No German? No Problem!
Discover our English Language Materials

Man standing, reading a book in the Library © Goethe-Institut London | Photo Pau Ros

In common with many libraries, our collection caters for a diverse reading public, including people who don't speak German.


For readers seeking German literary fiction our library offers over 1000 German novels translated into English - a unique resource amongst London libraries. If you're interested in German poetry or drama in translation, our library is the right place to come.

Our collection of translated German novels includes works by contemporary authors, beloved 'classic authors' such as Hans Fallada, Franz Kafka and Christa Wolf, as well as  Nobel Literature Prize-winnering writers such as Thomas Mann, Heinrich Böll, Günter Grass, Peter Handke, Elfriede Jelinek and Herta Müller. We also have enduring bestsellers such as Patrick Süßkind's 'Perfume' and Daniel Kehlmann's 'Measuring the World', and crime novels such as the popular Gereon Rath 'Babylon Berlin' series by Volker Kutscher.

Shelf with translated books

Many of these novels were made into feature films which can be found amongst our extensive DVD collection. The majority of these films have English subtitles and provide an overview of German filmmaking from silent films to contemporary cinematic productions.

If you're researching the films of the Weimar Republic, New German Cinema, or the Berlin School, our library offers many English language books about films ranging from German film history to the work of individual film directors such as Fritz Lang, Werner Herzog, and Fatih Akin.

English titles about German Art are also available. For example you can find books about the Romantic Art movement, Expressionism and Bauhaus, as well as individual contemporary artists such as Joseph Beuys, Anselm Kiefer and Gerhard Richter, and photographers such as Andreas Gursky and Jürgen Teller.

Selection of graphic novels

Fans of Graphic Novels can find translated works about the Beatles, Nick Cave, Fidel Castro, and Kafka.

For readers who prefer non-fiction titles to learn about Cultural History, and History, there are numerous titles available in the English language. Our collection focuses on 20th Century German history, but includes unusual topics such as Ulrich Ralff's book about the role played by horses in human history - 'Farewell to the Horse'.

So as you can see, reading material is available in abundance in our library, but perhaps you just want to escape the hubub of South Kensington and relax in our quiet spaces overlooking the park.

You can use our reading desks and several laptops are available for internet research in our Study Centre.

Pay us a visit, drink a coffee, browse to find inspiration, or visit one of our cultural events which are almost always presented in English.

Cultural Events

 

Our library offers an extensive range of English language materials. This is how you can find these materials in our catalogue:

Click "Advanced Search"
Search Bar Library Catalogue

Under the "Collection" tab, choose the collection "Übersetzungen".
Illustration Library Catalogue - Collection

Library Catalogue

Kein Deutsch? Kein Problem!
Entdecken sie unsere Englischsprachigen Materialien

Stehender Mann liest in der Bibliothek © Goethe-Institut London | Foto Pau Ros

Wie der vieler anderer Bibliotheken richtet sich unser Bestand an eine Vielfalt von Lesergruppen und auch für Besucher, die kein Deutsch sprechen haben wir einiges zu bieten.


Für Literaturliebhaber bieten wir mit mehr als 1000 Titeln übersetzter deutscher Literatur – ein in London einzigartiges Angebot. Ob Sie sich für Gedichte interessieren oder gerne noch einmal ein deutsches Theaterstück lesen würden, dass Sie auf der Bühne gesehen haben, unsere Bibliothek ist die richtige Anlaufstelle.

In unserer Romanabteilung finden Sie Übersetzungen aktueller deutscher Titel, beliebte Klassiker von Hans Fallada, Franz Kafka und Christa Wolf und Bücher der deutschsprachigen Nobelpreisgewinner für Literatur: Heinrich Böll, Thomas Mann, Günter Grass, Peter Handke, Elfriede Jelinek und Herta Müller. Selbstverständlich haben wir auch Langzeitbestseller wie Patrick Süßkind's "Parfum" und Daniel Kehlmann's "Die Vermessung der Welt" im Angebot sowie eine Anzahl von Krimis wie etwa die in England sehr beliebte Gereon Rath Reihe von Volker Kutscher, die Ihnen vielleicht eher unter dem Titel "Berlin Babylon" bekannt ist.

Regal mit übersetzten Büchern

Viele dieser Bücher wurden auch verfilmt und finden sich in unserer umfangreichen DVD Sammlung. Die meisten unserer Spielfilme sind Englisch untertitelt und vermitteln Ihnen einen Überblick über das deutsche Filmschaffen vom Stummfilm bis hin zu aktuellen Kinoproduktionen der letzten Jahre.

Ob Sie sich für den Film der Weimarer Republik, den Neuen Deutschen Film oder die Berliner Schule interessieren, von Fritz Lang über Werner Herzog bis zu Fatih Akin, im Bereich Film gibt es auch eine Vielzahl von Buchtiteln in englischer Sprache, die sich mit der Geschichte des deutschen Films oder dem Werk einzelner Regisseure beschäftigen.

Auch im Bereich Kunst ist für englischsprachige Veröffentlichungen gesorgt. Wir bieten Bücher über die Kunst der Romantik, den Expressionismus und das Bauhaus, Monographien über weltberühmte Künstler der Gegenwart wie Joseph Beuys, Anselm Kiefer und Gerhard Richter, aber auch Fotografen wie Andreas Gursky und Jürgen Teller.

Auswahl an Graphic Novels Auswahl an Graphic Novels
Für Freunde der Graphic Novel halten wir ebenfalls aus dem Deutschen übersetzte Titel bereit, die z.B. von den Beatles, Nick Cave, Castro und Kafka erzählen.

Wer sich über Kulturgeschichte und Geschichte lieber in Form eines Sachbuchs informiert findet auch hier ein umfangreiches Angebot in englischer Sprache. Unser Bestand deckt die Geschichte Deutschlands im 20. Jahrhundert, informiert aber auch über ungewöhnlichere Themen wie z.B. Ulrich Raulff's "Das letzte Jahrhundert der Pferde".

Für Lektüre ist wie Sie sehen also gesorgt, aber vielleicht wollen sie auch nur gerne für eine kleine Weile dem Trubel von South Kensington entfliehen und sich in unseren schönen Räumen mit Blick auf den Park eine verdiente Pause gönnen.

Auch unsere Arbeitsplätze können gerne von Ihnen genutzt werden und unser Study Centre bietet eine kleine Anzahl an Laptops für Internetrecherchen.

Kommen Sie doch einfach vorbei, trinken Sie gemütlich einen Kaffee und lassen Sie sich inspirieren oder besuchen Sie eine unserer englischsprachigen Veranstaltungen.

Kulturveranstaltungen
 

Unsere Bibliothek bietet einen umfangreichen Bestand an englischsprachigen Materialien. So finden sie diese Materialien in unserem Katalog.

Aktivieren Sie "Erweiterte Suche"
Suchmaske Bibliothekskatalog

Wählen Sie unter dem Reiter "Sammlung" die Kategorie "Übersetzungen"
Illustration Bibliothekskatalog - Sammlungen

Bibliothekskatalog