Carly Whitaker hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen in Kunsträumen in Johannesburg, Freiburg, Casablanca, Miami und Sao Paulo mitgewirkt. Zu ihren kuratorischen Projekten gehören Floating Reverie, ein seit über fünf Jahren laufendes digitales Online-Residenzprogramm, und Blue Ocean, ein digitaler Online-Projektraum. Durch ihre künstlerische Praxis erforscht sie, wie wir über Medien kommunizieren und wie wir mithilfe von Technologie Dialoge aufbauen und Verbindungen zwischen uns und dem digitalen Raum herstellen.

Top